Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Barkham Arms Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > East Anglia England > Lincolnshire > Skegness > Barkham Arms Caravan Park > Reviews

Barkham Arms Caravan Park
Wainfleet Bank
Wainfleet St Mary
Skegness
Lincolnshire   (Browse area)
PE24 4JR
Tel: 01754 882451
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 12
Open: 01/03/2024 to 05/01/2025
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 10 Reviews
                8/10 from 10 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <10 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Smjl30 6 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from this lovely quiet site and loved every minute of it. We paid 17 per night for our caravan with electric hook up.

The site states a playground but only includes 2 swings and a small wooden climbing den, but my 2 children (3 & 6 years) played on this with other children on site and I was surprised on how much time they spent there, with their imagination it was either a pirate ship or a space rocket. It is situated away from the fishing pond.

The showers are on a coin system and cost 20p for 7 mins, plenty of hot water and clean at all times. There is a washing machine and dryer (coin system) on site, but I never used it. Sink available in little hut close to touring area.

Fishing on site is fantastic, it cost us 10 for our stay (4 nights) and you can fish from sunrise to sunset. Rudd, roach, tench, carp, bream to say a few and there is a 14lb carp hiding somewhere! No barbed hooks and no floating baits, just mind the few ducks that live there when casting.

The site itself has resident people staying in their caravan and there are approx 20 statics on site too, but the touring/tent pitches are very spacious and clean. Entry onto site is by key fob to get in and out of site and you receive one when you book in.

Our only worry about the area (not the site) is the amount of wasps, so take something with you to keep them away from your caravan/tent. We ended up using plastic drink bottles with small holes in and coke in the bottom of each bottle to entice them inside and once in they can't get out.

10 mins drive into Skegness which has Morrisons/Tesco & Lidl or in the village close to site is a small co-op for everyday needs.

The Barkham Arms pub does classic pub food, with the facility of take-away but again, we never used this. The landlord/lady Sally and Alan are lovely people and nothing is too much trouble.

Overall a lovely quiet site and we will be returning next year. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Windy Witch 3 reviews from this member

 We have spent 5 days recently on this campsite. Be prepared and take groceries with you as there are no shops within walking distance.

There is a pub on site not open every night, there is also a small play area for children.

The toilet blocks could have been a little cleaner and we had to buy some toilet roll until we could speak to the owner about it,

Make sure you have plenty of twenty pences with you as you need these for the shower, but there is no hot water in sinks to wash your hands, but limited hot water for washing pots if lucky

Not the best site we have stayed on I'm afraid 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chris.burley 1 review from this member

 we are first time campers, and we stayed here for 2 nights as a trial run. On a arrival at the site we were met by Paul who showed us to the tent area, pointed the best place to pitch our tent.

The shower blocks and toilets are very clean and tidy. 20p for a hot shower which gives you about 10 mins ample time.

We went to the on site pub where Paul is behind the bar and sally cooks.

17 pounds per night with elec hook up very good value.

Beer is cheap and the food is second to none 2 steak meals for 10 pounds and large portions.

The home made pizza is better than any of your large pizza suppliers such as pizza hut and dominos.

We forgot to pack plates so sally lent us some.

Paul went to the local village Saturday morning called to see if we needed anything, not many site owners would give this type of service.

The camp is clean and tidy with a fishing lake in the middle.

On the hole a very good first time campsite with kind friendly staff and fellow campers.

We have booked again for end of august.

The site is about 10 mins from skeggy, so peace and quiet on the campsite but close enough to skeggy for trips out 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hoppityfrog 6 reviews from this member

 Spent two nights here - it would have been three but by the time we got a reply to our call about availability it was too late to go on the day we had planned. The owner was, however, very pleasant both on the phone and in person.

The site is about 3 miles out of Skegness it has a pub (no dogs allowed inside unfortunately) but no shops nearby so go prepared.

All in all a very neat and tidy site obviously geared more towards caravans with an area for statics and lots of tourers but saying that we were made very welcome by everybody.

The big plus point was the peace and quiet - after about 9 30pm the whole site was silent until at least 8am so no problem sleeping.

The toilets and showers were clean and well decorated although toilet roll was a bit sparse in the gents I had to keep taking it from the ladies to pass onto my OH. I thought an air freshener in the loos would have been a nice touch also. While there was plenty of hot water for showers (20p) there seemed to be none for the hand basins which meant washing hands in cold water after visiting the loo.

The pot washing area had plenty of hot water and we never had to wait. I did find myself having to clean someone elses dinner out of the sink but that is down to the other campers not the owner. There is also a coin operated washer/drier which would be a nice touch for longer stays.

At 14 per night for a tent, 3 people and a dog including hookup this is a good value site if you want a quiet few nights near but not on the coast. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: 8724alex 2 reviews from this member

 We arrived on Friday 23rd July at around 4pm in the afternoon, on arrival we were immediately outside the main office of the site, there was no body there to greet us so we rang the number which was on the door to the site office, the lady on the phone was extremely helpful and pleasant on the phone and told us to go in and pitch up and she would be there within 10minutes.

Whilst pitching the tent she came to greet us and gave us some information about the area, this was extremely helpful as we didn't have a sat nav so therefore needed as much help as possible.

We found the site to be around 10minutes from the centre of Skegness and located in an extremely convenient place for those who like to be out of the hussle and bussle of a busy town.

The on site facilities are kept in clean and tidy conditions, showers cost 20p and this gives you plenty of time to do your stuff, the pot washing facility is never busy and hot water is always available immediately.

We once visited the on site pub and found the prices extremely reasonable.

On the whole the site was extremely pleasant, clean, tidy and well maintained.

We will definitely be returning in the future and would recommend it to friends and fellow campers. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Angling_Archer 2 reviews from this member

 What a gem of a site!

I stayed there due to it being close to an archery club, Friskney bowmen, being close saved travelling 60 miles each way for a practise day and competition day.

The owners, Alan & Sally could not be more friendly. The site is very pleasant, attracts a nice type of visitor, with an angling bias. The fees are remarkably low, especially for peak season. The fishing fee was I think 7 for the two days. Very quiet and peaceful, but close to lots of attractions for days out.

We spent the evenings on the lake. My daughter was kept busy catching small roach, gudgeon, bream and crucians on a 4mtr whip. I caught some superb tench. Alan gave us some bait he recommended. Barbless hooks only, use landing net heads supplied by site, only keepnets (supplied) in matches, no floating baits. Exactly the sort of place you want to teach kids to fish.

The only tiny downside is that it could do with more showers in my opinion. The facilities where however clean and in good decoration.

Would we go back, YES, we are looking for another weekend trip, and have recommended to friends. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: SteveOppy 3 reviews from this member

 This was our first visit to Skegness area, and also camping for the first time with our 3 and a 4 year old so we kinda expected this trip would be challenging! I found this site on this website so thought I would give it a go as we didn't want something too central etc.

We were met and greeted by Sally, first impressions of the site were pretty good, nice layout and the choice to pitch where we felt was right as opposed to where we were told too was a nice change!

As previously mentioned by Julie70, the fishing lake was a worry so we pitched up near the play area (swing and a climbing frame) which even though at first glance seemed not overly impressive, proved to be more than ample for our kids - Think if they were older they would have got bored quicker. The kids didn't even notice the lake so that was a plus!

Toilet blocks were clean, the gents did have hooks for clothes thankfully but my wife commented that the ladies could do with some hooks putting in. The facilities were very clean and kept tidy, overall very good and more than adequate. 20p gives you a good 8 mins or so of hot water and the shower was quite powerful so nice to use after a night 'on the ground'. Laundry room was also handy with a washer and dryer available again through timed credits - The washer started to go faulty whilst we stayed but Sally was on her way out to buy a new washer so that issue should be resolved by now.

Generally the site was quite out of the way and we are glad of this after visiting Skegness and the surrounding areas with thousands of statics, so it was nice to be able to drive away from Skegness!

The people staying on site were very friendly and I can see the attraction, it is a very pleasant and peaceful area.

The Barkham Arms, which at first glance isn't massively impressive was a wonder - the staff and guests were all very friendly (which everyone on site seemed to be which was really nice) but the food was absolutely exceptional which was a shock for such a small place - so much so that we went in there for our evening meals and didn't really use our own stove after breakfast! (the Roast chicken take out was superb!) All my family were happy with the food and it took a lot of aggro out of the holiday making various meals for 2 picky kids!

Not many shops or anything nearby so make sure you take your essentials with you or get whilst out and about.

Overall, we had a great stay and will definitely be visiting again (maybe next time with a caravan as this is the next on our shopping list) So get booking this place if you want a clean, relaxed and very friendly place to stay. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Nplant147 1 review from this member

 We found the site very nice and well laid out although only a few touring pitches. Sally the hostess very friendly. The all in price of 14 we thought was good for what you got. Seemed aimed at fishermen.

Facilities very basic, had to pay for a shower, which when you have a big family is a pain. Out in the middle of no where so kids got a bit bored. But we liked it.

The other campers were very friendly and the pitches gave lots of room. A very laid back site, not strict like club sites.

The pub on the site was a bit grubby, although saying that we did not use it much. A 15 min drive to skeg which we felt was adequate due to our family size.

On the whole we enjoyed our stay there and would not over look the site in the future. Its worth a try, especially if you are a fisherman.Lol. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jayneyd07 2 reviews from this member

 We have visited this site on several occasions and can only say it gets better each time. Sally and Alan make everyone welcome. Dogs are allowed at no extra cost, which is fantastic! The fishing is good, with the pond being well stocked.

The showers are basic but clean and only cost 20p for 7 minutes. The on site pub is lovely, with the staff also very friendly and welcoming! The food is fantastic and the portions are very generous. I particularly like the take away menu that is now offered!

At 14 per pitch (including electric hook up), I think this is real value for money and look forward to going back in the not too distant future!

Although this is in a quiet location, it is only a 15 minute drive to Skegness or Ingoldmells. Convenience stores, take-aways and more pubs are close by in Burgh-le-Marsh. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Julie70 1 review from this member

 I was quite surprised when searching for a suitable campsite for my family on this site that no one had left a review for the Barkham Arms Caravan Park. I called Sally (the owner) to discuss the layout of her site, as there is a fishing lake on site and I wanted a pitch away from it as I have a toddler. Sally was understanding and reassuring about the lake, and when we arrived she greeted us personally, took us to our pitch which as promised was out of the toddler's reach. In fact he never ventured over there once, probably due to the fact we were next to the swing!

The site itself is basic, but clean and everyone is friendly. I never investigated it fully, but from what I found there are only 2 wet rooms, with toilet and sink. However, I never really had to queue to use them, and with the large space inside I was able to take both my little ones in with me, which was great as it was less stressful getting us all dressed, plus the 20p for hot water for the shower was enough for all 3 of us. The only grumble I have is I wish there was a mirror in the toilets and some hooks to hang clothes up, as the chair was not always suitable to hold your clothes when there are 3 of you!

Their was a washing machine and I believe a tumble dryer (not sure of cost to use, as I never used them) and a sink for washing up, again never had to queue to use it.

The on-site pub was small, but excellent. Friendly and chatty! We never once felt uncomfortable in there.

Skegness is not far away by car, and there are other places to go, i.E. The parrot zoo, the brewery. We were only there for 2 nights so we never went anywhere but skegness beach.

All in all this was a friendly site, great for families or couples wanting some peace and quiet or for fishing. Sally was great, she was approachable and very friendly. She even recovered my friends broken gazebo when the wind blew it away!

Would I go back? Yes I would. 



Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Barkham Arms Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Barkham Arms Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Barkham Arms Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Skegness      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lincolnshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...

  

  

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Sussex 18/05 to 19/05

Endless activities for you and your dog to enjoy plus weekend camping - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3574 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement