Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Bungdale Head Farm Caravan & Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > Thirsk > Bungdale Head Farm Caravan & Camping Site > Reviews

Bungdale Head Farm Caravan & Camping Site
Scawton
Helmsley
Thirsk
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO7 2HH
Tel: 07792 790434  or  01439 770589
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 20
Open: 01/04/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 45 Reviews
                9/10 from 45 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (10)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents.

Reviews:  45 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2022 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Cryan 18 reviews from this member

 Beautiful peaceful site.

Photos do not do it justice, helpful friendly owners, sheep and birds for company.

More than adequate toilets with washbasins and drinking water.

Peaceful retreat in the hills. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Afortunado 13 reviews from this member

 This campsite is a real gem especially if you like quiet sites, itís a wee bit off the beaten track and that makes it special,

The owners are very nice friendly people,

The site is slightly sloping,

The nearest shops or pubs are at Helmsley which is 4. 5 miles away,

Loved this place and coming back in September 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Scarr4 1 review from this member

 First time trying out our vw van and awning and wanted some local and quiet

Site was good for what we wanted very basic and quite and in a nice location

The owners are a very nice and pleasant couple

Toilets are very clean but no showers

If you are looking for basic site with peace and quiet I would recommend this site 


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Eltel53 2 reviews from this member

 If you love peace and tranquillity, this is for you! A nice change from the more commercial sites.

Very handy for Rievaulx, Helmsley, ect. Run by a lovely, friendly couple.

Plus we got a small show from the Northern Lights! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Metalhead 37 reviews from this member

 For whatever reason I didn't really read the reviews in great detail nor did I check the facilities properly so I didn't realise there weren't any showers on site but that didn't bother us in the end. The location away from the crowds more than made up for it.

When we arrived on a Friday afternoon in July we were the only people on site, which was great! We were joined by a few other vehicles/campers later in the day though.

There are two unisex toilets on site each with a sink and mirror. Everything was well stocked and kept pretty clean. Obviously with Covid still on the scene there were hand sanitisers by the doors and by the electric hookup points too.

The views from the camping field were stunning, looking beyond the farm buildings over rolling hills to the distant woodlands. We were west-facing and got to see the sunset both nights.

If you want peace and quiet then this is a great place to be. There's plenty to see and do in the area but you may need to drive to get to them. Rievaulx Abbey is a mile and a bit away as is a section of the Cleveland Way.

Helmsley looked very pretty as we drove through and I'd recommend a visit to the National Bird of Prey Centre just off the main road there in Dunscombe Park. Some brilliant flying displays there.

I'd probably return to this campsite if we're in this part of Yorkshire again as there's more to explore and, as mentioned, being further afield it offers a bit more peace than many campsites. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sharon 1 review from this member

 What a lovely little site. High up in the hills. Nice and quiet. No frills. If you can do without a shower then this is the place for you. Had a lovely long weekend away.

Even the thunder storms did not put us off. A couple of EHU available.

Toilets well stocked. Even washing up bowls for you to use.

Thank you for a wonderful, well needed break. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Felcarvic 1 review from this member

 Nice quiet site

Good views but narrow lane and hills on entering

We stayed for 3 nights

Loved the site, we were going to ask to stay another 2 nights but a group of tents came on with 5 rowdy kids so we give that a miss. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Kathpurdie 1 review from this member

 Excellent site, very quiet apart from the baaing of the sheep and hooting of the owls. Wonderful views and sunsets.

Will definitely be going back.

Owners very helpful. Basic facilities but toilets very clean, and recycling of rubbish.

Lovely walks around the farm and dog friendly site. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: March 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: Lauren 1 review from this member

 Great place to stay - Sheila kindly made an exception to let us stay pre - season as our plans changed last minute, she was very friendly and welcoming,

The campsite was clean, well organised, and had everything you needed.

We got a flat tyre and Sheilas' husband kindly let us park in the barn out of the rain and even helped us change the wheel round.

Will be staying again if in the area. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Itami 1 review from this member

 Very clean and well kept site excellent views and sunsets, relaxed atmosphere toilets and hot water on tap. Electric hook up available around the site and even washing up bowls provided

Just the place for a quiet weekend, or a week of outdoor persuits, hiking cycling or enjoying the coast and historic sites nearby. 


Previous     45 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Bungdale Head Farm Caravan & Camping Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Bungdale Head Farm Caravan & Camping Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Bungdale Head Farm Caravan & Camping Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Thirsk      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2619 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement