Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Cobbleacre Park Lakes Certificated Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Site Reviews

Cobbleacre Park Lakes Certificated Site
Brick Kiln Road
Hevingham
Norwich
Norfolk   (Browse area)
NR10 5NL
Tel: 01603 754331
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 5 CCC Only
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 11 Reviews
                7/10 from 11 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents. This is a club member only site - you can usually join on site

Reviews:  11 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: HESSPEC 3 reviews from this member

Have been visiting this site twice a year for 6 years. We were pleased to hear that changes were being made to the caravan/camping area and had high expectations for our recent holiday. Sadly, these expectations were not met. The caravan/camping pitches have been moved away from the current site of the toilet/shower block and shop to create a mix of hard standing and grass pitches. These were very close together and when the site was busy it felt very claustrophobic and the views were either obscured by cars, other caravans or an open-sided huge metal framed building. Previously we have had lovely views of the lakes/landscaping. Our hard standing was of very poor quality and was more like rubble with broken glass, screws, nails, wood and metal, we were unable to put our awning flooring down as it would have been damaged and we feared for our dogís paws on the very dangerous surface. The pitch was advertised as being fully serviced ie water, waste, TV point and electric hook up when we booked. However, the water was not connected so we had to walk back to the original water tap by the shop to fill up, quite a trek with a full water container. This is also where the chemical waste is still located. It was a blessing not to have to walk all this way with waste water as well, although it was a problem not having water to flush the drain after use. The site also offers Wi-Fi but this is not available on the new location and is still only connectable by the shop. There was also supposed to be a brand-new toilet and shower block in the new location, but this has not yet been built. The current facilities are a little tired (although always very clean) and one of the 3 ladies showers was out of order due to frost damage (itís now June and we feel this should have been repaired). The site was busy (there is now an increased number of pitches) and there were queues in the morning. The gents had only 1 working shower, the second one was cold water only!

It is now nearly double the price to stay here for a week and the facilities available were not worth it. We discussed our issues with the General Manger and whilst we were given a small reimbursement did not feel that our concerns, especially regarding the safety of the hard standing, were taken seriously and he stated it would not be changed. Overall, we were extremely disappointed and although we had good weather and great fishing we felt our stay was marred by these issues and will not be returning

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hadleysr 2 reviews from this member

Just from a few days camping at Cobbleacres Lakes. Brochure is very misleading. expected electric hook ups to be further away from camp shop and toilet block as the site seems to get noisy from 7:30 - 8:00 am when the fishermen start to arrive and gather around the shop with no thought for the campers. Had no hot water for 2 days and being campers had no other facilities. Brochure states that shop sells snacks and drinks but was never stocked up and rarely open. Washing up area has no light. Sinks in mens toilets had no plugs and washing up sinks had no plugs. Re fishing states in rules no keep nets but we saw someone using one even though we reported it to the bailiffs. On paper the site seemed ideal but in reality they care more about day ticket fishermen than campers. No local shop within walking distance so you need to drive. After 4 pm there is no staff on site if anything goes wrong. We're not asked at anytime if everything was ok, whether we were enjoying ourselves or wished a good journey home.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Leadbelly 2 reviews from this member

Relatively quiet, rural site between Norwich and Aylsham. The site has five lakes and, in my opinion, is a fishery first and foremost although they are selling static caravans so perhaps the emphasis may change.

Facilities are limited to a toilet/shower block and external pot wash area. If there was anything else I didn't see it. No complaints from the ladies in our party but the showers in the gents area had no working temperature control and the water was unbearably hot. Be warned! Pot wash area was very basic.

There is an on site shop which sells fishing gear/bait and a few cold drinks. We needed nothing during our week long stay so only saw it when checking in. Opening times seemed to depend on what the staff were doing.

Fishing seems to be very popular on site and is not restricted to guests so there is a fair amount of traffic from early morning until dusk. This was a bit of an issue for our party as we had the last two electric hook-ups which were right by the shop where everyone stopped.

As we were fishing we didn't venture off site a great deal but had a pleasant lunch in the Fox on the A140, which is no more than 5 minute drive. We also went to the fish and chip shop in Aylsham which was excellent quality and value for money.

At £12. 50 per adult, I wouldn't recommend the Bure Valley Railway. Very uncomfortable and you can see more of the countryside by driving or walking. Kids enjoyed it though.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: GeraldineTrevor 1 review from this member

We were looking in the current Caravan and Camping year book for a certified site mid Norfolk. In the book we found Cobbleacre Park and it showed it to be an all round site with a bar, restaurant, children's play area, pets, a fish symbol, showers etc. Therefore, we thought we would try it. It was late in the day and when we arrived the site looked tranquil with lakes and plenty of green space. We booked in for a couple of nights but then realised that Cobbleacre Park is predominately for the fishing enthusiast. There is no restaurant, no bar no children's area and the park though looks spacious is fenced in because of Otters breaking in and taking the fish. The Camping and Caravan book was so misleading and did not give an accurate view of the site. If you are a fishing buff then it was perfect but not for us. Had we had access to the internet at the time it would have given us an accurate overview. We were very disappointed as it was also very expensive for a certified site.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mckeeju 1 review from this member

We had a wonderful time, fishing was great, site and shower block was lovely and clean. The fishery manager is a very friendly man, nothing was to much trouble for him. Security at night was the only downfall, obviously fishery manager cant be there twenty four hours a day, perhaps owners should think of a gated system with pass cards, which would stop those fishing persons sneaking in to get a free nights fishing and anything else they may want to get up to.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Skipper66 2 reviews from this member

You enter the site on a gravel road, and as you come round you get to the main road through the site. Bit pot holey but not too bad.

As you head to the fishing hut you see the 16 amp hook ups on your left, with the 5 amp further back and nearer the lake you can see. If you don't want EHU there are other fields to pitch on around the centre lake, weather permitting. All the fields slope towards the lakes so the tops will always be drier. Grass seems to be cut regularly and not to long.

Showers are free, and you have a separate shower and loo from the fishermen, if this site gets busier they will need more. The floors and showers were tiday and fairly clean. The mould needs to be sorted out though on the tiles in the showers.

We hooked up to the 16amp next to the road, as we had a tent I wish we hadn't, very noisy in the morning with the anglers arriving often about half 6. Someone decided to arrive with their radio blasting away and the warden joining in with singing - despite there being a quiet time till 7. 30, luckily we were awake but felt sorry for the family next door with little ones.

Quiet time at night is 10. 30 but the site is silent at about 10. 00 or just after - very thoughtful campers.

For the children there is very little to do, but even on a bank holiday weekend there was plenty of room for ball games with no interference to other campers.

Didn't fish but there was plenty of fish coming out and a fair size as well. Good choice of lakes as well, with a good species range. Little tackle shop on site also.

Overall, we would go again but only for the fishing being so good on site. And on the rear field or the bottom right hand corner as you look at the main lake.

If we were just visiting family we would go elsewhere.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Budgie123 2 reviews from this member

Just returned from a 6 night stay here and for anybody who is into fishing then this is a site to visit. You have 5 lakes to choose from and if you are in a tent you are pitched by Adams lake which we fished for 4 days and caught every day biggest being carp of 14lbs. There are toilet facilities for people day fishing, while people staying on site have there own toilet and showers (2 of each) which you are given a code for. They are cleaned every day and have plenty of hot water with plenty of space and hooks for clothes, there is a pot washing area 2 sinks with hot water again. Did not see a play area for children so I don't know if they have any.

The bailiff on site is bob who sees to everything from holiday bookings to people fishing, he's there from about 6-30am to about 4pm. There is no barrier of any kind at entrance so you can get people driving in or out at any time of day or night but we found this not to be a problem. If you book a holiday here whether its camping or staying in one of there statics it as to be done with paypal.

Aylsham is the nearest village with a tesco and local shops which is only about 3 miles away. Great Yarmouth and Cromer not far away and the norfolk broads is also nearby, Wroxham is a lovely place to visit. Cobbleacres is a very nice site in nofolk countryside, we will be back in the future overall rating from me 9/10

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: SUNFLOWER63 5 reviews from this member

Quiet area away from normal hustle and bustle. Lovely site with lakes for fishing and set in a very rural quiet area. Fishing costs extra per £7day or £15night where we saw it get busy especially at bank holidays and weekend as it is open to public for fishing as well as campers and holiday caravans. It was very bad area for mobile phone signals but a public phone on site if needed and difficult to get signal throughout our journeys in Norfolk.

Aylsham was nearest for any shops with tesco budgens and banks and chemist. Several pubs and eating places on main road to Aylsham and at end of road junction A140 at Hevingham.

Ice cream cart visited every afternoon. There was one block of toilets and showers I think four in total although we didn't use these as we hired a static caravan but did have a look and seemed adequate and clean for the amount of campers on site over the Easter holidays. We stayed in badger caravan and it was clean and well presented and a reasonable price.

Lovely walks in the forest next to site. When walking turn right at camp gates around the bends carry on walking along brick kiln road until Bringles Turn on the right which is a public footpath leading over a small stream and stile into the forest. You can take the car but limited parking in via A140 on right just past the caravan store. Buxton heath is also nice to walk but stay to main path as adders are present and there is bog and marsh in the middle as well as being a SSI listed with natural England.

We visited the norfolk broads Horstead and Cotishall had river walk then Wroxham with walks by river on the broads. Ranworth broad nice with conservation area and church with tower to climb if open and church tea shop with pub where there was adequate parking.

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Johnjory 115 reviews from this member

A Camping & Caravanning Club CS which is run by the Cobbleacre Lakes Fishery. If you like CS / CL type sites, Cobbleacre Lakes is sure to please.

Set well off the road, in a very quiet location, this is an entirely peaceful, informal & very comfortable site which is ideally situated for visiting both Norwich and the North Norfolk coast.

The pitching area is a large level field in front of the managerís office. The row of 5A EHU pitches back on to one of the lakes. I guess that families with children will need to exercise the obvious precautions.

Conveniently positioned next to the pitching area is a modern toilet / shower (free) block. In CS / CL terms, this facility is excellent. There is also an outdoor pot washing facility, but this was not connected at the time of our visit.

No local shops; nearest Ďcivilizationí (Co-op, chippy, Indian takeaway, pharmacy, newsagent) is 4 miles away in Horsford. If you need caravan spares / repairs, Norwich Caravans is nearby on the Cromer Road.

Daytime traffic in Norwich centre can be quite slow and expect to pay about £1.45 / hour to park. Perhaps consider the Airport Park and Ride which is directly on your route into Norwich from this site. Evening visits are much easier; after 6.30pm City Centre parking is a flat rate of £1.60.

If you like real ale pubs, be sure not to miss, firstly, the multi award winning Fat Cat Pub. (49 West End Street, Norwich, NR2 4NA) Off the beaten track, but you wonít believe your eyes when you see around 40 different beers being served all day every day. Secondly; The Cider Shed (98-100 Lawson Road, Norwich NR3 4LF) for real cider and good music.

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Angela.frary 3 reviews from this member

Just spent 3 days and nights at this lovely site which was so relaxing and got away from all stress at home.The toilet block was spotless,they even have a fishermans toilet. The main toilet block for campers etc has a security code. Hope to re-visit soon.All staff were very helpful and friendly. Great place to stay. Great place to fish, loads of lovely lakes to choose from.

Previous     11 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Norfolk

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over £399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3422 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth £399!