Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Merrylands @ Chiddingly Eco Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South East > East Sussex > Site Reviews

Merrylands @ Chiddingly Eco Campsite
Riverside
Bull Bridge
Chiddingly
Hailsham
East Sussex   (Browse area)
BN8 6HQCheck Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 10 acres tents - occasional VW, camper or caravan
Open: Late May Bank Holiday-end Of September

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 70 Reviews
                9/10 from 70 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  70 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Den L 1 review from this member

Friendly, basic and relaxed campsite. The compost loos much more pleasant than portaloos. Good value wood for fires. Very helpful owner on site. Great for kids and dogs. Really lovely site with simple charge per adult only. Our group stayed there for the first time and we all loved it.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Katie Bliss 1 review from this member

Really lovely eco campsite for back to nature camping. Warmly welcomed by the owners and their lovely old dogs who live on-site, lots of space to choose your pitch and plenty of room to set up a really good sized camp. A commendably eco friendly site with two composting toilets that were kept immaculately clean and didn't smell at all, and an added bonus of having two lovely hot open air showers that are heated by wood burning stove. The site is beautifully quiet with no traffic noise, but plenty of owls calling, even saw a barn owl flying up and down the field in the evening. There is no electricity (a little solar lighting at the toilets but you will need a torch) and no mobile signal. The field is bounded by a small river in quite a deep ditch which you have to wade through undergrowth to get to, but would be a hazard for determined unsupervised children, but the kids we could see were having a great time enjoying the freedom to run and play in the field. We had a wonderful relaxing break and can't wait to visit again.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: H Kerry 1 review from this member

Very nice owners. Welcoming. Was my first time at a site with so few facilities. Not as scary as I thought. The eco toilets actually smelled better than most public loos. Very dark at night perfect for watching the stars. We took our own solar power as no hook ups. Camp fires allowed. Plenty of wild life noises like crickets, sheep, owls, tricking river and rustling leaves

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: CheeseNibbles 1 review from this member

We spent a brilliant weekend here. Booked last minute, a very friendly welcome, mainly level fields and a great atmosphere. We loved the eco hot showers and the compost toilets, which were excellently and regularly cleaned and didn't smell at all. Recycling facilities excellent and good quality wood delivered to your tent for fires. Owners camp on site too and were very approachable. Great area, great ethos. Thank you. Have recommended to friends already!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Creature comforts 1 review from this member

Lovely campsite, my only reservation about recommending it is that I would like to keep this hidden gem to myself. Lots of space for kids to roam around in and have adventures and not crowded at all. The 'Eco' claim is real and more campsites should emulate it. Many campsites offer no recycling or rubbish collection, only have awful chemical toilets and when visiting in a group you can end up wasting a huge amount of food. You really wonder about the environmental impact of all that given you are supposed to be having an experience in nature. So it was delightful to find a campsite that is low key, quiet (you can barely hear traffic noises which is unusual in this part of the SE) and provides extensive recycling, food composting, compost toilets which smell far better than chemical ones. Plus the owner we met is very kind, genuinely helpful (eg offered to let us leave our tents up and return if it was too wet to take them down), doesn't seem out to fleece you like many other campsite owners we have met. A really great experience.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Iainpops 1 review from this member

Arrived on a Monday evening, stayed 2 nights with my 7 Yr old daughter. We were met by Maggie, who gave us basic info and showed us the essentials. We were one of two groups staying in second field, so we could pretty much choose our spot so went for a spot giving us morning shade, next to the stream. The field is mostly flat too. My daughter loved the mud slide into the stream and found that mud does, after all, cool the blood. Composting toilets take a wee bit of getting used to but they are much cleaner than some regular camping toilets we've seen. Showers open to the sky, washing up basic and plenty of water available. It is basic, but it's a very authentic place with lots of charm. Poppy quickly made friends and loved every second. The weather was hot but the nights were comfortable. Would thoroughly recommend. Oh, and the Cumberland sausages from Chiddingly shop and cafe were very tasty.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: AliAlex 1 review from this member

This is a truly special place. Run by fabulous people who couldn't be more helpful and friendly. I will be returning again and again. Well behaved dogs can run free, brilliant for us, but if that is a problem for you, don't go. Our children loved adventuring in this super-safe and beautiful campsite. The showers are fantastic, hot water and open roofs, so you can see the sky as you wash. The compost toilets are extremely clean and not at all smelly, they are emptied way before they needed to be. No 4g or phone signal, which also delighted us! The wood you can buy is great quality and good value. 5 stars!

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: SarahArt 1 review from this member

We had an amazing weekend with friends on this beautiful site. Lots of fun for the kids sliding into the stream, a great walk to a lovely pub (with very good beer). Plenty of space (both physical and mental). Just what we like; basic, well-maintained, free thinking.

If you are looking for 'facilities' this isn't the place for you. If you want back to basics camping this ticks all the boxes.

Thank you

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: 23foster 1 review from this member

Just back from a weekend camping with the family. First time at the site but will be going back! The owners were fantastic, really helpful and friendly. Great local walks straight from the site. Open camp fires encouraged. Great shower with an open sky view. And even the composting loos did the job!

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Katie R 1 review from this member

We have just returned from an idyllic weekend at Merrylands. It was our first visit and we will be coming back. The setting is beautiful, there is plenty of space. All the facilities are great and the walk to the 6 bells is perfect. Couldn’t ask for a more relaxing weekend.

Previous     70 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in East Sussex

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over £885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth £119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


529 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019