Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Garth Farm

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Conwy > Betws Y Coed > Garth Farm Reviews

Garth Farm
Capel Curig
Betws Y Coed
Conwy   (Browse area)
LL24 0ES
Tel: 01690 720212
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 29 Reviews
                9/10 from 29 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  29 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Nickelpede 3 reviews from this member

 Farmer Thom great host. Plenty of space - we had pre booked.

Views across to Snowdon range stunning, genuinely, breathtaking when the sun drops behind the mountains at sunset the site does drop in temperature, this made the fire a great addition.

Showers & toilets work well, but not clean by any stretch.

Would definitely return again without doubt. Took a walk up Glyder Fach & Fawr finally got to the cantilever! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Despot67 3 reviews from this member

 Absolutely superb, brilliant facilities breathtaking views

Allows fires in a fire stand, logs 5 quid a rub.

8 quid a night.

Nice individual toilets in toilet block. Showers a pound for 5 minutes via token so be quick.  
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Richard Ball 1 review from this member

 Stunning location. You have the choice of waking up to beautiful lake views or a stunning backdrop of Mount Snowdon.

Basic but clean facilities. Hot shower and toilets available in the central block - clean and hot!

Perfect location for a day up the mountain. The Sherpa bus stops right at the gate so no need to take the car, 3 per person takes you to the start of the PYG and Miners trails. These are great walks to the summit - Up the PYG and down the Miners is my recommendation.

To was very friendly and welcoming. Lots of flat camping spots but it was quiet when we arrived.

At 8 per person per night its great value and just what we were looking for our mountain adventure. BBQ's are allowed and stands are left around the site to save the grass.

If you want a stunning location, and basic facilities, I totally recommend this site. 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Trevor + Jo 119 reviews from this member

 Since the campsite in Beddgelert had closed I was forced to search elsewhere and came across Garth Farm. It is situated a mile SW from Capel Curig, so walking distance from the Hostel bar, although along the road. The site is a working sheep farm and slopes both sides from the entrance track.

One direction with views over the lake to Capel Curig, the other looking down the valley to Snowdon, both fantastic. Depends on the wind direction which you choose. I chose Snowdon and the other site of a stone wall was the pen enclosing the last of the 900 ewes to lamb. You will hear sheep throughout the night but I awoke to see new born lambs in the morning. Also, several cuckoos were calling from dawn to dusk. Beautiful.

There are 4 unisex showers and 4 unisex washroom/toilets. The showers run from a 1. 00 token for about 5 minutes. Absolutely fine, and hot. In a stone shed, but kept clean and tidy.

6. 00 pppn. There is nothing else apart from the wash rooms but what else would you need?

Walks from the tent to Moel Siabod and the Glyder ridge. You are in the middle of Snowdonia and if the weather is good (which it was) possibly the best campsite around. A good find. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Scarbrow4711 1 review from this member

 Well what can I say about this campsite, I love it. The farmers Thom's is fantastic. I have stayed here many times but never put a review

I walk a lot and I do photography so it's fantastic

It's still surprised me every time I go even in the snow

One word fantastic. Chas 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Owainoshea2018 1 review from this member

 Absolutely fantastic place to camp. Beautiful views all-round. Nice lake to swim in. Showers and toilets clean and tidy. The farmer thomas was fantastic and friendly. He had our 4 year olds on the quad with him around the farm. Which of course the baby loved. Perfect weekend ended with thunder and lighting on our departure. Incredible time will definitely be going back. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Marcinica 1 review from this member

 We visited for the weekend and were amazed by the setting. It is a quiet, peaceful site with the Snowdon horse shoe range to one side and a lake to another. The site is sloping but you can find flat areas to camp on. The site owner Thomas was really friendly and helpful. There are fire pits dotted around that you can use and a BBQ. You can buy wood for 4.

Some friends were arriving late on Friday and were able to use the bunk house, which is a great alternative to camping.

In the way of facilities there are clean toilets and showers, you buy shower tokens for 1.

It is a basic site in terms of facilities but it makes up for that in natural beauty, even a lake nearby that you can swim in. For 5 night adults 3 night kids, it is amazing value. We will definitely be back. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wildswimmers 1 review from this member

 We stayed here for 2 nights with our 2 dogs. Fabulous location, the lake is easy to access for swimming and there are fabulous runs from the site, perfect for us for triathlon training. Such a friendly farmer(Thomas) always smiling, helpful and concerned that we enjoyed our stay. A small group pitched near us late one night, they were giddy but not enough to cause a disturbance, but Thomas asked if they had been too noisy as he didn't want other campers upset. Very clean (and spacious) showers and toilet cubicles, very good price at 5pp per night plus 1 each for the dogs. Great to be able to pitch where you like, lots of choice for different views, Snowdon or the lake?! Our fave site, will definitely be back! 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chmusar 1 review from this member

 Another great stay at this campsite, facilities basic but clean and well maintained, views great and a 15 minute walk to plas y brenin if you fancy a pint and some food.

They allow dogs on leads as it is a working farm but you can go near the Lake if you want to let them run off lead.

Owner is very friendly and a wealth of knowledge for the area, it an get windy as it comes down the valley so choose your pitch with care.

Will definitely be back soon. 


Date of Visit: December 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mimidee 1 review from this member

 I had a pleasant time at Garth Farm, the view over the lake is lovely, and there are some great walks nearby. I really wanted to have a fire and so was happy this farm allowed fires, but they had to be raised up off the ground, in stoves, which were provided. The farmer sold logs for 4 a box, of which I didn't need to buy at first as I had some wood of my own. I decided to go wild camping instead and so packed my stuff up and left on New Year's Eve. However, my friend and I had climbed Snowdon that day and were really tired at the end of it and the weather had dropped and was really windy and so we decided to camp somewhere nearby instead. We checked out 2 campsites local to Snowdon, there was no service at one and the other was closed so we decided to go back to Garth Farm. Upon arrival, we knocked on the farmer's door and he offered us the bunkerhouse if we were interested. As it had a log burner, we decided to go for it, we were tired and cold and it was getting late, all we wanted to do was get settled and eat so we chose the bunkerhouse! It was lovely. There was a mouse, which he warned us about, but neither of us were bothered about it. All we cared about was a warmish place with a fire, which is what that provided. I planned on leaving New Year's day but as our stuff was all settled and we had the option of staying in the bunkerhouse another night, we asked if it was okay to stay another night and Thomas, the farmer, said it was. Which was great! We really enjoyed our stay at Garth farm and our interactions with the farmer and his wife. He mentioned to us he also has another place at the bottom of the farm that does have electricity if we ever wanted/needed that. So that is good to know. I imagine I will come back to Garth Farm one day as it's not expensive, is a nice location and wasn't touristy, like the other campsite we visited which was 9 a night and no one was even around when we got there. Thomas said we could knock on his door if we needed anything up until about 10pm, which was great to have that option. 


Previous     29 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Garth Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Garth Farm?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Garth Farm dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Betws Y Coed      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Conwy

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save 15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3819 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement