Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Helwith Bridge Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Settle > Helwith Bridge Campsite Reviews

Helwith Bridge Campsite
Helwith Bridge
Horton In Ribblesdale
Settle
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
BD24 0EH
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 10
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 15 Reviews
                8/10 from 15 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  15 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chorleydave 7 reviews from this member

 A field with a water tap that belongs to the house that overlooks it. That's it, unless you take into account the outhouse attached to the pub with one toilet, and sink with hot water which is open 24 hours and so handy if the pub door is locked.

What you get is 3 a night camping next to the best pub with the best beer and the best prices in the Yorkshire Dales, not to mention the enormous portions of delicious food cooked to order by the landlady. That landlord is one lucky fella! The views ain't bad either! Only negative (if this sort of thing bothers you) is the noise from the quarry wagons which pass within a few yards of your tent every few minutes from early morning until early evening.

A final point. If you arrive by camper van or trailer tent, camping is free on the large pub car park as long as you patronise the pub - and who wouldn't with that ale and that food at those prices! 


Date of Visit: November 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Taxis Kendal 29 reviews from this member

 Superb views! There is practically 360 degrees of view, if you use the second field, as we did. There is only one toilet and sink, and a tap in the field, but we didn't need them. With an overnight low of -5 Celsius, there were no midges, or other campers. The second field is best for views and lower road noise. This doesn't make 10 stars because there is quarry traffic.

Note: there aren't signs to this campsite. Park in the large pub car park. The camping fields are next to the quarry road. Pay 3 pp to the very nice lady in the proper sized house which backs onto the field. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: HannahsMenagerie 17 reviews from this member

 A one-night stopover prior to climbing the little hill just up the road (Pen-Y-Ghent) as I didn't fancy a couple of hours drive on either side of the hill walk.

This is a small friendly site although the neighbours in the field next door found plenty to bleat about just after dawn but they soon settled down to graze and were quiet once more.

Facilities: Just the outhouse with one WC and a sink in it when the pub is closed. I don't know about hot water as it was too hot for anything other than a cold water wash for me. There was only once I had to wait but I wouldn't fancy it if the site was very busy.

Campsite: Not the flattest site in the world but all the more fun for having to think and plan where to pitch your tent. On the plus side I only hit one rock when pitching. The biggest downside for me was having to retreat into the tent to escape the midges that were determined to cover me in as many bites as possible.

Area: Stunning views all around. You are close to the river, railway and road so there is some noise but it is a quiet road so this drops off to practically nothing in the evening and overnight. I was there at a weekend so there was no noise at all from the quarry.

Pub: Fabulous food and dog friendly, there is even a little bar for the 4 legged companions. A word of warning, if it is busy get your food order in quick, when I was there they stopped taking orders at about 8pm as the kitchen was too busy.

A great little site that I will certainly use again if I am in the area and at 3 per person per night (dogs are free) it's fantastic value for money. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: TimMul 1 review from this member

 This was a 3 day cycle camping trip and I didn't want to venture too far in case I couldn't do it. (It was 43 miles and first time cycle camping for over 30 years!)

The site is approx 3. 5 miles from Settle, where there plenty of places to buy provisions. Martin, the sites owner, came across and told me to camp where I chose and was friendly and helpful. There is a standpipe at the bottom of the field, one toilet, with a mirror and sink and hot water at most times, unless the pub is busy (this was explained to me) - the toilet block is attached to the side of the pub and uses the pubs plumbing, but I always had hot water. The field is well drained. The Settle Carlisle railway is close by and I saw a few steam trains pass. Scenery in the area is lovely and although there is a quarry not far away, the lorries weren't noisy (as there aren't many buildings to bounce the sound back at you).

The pub serves real ales and on Thursday nights they have a steak night, serving 8 or 16oz steaks at very reasonable prices - get in early, it's very popular. Also the locals are very friendly and welcoming.

So, finally, it is basic camping and Martin also emphasises this when you arrive. To me, it is how camping should be - indeed, how it used to be. It is a great setting, great location and not too far to go for provisions either -and it's only 3 a night (I paid 3. 50 to camp in the middle of Worcester race course back in 1985!)

Thanks Martin, I loved it. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sasara0 15 reviews from this member

 A lovely little basic campsite. This is no frills camping which we love. The field is on a very slight slope and has wonderful views. Cars are not allowed onto the field. We found it to be a very quiet campsite. There is a tap in the field and some bins. There is only one toilet and this was clean and stocked with loo roll. The pub is less than a minutes walk away which sells really nice beers, ciders and lager at reasonable prices. The pub serves food but we had a BBQ so we didn't try it. The food prices seemed reasonable and there were tourists and local people dining.

At 3 per person to camp this is more than excellent value for money and we will definitely return. Thank you to the owners. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: James breslin 3 reviews from this member

 We came onto UKCampsite.co.uk looking for somewhere cheap n cheerful for the weekend. And came across helwith campsite. Some reviews poor some good. We rang and spoke to the owner who made it perfectly clear it was a field with a tap. And a toilet was available adjoining the pub next door. As we do a lot of walking it was ideal and we were clear about what was there. We arrived friday and was met by the owner who was happy to have a chat about the field and rule for dogs. We have 2. I have to say no glamping it does what it says on the tin. Spot on were happy with our weekend thank you. We called into the helwith pub and everyone briefly chatted dogs very welcome do good food

We ended up staying for a few more. Well done for such a friendly group of people to the exceptional landlord and landlady we will be back. There is no local shop settle is 5 miles away but the views are beautiful. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mrs Fish 1 review from this member

 Having visited this site 5 years ago, we decided to visit again and found it to be just as good as when we previously went, the site is just want we want for a couple of nights, it is basic but that is reflected in the price, is is now 3. 00 per person but having camped here over 5 years ago to say that they have only put up the price by 50p you can't say anything about that.

The field owners are very helpful and the facilities albeit basic are kept very clean.

Also wanted to write a comment about the new owners of the pub, who are very welcoming and the food served is very nice, and a good choice.

All in all a very nice place to visit if you don't mind not having all the facilities offered at a bigger site.

We are also planning to go back soon as we enjoyed it so much. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tlwcparsons 1 review from this member

 Lovely site! extremely helpful owner who made every effort to enhance our stay. The gate to the field is fine with plenty of access. The Pub, although a separate enterprise, proved to be very helpful as well!

Unfortunately, due to injury, we were unable to take advantage of the site but felt it warranted a positive review due to the great lengths the owner went to in answering my queries.

Thank you for all your kind assistance. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Leggs 2 reviews from this member

 This is a very basic site with only a toilet and sink for facilities. However, it is in a great location with a very nice pub next to it. The site is ideal for backpackers and people who are not too bothered about minimum facilities (glampers don't bother). You are in a brilliant location, the start of the three peaks walk is only three miles away, there are masses of caves in the area, or for the less energetic, you can just relax and take in the scenery. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Keelestar 5 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for one night when I was doing the Yorkshire Three Peaks.

Very much a 'you get what you pay for site' at 2. 50 per night. Do not expect the ritz. There is one toilet and no showers.

Access is over stiles on the wall so ensure you have means to get your equipment over the wall with you.

The campsite is next to the Helwith Bridge pub, which is a lovely friendly pub. The pub do not own the camping field but gladly pointed me in the right direction of the owners on arrival.

Probably wouldn't stay again but that isn't a slur on the site. They are very honest about what they set out to provide. 


Previous     15 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Helwith Bridge Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Helwith Bridge Campsite?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Helwith Bridge Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Settle      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2632 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement