Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Garth Farm

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Conwy > Betws Y Coed > Garth Farm Reviews

Garth Farm
Capel Curig
Betws Y Coed
Conwy   (Browse area)
LL24 0ES
Tel: 01690 720212
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 26 Reviews
                9/10 from 26 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  26 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Trevor + Jo 99 reviews from this member

Since the campsite in Beddgelert had closed I was forced to search elsewhere and came across Garth Farm. It is situated a mile SW from Capel Curig, so walking distance from the Hostel bar, although along the road. The site is a working sheep farm and slopes both sides from the entrance track.

One direction with views over the lake to Capel Curig, the other looking down the valley to Snowdon, both fantastic. Depends on the wind direction which you choose. I chose Snowdon and the other site of a stone wall was the pen enclosing the last of the 900 ewes to lamb. You will hear sheep throughout the night but I awoke to see new born lambs in the morning. Also, several cuckoos were calling from dawn to dusk. Beautiful.

There are 4 unisex showers and 4 unisex washroom/toilets. The showers run from a 1. 00 token for about 5 minutes. Absolutely fine, and hot. In a stone shed, but kept clean and tidy.

6. 00 pppn. There is nothing else apart from the wash rooms but what else would you need?

Walks from the tent to Moel Siabod and the Glyder ridge. You are in the middle of Snowdonia and if the weather is good (which it was) possibly the best campsite around. A good find.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Scarbrow4711 1 review from this member

Well what can I say about this campsite, I love it. The farmers Thom's is fantastic. I have stayed here many times but never put a review

I walk a lot and I do photography so it's fantastic

It's still surprised me every time I go even in the snow

One word fantastic. Chas
via mobile

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Owainoshea2018 1 review from this member

Absolutely fantastic place to camp. Beautiful views all-round. Nice lake to swim in. Showers and toilets clean and tidy. The farmer thomas was fantastic and friendly. He had our 4 year olds on the quad with him around the farm. Which of course the baby loved. Perfect weekend ended with thunder and lighting on our departure. Incredible time will definitely be going back.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Marcinica 1 review from this member

We visited for the weekend and were amazed by the setting. It is a quiet, peaceful site with the Snowdon horse shoe range to one side and a lake to another. The site is sloping but you can find flat areas to camp on. The site owner Thomas was really friendly and helpful. There are fire pits dotted around that you can use and a BBQ. You can buy wood for 4.

Some friends were arriving late on Friday and were able to use the bunk house, which is a great alternative to camping.

In the way of facilities there are clean toilets and showers, you buy shower tokens for 1.

It is a basic site in terms of facilities but it makes up for that in natural beauty, even a lake nearby that you can swim in. For 5 night adults 3 night kids, it is amazing value. We will definitely be back.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Wildswimmers 1 review from this member

We stayed here for 2 nights with our 2 dogs. Fabulous location, the lake is easy to access for swimming and there are fabulous runs from the site, perfect for us for triathlon training. Such a friendly farmer(Thomas) always smiling, helpful and concerned that we enjoyed our stay. A small group pitched near us late one night, they were giddy but not enough to cause a disturbance, but Thomas asked if they had been too noisy as he didn't want other campers upset. Very clean (and spacious) showers and toilet cubicles, very good price at 5pp per night plus 1 each for the dogs. Great to be able to pitch where you like, lots of choice for different views, Snowdon or the lake?! Our fave site, will definitely be back!

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Chmusar 1 review from this member

Another great stay at this campsite, facilities basic but clean and well maintained, views great and a 15 minute walk to plas y brenin if you fancy a pint and some food.

They allow dogs on leads as it is a working farm but you can go near the Lake if you want to let them run off lead.

Owner is very friendly and a wealth of knowledge for the area, it an get windy as it comes down the valley so choose your pitch with care.

Will definitely be back soon.

Date of Visit: December 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mimidee 1 review from this member

I had a pleasant time at Garth Farm, the view over the lake is lovely, and there are some great walks nearby. I really wanted to have a fire and so was happy this farm allowed fires, but they had to be raised up off the ground, in stoves, which were provided. The farmer sold logs for 4 a box, of which I didn't need to buy at first as I had some wood of my own. I decided to go wild camping instead and so packed my stuff up and left on New Year's Eve. However, my friend and I had climbed Snowdon that day and were really tired at the end of it and the weather had dropped and was really windy and so we decided to camp somewhere nearby instead. We checked out 2 campsites local to Snowdon, there was no service at one and the other was closed so we decided to go back to Garth Farm. Upon arrival, we knocked on the farmer's door and he offered us the bunkerhouse if we were interested. As it had a log burner, we decided to go for it, we were tired and cold and it was getting late, all we wanted to do was get settled and eat so we chose the bunkerhouse! It was lovely. There was a mouse, which he warned us about, but neither of us were bothered about it. All we cared about was a warmish place with a fire, which is what that provided. I planned on leaving New Year's day but as our stuff was all settled and we had the option of staying in the bunkerhouse another night, we asked if it was okay to stay another night and Thomas, the farmer, said it was. Which was great! We really enjoyed our stay at Garth farm and our interactions with the farmer and his wife. He mentioned to us he also has another place at the bottom of the farm that does have electricity if we ever wanted/needed that. So that is good to know. I imagine I will come back to Garth Farm one day as it's not expensive, is a nice location and wasn't touristy, like the other campsite we visited which was 9 a night and no one was even around when we got there. Thomas said we could knock on his door if we needed anything up until about 10pm, which was great to have that option.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bickers 10 reviews from this member

We were planning to spend several nights camping on the Llyn Gwynant Campsite, but on arrival discovered the site was full (it was on Bank Holiday Sunday).

We'd driven past Garth Farm and noticed tents in the field so decided to go back there and see if they had any spaces available, which despite being a bank holiday there were.

You pitch in the fields surrounding the farm (which are used for grazing sheep), and managed to find a level location on which to pitch the tent.

Facilities are very basic, but clean, with a small block with toilets and showers. Because it was a Bank Holiday weekend the site was busy, and we were told it wouldn't be possible to have tokens for the shower, but this didn't really bother us as we were only planning to stay a few days. It also meant there were rather long queues for the toilets, but again this was due to the Bank Holiday weekend and the amazing weather. The vast majority of people left by the Monday, and after that there were no problems with accessing the toilets. The farmer (Thomas) was really friendly and we enjoyed several long chats with him, and in the morning you can buy fresh eggs from the farm (which I highly recommend).

When the majority of people left the site, we decided to get some tokens for the shower (1 for 5 minutes). The showers themselves were wonderfully warm, but be warned the 5 minutes starts ticking down as soon as you put your token into the machine. If you are slow at undressing you may find your five minutes are almost up. The solution is you either buy more tokens or get yourself ready to jump straight into the shower.

The location itself is simply stunning - words cannot do it proper justice, and this is what makes this such a magical spot. For the first couple of days (when we couldn't use the showers), we ended up washing ourselves in the river and lake next to the campsite.

The cost per night was also extremely reasonable, 5 for people aged 11+, 3 for children up to and including the age of 10, and 1 per dog per night.

I personally loved the location of this campsite, of the many sites we've visited in the UK and abroad, this is one of my favourite locations, and we'd definitely go again.

I prefer sites like this, where the facilities are simple and where you can pitch where you like.

They also have a small bunk house (that sleeps up to 10 people) available for hire.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Fleeps 1 review from this member

We arrived in snowdonia in the early evening and the campsite we were intending to go to was full (they don't take bookings!). We had driven passed Garth's Farm on our way and decided to turn back and try there as it didn't look too busy, plus it was a beautiful location with the site overlooking a lake.

It was great in every way! I'll be returning for sure!

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: KateHarrison 1 review from this member

This campsite has been one of the best we have ever stayed in - wonderful views, acres of space, and good, basic facilities - all we love most about camping! We actually meant to stay at Llyn Gwynant just up the road, but on viewing what appeared to be wall to wall cars, people and tents, and washrooms overspilling with rubbish, we decided that was not for us. Thankfully we ended up at Garth Farm and were able to choose 2 wonderful pitches, each with fire pits, overlooking the beautiful lake and surrounding hills, with no other tents anywhere near. The washrooms have individual toilet/sink cubicles - great if you like some privacy! There are lovely large showers which take tokens for a 1. Plus there is an outside sink for washing pots. We were impressed with how clean everywhere was kept, and Thomas the farmer was exceptionally friendly and helpful. We were able to buy wood from him for 4 a box, and camping costs were only 5 per person per night. The highlight of our stay was being able to walk down to the lake armed with picnic and inflatable boat, wade in our wellies to the 'island' and just swim and float to our heart's content in total peace and isolation! Obviously the weather was kind to us, but for exploring Snowdonia, and just relaxing in a beautiful and peaceful environment, this place is definitely somewhere we would revisit. It is also a great place for young children to explore, with trees and rocks to climb, and the river and lake perfect for paddling and generally having fun - and don't forget the blowup boat!

Previous     26 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Betws Y Coed      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Conwy

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...





Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 16/01 to 19/01, Event City
Over 200 exhibitors with all the new 2020 models and biggest ever selection of accessories. Plus win tickets! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2500 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar
Christmas Giveaway


Advent Calendar

A new prize every day til Christmas PLUS a grand Christmas Day Star Prize

Click to Play!