Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Herons Pond Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Site Reviews

Herons Pond Caravan Park
Crakehall
Bedale
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
DL8 1TX
Tel: 01677 426934  or  07795422495
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 9
Open: 29/03 To 30/09

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 55 Reviews
                9/10 from 55 Reviews

Photos (9)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  55 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Alan2772 1 review from this member

Lovely quiet clean site Well maintained by owners. Good dog walk and exercise area. We will be booking up again. Not to far away from Bedale town centre and good base camp for visiting the Yorkshire Sales.

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Lh6892 6 reviews from this member

Stayed at Heron's Pond for the warmest weekend of the year so far and what a little gem of a site this is!

Within easy reach of the A1, yet no traffic noise. Exceedingly clean showers, toilet and washing-up area and beautifully maintained surroundings.

Richard, the owner was very friendly but not in an interfering way, we'll definitely be back!

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bernie Barwise 10 reviews from this member

Third time to visit. Great site, in a fantastic location with lots to do in the area.

Site is spotless male and female shower and toilets kept spotless and never a queue. There is an area for washing dishes and hand washing and a line is provided for you to use. Lovely and quiet with a some pitches over looking the pond. Fantastic dog walk best we have ever seen. Lovely couple run the site friendly but not intrusive. Definitely recommend to book.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: BADDERS ROY 3 reviews from this member

Once again a very relaxing week away at this very peaceful, beautiful site, set in lovely countryside on a very quiet lane, now and again you can hear the whistle from the steam train in the distance, the dog walk is amazing and also a 1 acre secure field for your pets to run and play in, then a 10 minute stroll to the Bay Horse Inn in Crakehall for a pint and a meal, we will certainly come back again to Herons Pond.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Chestnuts 22 reviews from this member

Lovely adults only site. Brilliant dog walks our dog especially liked the field the owners have set aside for dogs to have a good run off the lead. We walked to Bedale which is a lovely little town. It's a fairly short walk(10mins) to Crakehall where there is a garage that sells grocery's and newspapers. The only downside was that our pitch 6b was extremely small by the time we put up the awning it was very cramped, we could not get round one side of the motorhome as it was so tight to the fence. But apart from that we loved it.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: LesleyandPeter 35 reviews from this member

Pretty, quiet and peaceful small site which is adults only, . Pitches are large, facilities whilst dated are cleaned to a high standard.

The owners are friendly, although I did get in bother on arrival as they hadn't received our email confirmation which I presume is floating about in cyber land.

The site offers dog owners a great exercise field and pleasant dog toileting walk, with spades at frequent intervals allowing the offending poop to be flicked away rather than placed into non biodegradable plastic bags, an alternative I very much agree with as I think its far more 'Earth friendly'

The area around offers some wonderful walks.

Bedale is a lovely little town with a mix of individual shops, pubs and cafes.

We met up with neighbours who were spending a week at Herons pond along with their dogs Tes and Tia. Ourselves and our two dogs Ralph and Ping enjoyed some lovely walks across countryside and into Bedale enjoying the company.

Would we return ? Yes, but having the means to travel and see different places we don't often do returns unless its a impromptu getaway.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: BADDERS ROY 3 reviews from this member

Can only say positive things about this site, we stayed for 2 weeks and enjoyed every day, the pitches are very spacious, the showers and toilets were spotless as was the CDP, The dog walk and field for them to run free in was fantastic, the pub in Crakehall 10 mins away was very friendly with good beer and food (check opening times)we will be back again at this again very soon.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: TigerJools 8 reviews from this member

Our fourth visit to Heron's Pond and I doubt it will be our last.

Very peaceful site - adult only so an ideal spot for a break taken during school holidays. The pitches around the pond are not the largest but benefit from a lovely outlook. Those away from the pond have masses of room around them. The facilities are spotless and roomy. The owners are friendly and discreet. It is ideally placed for touring the area in a car. You can walk from the site but if you want to do a serious hike then you really need to drive a bit further afield. The local pub is walkable but only opens in the evening. It serves food every night apart from Monday. Bedale is a short drive away for shops, restaurants and more pubs. They are opening a new bypass around Bedale in the Autumn so if you are arriving from the direction of the A1 your journey will be easier on the clutch! Overall would thoroughly recommend this site if you are looking for a peaceful break in a beautiful area.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Alkaz1808 2 reviews from this member

I spent a few nights here in my Large motorhome. I was on pitch 6, perfect size for my vehicle. I agree that pitch 6a is a bit smaller but just inform the owner of the size of your vehicle and he will allocate the correct pitch.

It's an idyllic setting overlooking a large pond, plenty of wildlife to see including a number of sheep in the field. Plenty of dog walking paths with little spades along the route to carry out the necessary! Also a tap and bowl.

The site is peaceful, no shop, reception or clubhouse. Ideal for us. There's a garage 10mins walk away in Crakehall which is a mini market. Also a pub in the village selling food. The washing facilities are brilliant. One toilet each for ladies and gentleman. One full shower room each too, with shower cubicle, toilet, wall heater, sink etc. Spotlessly clean at all times, plenty of nice liquid soap and paper towels.

Dish washing area, again spotless. Bowl and draining rack provided, also Fairy liquid if you have forgotten your own.

The site is well run and maintained. The owner and his wife have a beautiful house and fab garden next to the campsite, both very hardworking.

I have already recommended the site and will definitely return!

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Claire N 13 reviews from this member

We used this site as a stopover on our way up to Edinburgh as it is only a short distance from the A1. It is an immaculately kept site in a peaceful setting. Facilities are very good with individual shower rooms for ladies and gents. There is a dog friendly pub in the village which is only a 10 minute walk away. Would definitely use this site again, either as a stopover or to explore the surrounding area.

Previous     55 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over 399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to 175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3260 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth 399!