Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Mendip Camp

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Cheddar > Mendip Camp Reviews

Mendip Camp
Longbottom Farm
Longbottom
Shipham
Cheddar
Somerset   (Browse area)
BS25 1RW
Tel: 01934 251783
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Pitches: 150
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 17 Reviews
                9/10 from 17 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  17 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: March 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Ratty 279 reviews from this member

 I enquired using the form on here and received a quick response letting me know they had space and that the price would be £10. 50 for the night for me and my dog in a VW campervan without electric hookup. There is hookup available if you want it, but I did not on this occasion.

Upon arrival I was advised to drive straight on and find a pitch, I was warned it was wet so I stuck to the hardstand near the toilet block.

I met a local who stays on site sometimes and he was very friendly and showed me where to go for a walk up to Black Down and the highest point in the Mendip Hills.

The owner came by later in the day to say Hi and take the pitch fees, she was also very friendly and made me feel very welcome.

The site is a good size with electric hookups around the edge and pitches in tee middle too. It is a pitch where you like site, as long as you pitch sensibly of course.

The facilities included two toilets for men and two for women, there are no showers, but there is cold water available, a washing up area and fresh water taps. There are bins provided too for your rubbish. I presume there is a chemical disposal point, but I did not need or use it.

The site is in a great location for walking being on the edge of Rowberrow Woods and the Mendip Hills, I went for a lovely walk but it was windy up there.

There is nothing on site for children except for lots of space for them to run and play, etc.

I managed to get signal of the Three and GiffGaff networks, but it was not the strongest.

The site is close to Axbridge for a small Co Op, pharmacy and Cheddar is close too for the Gorge, Caves, Cheese Shops, and loads more.

Weston Super Mare is not too far for the beach and loads of other places, however I was only here one night so did not venture out too far.

I loved the site, it is fairly flat, lots of pitches and I will definitely return when I am next in the area. 


Date of Visit: April 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: LEO02 35 reviews from this member

 This small site, set within the mendip hills is excellent value for money.

Its £7. 50 per person/per night.

Campfires are fine, which is a must for more and more campers these days.

Ginny will sell you logs at £7 a bag.

There are no showers or hot water, at that price, but the tiny toilet block is clean and perfectly adequate.

Recent upgrades at the site include the installation of 5/6 EHU points, and a lick of paint to the aforementioned toilet block.

There is a small, mainly flat field, which although a bit uneven is perfectly adequate for 10 pitches.

The second camping field is much bigger, but very sloping, and to he honest not much of it is useable due to the steepness of the field.

Ginny, who runs the place is very friendly, and helpful.

Cheddar gorge is a 90 minute hike away, and the village of Cheddar has plenty of places to eat and drink.

Wells Cathedral is simply magnificent, if that's youre kind of thing.

In summary, very, very basic facilities, but priced accordingly. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Melte2 1 review from this member

 Had a lovely welcome and useful tips from the owner. The camp site is great - just what it says. You can have a proper camp fire and access to toilets and cold water.

It doesnít pretend to be anything else. Lots of field space for kids to run around. Itís very close to Cheddar Gorge so that makes it easy to get there before the crowds.

Great stopover if you are on your way to Cornwall too. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Nepple 1 review from this member

 Very clean and helpful hosts. Will visit again in the near future.

Felt very safe during Covid 19 with lots of cleaning and hand sanitisers.

Everyone was well spaced out. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: January 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Ratty 279 reviews from this member

 This was a site I stayed at as a base to walk in to Cheddar and back. I enquired using the form on this site and got a quick response from the owner confirming she had space and let me know the costs, facilities, etc.

This is a basic site, so do not be surprised that there is no hot water or showers, they make this clear when you book or research the site. This aside it had no effect on my stay.

Facilities consist of two toilets for both men and women, a wash basin each, a washing up sink, recycling, electric hookup (if needed) and loads of space.

They offer the use of fire buckets and will sell you a bag of logs and fire are encouraged to give you that wonderful camping atmosphere.

Dogs are welcome, but must be kept on leads and cleaned up afterwards. The field is not secured, as there is no fence at the bottom, so be warned, keep your pooch on a lead of they tend to wander.

It is field on the edge of the West Mendip Way and plenty of other footpaths too. I chose a walk that took me down to Black Rock and then walked the Gorge Walk, which follows the Gorge at the top to one end, back down and back up the other side. This is a tough walk but well worth it and was 10 miles. There are plenty more easier and shorter walks and something for everyone.

I did not visit any of the local pubs or shops, however Shipham is not far away and nor is Cheddar itself, which has convenience stores, all the touristy things, including the caves, cheese shop, sweet makers, souvenirs, nice river and more.

Overall this is a great site and I will back in the summer when I have more choices of pitch (restricted this time due to wet weather). The cost for me and the dog in the campervan was just £10 or £11 with electric,

Top work, well done, nice and friendly and made me feel very welcome. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: NicciMac 61 reviews from this member

 We only had 1 night here at the end of our Early May Bank Holiday trip, and what a lovely spot it is.

It is basic - no showers and not hot water for washing body or dishes - but such a great stay. EHU runs on tokens but if the person before you has overspent then you get to use the excess - you only pay if and when you need to top up. When we arrived there was about £3. 50 credit, and when we left if was at £3. 18, and that was with leaving the DVD player running for a couple of hours when we went out, plus light etc. Very reasonable.

This is a good spot for 'wild' type camping - they allow fires on the grass (unlike a lot of places), dogs are free, and the site backs right on to woodland which you can cut through to get to the Mendip Way, Shippham, The Swan pub, and a little stream at the bottom.

I would stop off here for one night en route somewhere, but like my showers too much for a longer stay. Excellent value though! 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Peterinmalaga 5 reviews from this member

 We visited Mendip Camp in August and also in September, 2015. It is set in beautiful countryside, close to Cheddar Gorge and half an hour away from Bristol. The views from the site are typical of the best of English country scenery and the welcome from Linda, the owner, each time was second to none. It is best suited to campers who are looking for an escape from the stress of everyday life and is perfectly described in the campsite's website. It offers a simple camping experience at a very reasonable price. I cannot fault it and we will certainly be back in 2016. 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Keran30 14 reviews from this member

 This was the most basic camp I have ever stayed on but it had a strange little charm! There are no showers and no hot water. There are no water points either Ė you fill your bottles up from the sink. We stayed in April and it was extremely cold at night. The camp fire was a blessing. The owner was very easy going, friendly and helpful, selling the essentials like loo rolls, logs, etc. The electic points are attached to the toilet block, so bear that in mind if thinking about a hook up! This site was great for the wild camping experience, although not very flat and it got very boggy during wet weather. The views were lovely. 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Glenn Everett 1 review from this member

 Very basic but that is exactly what my five year old son and I wanted. Very friendly owner who provided wood for a camp fire for only a fiver. Situated a few minutes drive out of Cheddar. High up so it got very cold very quickly in April but that's all part of proper camping and the scrumpy I picked up in the day kept me warm. If you are in to cider there are plenty of proper cider farms within 30 minutes drive. Thatcher's is only 15 minutes away and Rich's is 20 mins. Wilkin's cider farm is about 15 mins away on the Wedmore Road and well worth trying to find. Mr. Wilkin is a legend on the cider circuit!

A proper father and son camping trip. Don't think the wife would like this site tho! 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Nicpink 4 reviews from this member

 We used this site as a one night stop over on our way down to Devon. It is a basic site with a simple toilet block (no loo roll) and cold water outdoor wash up sink, all nice and clean. Very basic, but served our purpose. Lots if youngsters use the site for DofE awards etc but caused no problems for us. Lovely owner, explained where to pitch in the event we arrived late and ensured the electric meter was topped up. It's a card meter and we used a meagre 20p for our 1 night stay. The location is beautiful, although the access is a bit hilly and we found the turning was easy to miss and quite tight for the novice caravanners we are. Overall, if your looking for a simple, away from it all place, or a stop over, I would recommend it. 


Previous     17 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Mendip Camp child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Mendip Camp?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Mendip Camp dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Cheddar      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2804 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement