Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Castlewellan Forest Park

Campsite Search > UK > Northern Ireland > N Ireland > County Down > Castlewellan Forest Park Reviews

Castlewellan Forest Park
The Grange
Castlewellan
County Down
N Ireland   (Browse area)
BT31 9BU
Tel: 028 43778664
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 13/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 19 Reviews
                8/10 from 19 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding On Site   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  19 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Danny mccomb 1 review from this member

 We stayed for just one night in our tent and chose a pitch near the toilet block. The site is huge and you can pitch where you like.

There is a lovely café on site and a well stocked up.

The toilet block is the best block very clean and smells better but dated I've ever seen in all of my years of camping, plenty of space, roomy shower cubicles a shower and a toilet all within!

In the morning, there was a nice guy very welcoming

And a girl at night time cleaning so I never actually saw the block dirty!

This site has tremendous views and well worth a visit. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Gerry smyth 1 review from this member

 The place has views to die for

The toilets are very very clean. the cleaning crew has manners. the loos smell nice as did not before

I would stay again

The forest staff are ok nice guys 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Sil--via 1 review from this member

 You can't beat the walks around the lake and surrounding, the wall garden etc. There is really enough to keep us entertained for a couple of days. If you are into mountain biking and water sports, even for longer.

We found the toilets clean although soap dispensers were not always filled in, which at time of Covid is not the best but overall very good.

They seemed to have booked only half capacity for touring caravan, as a friend couldn't come in and was told the place was full when it looked half full.

I was in the Dove Cote where it is all tarmac and loved it, very cosy! My friends were on the main site where you can pitch an awning and it was very good too.

There is a little cafe for bare minimum and a huge amazing gas station shop which could rival any Tesco, with better quality!

Will definitely go back. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 15 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Orintex 3 reviews from this member

 We took mountain bikes, sit on top kayaks, canoe and paddleboard, fishing rods and walking boots.

Excellent range of mountain bike trails,

Substantial lake for paddling and fishing (swimming not really recommended but we did sometimes)

Walking trails within the forest park and the Mourne Mountains are just a few minutes drive away.

Beaches within a 15 minute drive.

Several take-aways, pubs and shops within easy walking distance

Both blocks of toilets and showers were well maintained and clean - one block much older than the other.

Mountain bikes, paddleboards and sit-on-tops can all be hired on-site for a reasonable cost.

If there's a negative - the site is run as part of the forest park, so there aren't loads of dedicated staff around. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: LauraKeenan 1 review from this member

 Campsite/pitches generally seemed pretty good, making the most of the lovely setting.

Toilet & showers were okay, functional but could do with a spruce up as some doors didn't lock and the whole place was a wee bit grubby.

We were frustrated by the lack of action from security towards disruptive campers and cut our trip short at 5. 30am after a night of badly broken sleep due to loud music, singing, shouting, engine revving and lights being randomly turned on throughout the night.

It had been reassuring to see security drive round a few times as it got dark, but other than advising on making sure bbqs were put out there was no intervention when required. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: SterlingMan 1 review from this member

 Excellent campsite in a fantastic location. Interesting grounds, forest, lakes, gardens and lots of activities.

It was quite difficult to book as the Forest Ranger does not man the phones. It is best to ring from 9. 30am to 11. 30am.

The pitches are very narrow surrounding by very soft ground. Its impossible not to drive on the soft grass due to the narrow pitches an narrow roads.

The fellow caravanners were all quiet and respectful.

There is also a courtyard area which is great during wet periods as its a hard tarmacked surface. Lots of motorhomes use this area.

Nice flat routes for cycling for young kids as well as hillier routes for walking.

The Peace Maze is an excellent challenge and took us almost an hour to solve.

The kids park is fantastic with sculpted wooden climbing frames, shapes, animals etc.

The facilities are good with clean (but old) block. Cafe on site. Good local stores nearby.

The pitches are not fully serviced as water and wastewater points are shared.

Every pitch has a EHU though as you would expect.

To conclude, an excellent site with incredible grounds in a interesting town. Well worth a visit. 


Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Baddon 6 reviews from this member

 Just back from first visit to Castlewellan.

We booked three more weekends before the summer holidays mainly due to the services on offer.

Positives:- Good site, well laid out in little circles with green areas in middle, plenty of trees to give shelter for the awnings if wind picks up.

Walking trails of various lengths and grades.

Mountain bike trails of varying difficulty from suitable for all kids/families on the main walk round lake to black sections. (we did 3 different trails over the weekend)

Canoe, Sit on top Kayak, mountain bike electric mountain bikes, Tow behind bikes & buggies for kids all available to hire.

Other activities payable locally are Archery & Climbing (tower wall for kids)

Great lake with Castle, fantastic walled gardens and arboretum, well worth a dander round.

Massive peace maze (took us well over half an hour from going in to getting back out)

Younger kids play area, very cleverly done with a forest theme.

Many picnic areas and tables

Proximity to local village with its usual services (massive NISA at exit to park) and a few chippies, pubs and other eateries. Can we recommend The Oaks for chippy food, its on main street about top of hill near lights. Try their onion rings. YUM YUM

EHU is 16Amp so plenty for most. But bring a decent length cable as not all plots have their own post.

Water ans waste water are in various spots round site.

Friendly staff who were able to fill us in on the what to do's, and what not to do's as well as try this try info.

Down sides:-

Ground was still very soft, it is N. Ireland and its been wet for about last 4 months.

Tarmac pitches were VERY narrow (JUST. The width of caravan)

It was near impossible to reverse on or tow off the van without marking the grass with wheels of van or stearing wheels.

SHOWERS & TOILET block. 5 out of ten. Needs attention as per other posts.

Booking system. Its a throw back from another era. No deposit so if someone is not coming after managing to make a booking then there is no penalty for not cancelling. As such wardens were telling me on any BOOKED UP weekend or week there are usually up to 5 pitches left free. They will turn many away on phone as booked up.

Getting a booking by phone. Good luck- as they only answer the phone for two hrs a day, I think 9:30-10:30 & 2:30 -3:30. At all other times it just rings out.

For us, this weekend, it was just the two of us, it was a total joy to de-stress in such stunning surroundings with so many outdoor options to enjoy.

With the 3 kids (10, 5 & 2) they will have a ball on all the activities available.

So looking forward to getting back again soon.

NOTES:-

They also have a massive field for camping in as well.

A stoned courtyard with EHU for Camper vans/caravans BUT there is no awnings allowed in this area, its next toilet block, so good for older people or ones with very young kids as will be quieter. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Perry44 3 reviews from this member

 We returned to Castlewellan, as mentioned in our previous review, and we did indeed stay in the central section of the campsite, which was actually rather good.

We had plenty of space around us, and we pitched our tent in a nice position with generous views of the castle. We even took a windbreak, which allowed us to extend our pitch (top tip).

The ablutions facilities still require a lick of paint, but we still were able to comfortably avail of all the facilities therein.

We took our Barbecue and although one person did comment on the amount of smoke it produced, it was a tremendous success.

Further into our stay (we stayed for a little over a week), more and more campers arrived, each creating their own 'community' jovial celebrations ensued, but as they had children with them, the noise did die down fairly early, about 22:00 infact.

We purchased a Halfords plastic folding picnic table which was good, until it collapsed during a game of Monopoly, many of our fellow campers may have heard a grown man fall flat on his backside during that, so apologies if you did.

Overall we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves, with the children saying things like, 'Thank you daddy, when can we come back?' and 'We had a super time'

We will return here I fancy next year. I can't recommend this site enough. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Perry44 3 reviews from this member

 Decided to choose Castlewellan for our first camping holiday.

The camping section of the park was well laid out, with a large central section, a gravel road around, with additional pitches on the other side of the road.

We pitched under some trees in a quiet corner, the pegs went in the ground well, however due to heavy rainfall, the ground became saturated, but it did not dampen our spirits!

There are 2 toilet blocks, one older than the other, we used the newer one, as it seemed cleaner.

There is a 'cafe' which just about serves a decent breakfast, however a dog walked through the dining area as we were about to enjoy our lunch.

We have booked the site for a holiday in July 2014, and will most likely use the central section this time. The kids will be taking their mountain bikes, as they will enjoy the many mountain bike trails. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Flossi 3 reviews from this member

 Had a one night stay.

Positives

- stunning natural forest & lake

- hours of fun for kids climbing and running up and down banks

- has a flat well maintained path around lake for prams etc

- lots of mountain bike paths

- on site cafe for breakfast snacks

- ten mins walk to large garage / supermarket stocked with most stuff.

- 15 min walk or 2 min drive to chip shop, pizza shop cafes, pubs.

- tent area seems to be mostly very flat and huge. Just pitch where you like.

- it was quite noisy with dance music and chatting. But was fine as it did get quiet by midnight. I didn't hear any noise the rest of the night which surprised me as it was a Saturday.

- other people have remarked about safety which made me nervous. But I felt completely safe, I saw a van which I presume was security at the entrance to the site at 9pm. They also drive around a couple of times. Don't know if they stay the whole night.

Negatives

- ehu area seems quite dark with lots of trees. Also quite tight together

- biggest problem for me is shower block. Looked as well cleaned as it could be but was just very tired with lots of back mould.

- fair bit of rubbish left behind by others but this was lifted first thing in the morning.

- I know it's a forest and therefore a bit rougher than a commercial site but I just wasn't really fussed overall. It was just all a bit too grubby for me.

Overall it's probably somewhere I will keep for day trips for the lake and walks. It really is stunning but I don't think I would particularly choose here again for camping. 


Previous     19 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Castlewellan Forest Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Is Castlewellan Forest Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near County Down      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in N Ireland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4238 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement