Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camping Aux Champs

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > Europe > France > Normandy > Site Reviews

Camping Aux Champs
1 Rue De La Ripaudiere
Hambye
Normandy   (Browse area)
50450
Tel: 0033 02 33 900698
    Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 10
Open: 1 May - 1 Oct

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 27 Reviews
                10/10 from 27 Reviews

Photos (5)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  27 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: GaryandKate 1 review from this member

We have just returned from a week with Mike and Diane in Normandy. We had a very warm welcome and a choice of pitches. Mike was very knowledgeable and offered lots of tips on places to visit and see. The facilities were immaculately clean. Pitch was surrounded by beautiful fields and farmland, lots of birdwatching opportunities and red squirrels! All facilities required for our campervan were at our disposal including electric hookups, water supply and waste. Some pitches may require levelling blocks.

Site is ideally situated for excursions to the landing beaches of Omaha, Utah, Gold and sword about 1 hour away. Very sombering but well worth the visit. An hours drive in the opposite direction will take you to the famous Mont St Michel medieval island town.

If you are wanting evenings out in a bar or restaurant you must be prepared to drive to nearby towns. There is a very smart patisserie in Hambye village which offers a wide range of breads, cakes and homemade chocolates. There is also a well stocked supermarket in the village too.

This was the perfect place for us to unwind and completely relax and would highly recommend it for either a stopover break or, like us, a week away.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: MadAboutMotorhoming 18 reviews from this member

A little piece of home.

What a lovely, peaceful site away from the hurly burly of day to day life in the UK. Fees are very reasonable. Toilet and shower facilities are spotless and reminiscent of the best CLs in the UK. The campsite area is lawned and well kept. Chocs are required on most of the site if you are looking to keep your unit level. The owners are welcoming and very easy going as are the majority of campsite owners who we have met whilst travelling around. We would certainly recommend this lovely site.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Darenpas 1 review from this member

We had a lovely stay on a perfect campsite. Mike and Diane made us feel most welcome and were helpful in every way. Although there is only 1 male and 1 female toilet, they are kept perfectly clean, as is the shower room. This is a small, adult only campsite set in rural Hambye, peace and tranquility are guaranteed but you are only an hour away from the d day beaches, st Malo and Mont st Michel are about 45mins away. We look forward to returning to see them again!

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Classic 67 1 review from this member

What a superb find. Great central very quiet location - 90% of the top attractions in Normandy within an hours drive or less, with easy access to/from motorway. Site itself is small and pleasant with a field and toilet/dishwashing block. The one shower and one male and one female toilet and separate elsan point were more than adequate - the one time there was a queue we were so busy chatting we never noticed. Has a good return camper rate which shows it was not just a one off - three of the campers we met had all had several previous visits.

Toilet block and showers were immaculate. Site very clean. Best of all, we were treated as intelligent human beings who had an idea about what camping rules and regulations are standard - no rules and regulations were written making it seem very friendly. The only thing we were told was to avoid leaving food out as the foxes may come round. There was even a get your washing done service for 4 euros a load. There were also directions to the nearest launderette as well.

Information wise the site had it all from when the local shops were open to a huge rack of the latest tourist info leaflets - I confess I saw far more of Normandy using these than I would have done from the guidebook I had.

If I am in Normandy again, it is a site I will use again in preference to any other.

If I had only one grudge its that the site is clearly marked from one side on the entrance but not the other - however, it is so close to a turning point when you drive past that it is easy to go back 20m. A very minor grudge.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ju Drop 1 review from this member

Just spent a fabulous week at this campsite. Very relaxing, Small and friendly, situated in a quite & pretty location. An easy bike ride to the village for bread & groceries. Easy access to the beaches nearby (20 minutes or so by car) The site is well maintained with a very clean Shower/Toilet block. The owners are really lovely. Always on hand and very helpful.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Photojonic 2 reviews from this member

What a gem of a cl tucked away in a quiet, rural location on the outskirts of hambye in beautiful normandy.

British owners mike & dianne make you feel welcome as soon as you arrive and their advice on what to visit proved invaluable, nothing is to much trouble for this couple.

The toilets (1 male 1 female) are spotless, clean towel provided everyday, 1 shower is kept to the same high standard with plenty of free hot water.

I would recommend this cl to anyone who appreciates an informal friendly environment in a delightful corner of france.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: AEKemp 1 review from this member

A wonderful little site that is extremely well maintained by it's resident owners. On site facilities excellent - toilets, shower and electrics, for 4Eu Dianne will even do a washing load for you, much appreciated. Convenient for the Normandy D Day beaches, Mont St Michelle and all parts in between. Some great towns and sites within easy striking distance (ie. Granville, Coutance, Hambye Abbey etc). We travelled down from Calais and the journey was 4. Hrs 20. Located 2km from the nearest village which has all the necessary facilities and a wonderful little restaurant. This is an adult only site in the middle of the Normandy countryside. We will be back!

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Berned 1 review from this member

This have been our 3rd visit to this camp site always have a great welcome from Diane and Mike they run a very friendly site. The site is very well run, very clean toilets and showers, peace and quite just the birds singing !

The village has had its café re opened with a English speaking French man which makes it so much better to order

All in all a very good relaxing holiday do book with them you will not be disappointed

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Whitehead57 2 reviews from this member

This is a lovely site. The owners made us very welcome and were extremely helpful. The toilet and shower facilities were exceptional. The village of Hambye has everything you need for everyday supplies with large supermarkets a short drive away. There is a lovely beach 20 minutes away, although dogs need to be on a leash. We would definitely recommend Camping aux Champs if you want a quiet friendly site.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Tony + Marg 43 reviews from this member

I can only totally agree with the other reviews. This ia a lovely quiet CL type adult only site in the countryside. Just 3 other units during the week we stayed.

Easy to find with the instructions and the sat nav.

I must admit we struggled to get up the gravel drive, The front wheel drive tag axle had most of the weight on the back with a scooter on it, took off the bike and no more clutch smoke and spinning wheels.

Obviously getting out was straight forward even with a 9m vehicle

The grass area at the bottom of the site near the trees is pretty level so we did not need to use any chocks.

The toilet facilities are spotless and well maintained with a male, a female toilet and a shower.

Mike and Dianne are very helpful and friendly and obviously have a vast amount of knowledge of the area.

As has been mentioned easy reach of Le Mont St Micheal which is almost a 'must visit'. We decided against going to the D Day beaches

As we felt we should pick a campsite closer to them and this site we ideal for visiting the local towns and markets.

This is a great site if you want somewhere quiet to chill out and relax

Previous     27 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Normandy

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3175 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019