Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Le Champ Du Moulin

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Rhone-Alpes > Venosc > Le Champ Du Moulin Reviews

Le Champ Du Moulin
Bourg D Arud
102 Route Du Grand Pre
Venosc
Rhone-Alpes   (Browse area)
38520
Tel: 00 33 4 76800738
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 83
Open: 15/12 To 30/04 And 01/06 To 15/09

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 14 Reviews
                10/10 from 14 Reviews

Photos (19)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 1 mile 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 1 mile   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports 1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  14 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Jennydddd 4 reviews from this member

We spent 7 nights at this campsite in August. Our pitch was allocated for us and was in the row next to the river. It was big and the views were fantastic. I had been concerned about the proximity to the river based on other reviews but as you have to climb up a steep bank to see it, I was not worried at all once on site. The noise from the river was pretty loud and definitely helped us to sleep!

All the facilities were fantastic and it was the little things that made a difference. Things like loo roll in the toilets, a designated sink with soap for washing hands and big basins with plugs for washing clothes and free table football! The restaurant on site was really good, although a limited menu.

The site had a mix of nationalities, but more British families than I had expected. Because of the small size, it felt really safe and the children all played together and were free to explore the site. It was really quiet from 10pm and because of the background noise of the river, we didn't hear anything through the night or in the morning. Apart from the church bells at 8am. The sun didn't get into the site until after 9am which meant that the van didn't get too warm in the morning.

We had a mix of weather. Sunny days it was about 30 degrees and we enjoyed the swimming pool next door. We did however have a couple of rainy days when it felt very chilly and meant that we couldn't do quite a much as we wanted to.

The only negative is that it isn't simple to get to the supermarket. We don't like to have to move the van lots so we had to take the cable car up to the town to get our shopping.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: T5OnTour 22 reviews from this member

Fabulous site. Lovely atmosphere. Nice mix of couples, families and groups of mountain bikers, and very quiet and relaxed. Facilities weren't the newest but were clean and well maintained. There is a short (5 minute) walk to the Venosc telecabine which takes you up to Les Deux Alpes in about 10 minutes - up there are loads of restaurants, bars, cafes, etc and a number of well stocked supermarkets (although prices reflect the captive audience). The campsite itself has a restaurant open 6 days per week and a mobile pizza van on the other night. We ate twice in the restaurant - excellent entrecôte and frites, followed by some local ice- cream. Delicious.

We are keen mountain bikers but not into downhill so we were a bit nervous that everyone apart from us was in full downhill rig on the Bikepark, but we decided that that was simply because a lot of people had hired bikes and kit, and we were very comfortable on the green routes - L'Ange via Le Diable lift is particularly good fun. We'd recommmend the 680 walking route down from Le Diable lift, and 603 from Vallee Blanche - great views. We would have done longer walks e. G. To Lac Muzelle, but the average daily temperature was about 33 degrees, hence the lack of uphill walks!

If you are into walking and down hill biking (especially assisted by the list system) then this is a perfect location. We are already talking about going back!

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Europa390 12 reviews from this member

This is a lovely little site in some very beautiful and spectacular scenery. With some 80 pitches we were able to choose our own from a row by the river and most of the time, with only 25% occupancy, pitches nearby were unoccupied. They were of good size, flat with 10 amp supply and water points nearby. Showers and loos were clean, with plenty of hot water and thoughtfully set out. Loos had seats and paper.

Monsieur and Madame were delightfully friendly and helpful, bread and croissants were available from them at reception each day on order. The site was very quiet with no entertainments although a swimming pool lies up the road nearby. The restaurant was open three days a week (Tue-Thurs) when we were there, with a small menu.

Families with children need to be aware of the Veneon Torrent, which rushes by the site and its name is appropriate. It is fast flowing, clean but ice-cold, and as it is used by EDF for power generation, its level can fluctuate unpredictably. I was bitten on the foot by a large mosquito and bathing it in the icy river was delicious!

There is lots to do around here, the highlight of our trip was a (scary) drive up to La Berard, along a road with no crash barriers or other concessions to the at times vertical drop, off the side of the single track road. Le Bourg d’Oisans is 20 minutes away with restaurants etc. , and a good Casino supermarket.

A delightful site and we hope to be back.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Michelle63 3 reviews from this member

Recently returned from a skiing holiday. Stayed for 4 nights. Large plots, beautiful views and clean, tidy facilities. Plenty of hot water in the showers and drying racks for towels by a radiator. The restaurant wasn't open yet so did not have chance to experience the food. Would definitely return as it is so close to Les Deux Alpes and the telecabine up to the resort runs all day until 7pm. ( this changes to mornings and afternoons only in the summer season) Bread and croissants could be ordered in advance if required. Very quiet site which was pleasing. We hired our ski equipment in the resort and left it in the hire shop overnight so no lugging skis around.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Rbedwards 11 reviews from this member

Fabulous site. Location next to river, nestled in narrow valley. Large pitches, varied units, quite a few Brits, French, Italian, a few Dutch and German. Facilities built in the main house are quite old but perfectly adequate. Good supplies of hot water, well cleaned loos, washing machine, etc. Friendly and effective site management, Monsieur and Madame always around and very helpful.

Telecabine close by, local swimming pool next to site. Water activities company nearby.

Can't recommend it too highly.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Charlie and Helen 1 review from this member

This site is perfect. We would not hesitate in going back again. The facilities are clean & well kept, the pitches are of a good size, and the surroundings are spectacular. The view from the site is amazing & our pitch was right next to the river that comes down from the glacier.

The staff were friendly & helpful. Restaurant on site. We went on pizza evening & it was lovely - pizzas cooked in a proper pizza oven.

We stayed for 7 nights, and for such a small place there is so much to do, we could easily have stayed longer. There is paragliding, white water rafting, a 'Go Ape' type affair only a few hundred yards away and obviously good for walking & hiking. We have two children, 9yrs & 6yrs and we walked up to the waterfall & higher, about one & a half hours walk, which was enjoyable.

We also took the cable car up to Deux Alps a few times, and also right up to the Glacier on one occasion, and visited the fantastic ice cave. There is a reliable bus service which we used to go up to another view point, which was worth going to for the journey alone. It was like an episode from 'most dangerous roads'!

There is no pool, however next door is a municipal pool with a slide, which is supervised & very clean. It is 3 euros each, but if you go after 5. 30pm it's only 1 euro as it closes at 6. 30pm.

Fresh bread & croissants from the site shop in the mornings were delicious & the only reason the child friendliness only gets an 8 is because the river is very fast flowing & you can never be too careful.

We couldn't recommend this site enough, and will be returning next year.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Kevsue1 19 reviews from this member

This site is paradise. We had a large pitch near the river which was beautiful. Many different nationalities on the site with a few other English campers. The owners were very friendly and you can order fresh bread each day. They do sell a few bits and piece in the shop but we stopped in Bourg`Oisans to stock up. There are also supermarkets in les deux alpes but not much in venosc (although it's very pretty)it's a fantastic area for walking. We were there at the beginning of July and it was very hot so we found the walking hard work! But the scenery is so stunning it takes your breathe away. The cable car up to les deux alpes is 5 minute wAlk and the ride up is superb. The campsite is clean with excellent facilities. We would definitely go back. The most beautiful views we have ever had whilst camping

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: John+judy 101 reviews from this member

Les Champs de Moulin is a quiet site deep in the Veneon valley beneath Les Deux Alpes. As the valley faces east-west it does however get lots of sun all day (when it’s not raining that is!). The site is used a lot by downhill-mountain bikers who use the trails up in Les Deux Alpes, which is easily and cheaply accessed by the telecabine lift a couple of hundred metres along the road. (Euro 5. 40 return or one way in June 2013). Site facilities are very good and plentiful, though a bit sombre as they are enclosed to enable use of the site in winter. Bread is baked on site and can be pre-ordered the day before, and there is a small restaurant with rather limited opening hours (Tartiflette E 13. 40). Portions are very generous! Just along the riverside road is a municipal pool with slides, which was free until early July. There is also a centre for organising various adventure activities such as rafting, and canyoning just nearby. The village of Venosc, which rises up the valley side opposite the site, is very pretty and hosts several arty-crafty type shops and a few character restaurants (though we didn’t use these). From Venosc if you want to walk up to Les Deux Alpes there is a well-graded footpath - it takes about 1hr 40m. Or you can ride up and walk down. Telecabine fare is the same single or return though. There is a Via Ferrata between Venosc and Les Deux Alpes called Perron, but as far as we are aware is really only for experienced and very fit ferratarists. We chose to do a slightly milder version near St Christophe, which is further up the valley road (not suitable for caravans). The ferrata is in two sections, an easy family route starting near St Christophe and a rather more challenging one starting at the activity centre by the river, where you can hire the kit. As we have done ferratas before we did the harder route without a guide (about 3 hours fairly intensive climbing) but beginners may benefit from using a guide. Overall, Champs de Moulin is an excellent site for those who are not looking for organised entertainment, but are looking for lots of outdoor activities.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dullin37 6 reviews from this member

Visited this site for 1 week starting 1st August 2012. Great location with fantastic scenery. Site owners are very friendly and have fresh bread baked on site each day.

All the facilities of Les Deux Alpes, just a 5 minute walk from site via the Venosc cable car that runs from 07:45 to 20. 00 each day, only a 10m minute ride for €5 return.

Wife and I went Paragliding taking off from Les Deux Alpes and landing in the field next to the campsite, this was awesome and you get €10 off per adult if you book via the campsite.

Also went white water rafting with Ultimate Rafting (grade 2) who are located right next door. The rafting took place further down the Veneon River that runs alongside the campsite (minibus there and back).

The scenery during the rafting was breathtaking, definitely worth doing and a great experience.

Would stay here again if in the area. Recommend you book at peak times as the site was pretty much full while we were there.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Beightons 2 reviews from this member

Beautiful location, right next to a tumbling river and with views of mountains all around (watch small kids near river though).

No pool, but a public pool right next to it that costs 3 euros in the day or just 1 euro after 5. 30pm.

Clean toilets and showers, free sauna that you can book, fresh bread in the mornings.

The campsite is a short uphill walk to the Venosc cable car which takes you to Deux Alpes which has a big pool, skating rink, summer luge, bungee trampolining and all the cable cars up the mountain for hikers and mountain bikers.

You can buy a weekly pass for all the lifts which is better value. Splendid site for outdoors loving families.

I've marked it down on child friendliness only because of the river, older kids like mine, 9 and 12, absolutely loved it.

Previous     14 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Rhone-Alpes

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3051 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019