Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Sunset View

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > Whitby > Sunset View > Reviews

CLOSED: Sunset View
Manor Farm
Normanby
Whitby
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 44 Reviews
                7/10 from 44 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  44 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note we have been advised that this site has closed, and no longer offers camping, motorhome or caravanning pitches. If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Peter+Lorna 3 reviews from this member

 Just back from a great weekend at Sunset View.

Trevor made us very welcome and brings you logs for your camp fire and also uses a gas gun to start it up for you.

Camping is £8 per person £7 for your logs that should last all night.

Shower is nice and hot ( Only one ).

Two toilets one in the shower room and the other at the end of the block.

The views are great and the sky an night is amazing.

Not 5*.

But hey your camping not glamping. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kingnoel 3 reviews from this member

 I have recently returned from my 5th visit to Sunset View Campsite. It is basic camping, all essentials, toilets, showers, security are adequately covered, but there are countless reasons beyond these basic needs as to why you have to visit this campsite!

The view is absolutely breathtaking - waking up to unobstructed views of the sea, Whitby Abbey, Whitby and the sky itself more than makes the already value for money price well worthwhile.

The fields are huge, ensuring a good measure of privacy at all times, making and cooking on an open fire with the views is something that belongs on a Carlsberg advert, truly. Possibly the best aspect of Sunset View is the care and attention you will receive from the Trevor, well supported by Elliot.

Trevor is an absolute diamond of a bloke, not to be misjudged, as he is one of the most genuine, interesting and intelligent people I have met. I can't wait to get back here next year. Yeah man! 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 We have been advised that at the time of writing this campsite may no longer be operating. If you have any information to confirm this, or if you know the site is in fact open, we'd be very grateful if you could let us know please! Many thanks.  


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mal the Artist 2 reviews from this member

 Sunset View

Great View, great location, more than friendly staff and not expensive.

I stayed there two weeks or so and loved every day the changing moods against this great vista and sometimes watching spectacular sunsets. Itís a small farm with geese, chickens and pigs well located between Whitby and Scarborough, walking distance from Robin Hoods bay with the Yorkshire moors close to hand and very friendly staff. The amenities are basic but adequate with two toilets and one shower. There are reports of the shower not working properly, but while I was there it was fixed and perfect.

If you do stay try there home made sausages, you will be hard pressed to find better anywhere and there pork pies are legendary and finally a beauty spot which I quite liked was Bec Hole not to far by car. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sambuca147 1 review from this member

 My husband and I, my two sisters and two brother in laws stayed here for two nights.

We were greeted by the owner who was a lovely man. Nothing was to much trouble for him. He pumped our air beds up as we forgot our pump. He lent us a blow torch as it was windy and we couldn't get the campfire started.

The owner told us about all the nearby attractions

Eg, car boot sales, directions through the fields to robin hoods bay and nearby pub.

The views were amazing. You can see Malton, Pickering, Whitby, the abbey, miles & miles of farm land and the sea which looked beautiful on a sunny day.

The campsite is ideally located. It is 3 miles away from robin hoods bay and 5 miles from Whitby.

The nearest pub is a 30 min walk through the farmers fields. Lovely on a sunny day.

There was 2 toilets and 1 shower. These were clean and loo roll was available.

It is a working farm. It was nice to see the 9 little piglets with mum & dad. The cockerel wakes you up in a morning at about 5am.

This camp site is ideal for those who want to get back to basics but have the luxury of toilets and fresh water.

We could not fault our stay at Whitby sunset view and we will be definitely returning. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Leeandlisedonny 1 review from this member

 We (my fiancee and I), have just got back having spent a wonderful 6 nights at this cheap and cheerful site! The ammenties are basic and cleanish but exactly what we were expecting.

Trevor and robert were always available and happy to help, both are friendly and up for a laugh!

If you want a relaxing break with a campfire and amazing views of whitby and the abby at sunset followed by awesome starry skies this is the perfect site.

If your having a bbq try the sausages fresh on site, theyre huge and really tasty!

Thank you very much look forwards to coming back for the bank holiday! 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cmb89 1 review from this member

 Stayed overnight when regatta was on and got made to feel very welcome. Trevor and Robert are a very nice couple and are always looking for ways to make sure your visit is the best it can be.

Only down fall is that there is not enough facilities ie: toilets/shower rooms.

Other than that it's a genuinely nice site with amazing views over Whitby and the abbey, the sunset is to die for on the right day.

All the best :) 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Waynegrant 1 review from this member

 This place is great if you don't want a posh site with shower and toilet blocks because there are none. This site is a proper camping site just a field there is a shower but is cold and dirty and two toilets again only if you are really in need to use them and if you do take your own loo roll. The field itself is massive with fantastic views over whitby and the sunsets are to die for. No electric hook up no kids play ground just a field. The farm has horses pigs and chickens. At night farm comes around with bags of logs and kindling to sell to you at £6 a bag so you can have a camp fire yes a camp fire. All so sells meat for bbq burgers chops eggs bacon. The traffic can be a pain if your at the top of the field but at the bottom hear nothing. I would go again but will be taken my own loo dont be put off the site was busy and loads of people use it and i will go back. Whitby is 3 miles from site. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Beaky2511 5 reviews from this member

 The 2 of us stayed here for 3 nights in August, everywhere else in the area was booked out that weekend. No kids with us.

The main problem with this camp site is the lack of hygienic toilet/washing facilities, I can easily cope with basic facilities but the 2 toilets and 1 shower were filthy, if there had been one clean toilet and wash hand basin it would have been better than the existing facilities. They hadn't been cleaned properly for months. It isn't just a wee bit dirty I can cope with that, its filthy. These facilities are provided for approx 50 pitches (info from owner)

The owner informed me that people were pooing in the camping field at the hay bales so he had to move the hay bales !

The location is near Hawsker and the costal walk which is great and the field is fine to pitch a tent on. The pub in Hawsker does good food and a good pint. Beautiful part of the country. Lovely starry nights and campfires

This campsite has so much potential due to the large levelish field, views and location.

If you are a group of lads or girls looking for site you can stay up till all ours drinking and go home the next day for a clean shower and toilet then this site is ideal. There were a few large groups enjoying this campsite for 1 or 2 nights when we were there, its ideal for a large groups wanting to party.

I wouldn't go here again and wouldn't recommend it. You would be better off wild camping in this area it is more hygienic, more peaceful and has better facilities than this site and lacks the lecherous presence of the owners of this site. 


Previous     44 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2891 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement