Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Shottisham Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > East Anglia England > Suffolk > Woodbridge > Shottisham Campsite > Reviews

Shottisham Campsite
St Margarets House
Hollesley Road
Shottisham
Woodbridge
Suffolk   (Browse area)
IP12 3HD
Tel: 01394 411247
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 29/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 292 Reviews
                9/10 from 292 Reviews


Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (30)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  292 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2024 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Swim 24 1 review from this member

 First time at this site, first time staying in Suffolk. Lovely site very quiet, even with the small holding. Which is great for the children.

Two shower blocks, one much more modern but only has four showers. So at busy times that could be difficult. Although the older block also has two showers, always clean.

Unfortunately the cafe was closed due to illness which could be long term ? So wishing them a speedy recovery !

Good dog walking on site & plenty of play areas for children. Have to watch the dog as the chickens sometimes roam about the tents & caravans !

Some areas are a little run down, but this doesn’t detract from the main site. So much bird song to wake up too, would definitely come again to this site.

Just a short walk to the village pub, who excepts dogs. No shop in the village, so a drive a few miles up the road.

The church is between the pub & site so you will hear the bells on a Sunday !

We have another 3nights left, so hope it stays sunny & dry !? 


Date of Visit: May 2024  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Helenb 1 review from this member

 Shottisham campsite is a lovely place for camping. The toilets and showers are very clean and well maintained.

There is a playground within the grounds that is great for children.

There is usually a nice café and pizza oven but it was unfortunately shut when we visited.

The location is great and I enjoyed our visit. The only small complaint is that the firewood is expensive.

We had brought a little with us so decided just to manage with it rather than buy any but otherwise it was a lovely place to stay. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2024  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Cooper 1 review from this member

 It's a lovely site, very peaceful and tranquil.

Plenty of open space, big skies and a nice pub very close by.

Some of the facilities could do with an upgrade but we were self contained so not an issue for us.

A tad pricey but worth it. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2024  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Wether 1 review from this member

 Delightfully situated site with good walks to Shingle Street, Ramsholt, Rendlesham Forest and others.

Lovely owners and super peaceful.

Good facilities and other campers very respectful.

Chickens pecking round the van in the mornings which was nice. Other animals are Alpaca’s and pigs which were cute. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2024  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Preece 1 review from this member

 My daughter (7) and I had a wonderful stay over the bank holiday weekend. The animal feeding on Saturday was a HUGE hit and my daughter loved being able to meet, stroke and feed the different animals (chickens, pigs, goats).

Toilets were always clean. Fridges and freezer available for campers to use were really handy.

We also loved the countryside nearby and enjoyed exploring the woodland that the campsite backed on to and discovering the village playground next to the campsite.

Spacious and flat pitches. Wi-fi good. Cafe not open during our stay.

Daughter appreciated the lack of hand dryers (she hates the noise) so we dried our hands on clothes as we normally do!

We will definitely visit again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2024 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: MegMaw 1 review from this member

 We had a lovely night at Shottisham testing out new tent for the first time.

The site is very peaceful and well laid out with modern facilities.

The information prior to arriving including map was very useful and the site is located in a great spot for the sea and local towns.

The only negative if I had to list one is that the previous run facilities like pizza and homegrown produce didn’t seem to be available with run down looking areas that were a bit sad to view.

But overall a lovely site we’d recommend. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2024 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Travvy3315 1 review from this member

 Booked this campsite for the first time out in our caravan, wanted somewhere fairly local for the first trip and this campsite was recommended by a friend,

Nice quiet, tidy site,

The toilet and showers were exceptional clean.

Pitches are nice and level and plenty of room.

Would happily go back and would recommend this place 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2024  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: J Yarnton-Peaock 1 review from this member

 We stayed at this site for 3 nights for our first trip and were really pleased with our selection, the site is lovely, pitches well maintained and spacious, waste facilities were well located.

Toilet block was clean & warm.

There is a park close by which was perfect for our children, and a pub not far down the road, there were plenty of walks around and the animal feeding on a Saturday night was a lovely activity.

The cafe was not open whilst we stayed. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2024 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Clementine Camper 1 review from this member

 What an absolute gem this little campsite is. Positives: level pitches, fantastically clean toilets and showers, plenty of room on the pitch.

Time your visit right and you can visit the animals and feed some of them, but if you don't want to join in with that you can talk to the goats and the alpacas over the fence and the chickens might come visiting.

The camping area is divided up into smaller 'paddocks' with trees and hedges in between. There is a small cafe on site (check the owner's website for opening times), but if it isn't open the pretty pub just down the road does food and the pizza's smelled delicious when I walked past on Thursday evening.

There is walking directly from the site on footpaths, bridleways and byways and plenty to see and do in the area -Orford has a lovely bakery and views or Orford Ness, the site is very near Sutton Hoo and we enjoyed walking along the wild and windy coast, especially Shingle Street.

We didn't have any children with us but all of the youngsters on site seemed to be enjoying the space, visiting the animals and sitting round a campfire in the evening. The village playground is just across the field too. I know our children would have enjoyed it when they were younger.

An informative email was sent prior to our visit. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and I can't think of any negatives.

You might want to pack a small hand towel for visits to the toilets as there aren't any hand dryers but that isn't a negative, just a thought! 


Date of Visit: October 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Bobtay 1 review from this member

 I was cycling on the Wolf Way (east) and wanted a campsite for the night of Sunday 15th October, to give me the opportunity to have a hot shower and to rinse some garments through.

Having contacted the site via email in the morning, everything was transacted simply and at a very reasonable price. I was then emailed details of my pitch etc, with an option of choosing another if it didn't suit me.

When I arrived, I pitched my tent and then went for a shower. I have to say, that the showers and toilets were the cleanest I have ever encountered at a campsite. They were absolutely spotless! The shower block was warm and the shower itself was hot and powerful; just perfect.

I rinsed a few bits through in the sinks provided between the blocks and was even able to charge my phone and power pack from 2 outside plug sockets.

The Cafe and Pizza hut were finished for the season, which I expected wand was aware of, so no dramas about them being closed. All in all, I had a very comfortable stay and would recommend it to anyone cycling the Wolf Way.

I'd definitely return if I ever needed a campsite in this location again!

PS: The Sorrel Horse pub (walkable) is closed on a Sunday evening, so I cycled a bit further (2 miles) to The Plough Inn at Sutton.

Unfortunately, they don't usually open the kitchen on a Sunday night, but seeing that I was starving and not wanting to go back to my tent to cook, the landlady proceeded to cook me fish, chips and garden peas. Which were fabulous.

The locals were friendly too and I had a great couple of hours watching the South Africa v France rugby World Cup semi-final with them! 


Previous     292 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Shottisham Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Shottisham Campsite?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Shottisham Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Woodbridge      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Suffolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2264 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement