Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Pudding Room Certificated Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Ashbourne > The Pudding Room Certificated Site Reviews

The Pudding Room Certificated Site
Carsington Water
Carsington
Ashbourne
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE6 1NQ
Tel: 01629 540413
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 20
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 30 Reviews
                9/10 from 30 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 1 mile   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports 1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents.

Reviews:  30 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Helen Small 8 reviews from this member

We stayed on the campsite which we found to be reasonably priced, decent pitch sizes and flat! The amenities are quite basic but clean and perfectly adequate. Washing up water was warm and undercover.

I have given a lower score for child friendliness simply because for very young children there are no large sinks or baths for giving them a good wash. The shower is a really good size though so easy enough to drag a child in with you, I just remember that mine hated showers. Sinks for washing hands and faces were quite small and there were no stools or chairs for little ones to stand on. There is also nowhere for kids to congregate and play. Minor comments.

Angie and John were wonderfully welcoming and super helpful even when busy.

The tea shop serves a good selection of delicious cake with low sugar and gluten free options (although you wouldn't know the were so amazing). Thank you John for the bonus dollop of cream. Fab breakfasts on the weekend too which are really appreciated when you live in a tent.

The site is just a short walk (about 15 mins) down to Carsington Water so really convenient for all those activities. Also, just across the road is a really decent pub which serves good food and has an enormous, pleasant beer garden. On the subject of the road though, should mention that this is quite busy so in the morning it's more likely that you will be woken by road noise rather than the dawn chorus. Nothing dramatic, just worth noting that it's not a site to go to if you want to feel you are lost in the country - it certainly didn't negatively impact our stay though.

We would recommend the campsite to anyone and will definitely consider returning if we choose to camp in the area again.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Big Frank 29 reviews from this member

I am not sure what I can add to the last review. If you like a site where only the birds disturb you, then this ain't for you, there is a fair bit of road noise of every description. The pitches are spacious and informal. The site was full yet we had plenty of space. There are 4 toilets including two in the wet rooms, so no queues. They were kept clean but as said before frustratingly unfinished and looked they have been that way for some time. The shop itself is ace and Angie is a great host. We ate too much cake! There is loads to do in the area walking, cycling, visiting. We had a great meal in the Red Lion in Hognaston. No hook ups is a shame but not an issue for a weekend. We will definitely go again

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Beckiel123 3 reviews from this member

We visited here over the last weekend in May. This campsite is more basic than we usually stay at but we really loved it here. Campers were situated in a field adjacent to the main Pudding Room which has 2 holiday lets and a fab shop where Angie sells amazing produce, homemade puds and cakes and meat, eggs etc from local farmers (all very reasonably priced).

Why we loved it here:

- 10 min walk down a gorgeous country path to Carsington Water Visitor Centre

- Very friendly oweners. So helpful with local info, maps etc

- great pub a 2 min walk away called the Knockerdown Inn. Great food, well priced, lovely atmosphere and a kids playground. We didn't book, just turned up and got in - large dining area beyond the bar area.

- great shop and wished we hadn't taken so much of our own food! Their breakfast bap for £3. 50 sounded and looked amazing!

- good space. Campers field was spacious with kids able to play in the middle.

- hot showers and clean facilities.

- really appreciated the call ahead to warn us of pitch conditions following heavy rain. Wellies advised. Although pitches were actually fine when we got there. Just a really nice courtesy that was appreciated and reflected the welcome ahead.

- great value for money! Even loo roll and washing up liquid was provided and well stocked.

The downsides (although this didn't detract from a fab weekend):

- very noisy road, and cars/ bikes/tractors tended to speed along. If you have young children I would def make sure you are in the main field so they enclosed and away from road/entrance

- site appears to be work in progress. The showers/loos were tiled but not grouted and clearly not quite finished. Nothing wrong with that per se as everything worked a treat, just work in progress! When finished this site will be grand and really quite special. A week of graft to finish the toilet areas, gravel the entrance to the field, proper signs rather than laminates, clear or disguise the area around the bin/stores and this will be top notch. It didn't detract from our stay but would give it that something to really finish it off. The Puddong Room building is fab and these minor details are just suggested finishers really.

- didn't have EHU. We didn't want this, and liked the escape to be honest. But of course some folk like it.

- not enough loos/showers. Frustrating queuing for the loo in the morn. Need more than 2 for a 20 pitch site.

We will definitely recommend and hopefully return. It was in a great place in the UK and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Katdav 1 review from this member

Another visit to the pudding rooms. No one could be more friendly than the owners. Plenty of space in between pitches. Toilets and showers nice and clean with 2 new toilets in the process of being completed. Plenty of walks and a good bus route to matlock and ashbourne. Shop on site is irresistible, their puddings and cakes, plus milk bread and loads more. Our dog enjoys it that much she hides when she knows its time to go home.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: TheRotherhams 1 review from this member

We have returned from this wonderful site after spending 4 nights there. We were part of a group of 6 adults and 7 children and we had a campervan, a caravan and a tent. All of us equally had a great time at this site.

The location is great for access to Carsington Water where there are lots of water sports and other activities to entertain both the children and the adults. The campsite is set out really well so that children have plenty of room to play in the middle of the campsite as well as being able to ride their bicycles along the paths.

The Pudding Room is a real bonus - we had lots of lovely treats from there. The good thing is that you do not need to keep nipping off to the shops as you can get good quality meats, produce, savouries and puddings from there. We had a delicious Pavlova - highly recommended! The owner is lovely - she even made blackberry muffins with our children using the berries that they had picked from near the site. The children haven't stopped talking about it - it was a real highlight!

We will definitely be going back! Angie & her husband both work really hard to make your stay a pleasurable experience.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mother-goose 4 reviews from this member

We stayed two nights, Friday and Saturday. Owners were not there when we arrived (about 7. 30) but as promised they had left clear instruction as to where we had to pitch. Plenty of room to put up a large tent and have a decent about of space from neighbours.

There was drinking water available and a small room with hot water to wash up. Two shower rooms each with basin and toilet. Unfortunately, we had to wait quite a while on the Saturday morning to be able to get into them. However, it seems that the owners have just started construction on another block (I do not know if these will be just toilets or showers). The shower rooms did get a bit too muddy for my liking, but I am extremely fussy.

As previous reviewers have said it is a short walk to Carsington Waters, we enjoyed the bird hide at the wildlife centre.

For children there is plenty of room for games on the grass in the middle of the fields.

Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Melshaw 1 review from this member

Fantastic weekend, loved the site. Site owner Angie was the best I have encountered for friendliness, service and being helpful. Small site with gorgeous shop full of local produce and home-made cakes.

A very short walk to the Carsington water visitor centre, very reasonable price, 2 showers on site which were very clean, no electric which didn't affect us at all, will definitely return.

Unable to rate on child friendliness as we don't have any ! The best food and beer are at the red lion in Hognaston

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Njsdmsaps 5 reviews from this member

We booked this site on a whim, after deciding to visit Carsington Water for the day. On our late arrival to the site the owners were still hard at it in their shop (5. 40pm). They were both extremely helpful to us and took time to explain where some walks were for the wife and I with our 2 dogs.

After pitching up, we took the map which they gave us and took our delightful walk to carsinton water, after 4 miles we stopped at the Red Lion at Hognaston (as advised), we ate a well cooked and reasonably priced meal, and the locals including the staff made a fuss of our well behaved dogs which they accommodated inside the pub.

As this was just an over night stay for us we didn't get to much information of the surrounding area but what we saw was beautiful.

There are two toilets / shower blocks, be early to use or you may have a wait if the site is full.

We noticed 2 drinking water points and a CDP.

The bins are near the Toilet blocks with a seperating area to dispose of BBQ waste.

This site overall was delightful, we will return again when in the area.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rachel1981 1 review from this member

This was a lovely site and a great location for the attractions in Derbyshire. The owners were very friendly and very helpful. You can walk to Carsington Water from the site and I would also recommend the walk into Hognaston as we had a lovely meal at the Red Lion there. There are only 2 toilets/Shower rooms but this didn't prove to be a problem as I personally never had to wait to use them. The pitches are very generously sized so the site will never feel overcrowded. I would also recommend you try some of the puddings from the shop - you can't possibly stay somewhere called 'The Pudding Room' without sampling the produce!

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Itinerant-Potters 2 reviews from this member

This was our 3rd stay at The Pudding Room as it is simply brilliant.

This last time we stayed for 3 weeks.

The reception we received from Ang & John has always been really welcoming, So kind, helpful and thoughtful. Rain or shine they are always upbeat. A family run camp site.

The camp site is really good for families. Our children had a brilliant time riding their bikes and playing with the friends They made on site.

The best thing is the peace of mind knowing they are safe, as there are hedgerows all around. You don't have to worry about cars zooming up and down.

There is also a safe access path/cycle route down to Carsington water directly accessible from the site. Either through a style or a 6 bar gate up near the showers.

The camp site is a 5 min walk to Carsington water and there is a 9 mile excellent cycle/hiking track around the perimeter of the reservoir.

There are great views and interesting places on the route and an excellent adventure playground & massive grassed picnic, play, BBQ area at the main visitor centre. Ashbourne show is also worth a visit, it is usually on around mid August, there's loads to see, do, eat & drink there.

On the camp site there are two shower wet rooms and two toilets with nice hot water 24/7!

They are cleaned twice daily and kept really neat and fresh.

There is also an outside tap with drinking water.

Next to the showers is a separate washing up room for your dishes, again clean, fresh and nice hot water.

There is an on site shop selling local produce beautiful puddings (If it is baked it's made by Ang)there's fresh coffee, bacon, Eggs, (try the duck eggs) butter, veg, jam, Sauces, Cakes, Local Steak, Gingerbread, Flapjack, Pies, Tarts, Crumbles, Ice Cream, Soft drinks, all delicious. The children especially love the Gingerbread, Flapjack & Ice Cream.

A truly fantastic time had by us all and we cant wait to return next year.

Thank you again. Hopefully we'll see you summer 2013.

Paradise is pudding shaped.

Previous     30 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2822 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019