Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camping Parc Des Cygnes

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Picardy Nord-Pas-de-Calais > Amiens > Camping Parc Des Cygnes > Reviews

Camping Parc Des Cygnes
111 Avenue Des Cygnes
Amiens
Picardy Nord-Pas-de-Calais   (Browse area)
80080
Tel: +33 3 22 43 29 28
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 145
Open: 01/04/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 29 Reviews
                7/10 from 29 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  29 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2022 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Gedant 1 review from this member

 I really enjoyed my brief visit.

Very warm welcome,

Toilet facilities really clean and the local town was only 5 mins walk and great for a coffee or a beer.

I will hopefully return. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Carol Jean 38 reviews from this member

 OK so heres an up to date review! I loved this site. Loved Amiens and if you like to cycle then its only 30 minutes along the lovely River Somme (where you can see herons and even a peacock) to the cathedral /St Leu area in the heart of the city.

We don't have children with us so it didn't matter to us but there's nothing really for children at the site - just 3 little things to sit on for toddlers and 3 hens to look at.

We cycled to the zoo which was around 25 minutes so that's nice for children : you just cycle along the Somme until you get to the first road bridge then turn right. The signs aren't very clear but we just asked someone and its worth visiting - lots of little schoolchildren whilst we were there who were cute to watch as well as the animals

!There is cycle hire at the campsite by the way.

Amiens is a university city. How lucky the students are to be studying in such a place! There was a music festival on 21st June which made the city more buzzing than usual. The St Leu area is the main place to visit but all the city is lovely and the cathedral is amazing. The restaurants lining the Somme amused me as there are no railings behind to protect people from falling in so wondered how many have fallen in! Drinks are about 5 euros each (cheaper than Hornfleur)

We liked the campsite but one thing that was a bit strange is that I was directed to the camping van disposal area to dispose of our grey water and also toilet waste. I did eventually find the chemique (toilet disposal) on the left hand side of the camping car thing that had a hose attached but it wasn't very well marked. Anyway I lifted up the cover and poured the toilet waste down and then reached for the hose to clean out our toilet container -as you do - and couldn't turn on any water. It looked like you had to put a coin in to obtain water. They never told me that at reception and it wasn't clear. Anyway I didn't enquire and just had to take then toilet back after emptying it. When we left I took the grey water to the same place to dispose of that down the drain (which is on the right hand side of the chemique) and someone had emptied their toilet into the drain. I wont describe the disgusting sight! They obviously hadn't noticed the chemique cover and like me had been confused - although I would not have done what they did. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Curlyk 10 reviews from this member

 This campsite is certainly not cheap for what you get, or rather what you don't get. The showers and washing up facilities were poor and only had cold water. Toilets very basic. Reception very basic. The only good thing about the site was the fact that it's only a 15 bicycle ride into the city, along a beautiful river. There is also a public park over the road from the site if you have children and they want somewhere to play, however the road is very, very busy to cross. Having 3 children with us there was no facilities on the site for them. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Bellowhead 7 reviews from this member

 Forced to stay here due to a breakdown. Excellent site and city. There is a bus every half hour directly into the city - and not a lot of money. Tours the northern suburbs a bit but otherwise OK. Drops you off outside the railway station. Cross the road for the return journey.

Showers fine and a pleasant site. Don't expect too much (for motorhomers there is an aire) and you will not be disappointed. But - clean comfortable and handy. Amiens is a great place. 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: AndyC13 4 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for just one night before heading back to the UK.

Campsite was quite expensive for what it is. Although I expect that's due to its location to Calais. It was about 20 for the night for two adults, EHU and a dog.

The site is lovely. Lots of mole holes and rabbits (if that's your thing). There is a river on one side with plenty of wildlife.

The shower/toilet blocks are a bit. Prison like! Big, heavy, metal doors. Cold and dark. But otherwise ok.

Could stay here for one or two nights, but probably not much longer. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Sarah Lumley 3 reviews from this member

 The campsite is well situated near to the river Somme, with easy access on the cycle route to Amiens which is approximately 5k. The staff are helpful and speak good English. Bread is delivered daily to the site. All facilities clean, toilets, shower block and washing up, hand washing facilities. Easy access for the Somme battlefield sites. We loved it. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lindilou2013 43 reviews from this member

 The site has a good location just 3 miles from the centre of Amiens. It is located by a local park and surrounded by lakes and a river. This can mean there are a few midges about!

Welcome was good, particularly as we arrived early but this didn't pose a problem, we pitched straight away. There was always an English speaking person on duty. Fresh bread can be ordered for collection at reception on a daily basis. Lots of local information available in reception and staff were always willing to fill in the gaps.

We didn't use the cafe but it did have very limited opening hours and menu. There is no shop but there are plenty of supermarkets are within easy reach of the site.

The site does have static caravans and lodges, so caters for all types of holiday maker.

Pitches are large. There is no over crowding. There is a feeling of space which aids relaxation. The EHU can be a problem if you do not have a long lead. There is plenty of shade from trees as well as wide open spaces.

There are separate toilets for men and women but shared showers. Both were kept very clean and there was always hot water both in the showers (push button but a decent time lapse) and with the more than ample washing up facilities. There is no soap dispenser in the toilets.

The cycling in and around Amiens is very good and it is nearly all off road into the centre. Amiens itself is a pleasant city and there are plenty of places of interest to visit.

The journey to the Somme Battlefields and all the towns of interest including Albert and Thiepval is an easy one, taking about 30 to 40 minutes depending upon where you want to go and which route you take.

Most stay for 1 or 2 night stop overs but on reflection I wish that we had booked a few days longer than the 4 nights we stayed as it was a very pleasant site with lots on interesting places nearby. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Skatey 2 reviews from this member

 Having been really spoilt with lovely campsites during our tour round France, I was pretty disappointed with this one. It was 'fine' but that's about it. And considering it was the most expensive one we stayed in, and four star rated, I expected more.

The toilet block was too small for such a large campsite. Everything was old and tired, the play areas being three bouncy rides in a sea of mud.

The snack-bar is open only Wed-Sun in the evening. However, they did freeze our blocks for free.

The non-electric tents are right down one end, as far away as you can be from the snack bar etc and there aren't even any water pipes there, you have to walk to the next section. We felt a bit like the poor relations!

The location is superb for the onward trip to Calais and Amiens itself is well worth a visit. I'm just not sure I would choose to stay here. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tent folk 8 reviews from this member

 We made an overnight stop at this site last week on our way back to Calais, as we have used it previously. The setting of the site itself is pleasant and the Reception staff polite but the washroom facilities need much attention. We noted the following:- out of two blocks only two Gents toilet cubicles were in operation for the whole site, which was quite busy (we reported this to Reception). On the Ladies side both disabled cubicles were locked and the hand dryer out of order. The unisex showers and washing cubicles were reasonable but only one light above the sinks was working in the block we used. The Reception office was fine but its exterior lacked the 'welcome' factor and looked as if it had been boarded up! On arrival we were told that the Restaurant was open but it was displaying a 'Closed due to technical problems' notice. A lady made a phone call and then assured us it would be open and the notice was duly removed by her. Obviously no-one had kept them informed either way. We ate there and had a choice of 2 meals or alternatively a Take Away. It seems such a shame that this site is being allowed to deteriorate when it has so much potential. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: HeidiVan 2 reviews from this member

 Used the aire here as a stop off point. It was OK, but nothing special. Access to city was fairly good. The city itself is lovely and well worth a visit.

The aire itself is flat, if a little narrow, but it was relatively quiet.

Sadly the staff working at the site were rude to us and our children (despite one of us speaking fluent French!). Perhaps they don't want people using the aire? Given the treatment we received, we shan't be coming back and would certainly not recommend this site to others. 


Previous     29 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Camping Parc Des Cygnes child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camping Parc Des Cygnes?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Camping Parc Des Cygnes dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Amiens      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Picardy Nord-Pas-de-Calais

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3946 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement