Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Bassettwood Farm Certificated Location

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Ashbourne > Bassettwood Farm Certificated Location Reviews

Bassettwood Farm Certificated Location
Tissington
Ashbourne
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE6 1RA
Tel: 07952432096
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 5 C&MC Members Only
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 5/10 from 7 Reviews
                5/10 from 7 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: December 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dixiejed 1 review from this member

 HIDDEN GEM.

Gavin & Lynn are the perfect host, we where made welcome from the start the site has beautiful views.

Is a brilliant base for visiting Derbyshire 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note that as from 2012 this site is under new ownership. Tents and caravans are no longer allowed, so reviews for camping facilities are no longer relevant. The site has been completely renovated but now just has the Shepherd's hut for rent.  


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Glamper1971 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for the bank holiday weekend, the site is basic but gives you a feel for the area you are in.

Positives:-

No restrictions on where you pitch, I couldn't find the owner on arrival so rang her on her mobile (take a note of it with you itís the best way to get in touch) was told to find a spot and set up. It is really really windy like others have mentioned and itís not an understatement. I have an 8 birth tunnel tent, it did stay up even though one of the poles splintered, it took a beating, however what you do get is lovely views.

The butchers in Tissington is fab, we spent £20 on our last day stocking up for home, large minted lamb pie to die for, four steak and stilton pies lovely and a selection of their sausages (had to try as many flavours as poss. Loved the Tissington banger)

Nice walk to the Tissington trail.

The dog was welcome which was great and they have to be vaccinated, wormed etc. Due to this being a farm (theirs roam free and I was picking up their 'mess' too)

Play area good for the size of the site.

The owners gave the children a free tour round the farm including the dairy and to meet the animals which is a really lovely touch.

Excellent recycling system on site, nice to see for such a small site.

Not crowded even though there were more units than I expected.

The Chemical disposal was at the bottom of the electric field, nothing fancy just a hole and a hose, but it works :-)

No rush to vacate, once we packed up we were welcome to park up and go for a wander. Lovely

Negatives: the tea room never opened,

£1 for showers is cheeky as they are charging everyone £20 per night for very little work on their part, some guy arrived on our last day for one night and paid the same in the overflow field for a 2 man tent as I did for an 8 birth with electric!

Take the owners mobile number with you it'll be the best way to contact them, I ended up looking for them on the last day to pay for our pitch as I couldn't find them the rest of the time. Though this is a working farm so they are busy, but this is also a business so it should have some attention given to it.

It is down as a certified site (5 units) we went with 2 other families, on the electric field there was 7 units and on the 'overflow' non electric field there was probably 15. I donít mind the extra campers but itís too many for the toilet/shower area, which was the smallest space you could imagine, my friend said she'd heard the owner moaning at how many rolls of toilet paper she was having to put out, not surprised when she had so many units on. Although even with all the 'extra' people it still wasn't crowded on the site by any stretch.

Would I visit again? yes I would, I love the peak district and its only an hour away from home, we were able to relax and the kids (9 and 13) could play safely, without all the 'entertainment' other sites offer it was proper camping; games, trivial pursuit, Frisbee, cricket, walking and relaxing with stunning views. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mitch.Dale 3 reviews from this member

 Just returned back from a very pleasant long weekend.

The setting is beautiful but extremely windy so make sure your tent is up to the job.

Facilities were pretty basic but done the job.

The kids play area was great and kept them well entertained whilst setting up etc.

Everything is a drive away as it's probably 3/4 mile off of Tissington as it's on a farm.

Obviously because if the farm you will be awoken by either the horses, cows or cockerilll. (normally all three).

It's a good base for Dovedale and Asbourne.

It cost £15 per night plus a cheeky £5 extra for a gazebo even though there would be no chance of it staying up due to how windy it was.

Owners pleasant but could be slightly abrupt especially when I started to pitch my tent too close to the gate to the horses field and also she asked us to take up the tarpaulin that we had put down.

Basically a good location if you want no frills and don't mind the showers draining straight outside.

Also it is a £1 for the shower but it us for eight minutes so no chance of bring caught short (and it does give a warning) 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rache1 4 reviews from this member

 Arrived early Friday to a not very warm welcome, paid the same amount of money to pitch my tent,as my friend did for hers, but she had electric hook up. The owner boasted that they had 12 hitch up pitches, but it is a certified site, so should only accept 5 units.

2 extremely small toilets, showers were £1, but it was impossible to regulate the temperature, so were either too hot or too cold, time started as soon as you put the money in and pay machine was outside the shower, so by the time you'd put the money in and gone back into the cubicle and undressed, you were well on the way to using up your money.

The wash up area was filthy. As was the fridge and freezer.

It cost £20 per night for a tent for myself and my daughter, you didn't get much for your money, I have caravanned on many sites and have never paid that much for the caravan, never mind a tent.

Wouldn't recommend the site, nothing to do there and grossly over priced. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jan westhead 3 reviews from this member

 I booked this site on the strength of the owner's assurances that there were full disabled facilities. This was not the case.

There were 2 tiny toilet cubicles, one very small shower cubicle and one larger 'disabled' shower room. There was a charge of £1 for a 7 minute shower of luke warm water, and the shower head was non-adjustable, they were fixed to the ceiling. There is also no seating nor was there a dry area.

The floors are quarry tiled and unfortunately when a person had a shower, it then flooded not only that cubicle, but also the corridor past the other toilets, rendering it dangerous for a disabled person. In the week we were there, the toilets nor showers were cleaned once. It seemed to be left up to the campers to clean before they used, however there were no cleaning materials to hand. Outside the toilet block there were 2 mop buckets filled with dirty rainwater in which a mop stood - this didn't move all week! (thankfully Ashbourne Swimming Pool came to the rescue as it had full disabled faciltiies which we used every day at a cost of £3.95 per person).

There is an outdoor jacuzzi at a cost of £5 for 20 minutes.

There is a children's playground with a couple of swings, slides and climbing frame which the children loved.

There is a tearoom which sells lovely cream teas during the day, however we were not even able to purchase a pint of milk.

Next door to the site is Tissington Trekking Centre where they have a choice of over 20 horses and you can go and explore the stunning countryside on horseback.

There are no local shops, pubs or amenities nearby. The nearest pub is about 1.5 miles away and the nearest shops are in Ashbourne, about 4 miles away.

The site is in a beautiful location, on the outskirts of Ashbourne, Derbyshire. It is a working dairy farm which adds to its uniqueness - twice a day the cows walk directly in front of the campsite which is a wonderful sight. The farmer is also happy to show you around the site and see the cows being milked which is a great experience.

At a cost of £20 per night for a tent pitch, without electric and given the poor standard of facilities, I feel it is an expensive pitch. 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Babzianne1 8 reviews from this member

 We chose this site because it was close to the Tissington Trail and Ashbourne - and because it was listed as a Certificated Site and we wanted a quiet weekend.

We arrived around 11.30am on a Friday, were directed to the touring field (which was empty - 'bliss' we thought) but given no further information!

We pitched and went off to Chatsworth for the remainder of the day. When we returned at about 6pm the field we were on was full (about 12 caravans) and the field opposite was full of tents - with teenagers playing cricket right in front of out van! ('not bliss'). As a CS we were under the impression that a maximum of 5 vans were allowed!

The facilities (unisex): The two toilet cubicles were a real challenge if you were any bigger than a size zero model, with no room for manoeuvre, and one of the showers was just as small with nowhere to put your clothes apart from one hook. The disabled facility had a toilet, a sink and a shower in a larger room - this, however, flooded when the shower was used. When we initially used the facilities the showers failed to work and we had to ask the owner to come in to reset the electrics!

There was a playground, but only one or two children used it during our stay. There was also an assortment of animals (eg small pony and a sheep etc) in a small enclosure near the playground which was nice.

Nearest shops were in Ashbourne - a car journey away, but there was a butchers in Tissington itself (about a mile or so along the farm track) and a tea room. There was also a riding stables next to the site but when we visited there seemed to be no-one around!

The setting of this site is beautiful and having cows 'mooing' in the field behind us and watching them drinking from the water trough behind our van was lovely 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Bassettwood Farm Certificated Location child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Bassettwood Farm Certificated Location?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Bassettwood Farm Certificated Location dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ashbourne      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest W Midlands and Wales 03/07 to 04/07
Exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4563 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement