Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Merrylands @ Chiddingly Eco Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > East Sussex > Hailsham > Merrylands @ Chiddingly Eco Campsite > Reviews

Merrylands @ Chiddingly Eco Campsite
Riverside
Bull Bridge
Chiddingly
Hailsham
East Sussex   (Browse area)
BN8 6HQ
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 10 acres tents - occasional VW, camper or caravan
Open: 01/06/2024 to 30/09/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 110 Reviews
                10/10 from 110 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  110 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2024  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Mejoh1 1 review from this member

 Firstly this is not the place to go if you want an on-site bar, playground for the kids, or free wi-fi. In my opinion itís all the better for not having those ďattractionsĒ. The campsite is most definitely Eco - there are very few amenities apart from the basics of running water and toilets.

The site is in a beautiful setting in a valley surrounded by trees, bursting with wildlife of all kinds. There are pleasant walks to be had directly from the campsite, through woods, fields and farmland, with the added attraction of two pubs both no more than 40 minutes walk away. We visited the Six Bells in Chiddingly and can recommend it for its friendly welcome and excellent, reasonably priced, food.

The staff at the campsite were very helpful, and went out of their way to get the boiler going so we could all have hot showers (in the open-to-the-skies wooden shower cubicle). They also sold us enough wood to get a campfire going.

The two compost toilets were clean and hygienic - just throw some sawdust in if youíve done a poo!

There are some recycling bins provided but to be honest the site does look quite ramshackle and in need of some TLC. Despite that we had a lovely weekend and would definitely go there again, hopefully with better weather next time! 


Date of Visit: August 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Logans 1 review from this member

 Merrylands is a great place I absolutely live it there, the owners Maggie & Sean are so friendly & are great people!

I have been going there for about 13 years now, at the beginning just with my good friends & now with all our kids & they love it,

It's got a nice healthy stream running through, 2 great pubs within walking distance, echo shower & toilets which are great but could maybe do with a couple more!, fires allowed which is great for cooking & keeping warm at night!

Truly a great place & will always go back for as long as possible. The prices are great only pay per adult, fire wood great value at 20 good size logs for £5.

Little farmers type shop a little drive down land & village near by wicked tesco & restaurants etc. Beach not to far away. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Gemmaa 1 review from this member

 Beautiful very rural campsite, compostable toilets, didnít locate the shower. Sink for washing up in. Only 3 other tents when we went so very quiet.

Met Maggie, very friendly.

Cute vintage ice cream van and coffee van visited the site often.

We also drove past as the sign wasnít too visible.

Lots of wildlife and flower meadows. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Neilwh 1 review from this member

 Merrylands is a beautiful campsite with a real back-to-nature ambience.

Maggie and Sean are friendly and helpful and the facilities are surprisingly good!

It's a great place for kids who like to run wild and explore and the lack of child-friendly amenities (playground etc. ) didn't stop ours from having fun.

I would recommend Merrylands to anyone with a sense of adventure and who isn't too bothered about doing without their home comforts for a few days. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Judith 2 reviews from this member

 We love this campsite! It is the perfect place to switch off and enjoy nature.

Great facilities and great people.

A wild and beautiful campsite and not far from local pubs and brewery. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: Vmarlo 1 review from this member

 Maggie was very friendly and attentive.

The site is basic but lovely, the open air shower was actually very nice and the compost toilet not as bad as I thought it would be!

We were free to set up where we wanted so space wasn't an issue.

We will be back! Only thing I would say is we missed the sign to it as it's not very visible whilst driving. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Flossy1973 2 reviews from this member

 So peaceful and so friendly, both owners and fellow campers.

This is my safe refuge away from everything else.

I hope to come back very soon. Thank you. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Janew7 1 review from this member

 We loved it here!

Everything we needed for a completely relaxing holiday. Itís a beautiful site run by kind hearted, helpful people who donít interfere at all but are on hand if anything is needed.

100% will return and very much look forward to it.

Convenient location for beaches and countryside, lovely pub nearby.

Perfect camping holiday. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Maggie 1 review from this member

 Lovely campsite, lots of space for the children to play around in and not too close to the next set of campers so you get plenty of your own space.

Maggie was lovely, there if we needed her but not right on top of us.

Toilets were and shower were good too and kept lovely and clean with hand-wash supplied.

Some really lovely walks nearby, and of course the 2 pubs within walking distance too.

We will be returning at some point in the future! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Kennyl 1 review from this member

 This is a beautiful site that is focussed on low-impact, green living, is full of wildlife, and has brilliant eco-friendly facilities such as a hot showers heated by a wood burner.

The owners are lovely, always on hand to help, and I always feel very lucky to be able to stay here! 


Previous     110 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Merrylands @ Chiddingly Eco Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Merrylands @ Chiddingly Eco Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Merrylands @ Chiddingly Eco Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Hailsham      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in East Sussex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Woodshrop 24 Tribute Festival 19/07 to 21/07

Family friendly festival in Shrewsbury with 16 of the UK's best tribute bands honoring the greatest hits of the past and present. Chill out zone, food and drink stalls, camping on site and more. Win weekend camping tickets for two AND save 10% on Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2589 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement