Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Tollerton Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > York > Tollerton Caravan Park Reviews

Tollerton Caravan Park
Station Road
Tollerton
York
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO61 1RD
Tel: 01347 838313
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 13 Reviews
                6/10 from 13 Reviews

Photos (9)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  13 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lillylou 1 review from this member

We arrived at this site with our touring caravan and were warmly welcomed by the warden. We thought the fee of £24 per night was excessive but as we had booked quite late we thought nothing more of it. However upon reaching reception we were asked how much electric we wanted. I would have thought at the price of the site that electric should be included. We bought £5. 00 electric thinking we would be reimbursed for what we didn't use. But no that is not the case. A loss of another £2. 49.

Although nice shower facilities, there a only 2 showers in the men's and ladies for 50 tourers and they were not kept clean.

A nice site but nothing special.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Billbuck 3 reviews from this member

Visited site for 6 days, on arrival we were greeted by the warden who was very plesant and helpful, we were put in the middle of the touring field open to the elements. After we checked in we were asked how much electricity cards we wanted, but on the website it says electricity was included in the price. The fishing pond was more of a puddle and was not much caught while we were there. Over all not a bad site, ok for kids, there is a small play park for them. The toilet block was very clean and well kept if I am looking for a positive. At £22. 00 per night I don't think I will be going back anytime soon. P. S. The train noise was very annoying which was only about 30 feet away.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Armstrmj 8 reviews from this member

We have just spent 3 nights here over the bank holiday weekend.

As the weather was very wet we didn't get out and about on the site too much.

Our pitch was very small, and strangely organised, the nose of our van was poking between 2 caravans in the row in front of us. This made it extremely difficult to hitch up when we were leaving as there was no room to manoeuvre.

The pitch was nice and flat, we didn't need to level up when we got there, however the drainage was bad, the field ended up really waterlogged, we were wheel spinning all over. I wasn't happy letting the kids out on their own as people have to drive over grass and between pitches to get about, and the ground was really slippery.

£23 per night is quite expensive considering that electric is metered- £5 for 3 nights, but we had no heating on as the weather was pretty warm and we spent a lot of time in the pub!

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Lisapayne72 7 reviews from this member

We've just stayed at this site overnight and absolutely loved it! We were a little late arriving but the owners had left instructions for us and for us to settle up payment later. Very polite and friendly people, site was immaculate and the facilities very appealing. Little noisy with the train tracks but we found it quite comforting. Lovely walk into the village and the Chinese/Cantonese restaurant smelt divine (we will be trying it next time). Definitely recommend to families or couples, loved seeing our teenage son and his friend getting harassed by a little by (about 2) who thought it was good to chase them and throw sand at them :-) Can't wait to go back!

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rudds+Rabes 3 reviews from this member

Just spent another great weekend here.

The site is very clean, flat and well maintained.

On arrival we were given a lovely spot to pitch just near the children's play area; the owners were very friendly and accommodating.

As others have mentioned the trains do go by quite often but once you have been there a short while you get used to them and we actually quite enjoyed hearing them. If you want total peace+quiet go to a Premier Inn not camping!

The toilet and shower block was always very clean, 2 showers and 4 toilets in each block. Always plenty of toilet roll too. The showers are free and lovely and hot. Washing up facilities also clean with plenty of hot water.

The Station pub at the entrance to the park also doubles as a Chinese with takeaway. Lovely big portions and reasonably priced.

5 mins walk in to the village and there is another pub and well stocked village store. They sell a lot of locally sourced produce.

Overall one of the nicest sites we have stayed at and we will return again.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Challenger1 3 reviews from this member

Just returned from a 3 Night Bank Holiday break at Tollerton Caravan Park. We managed to get in at the last minute as everywhere else near to York was fully booked.

We were disappointed with the site for a number of reasons. The pitches for caravans and motorhomes are close to each other, so you have very little privacy. There didn't seem to be any order, every unit was just crammed in.

We accepted our location as we booked last minute, however the entrance area should be avoided due to train lines, fan noise all night from the barn next door and a beaming flood light which crept through our window blinds.

The toilet block is new and facilities are good, however they didn't appear to be attended very often. Toilets were dirty and the floor was muddy. A little attention to cleanliness would make all the difference. Also two showers isn't really ideal for a site of 50+ pitches.

A few good points:

The local pub is only a 5 minute walk.

Chinese Takeaway right next to campsite entrance.

For £21 per night(plus £5 electricity) is over priced, there are superior Caravan / Camping Club sites for less money.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sam44 2 reviews from this member

Just returned from this campsite last week. Overall the site is clean but very basic. There is a small park area for children which is safe. The toilet block was OK but slightly dirty.

However the one thing I would like to point that is that although this says it is a quiet site, we found it anything but that. We were placed just behind the reception portable cabin due to having electric hook up.

This area was also about 10 yards from the main railway line which goes past the site. The trains seem to run about every 10 minutes - both freight and high speed trains which would use their horns as they were going past, which when you are trying to get to sleep could be very annoying.

Also this site is under the flight path for a nearby aircraft training ground which thankfully only went on during the day. All in all I wouldn't say don't go here just make sure you are well away from the reception area just to guarantee a good nights sleep.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: 2ndtimearound 5 reviews from this member

Stayed for 4 nights mid July. Rang up a couple of days in advance and asked if it was ok if we just turned up- which it was. Very friendly wardens, flat ground, found toilet block to be very clean and no problems with space in shower- there was a folding down shelf to put things on- looks like it's a new block- so maybe things have been altered.

Close to railway line as mentioned by others, but not a problem. Good food/ beer at both the Station Inn (near entrance to site) and the Black Horse in village.

Village shop pretty well stocked. Ideal area for cycling- lovely villages, not many hills! Had really good time, met lots of people and it didn't rain! Would go back again.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Munkihangas 1 review from this member

Great experience loved the site we booked 5 pitches 4 of which were for tents, and stayed friday and saturday night. Toilets were very clean and there was plenty of space for the kids to play. Enjoyed ourselves that much we booking for another weekend the end of the month. Well recommended. There is even a family bathroom with full bath if you prefer not to use the showers

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jill Kelly 1 review from this member

The site is very clean and they recently have just had a new toilet block. There are 4 toilets and 2 showers. Hot water all the time and very clean. Also there is a hairdryer which you can pay a pound for 18 minutes.

There is a great pub located about 5-10minutes walk away. They do excellent food and not to pricey. The wardens are very polite and helpful. Decent sized pitches also.

Previous     13 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4855 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019