Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Waggon And Horses

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Hertfordshire > Royston > The Waggon And Horses Reviews

CLOSED: The Waggon And Horses
19 Church Street
Steeple Morden
Royston
Hertfordshire   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 10 Reviews
                7/10 from 10 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note we have been advised by the owner of the pub that the campsite has closed, and no longer offers camping, motorhome or caravanning pitches. The pub remains open for business as usual.

If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Mrs JH 1 review from this member

 We camped here in our motorhome in a group with nieces and families, daughter & family and brother in law/sister in law and had a great weekend. Mick and Tina were really laid back and flexible with arrival and departure times. Weather was appalling first day so we all had a pub dinner and whilst the menu was limited the food was lovely and very good value. The facilities are minimal - currently just a toilet but we loved the freedom because they were so laid back, they were happy for us to have a fire pit (it was a cast iron one on legs so off the ground)and the fees were excellent - just 5 per tent and 10 for a motorhome or caravan, and 5 for the motorhome hook up per night. The camping field had been mown and there was plenty of space for the children to play. Delighted to find a cheap and cheerful campsite close to home - fully intend to camp there again. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Eel28 16 reviews from this member

 We chose this site as it is fairly local to us, to try out our new, to us, Folding Camper.

Small site beyond the pub garden, seems that nothing has changed since previous review, facilities amounted to EHU, a tap and a manhole to dump your waste.

Site is small and a bit bumpy in places and quiet. We also noted it gets very dark at night - lots of stars to be seen but also don't forget your torch if returning from the pub (or elsewhere) in the dark!

The pub had a typical country pub selection of ales and other drinks, quite an extensive menu, which looks to cater for all tastes - although if you are staying here on a budget (as we were) don't even bother looking at it, even the least expensive single meal was almost as much as a nights camp! 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bromsgrove-Man 8 reviews from this member

 Nice small field behind a pub surrounded by trees. Picturesque village church opposite. As said facilities are basic to none but it was a flat well kept space and we spent a pleasant evening here.

Had a meal in the pub which there was some wait for, it was quite popular for meals and they seemed to be rather short of staff with one person trying to do everything. Took over an hour for our food to arrive in the end but luckily the beer was good, when you could get served, and the food when it arrived was quite nice too.

Would certainly go back if passing but given the lack of washing facilities its more of a one night stop kind of place. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Mrscairnnut 56 reviews from this member

 Nice little Camping & Caravan Club CS site. Stayed here for two nights with our van our friends in their own van. The site is much as described in the previous reviews. The pub serves a good pint, try the 'Sun Dance' (very nice).

You do need your own sanitation as mentioned in other reviews. Plenty of places to walk from the site although some of the footpaths we used were not well kept so not easy to walk on.

Interesting to have a look round the church which is opposite the pub. We had the roast dinner on Sunday, which was nice, we felt however that it is quite expensive although perhaps average for a country pub.

There were no rules laid out to govern the behaviour of campers, I think this would be very welcome and improve everyone's stay.

Apart from a few disturbances, the site is quiet and tucked away. Would we stay again? Not sure really. Try it for yourselves. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Thewyebird 11 reviews from this member

 Camped here with my two boys (aged 2 and 4). They loved the pub garden, and the play area.

We only stayed one night, which for me was enough, as I felt it lacked the 'campers' atmosphere.

My neighbours were a large group of young men in Land Rovers and three caravans (who were very well behaved - I just felt a bit vulnerable in a tiny tent at night as the men were coming and going in their cars), and some other caravanners who sat in and watched their tellys. I got the impression these caravanners were here for the long term, rather than on holiday.

But I would say it is a very nice place to stop off for the night. Rather expensive, considering the only facility is the pub ladies loo which is left open at night. No shower or washing up facilities.

We did eat at the pub, which again, I thought was rather expensive - we were warned, however, that the owners were away and this was all the staff covering the pub could offer.

Despite all that, I probably would visit again for one night only, and I'd bring my own food. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mrskarenbrown 1 review from this member

 Me and a group of friends stayed in the Waggon & Horses campsite August 2010 and July 2009. What a charming site. It's small and cosy, so no noise. There are hens which meant lovely fresh egss for breakfast. You feel a sense of community on this campsite - there is already a big pile of wood ready for Bonfire Night celebrations - which is superb. The adjoining pub is very friendly which a good choice of meals and the fish and chips are some of the best we have ever tasted. The location is great, lots of walking and cycling with Cambridge nearby. Would highly recommend this place and visit again. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Shirl250 1 review from this member

 Admittedly it was a weekend in mid summer but the small, flat field was very crowded with 2 caravans, 2 large motor homes, 1 trailer tent and 4 tents ! We didn't arrive until the Saturday afternoon so had to pitch near the trampoline which seemed to be a magnet for all the children. This was also close to the chicken enclosure which was a bit pongy ! At the other end of the field was a huge pile of rubbish ! Everyone was very pleasant though and come 10.00pm the site became pretty quiet.

Nice popular village pub, but we didn't sample the food. Everyone left on Sunday so the place was very quiet and peaceful come Sunday afternoon. We didn't see the owners/landlords at all and just left the money with the bar staff when we left on the Monday lunch time. Excellent cycling country ! Quiet lanes, not too hilly but not completely flat ! Not sure it should be charging 15 for a pitch with EHU though ! 


Date of Visit: February 2010 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: VWBus 83 reviews from this member

 Despite the cold wet weather my brother and I fancied a night away somewhere local, he in his VW camper with his kids, and me for the first trip out in mine! Looking through the listings, this site covered all the bases, offering EHU, allowing dogs, and the big bonus a pub on site! I emailed the site, and they kindly reserved us two pitches.

On the way to the site it started snowing, which was a little off putting, I did wonder what on earth we were doing, but in no time we arrived, and turned into the pub carpark. It was a Monday about 3.30pm and the pub was shut and no one obviously around, so we just drove on.

It's a smallish field set behind the pub, flat, and backing onto fields. There are probably about 4 of five hook up posts, which about 4 outlets on each. The ground was a little churned up at the entrance, but hardly surprising considering the awful weather we have had, and the fact it was snowing / sleeting when we arrived. There were only two caravans and a motorhome on site, and we managed to find a nice big spot for our two campers. We pitched up had a look around.

The pub is in the main street of the village, but it's very quiet. There are no toilet or shower facilities, so own sanitation is essential, although the loos in the pub can be used when it is open of course. There is a playground for the kids, and a trampoline. There are also some chickens in an enclosure which may amuse the children ( they sell the fresh eggs in the pub )

There are footpaths running directly off the back of the site, in to the fields which is ideal for those with dogs. There are other footpaths in the village leading to the surrounding countryside, and other villages for those who like to walk. There isn't a lot in the village, other than the pub, and a post office / general shop. The shop is open 6 days a week, with half day closing on Wednesday and Saturday.

The pub was shut until 6pm on the Monday we arrived, but shortly after that we went in, planning a couple of drinks and a lovely meal, as the menu had looked great on their website. We ordered the drinks, then asked about food. Sorry, no food on a Monday ! Arghh. Why hadn't we checked before we choose the site!

Naturally we were a little despondent, and asked the friendly bar staff about other options. Unfortunately there was nothing else in walking distance and we didn't fancy the pullaver of going out in one of the campervans as they were all set up ready for the night, with the awning between them. We asked about taxis, but were warned they could cost about 15 each way to Ashwell, the nearest option! Ouch, that was out of the question then!

Oh well, we resigned ourselves to having a couple of beers, and some crisps and maybe trying to find something edible in the vans, left over from last season! We must have looked miserable, and the kids looking like starving urchins, because the lovely landlady came over and offered to cook! She said we could have pizzas ( they do an extensive pizza menu too ) and we very gratefully accepted the offer! 15 minutes later or so we tucked into some lovely crispy pizzas - they are recommended!

We had a great evening in the pub, and all I can say is 10 out of 10 to the landlady for going that extra mile, and cooking on her night off! Thank you!

We set off the next morning, on a wet miserable day, but it was a great one nighter, and I am sure to return! 


Date of Visit: February 2010  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Ratty 279 reviews from this member

 This is a small CS site for members only attached to the pub. The pub is easily located from the A505 and easy to find once you turn off the main A505.

Upon arrival the site was shut, as not open in the afternoons on weekdays, so we drove in and pitched up, we had pre-booked the pitch. The field is pretty flat and the hookups nicely spread so that you are not on top of each other

The field is large and has some chickens in a coop near the entrance, there was not enough noise from them to annoy me. At the other end of the field, was a gap through to large fields, ideal for walking the dogs etc.

There are no toilets on site, so own sanitation is essential, you can use the pub toilets when it is open. There are no showers here either.

The pub doe snot serve food on a Monday evening, but when it does serve food, the menu is varied and offers a good selection and the food is served quick and is tasty. They have a good selection of lagers, ales and wine in stock, all at reasonable prices.

Nearby there is a shop that sells all the essentials including bread, milk, bacon, frozen food etc. It does not serve papers though. If you want a paper the nearest shop is around 3/4 mile away, so not too bad to walk to.

There is no takeaways or anything like that in the village, other than this pub, so a car is essential, or taxi rides to the next village are looking at around 15 each way.

This is a remote site in a lovely little village and if you go prepared and do not need to leave the site, then this is a great spot for a weekend.

For the kids, there was a playground and trampoline, so they are kept amused. Dogs are welcome too on leads and cleaned up after.

If they could look at one thing, I would suggest the pitch fees are reduced by a bit, 13 for a pitch for the night with EHU is a lot for a field without any facilities but fresh water. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in Hertfordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save 15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1831 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement