Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - New Shipping Farm Caravan And Tent Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Kilgetty Tenby > New Shipping Farm Caravan And Tent Park Reviews

CLOSED: New Shipping Farm Caravan And Tent Park
West Williamston
Kilgetty Tenby
Pembrokeshire   (Browse area)



Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: Site Closed Aug 2016

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 25 Reviews
                9/10 from 25 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  25 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

Please note we have been advised that this site has closed with effect from August 2016, and no longer offers camping, motorhome or caravanning pitches. If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks

Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: G Ryall 4 reviews from this member

Have just spent a most relaxing four days at this lovely site.

If you want peace and quiet with great views and chicken for company this site is for you.

Carew Castle and Mill are a short walk away and well worth a visit.

The local pub does excellent meals.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sarahllo 3 reviews from this member

Had a great week at New Shipping Farm the second week in May. It's a lovely little certified site, only has 12 pitches, and we pretty much had the site to ourselves for the whole week. The pitches are really generous in size with electric hook up. There is a small shower/toilet facility, in the ladies there is 1 loo and 1 shower, but proportionally compared to a big site that's more than enough. The showers are electric showers and were lovely and powerful. Free wifi available on pitches close enough to the house, we were 3 pitches away and some considerable distance and had no problems whatsoever. The site owners are lovely people and there are fresh eggs available from the chickens roaming around, and there are also 3 friendly dogs. The site is within walking distance of Carew castle and tidal mill, and the Carew Inn which does amazing food. The site is about 8 miles drive into Tenby, and about 5 miles away there's a big Tesco. There are views across the estuary from the site, and you really feel like you're in the middle of nowhere. Can't recommend this site enough!

Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tash1984 1 review from this member

Great campsite and brilliant location! Facilities were good and toilets very clean. We took dogs and felt very welcome with them and shown walks around the area. National coast paths walks on the campsite and the castle was great to visit. Owner is really friendly. Excellent value for money. Would recommend to anyone.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mikeavo 8 reviews from this member

Site

Very well kept site with all grass pitches. The grass was very short and looked like a bowling green. The pitches are big in size, enough for 2 cars/caravan/awning on each pitch. The owners keep the opposite side of the field free from caravans which gave plenty of space for our 3 children and their 2 friends to run and play.

There are 2 toilets (male and female) which are portacabins. These are well kept with one shower in each. The shower is a normal shower you would have at home and was great. Enough hot water to shower 5 of us one after the other.

The only down side to this site is the access road which is a narrow road for 1 car with passing places. We have a 6 berth twin axle caravan and it only just fits down the road. If another caravan came down the road at the same time it would be a nightmare.

AREA

The area is great for all ages. There is a lot for children to do. Tenby/Saunders foot beaches are everything you need for a fun day out. We went to Makin Tracks and Anna's Zoo both next to each other on the way to Tenby and both were brilliant, very focused on keeping the children happy and entertained. There are other fun days out near the above places which we didn't get chance to visit.

One place that stands out for food was The Jolley Sailor near Pembroke Docks. It costs 75p to cross a bridge but the food and view are amazing. Great play area for the children and from the beer garden you can access a pebble beach area and the water.

All in all a amazing site in a amazing area of the country. Will definitely be returning to both the area and site.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Fluffchucker 18 reviews from this member

Just returned from a very peaceful and pleasant stay at new shipping farm. The weather was changeable but it did not stop us getting out, we went Tenby, Pembroke, saundersfoot, etc and lots of lovely little hidden coves, real gems. The owner was very pleasant and helpful, the toilet always spotless, grass well kept and mown. Lots of walks in the surrounding areas. At the time of visit workmen were replacing the original stone stiles and putting gates in their place ( a lot easier to use ), All in all the narrow section of lane aside, I would definitely recommend this site for a peaceful break. My wife & the collie Jess and myself enjoyed our stay.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: RTS5 15 reviews from this member

This is a lovely well maintained site in a fantastic location. Stephanie and her husband are very friendly and extremely helpful. Long pitches, though not very wide on the side nearest the mesh road, meaning they were quite close to cars moving up and down the field. If you have a big tent or caravan, by the time your car is on the pitch there is no space on it for children to play. However, there is a very large area (nearly half the length of the site) that is left clear so there is plenty of space for people to play games, etc in this section. There is quite a slope on the bottom few pitches but the rest are very flat with great views over the river towards Lawrenny Quay. The down side of the great view is that it is very exposed when the wind picks up. The pitches over the other side and towards the bottom of the field are more sheltered, (but donít have such good views). The ground is very soft and pegs go in easily. Access to the site is along a very narrow lane with high banks either side. If this is problem, have a look at their website as it advises of a wider route you can come in on. Site is very quiet, with just the very occasional bit of road noise floating in from the A477. Got a full mobile signal (Vodafone), and there is free wifi in the conservatory next to the farmhouse (though it could be a bit temperamental). There are also some power sockets in the conservatory if you need to charge something up and are not on EHU.

There is 1 shower & a separate toilet in the ladies, with another toilet on the side of the farmhouse in their boot/utility room. There is also a baby bath in that toilet. The menís had 1 toilet, 3 urinals and a shower. The showers were very powerful and hot. However the shower cubical was very small and this meant the shower curtain did keep sticking to you, which was most annoying. The Ďdressing areaí was just screened off by another shower curtain, and you did feel a tad exposed when getting dressed, especially if someone came in to use the toilet. It did spoil the shower area a bit to be honest, and my husband hated the cramped conditions so much he took to having a wash in our unit in the end. Despite the disappointment of the showers both facilities were really clean; being cleaned several times a day. There is a little metal stand with a washing up bowl near the cold water tap for washing up but you will need to bring hot water with you. Because of this it is just as easy to do it at your pitch to be honest. All grey water can be thrown in the hedge or over the fence so you donít have to carry your dirty washing up water to a disposal point.

Carew Castle and Water Mill are both worth a visit and can be reached by walking along the fields, though there are two free car parks either side of the river that you can park at if mobility is an issue. The price you pay gets you into both the Castle and the Mill, and also gives you half price entry to Castell Henllys Iron Age Village too, (though we didnít visit this so I canít say what it was like). We can recommend visits to Pembroke Castle (lots of stairs!), Freshwater West beach, and Manor House Wildlife Park, (owned by Anna Ryder Richardson, but donít let that put you off). Tenby and Saundersfoot are very close by but we went slightly further afield to Pendine Sands, where you can park on the beach all day for £3. 00. We had lunch in The Coffee Shop, the food was lovely and well priced. We also went to a fantastic maritime museum in Milford Haven, it was well worth the £5 family ticket. There are lots of little gift shops and coffee shops around the quay where it is based. Parking was free. Just across the road is a retail park with a Tesco if you need to stock up on the way home.

Tesco & Asda are just down the road in Pembroke docks. The Tescoís has free parking but at the Asda you had to pay. There is also a Sainsburyís in Tenby but we didnít go there.

Overall a really lovely site, just marred slightly by the very small showers, but we would still recommend a visit.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: GTXOON 1 review from this member

The approach through the narrow one track lanes was a bit of a worry, the hedges were very overgrown and I prayed that nobody was coming the other way. However it was all worth it, what a delightful little site;

Very well maintained, quiet and peaceful yet conveniently situated for all the local attractions and just a short drive from Tenby, Saundersfoot and lots of other beaches. Tesco, Asda and Lidl were just a short drive away in Pembroke Doc. Caerw Castle and mill were in walking distance with a footpath through the farm. This site offers the best of both worlds as far as location is concerned.

If you enjoy partying into the early hours and entertainment this is not the site for you.

There are no slides or swings on site for the children but it was lovely to see them all playing together each evening and there was plenty of space for them to run around and play safely. In addition there is a games room in the reception area of the farmhouse which the children are allowed to use, there is also WiFi access there.

The owners of the site are very particular and take great pride in the site, they are meticulous about the cleanliness of the facilities and the mowing of the pitches.

The facilities on the site were spotless and consisted of 2 ladies toilets one in a port-a-cabin shared with shower, clean but rather compact, the other part of the main farmhouse, much larger and with baby changing facilities. The men's facilities were rather cramped and struggled to cope with demand at peak times, there was only one toilet and a shower which is adequate when the site is quiet however at peak times it was an issue.

I would disagree with one of the reviewers who commented that the pitches were small, I felt they were generous and the views fantastic. The electric didn't trip out either, which was another plus in my book.

There are a few pubs close by which offer meals but my personal recommendation would be the Carew Inn, the food and the beer excellent, child and pet friendly. At high season there are BBQ's and live entertainment on Thursday and Sundays Elvis nights recommended.

There is a large market and boot sale on Sunday's and Bank Holidays, I don't think I have ever seen so many people at a boot sale in my life.

Heatherton, dinosaur park, Manor Wild Life Park, Oakwood, Folly Farm and the blue lagoon are all around 6 miles drive away.

There are only two areas where I think there is scope for improvement and that is the male toilet/showers (could do with more) and having to vacate the pitches by 11am on the morning of departure does not leave sufficient time for the dew to dry off the tents and awnings. There is nothing more annoying than having to get it all out again when you get home, so some flexibility would be welcome, especially as the pitches cannot be occupied until 2pm on arrival. Of course there is the option to pack up the day before but this does cut short the holiday.

That said we had a great time, the weather was kind and I would certainly not hesitate in recommending this site. Further more I will most definitely be going back for a return visit.

I see that the price increases are scheduled for 2014 whilst the site offers reasonable value at present any increase should be reflected in improvements to the wash and toilet facilities.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Nmogz 3 reviews from this member

This is a lovely site and very reasonably priced. We have stayed here a couple of times this year and plan on returning next season.

The site is clean and well maintained and the owners are very helpful. This is a relaxed site.

There is only 1 shower & a separate toilet in the ladies and the mens had one shower and two toilets I believe. The shower cubicles are very small and only separated from the sink and toilet cubicle by a shower curtain. Also as the shower is next to the door if anyone comes in to use the sink or toilet the curtain can blow during the opening of the door which can leave you exposed! This did spoil the shower for us and this view was shared by family that also stayed at the same time. The shower area is also very small. Despite the disappointment of the showers they along with the other facilities are clean and adequate :)

Leading to the caravan site there is a very narrow lane with not many passing areas. We have been lucky up until now and have only met cars (that have reversed for us)and have not met any other vehicles that would also have difficulty in reversing on a narrow road. Although this is a worry for us as we would not be able to reverse the caravan if we were to meet another similar vehicle it does not put us off staying at this site. The views are lovely and is an ideal spot for exploring Pembrokeshire. We are looking forward to staying next season.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sarge0694 1 review from this member

I am very reluctant to leave a review as firstly I can't think of anything bad and secondly too many good reviews and I wont get a pitch in the future, it is certainly a site I will return too.

The site is situated close enough to the hustle and bustle of the area but yet far enough away to relax in utter peace and quite on the site. The shower blocks and toilets were kept clean and tidy as far as the owner could (some holiday makers still don't understand other people follow them in). The field you pitch on is always kept tidy and the immediate surrounding area has so many different walks in different directions it would be hard not to find one you didn't like. There's fishing just off site, historic castle just of site, and a very large car boot sale 5 minutes drive away, a pub within walking distance (live music on Fridays). We were very lucky with the weather (a little too hot for the dogs, who were happy for the occasional dunking in the paddling pool we bought). We were also lucky as there were at most when we visited 4 other units/tents so the toilet/showers were never busy. Stephanie was very friendly and jovial and can ride a lawn mower better than anyone I know. Although this is a working farm, the farming seemed to be at a distance, Tony is a sheep breeder and it was just after lambing season and there were so many different looking lambs around, I can't state a downside to the time we spent here. Thank you (Paul, Helen & Kelsie the lab)

Previous     25 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

All Sites in Pembrokeshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over £205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3310 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019