Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Shottisham Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Woodbridge > Shottisham Campsite Reviews

Shottisham Campsite
St Margarets House
Hollesley Road
Shottisham
Woodbridge
Suffolk   (Browse area)
IP12 3HD
Tel: 01394 411247
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 01/04/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 194 Reviews
                9/10 from 194 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (28)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  194 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Crazyguider 24 reviews from this member

 Whether you stay with children, grandchildren or just as a couple, this site has everything you need for a peaceful yet interesting holiday.

The road outside the site has very little traffic.

The site is flat - no levelling required, has EHU, beautifully clean facilities, and amazingly friendly owners who live on site.

Communication before arrival is excellent.

Pitches are large and you are not overlooked by neighbours.

You can hire fire pits and picnic tables, or visit the Blue Rabbit on site cafe, purchase delicious home-produced bacon, sausages and eggs, or have a pizza from Pete on Friday evenings.

The main attraction for children is the small-holding on the site, where they can go and feed the animals with Claire, the owner. The village park is accessible via a gate in the fence, so no roads to cross, and its just a short walk from the park, through the church yard to the wonderful Sorrel Horse Pub.

The site is close to the coast, Ipswich and Felixstowe. Woodbridge is the local town and is very pretty.

We visited Orford Ness (fab day out), Sutton Hoo (another Fab day and so close we cycled there), Framingham castle, Orford castle and cycled from Aldeburgh to Sizewell across country. My husband also visited Bawdsey Radar museum, which is 3 miles down the road.

Lots of places to watch birds - saw 3 Marsh Harriers!

A great place to cycle as it's undulating, as opposed to flat.

The Sorrel Horse is a really friendly place. It was always busy, and is the food is so excellent you will need to book ahead.

There is only one real downside to this site, and that is the 5+ house drive for us, which sadly means we won't return. 


Date of Visit: May 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Lisaox 1 review from this member

 A wonderful place to stay,

The most relaxing of places and offers lots for everyone but most of all my grandson loved every minute, from woods to animals feeds to fire pit.

So lovely enjoy coming back every time 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Boyce5 1 review from this member

 Fantastic family site with cafe, farm animals you can feed,

Toilet shower blocks,

Large playground load of walks, and old thatched pub next door

What more could you want 


Date of Visit: April 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Debbie 1 review from this member

 We were looking for a local to Ipswich campsite where we could take our two grandchildren aged 11 and 5 for 3 nights. We were thrilled to come across this delightful site. The owners has kept the site spotless.

The toilet block on our "field" was faultless, large shower room to change and keep your clothes dry and place to put your toiletries whilst showering. Large toilets so accompanying little one could fit with me too! Large well spread out animal farm, the children loved visiting each day.

The playpark was fantastic for both children, safe, well maintained and room to kick a ball away from the equipment, plus a seating area for the adults. The children loved the slide which was safe set in a tall mound with a fort at the top.

Sadly the cafe was not open this weekend, but looked good (will be back to check it out) There is a shortcut to the pub (The Sorrel Horse) less than 5 mins away. Fantastic food and service.

Also a short cut to the church where the children enjoyed doing some brass rubbings. We didn't venture off site as the children were so happy exploring.

Lots of lovely walks all accessible from the campsite.

We will definitely will return, maybe with all 4 grandchildren next time. Thank you. 


Date of Visit: April 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Hellen 1 review from this member

 Claire & James are super friendly and want you to have a wonderful stay at their campsite.

Very family friendly with Pete’s Pizzas on Friday night, animal feeding, play park, Blue Rabbit Cafe and a safe space for adventures with new friends.

Clean toilets & shower block, fridges/freezers for campers to use, delicious eggs from the chickens and good coffee too.

A wonderful location, walking distance from the local pub and close to beaches and Woodbridge.

Such a lovely get-a-way… 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: Urquha 1 review from this member

 Well equipped campsite in a really lovely spot.

Our pitch was on the far edge and was lovely and private with lots of trees and beautiful birdsong.

Great facilities all spotlessly clean.

Extremely helpful people running the site and excellent communication around the booking and our stay.

We were travelling without kids but I know my kids would love to come here and use the playground and football pitch and explore the small holding.

The nearby pub was also fantastic - both for a meal and a drink. Make sure you book to eat as they are good so seem to get very busy !

I'd highly recommend this place and will be back! 


Date of Visit: April 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Gents5 1 review from this member

 Shottisham campsite is a delightful place that we come back to year after year.

James and Claire are charming hosts, friendly and helpful, and the facilities are spot on.

It is a joy to be surrounded by nature and and animals, and the on-site cafe provides excellent, real fare.

The Sorrel Horse pub is just round the corner and as walkers we particularly enjoy access to lovely countryside and bird life on the river Deben.

Shottisham remains our ‘go to’ retreat whether the sun is shining or not. We love it! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Sandra 1 review from this member

 Lovely walks on site quiet and friendly. Fresh eggs bacon and sausages sold from owner. Oven pizzas made to order on certain days.

Ideal for families with small children.

Fire pits available.

Ideally situated for touring Suffolk.

Love watching the farm animals.

Excellent site for old and young 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jonath 1 review from this member

 Wonderful site - very peaceful and good facilities.

Dog walks from the site are excellent. Pitches are a very generous size.

Owners very helpful and available to sort out problems (kindly lent me a spanner to change gas over) but not at all intrusive.

Will definitely return. 


Date of Visit: October 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Nickpo 1 review from this member

 The facilities were spotlessly clean & seemed brand new, couldn’t fault them.

The owners seem to prefer a “ hands off “ approach, which I had no problem with as the email explains perfectly what is required upon arrival & the one query I had was answered swiftly & clearly by text from the owners. 
via mobile


Previous     194 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Shottisham Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Shottisham Campsite?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Shottisham Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Woodbridge      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Suffolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1568 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement