Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Merrylands @ Chiddingly Eco Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > East Sussex > Hailsham > Merrylands @ Chiddingly Eco Campsite Reviews

Merrylands @ Chiddingly Eco Campsite
Riverside
Bull Bridge
Chiddingly
Hailsham
East Sussex   (Browse area)
BN8 6HQ
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 10 acres tents - occasional VW, camper or caravan
Open: Late May Bank Holiday-end Of September

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 73 Reviews
                9/10 from 73 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach 10 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  73 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Juju123 2 reviews from this member

Just returned from a fantastic weekend at Merrylands, our third time there. The couple who run the campsite are super friendly and work hard to maintain the eco site, with its composting toilets, outdoor hot showers, recycling area and fab washing up facilities.

The site is surrounded by truly beautiful countryside and is a very relaxing place to be. The children had a ball exploring, playing rounders and building dens.

Thank you Merrylands for creating such a beautiful escape. We will be back xxxx
via mobile

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Jonnydipp 1 review from this member

I'll start with a big 'Thank you'

Another great stay with Maggie and Sean was lovely to relax and enjoy their tranquil site,

Great to walk on the Weald way and only a short distance to a couple of good pubs.

Thanks Jon, Jane and Tui x
via mobile

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Ameliac 1 review from this member

Just spent amazing 4 days at Merrylands. What a gem this place is! My guess is not many people know about it as it was far from overcrowded even though it was bank holiday weekend.

There are no designated pitches nor roads going through the campsite which makes it feel like you are in the middle of wilderness with lush grass and the only noise being the birdsong.

Facilities are great and eco friendly, all clean and regularly checked on.

All in all I had a fab time with my friends and hopefully will be returning. Thanks

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Den L 1 review from this member

Friendly, basic and relaxed campsite. The compost loos much more pleasant than portaloos. Good value wood for fires. Very helpful owner on site. Great for kids and dogs.

Really lovely site with simple charge per adult only. Our group stayed there for the first time and we all loved it.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Katie Bliss 1 review from this member

Really lovely eco campsite for back to nature camping. Warmly welcomed by the owners and their lovely old dogs who live on-site, lots of space to choose your pitch and plenty of room to set up a really good sized camp.

A commendably eco friendly site with two composting toilets that were kept immaculately clean and didn't smell at all, and an added bonus of having two lovely hot open air showers that are heated by wood burning stove. The site is beautifully quiet with no traffic noise, but plenty of owls calling, even saw a barn owl flying up and down the field in the evening.

There is no electricity (a little solar lighting at the toilets but you will need a torch) and no mobile signal. The field is bounded by a small river in quite a deep ditch which you have to wade through undergrowth to get to, but would be a hazard for determined unsupervised children, but the kids we could see were having a great time enjoying the freedom to run and play in the field. We had a wonderful relaxing break and can't wait to visit again.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: H Kerry 1 review from this member

Very nice owners. Welcoming. Was my first time at a site with so few facilities. Not as scary as I thought. The eco toilets actually smelled better than most public loos.

Very dark at night perfect for watching the stars. We took our own solar power as no hook ups. Camp fires allowed. Plenty of wild life noises like crickets, sheep, owls, tricking river and rustling leaves

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: CheeseNibbles 1 review from this member

We spent a brilliant weekend here. Booked last minute, a very friendly welcome, mainly level fields and a great atmosphere. We loved the eco hot showers and the compost toilets, which were excellently and regularly cleaned and didn't smell at all.

Recycling facilities excellent and good quality wood delivered to your tent for fires. Owners camp on site too and were very approachable. Great area, great ethos. Thank you. Have recommended to friends already!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Creature comforts 1 review from this member

Lovely campsite, my only reservation about recommending it is that I would like to keep this hidden gem to myself. Lots of space for kids to roam around in and have adventures and not crowded at all. The 'Eco' claim is real and more campsites should emulate it.

Many campsites offer no recycling or rubbish collection, only have awful chemical toilets and when visiting in a group you can end up wasting a huge amount of food. You really wonder about the environmental impact of all that given you are supposed to be having an experience in nature.

So it was delightful to find a campsite that is low key, quiet (you can barely hear traffic noises which is unusual in this part of the SE) and provides extensive recycling, food composting, compost toilets which smell far better than chemical ones.

Plus the owner we met is very kind, genuinely helpful (eg offered to let us leave our tents up and return if it was too wet to take them down), doesn't seem out to fleece you like many other campsite owners we have met. A really great experience.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Iainpops 1 review from this member

Arrived on a Monday evening, stayed 2 nights with my 7 Yr old daughter. We were met by Maggie, who gave us basic info and showed us the essentials. We were one of two groups staying in second field, so we could pretty much choose our spot so went for a spot giving us morning shade, next to the stream.

The field is mostly flat too. My daughter loved the mud slide into the stream and found that mud does, after all, cool the blood. Composting toilets take a wee bit of getting used to but they are much cleaner than some regular camping toilets we've seen.

Showers open to the sky, washing up basic and plenty of water available. It is basic, but it's a very authentic place with lots of charm. Poppy quickly made friends and loved every second. The weather was hot but the nights were comfortable.

Would thoroughly recommend. Oh, and the Cumberland sausages from Chiddingly shop and cafe were very tasty.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: AliAlex 1 review from this member

This is a truly special place. Run by fabulous people who couldn't be more helpful and friendly. I will be returning again and again. Well behaved dogs can run free, brilliant for us, but if that is a problem for you, don't go.

Our children loved adventuring in this super-safe and beautiful campsite. The showers are fantastic, hot water and open roofs, so you can see the sky as you wash. The compost toilets are extremely clean and not at all smelly, they are emptied way before they needed to be. No 4g or phone signal, which also delighted us!

The wood you can buy is great quality and good value. 5 stars!

Previous     73 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in East Sussex

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over 205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3601 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019