Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Ghyll House Farm Certificated Location

Campsite Search > UK > North West England > Lake District & Cumbria > Carlisle > Ghyll House Farm Certificated Location > Reviews

Ghyll House Farm Certificated Location
Wreay
Carlisle
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA4 0SA
Tel: 016974 73297
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 5 CAMC Members Only
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 10 Reviews
                9/10 from 10 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

This is a Caravan and Motorhome Club Certificated Location, which accepts just five caravans or motorhomes and is for Club Members only.

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Big Frank 33 reviews from this member

 Super little site. Very well kept with spotless shower and the toilet. The owners were lovely and very friendly.

We used the hard standing in the yard, but the grass pitches were better kept than a my lawn! We used the as a stopover on the way to Scotland and were so impressed we used it on the way back as well! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Lin297 7 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for one night on our way back from Edinburgh. Fantastic location just off the motorway but no noise from it. Very friendly welcome by Margaret and her family.

Yes there are trains but we hardly heard them, they're on an embankment behind the house. One shower room with shower and toilet and one separate toilet. We were the only unit there at the time. Very reasonable rates which included ehu.

The church in the village is well worth a visit, the most unusual church we've ever seen and it was designed by a woman, there is also a heritage trail around the village. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Pee Wee 4 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for two nights to break journey back from Edinburgh in between Carlisle and Penrith, so handy for a pit stop, all in all a wonderful site.

The farm is set in a slight valley so it is very sheltered. There is a couple of hard standing pitches also pitches on grass, all have ehu. The grass is like a bowling green, the showers and toilets are superb. The west coast main line runs along the embankment/hill to rear of farm, we didn't find it a problem at all.

The farm owners told me the trains don't run from 11 pm on Sat to 11 am Sunday. On the Saturday a steam train roared past. The owners are lovely people, very helpful. This is a working farm, the setting is lovely. There is a nice Pub up the hill in the village called the Plough.

I read one review saying the food was mediocre in the pub, we didn't dine but the place was chock a block with diners both nights, all very satisfied I think. I usually judge a site by whether we'd go back and we will be using this pit stop again, definitely.

I've rated the site 9 out of ten simply because of the railway. 


Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Lizzy1 6 reviews from this member

 This site was very easy to find. We were given a warm welcome by the farmer and were shown where everything was. We were given information on the area and where to go for nice walks. The farmer helped us to fill up with water then left us to get on with it, telling us to ask if we needed anything. The hard standing was very flat.

The toilet and shower was very clean. A regular train service runs quite close to the site (up the hill) but this did not spoil our visit. There is a beautiful old quirky church in the village which is well worth a visit.

The pub in the village served rather expensive, but mediocre food. We would definitely stay here again - and only being a five minute drive from Carlisle made it an ideal location. 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Merrie 4 reviews from this member

 We were given a Warm Welcome, the friendly farmer gave a guided tour of the facilities, and an invitation for further help and advice should we need it. Lovely surroundings, the family of cows were curious, so were the sheep.

Everything clean and tidy. The grass looked like a bowls lawn, the toilet and shower spotless. We immediately felt at home. Had a lovely walk in the nearby woods.

Easy access to the M6, we stayed on our way back from Scotland, will definitely stay again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Justsojoe12 1 review from this member

 Stayed overnight in May and loved this site. The owner was very welcoming and the pet lambs were fed in the field. Well drained, lawned field and the facilities were excellent, clean and modern. We liked it so much that we stayed on our way home at the beginning of June.

Again the welcome was great and will stay longer next time we go to Scotland. We would like to see some of the surrounding countryside, and sample the pub which is a short walk away. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Smeatonarab 12 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for one night on stopover to South. On arrival we were given a warm welcome by Margaret, her family and all the pussycats and shown where all the facilities were.

We pitched on the hardstanding area and there was plenty room between other units. There were sheep in the next field which seemed to be bleeting an awful lot but after a while, (as with the occasional train) you didn't really notice.

The site was very clean and well maintained. The shower and toilet facilities were spotlessly clean and on a par with Caravan Club main sites.

The only downside was that there was no digital tv reception.

We would certainly stay here again because of the close proximity to the M6, the friendliness and the high standard of cleanliness etc. 


Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: John blackpool 1 review from this member

 Very nice site situated just on outskirts of Carlisle, access much better than previous reviews stated as the entrance to the site has been substantially widened, l arrived from the south leaving the M6 at junc 41 then heading north to Wreay.

On leaving the A6 travelling just over a mile on the side roads the narrow bridge arrives, site entrance immediately left. I have a twin axle van and got in no problem.

As previously stated Miss Bird was waiting and directed me to my pitch and supplied me with her own hook up cable. Margaret then gave me a tour of the site and facilities including hot tub room, though unfortunately room being decorated and no water in it. Very large field to house 5 outfits and all facilities, shower room toilets clean and tidy. We had great weather so made the weekend even better, Easy access to Penrith and north lakes, Gretna prob less than 20 mins away.

Will definitely return. 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Shrimpfarmer 1 review from this member

 Stayed 3 nights at Ghyll House and I am pleased to be able to recommend it. The site is close to the M6 Carlisle but far enough away that you cannot hear the traffic at all.

The approach road is a little narrow in very short sections but nothing to be concerned about even with a large van. If your pulling a very long unit then you might find the final turn into the field a bit tight.

The site consists of a large rectangular field which is nice and flat. This field is directly in front of the farm house. A nice touch is that the owners provide their own electric hookup cables which you just have to plug in.

Fresh water is from a tap on the fence on the house side of the field. Grey water is disposed there as well. There is a clean and tidy chemical disposal in the far corner of the field well away from the pitches.

The owner Mrs Bird tends to spot new arrivals as you pull into the farm and she is very quick to come out and welcome you. Mrs Bird is friendly and very good at pointing out to you where all the facilities are. She took us on a guided tour. There is one toilet with a sink and a shower and another toilet which has been well adapted for disabled use. The facilities are clean and in good order.

Mrs Bird also operates a beauty and massage treatment service and has a hair dresser come to the site as well. You can also hire the use of a very large hot tub if you fancy a soak. All of these facilities offer a good level of privacy.

The camping field has plenty of space for kids to run around although you need to be aware that there is a fairly large steady flowing river at the bottom of the site which is not fenced off.

There are a few farmyard cats wandering about and I saw one very well behaved sheepdog.

In the field next to the site there were cattle.

When we arrived there had been continuous heavy rain for several days and so we we warned that the ground was soft. We chose to use the hard standing area which was large enough to take 4 vans albeit quite close together. If you go into the field you have plenty of space between units.

Carlisle is very close by as well as a whole host of the usual large supermarkets etc. You have access to a Tesco about 10 minutes away.

Downsides - your right next to a railway line so you get highspeed trains coming past every 20 minutes or so. We soon forgot they were there. Also when we stayed there was some work going on in the Large sheds behind the house which consisted of a lot of banging. Not sure what it was, maybe some building work or repairing some sort of farm machinery.

We would certainly use the site again. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Fuzzyfreak 29 reviews from this member

 Stayed for one night on way up to Scotland. A beautifully preened site located in front of the owner's farmhouse. The owner and her children are lovely, as is their sheep dog and all their cats (lots of them)!

My brother and I ventured up the hill to the local village and found the pub which has been controversially renovated, apparently the locals were not too happy, but we got a good few pints out of it before heading back.

The only down side was that there were no washing up facilities and I wouldn't have thought you could stay for too long before you exhausted the immediate area, but I'd definitely recommend for a stop-over. 



Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Ghyll House Farm Certificated Location child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Ghyll House Farm Certificated Location?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Ghyll House Farm Certificated Location dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Carlisle      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2982 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement