Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Mossband Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries > Mossband Caravan Park Reviews

CLOSED: Mossband Caravan Park
Kirkgunzeon
Dumfries
Dumfries and Galloway   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 8 Reviews
                8/10 from 8 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: January 2018 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note we have been advised that this site no longer offers camping, motorhome or caravanning pitches, it is now a residential site only. If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Santa cruz 20 reviews from this member

 I will start with an apology as I just cant rate this site 8, 9 or 10 as the other reviewers have. During our stay the electric to the shower/toilet block went off so no showers for a day and a half during a particularly hot spell. The shower/toilet block is also very old and in need of a make-over.

Both the grey and chemical water disposal could be better, only the one point, next to the men's side of the shower block. I did not notice any children's play area, but didn't look closely as we did not have any children with us, definitely no designated dog walking, on or off site.

Also on the negative side the main road from Dumfries to Dalbeatie is immediately the other side of a hedge and as it is at one end of a rather long straight vehicles are either howling up into the corner or accelerating hard away from it. They do seem to drive a little recklessly in this neck of the woods - witnessed two head-ons on the is road (one with fatalities) during a one week stay here. Very noisy apart from Sunday mornings!

There are also no pubs, eating house or shops within walking distance, it's either 4 miles to Dalbeatie one way or 5 to Dumfries in the opposite direction by car. The road is definitely not safe to walk along.

On the plus side all the pitches are near enough flat, plenty of hook ups and good TV reception and most mobile networks seem to be serviced (both ours worked) also no great distance to the toilet/shower block, good location for cycle riding in the forest at Dalbeatie, Mabie is also close by, another 'great' for mountain bikers. Prices represent very good value and the couple who run the site for the owner are super people and extremely friendly.

Would we use it again? regrettably no, for a little bit more price wise there are better sites nearby.

My overall rating is 6 out of 10, helped considerably by the value for money rating 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Helrobo 7 reviews from this member

 This site is an ideal location for accessing all this area has to offer. A small friendly site with good clean toilets. Well drained even in rainy weather.

Quiet site with no playground for children.

Near the road but this was not a problem at all and cut down on the journey time to the numerous things to do around the area.

We only stayed three nights but with so much to see and do in this area we will definitely be back.

20 mins or less only to Dumfries with its wealth of shops museums and things to do. But to miss a drive around the coast is to miss something very special.

I would recommend this site to those wanting a peaceful get away or accessing the surrounding area. I think they may also be a good bus service.

We also had a free bull fight put on for us when the bulls in a nearby field decided to fight for one up manship (I suppose boys will be boys!) 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: BeeUK 1 review from this member

 A very pleasant site between Dumfries and Dalbeattie.

Owners were friendly and helpful over the phone and on arrival. We were shown were to pitch our tent, there was plenty of space as there were no other tents staying at the the same time.

The fees were very reasonable at 13 per night for a large tent with 2 adults and one dog (no charge for dogs).

Everything is very accessible, from the Solway coast and the trails at the nearby Mabie forest, to Loch Ken and the Galloway Forest Park.

The toilet block was clean and there were washing/drying facilities available.

We were concerned that the road noise may be a bit or a problem at night but you very quickly stop noticing it. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bestcar 2 reviews from this member

 One of the best small sites my wife and myself have been on,

Very well looked after,

Reasonably priced tourer pitches tents and small amount of statics,

Seasonal pitches for tourers. Probably the best price I have ever came across

We are going back in august and intend to book a seasonal pitch for next year

Its location suits us. Bus stop at the entrance. 10mins to dumfries, 5mins to dalbeatie

Great area for mountain bikers

Yes its a gem of a site 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gwala 1 review from this member

 Just spent 4 days at this site, very nice quiet spot The owners Alan & Christine are always on hand if you have any problems. Plenty of room on the pitches, nearly all grass standings but there are a few hardstandings.

Very clean toilet block with plenty of hot water and lovely showers, they were cleaned every day to a high standard,

They also have a lockup for mountain bikes and a wash down. Very central to a lot of things going on round the area, 7stanes/walks/beach etc

The local bus stops just outside the park and we

Used it regular so no need to take the car out (saves on fuel)

We will be going again 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: WarrenThorp 1 review from this member

 We stayed here at Mossband recently due to it's proximity to several of the 7 Stanes mountain biking centres - it's perfect for that. Very central with easy access to Ae, Dalbeattie, Mabie and Kirroughtree.

The site was well looked after and the services were clean and tidy, but what struck as most about the site is the friendliness of the owners - they greeted us as if they had actually been looking forward to our visit and nothing was too much trouble.

We'll definitely be staying there next year. It's good value too. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Graeuk 7 reviews from this member

 This site is easy to find, just off the A711 and well signposted. It's level, cheap extremely clean and run by a lovely couple who go out of their way to help. The site is situated half way between Dumfries and Dalbeattie (5 miles to each) and is a perfect spot for riding the 7 Stanes with secure bike storage, bike wash and laundry facilities.

Whilst this is a lovely site it has a drawback - its right next to the A711 which is busy and a bit noisy. It didn't really bother me but it was chilly at night so I was sat inside the camper.

The nearest pub / shop / cashpoint is Dalbeattie or Dumfries.

They only accept cash or cheques and sell fantastic fresh eggs. Well worth a visit. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in Dumfries and Galloway

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3464 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement