Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Newtonside Orchard Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South East > Berkshire > Site Reviews

CLOSED: Newtonside Orchard Campsite
Burfield Road
Old Windsor
Berkshire   (Browse area)


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: Site permanently closed

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 18 Reviews
                7/10 from 18 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  18 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: January 2018 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

Please note we have been advised that this site has closed, and no longer offers camping, motorhome or caravanning pitches. If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cane Toad 4 reviews from this member

This is a small site on the edge of Old Windsor with houses on one side and fields on the other. I camped there with my two teenaged children and despite my reservations (having read some of the reviews after booking) we liked it! The toilet block is basic (two rooms, each with a toilet and shower) that probably wouldn't suit people who like gleaming facilities, but if you prefer cheaper sites and have a tough constitution they are fine. We did have trouble getting some of our tent pegs in (it seems there are some old building foundations under the camping field) so make sure you take some spares. The site is under Heathrow's flight path so there is aircraft noise from early morning to late at night - though we did enjoy watching the planes! Access is via an electric gate - press the 'down' button once to see 'Caravan Club' appear and then press 'call'. As this is a small site it is probably unsuited to younger children who need to run around and burn off energy but there is an open space directly opposite the site. There is a food shop about five minutes' walk away (turn left as you exit the site). Would we return? Yes, as this site is ideally suited for so many local attractions and we go for cheaper sites rather than luxurious ones!

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Emmavictoris21 1 review from this member

Lovely area, very nice clean site. Stayed for one night when visiting Thorpe park. Very cheap 8 pppn, dry flat grass, toilets and showers (clean) but you'll need to take toilet roll, all you need for a camp site. Very friendly people that live on the site and friendly site owner. Will definitely return again but for more than one night.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dunkjun 2 reviews from this member

I stayed at this site for two nights. What can I say that hasn't been said already. It is a very basic site for 5 caravans/mobile homes. Grass patch for tents. Toilets were a bit to be desired. Not very clean, NO loo roll? no soap to wash your hands after the toilet. No where to dry your hands. The shed that they were in didn't look very sturdy. The door on the one shower/toilet cubicle had no outside handle, so if anybody got stuck inside. How do you get them out?? Shower cubicles were mouldy round the edges and filthy. Notice says please keep it clean, who us or them????

Another annoying thing as has been said, trying to get access with your car at night is a pain. Having to call using the intercom (which I accept), but at least have somebody on the end of the line to answer, not leave you waiting? Or give you a code to gain access! This is NOT a FAMILY site. Not even for one night.

Access to the camp sight is not very good either, having to turn sharp left, then right through two brick columns.

Would not recommend this sight. Not impressed.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Sian11john 5 reviews from this member

We stayed here for a few days and lived it's close proximity to Windsor which doesn't have much choice for campsites because if it did we would have moved on within an hour of arriving.

The site was mainly being used by contractors of single men in caravans and The manager was away and had left one of these men in charge.

The toilet facilities were not clean, I couldn't bring myself to use the shower. There was no toilet roll and when I flushed some tissue the toilet blocked. When I asked the man in charge for loo roll he gave me a roll of kitchen roll which I suspect was the cause of the toilet blocking.

There was no lock on the toilet door, used by men and women and no hot water.

We asked for some of our money back.

It's an ok site if you have your own facilities but if not I wouldn't stay here.

Location wise great but that's the only good thing I can say

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Beccyandsteve 26 reviews from this member

I am not quite sure how to review this campsite.

There are 5 pitches for caravans / motorhomes. All have electric. In front of the pitches is a grass area for tents who don't appear to have electric. Next door is a hard standing area where there are several caravans possibly people working in the area (unoccupied during our weekend visit). And finally some very nice prefab/ chalets approx 8 which are nicely maintained.

The toilets are tired but fine and there is a small young children's pay area.

The site has an electric gate and feels safe.

It is on a flight path for heathrow (as is Windsor) it seemed to stop around midnight and start around 6am. It didn't cause us a problem in a Motorhome, but in a tent???

The site hadn't been mowed which struck me as somewhat lazy. Not a problem for us, but for the tents?

Location - good. Very close to 2 pubs and about 5 to mins to several takeaways/ restaurants.

About 8 min walk to the bus stop to Windsor.

30 min walk to the long walk, not an especially nice walk along a main road, but there is a pavement all the way.

If you want to visit the lovely town of Windsor it's great! If you are here for a relaxing weekend on a site. There are far better.

What would concern me for the future is the planning application attached to the entrance gate for a travellers / gypsy site? There will surely be objections from the lovely community around here, but who knows!

If the planning application is not approved, and I want to visit Windsor I will certainly return,

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Aust.tourists 69 reviews from this member

This is an odd little site with just 5 pitches. It seems to be at the back of a residential complex. It is hard to maneuver in and out especially with a twin axle caravan. You have to come through a security gate on a bit of an angle and then pass between 2 walls on a cobbled path to get through to the back where the caravan site is situated. You are given a pin pad to get in and out on foot. If you want to get out with the car the gate opens automatically but you need to call the intercom to get back in. We only took the car out once and didn't have any problem getting back in.

The site appears to be in the flight path from Heathrow so there is a bit of noise from planes passing over from around 7. 30 am to 10. 30 pm. There are 2 showers and toilets and are a bit basic but plenty of hot water. We walked into Windsor but didn't go into the castle.

We walked the Long Walk which is 3 miles from the castle to the George 111 statue at the other end. You walk through a deer park and there are loads of deers walking around. We also walked to Runnymede and up to the Kennedy Memorial, The Magna Carta Memorial and the Commonwealth Airforces Memorial. We then went on and walked along the Thames to a park. There is also the Windsor Farm shop nearby but we ran out of time.

All in all would recommend this site for it's location.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Nic3101 29 reviews from this member

Well, this is a bit of a weird one!

We booked this site way back in May as a long stop over from Paris on our way back up to the North West. When we got there - no one seemed to know anything about the booking (even though I had print outs of our mutual correspondence). It was 8pm in the evening, we have 2 small kids, we have been travelling since 8am - WE ARE SHATTERED! Apparently it's 20 a night with electric usually - but as it''s the Olympics it's 35! eerrrr why???????????

Anyway - we were offered the owners drive way as somewhere to pitch for the night and had to take it as it was too late and we were so tired and had 2 v fractious children! (OH was furious).

The following day - we were anxious to head off to the Olympic Park & Village but had to wait for someone to move. In the end, the owners said we could stay where we were for 20 a night and the first night would be free. We accepted this as we only had plans to use as a sleeping base and spend all our time off site.

The shower/toilet facilities are not great (porta-loo's) the showers are grubby.

There are some large toys hanging around belonging to the owners (seem to be a few families involved) and my kids naturally wanted to play with the large 'Wendy House' - but the Caretaker type person reprimanded my kids saying their kids wouldn't like it!

At the end of the day, the pitch served it's purpose, there was fresh water available, and electric. But we were packed in like sardines, and the facilities wern't great.

Not sure I would stay again - although to be fair to one of the owners, he did apologise for the mix up and seemed nice enough.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tulyar 1 review from this member

I live 3 hours' drive from Heathrow, and had to meet my someone whose flight was arriving at 08:50 - so I decided to travel up the previous evening and camp near the airport and this campsite is ideal for that. I was on my own with one small tent and stayed there less than 12 hours and it was perfectly adequate. I will stay there again if I find myself in the same situation.

I agree with the comment from someone else about the problem of buzzing in to get the gate opened, which took a little while. The toilets and showers weren't up to much, and I wouldn't have wanted to stay much longer, or have my children with me.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mumanddr 11 reviews from this member

Stayed here just one night at the jubilee weekend.

Good points - excellent location, small safe flat field, 10 min walk into Windsor Great Park, you could walk into Windsor itself if you fancied a longer walk. Several good pubs nearby, including a great kids play with trampoline at Oxford Blue.

Not so great.

Two toilet and shower rooms - I was very nervous that both showers would be taken and my kids desperate for toilet - One or two separate toilets would really be beneficial. You cannot get in or out (in car) without using the intercom which goes to the owner / manager. On several occasions they didn't answer and we had to wait several minutes and ring multiple times.

If you are not planning to use car I would recommend but if you are it would put me off. Might stay again but just a night really.

Previous     18 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

All Sites in Berkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


632 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019