Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Belvedere Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Northumberland > Newcastle On Tyne > Belvedere Campsite Reviews

CLOSED: Belvedere Campsite
Harlow Hill
Heddon On The Wall
Newcastle On Tyne
Northumberland   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 26 Reviews
                9/10 from 26 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  26 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: January 2014 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Sorry, this campsite has now closed for good. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Albomason 2 reviews from this member

 We have stayed for 2 nights on this delightful little site. The owners were very welcoming and helpful and will supply bacon sandwiches on a morning if you require. The owners also have a motor repair garage- this was ideal as a bulb had blown in the van and the owner was more than happy to supply me a new one.

The toilets and shower are basic, but exceptionally clean and warm-the shower could do with some kind of seat though. The site is dog friendly-nearly everyone had dogs and they all behaved well.

A very pleasant site with all the facilities needed, and in a very picturesque setting not to mention being right on the Hadrian`s wall footpath. With this in mind the site was quite busy with tents and Vans, but there was ample space for everyone

A lovely little site and very reasonable cost wise, we shall return. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Lydon16 13 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for the May bank holiday, we stayed for the week. It looks like the owners back garden, but was lovely and quiet, just what we needed. The couple who run it are lovely, very helpful and friendly. The toilets and shower are basic but always kept clean which is difficult as the gravel drive outside doesn't help. You can order bacon sandwiches for morning, which if your backpacking is very handy.

We mainly had the site to ourselves as there is a lot of backpackers and people just using it as a stopover, so came at night and left first thing. Which the kids loved as they had loads of room to play football and ball games.

There was some lovely views from the site and it is very well sheltered, with trees and hedges on three sides. If you enjoy walking you will love this site as there walks straight from the site and ideal for Hadrians Wall.

It was about 4 mile to the nearest supermarket and there was a pub about 2 mile down the road, although we didn't try this.

We just rang and booked and didn't need to pay a deposit. While we were there someone had booked to stay and just didn't turn up and never rang the site to say they weren't coming, which I think is really rude, it only takes a minute to ring and tell them you cant make it!

If you want some peace and quiet, this is the site for you. It is basic but what more do you need and was very reasonable priced. Would recommend the site and we would stay again if in the area. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hazel410 4 reviews from this member

 This is a super camp site right on the Hadrian's wall trail. The owners couldn't have been more helpful, and the campsite was good value for money.

The toilet / shower block was very basic, but super clean, with fresh towels, hand soap and even shower gel for guest use. There are only a small number of pitches which means its a very quiet site.

I would definitely recommend this site to all and I hope to return at a later date.

There's a super pub called the Robin Hood which is well worth a visit, selling excellent good value food. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Argentum66 8 reviews from this member

 Perfect site when walking Hadrian's wall as right on the trail. Secluded field behind owners property seems mainly set up for caravans and motorhomes although owner very welcoming and caters for wall walkers.

Site well kept with clean shower and toilet block. Long walk into Heddon for meal and pubs but taxi firm will pick up and deliver. Signs in the toilet block indicated that a breakfast can be provided if required, also clean towels if needed.

A friendly yet quiet site, but would have been better if I had had my car with me. 5 per night. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Billyboy62 1 review from this member

 We have just come back from a visit to this site

A very friendly and helpful couple

The weather was terrible when we arrived but the owner was out and helped us site our van. We did some of the Hadrian's wall walk and they were interested how we did.

There was telephone numbers for take aways and if needed, you could have a bacon roll and tea or coffee if ordered the night before.

Would stay there again if were up that way and within easy reach of Newcastle 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Michgerencser 1 review from this member

 We had a fantastic one night stay on a Bank Holiday. A secure, cared for and compact site did not let us down. The site was in a stunning location, with great views across the valley, and easy to find.

We chose our own pitch and had an electric hookup for a bargain 12 for the night. The facilities were spotless: two separate toilets and a lovely shower room.

A nice outdoor washing up area ensured campers on this scale had everything they needed. Whilst we were only there for a break, walkers were well catered for with a variety of help offered for kit etc. Bacon butties could be ordered too.

A lovely couple who care about their site let us know we could bring our Mini Club campers and possibly have the field to ourselves!

Only 15 minutes from Newcastle- this is a perfect getaway! We can't wait to go back! 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Levfamily 3 reviews from this member

 Just spent two very wet nights at this site, torrential rain!

A very small, compact site, very friendly couple,

The shower was hot and free, with a radiator in there, shower gel supplied if you need it, very clean facilities, plenty of loo rolls!

Despite the terrible weather, we went to chesters fort, housteads fort and vindalanda. We got to vindalanda at 4. 15 and they close at 6pm, so they let us return the day after to finish off our visit.

I would suggest taking a packed lunch if you are a family (we are a family of 5) as the cafe at vindalanda is extortionate, hot chocolate was off and the sandwiches were stale. Apart from that, a very enjoyable visit and we will definitely return next year in better weather!

An all round excellent, small friendly site which we couldn't fault. Shame our tent collapsed under the weight of the rain! 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rhinefield 3 reviews from this member

 What a treasure in the North. We were travelling late and the owners were friendly and helpful. Small, quiet site, excellent for families and walkers and dog owners. Great access to the surrounding countryside.

We visited the roman forts and wall, the countryside is lovely. We found a great place to spend some time about 20 minutes drive towards Carlisle on the B6318, good bit of wall, gatehouse and a quarry pond to swim in. Cawfields Milecastle 42. Turn off opposite road to Haltwhistle, (the centre of Britain). Haltwhistle has a co-op for stock up and plenty of tea rooms for refreshment.

My son enjoyed Chester fort. The campsite is great and now has washing up facilities and they leave washing up liquid. The shower is very hot, with shower gel and a hot radiator, can get busy in the morning, but all facilities very clean and stocked.

There are numbers for take aways and leaflets and the owners will bring lovely bacon butties for 2 in the morning if told the night before.

The views around are lovely, we were lucky as it was really sunny but there are high hedges and electricity if needed. We also visited Whitley beach which was unpleasant, the next day I found Whitburn beach south of the Tyne, which was lovely, dogs enjoyed it too.

If there was a second shower and a gate to stop children getting out this really would be 10/10 all round 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cathy22w 4 reviews from this member

 I called this campsite because I was planning to do the Hadrian's Wall walk. I cannot say enough about how friendly these people are, and how accommodating. When I asked where I could park my car, I was told I could leave it there.

It's only a little campground, and the facilities are basic but more than adequate, and the owners just made it all the more pleasant.

I called then again a day into the hike to ask for a phone number for the bag drop people, and, again, they were very accommodating.

I would recommend this to anybody. 


Previous     26 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in Northumberland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest W Midlands and Wales 03/07 to 04/07
Exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4791 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement