Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of The Bell Inn

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Wiltshire > Swindon > The Bell Inn Reviews

CLOSED: The Bell Inn
Purton Stoke
Swindon
Wiltshire   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 9 Reviews
                8/10 from 9 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: February 2020 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note we have been advised that this site has closed, and no longer offers camping, motorhome or caravanning pitches, however the pub itself is still open. If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cake Man 24 reviews from this member

 Stayed two nights on this site & would use again as a stop over site.

Good little site on the grounds of a pub.

A large a area with plenty of room for each pitch and well laid with no frills, each pitch has a number and name board for each unit. Warm welcome on arrival with no pressure for the formalities.

Grass neatly mown and the bin area clean and tidy, use of the pub toilets.

There is a road near by but seems to have little traffic using it.

My only small negatives is the chemical toilet emptying area could do with a spruce up and no shower room! But we knew this before we booked and for the price we had a great time

Would we stay again yes we would! 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Pozo Boy 1 review from this member

 Dixons on pitch 5.

Recently purchased a new caravan & as we live in Cricklade used it as a testing ground!

Cracking site which we will return to even though we live just down the road!

Loved the sheep & chickens on site, which our grandchildren were particularly taken with.

Pub served my favourite beer BBB's so more than happy along with excellent food to boot.

Toilet disposal could do with updating but adequate all the same.

Could do with a waste water disposal point at ground level as a full waste master is very heavy to lift.

Nearest town Cricklade has everything you require especially if you have forgotten food etc. Has a Boots Chemist & a Tesco Express & two butchers!

3 miles away is the Coltswold Water Park which is well worth a visit. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Robsuek 4 reviews from this member

 Great little site on the grounds of a pub.

A large a area with plenty go room for each pitch and well laid with no frills, each pitch has a number and name board for each unit. Warm welcome on arrival with no pressure for the formalities.

Grass neatly mown and the bin area clean and tidy, use of the pub toilets.

Quiet a replaced location.

My only small negative is the chemical toilet emptying area could do with a spruce up. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: LOOPYLUNAR 9 reviews from this member

 Very nice certified site with rally field next to it. Have to use pub toilets which is okay when pub is closed to public. There are not enough rubbish bins and what there were, were overflowing. This is a pub. Site and the nearest shops are in Cricklade, about 2 miles away. Traffic noise from nearby road. Got admonished for being there 1. 5 hours early. I. E. , 1030 hrs, even though our pitch was vacated. 
Management response: Dear loopylunar

Thank you for review, we appreciate any feedback submitted. However I was saddened to read you felt you had been admonished on arrival as I felt I had been more than friendly and attentive when you arrived. I came out personally to greet you, and you said yourselves you were very early due to good traffic conditions. At this time I did not realise the caravan on your pitch had already left as I had not been out on site yet, that morning. I was merely trying to explain that when a pitch is booked the person on that pitch has up until midday to pack up their van and vacate the pitch, and I thought they were still there so was trying to figure out a space for you to settle into until it was vacated. The same rule would apply to you on the day of your departure. But I'm sorry you felt you were admonished.

We also noticed you left a day early and out of courtesy I phoned the home and mobile number we had to check you were ok but did not get any answer.

Regards Jackie

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Donandju 1 review from this member

 A great little site set just outside the village of cricklade, lovely rural walks, close to Swindon outlet centre so as little or much as you want to do. The site is set behind the pub with a lovely selection of chickens, and lambs providing copious entertainment while you while away the day in peace. The pub hosts make everyone very welcome with the provision of real ales and home cooked food as do the locals. Can't wait to return to this gem of a site which we found to be a great location at a great price! 


Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Geocollies 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed here at short notice and found communication with the owners to be friendly and prompt (via email).

Lovely site with friendly (without being intrusive) owners. Great pub with home made food. Well worth a visit.

In the middle of lovely countryside but only 5 mins drive to huge shopping complex (with supermarkets etc).

Dogs have to be on lead as there are sheep in the next field but there are some great walks from the site which are livestock free.

The other campers were also very relaxed and complimentary about the site. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Rapido39 4 reviews from this member

 Spent 6 nights here end August beginning September. A great little site catering for 5 units, 3 with hardstanding also an area sectioned off for tents.

Below is is a large field for rallies which we found great for walking the dog. Beside this field to one side is a herd of alpacas which are very vocal when you look over the hedge.

To the other side is a lovely little pony. The site is just behind the Bell which offers some great local beers and a very good menu.

The only downside is the sanitary waste disposal which could do with an overhaul, but at 10 per night including electric and awning etc. So all in all no complaints and we will return 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Laura233 2 reviews from this member

 We held a caravan rally at The Bell in Purton Stoke, we had 30 vans on their rally field and we had a fantastic time. The owners Jason and Jackie were very friendly and helpful.

The facilities are excellent. Their is a park on site for children which is well maintained. The CL pitches are well looked after.

The pub is also an added bonus, many of our ralliers had meals in the pub over the weekend, the feedback was excellent and having eaten their twice ourselves we can highly recommend it.

It is close to Swindon, Cirencester and South Cerney Water Park so is in an ideal location, however it is in a lovely quiet spot to have a nice relaxing weekend. We will definitely be going back! 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in Wiltshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...







Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2296 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to 160 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to 865

Get an email reminder on 1st December