Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Wakebridge Manor Holidays

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Matlock > Wakebridge Manor Holidays Reviews

CLOSED: Wakebridge Manor Holidays
Wakebridge Farm
Wakebridge
Crich
Matlock
Derbyshire   (Browse area)



Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: Site Closed from 2017

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 19 Reviews
                8/10 from 19 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  19 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

Please note we have been advised that by the owner that this site has closed, and no longer offers camping, motorhome or caravanning pitches. If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Talbot Calypso 5 reviews from this member

Having read the reviews we were looking forward to staying here. Unfortunately, Mr & Mrs Walker have now sold the site and informed us that the new owners are not presently taking bookings. A shame as it would have been ideal.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Frogsie 12 reviews from this member

We stayed for three nights at this little site. The facilities are basic but clean; the pitches are grass and there was plenty of room between units. The owner gave us a warm welcome and then left us to enjoy our stay. This is a lovely site with which to enjoy the surrounding areas. There are plenty of walks very close by.

There is nothing for children to do on this site so children unfortunately played ball close to the units despite a large field just across the footpath, still on site for such use.

The canal walk to Cromford was really nice and fish and chips were our reward!

We'll definitely go back!

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ram_sweetie 1 review from this member

Arrived in very windy weather with our 11 week old son. Lovely welcome from Sandra who was very helpful and helped us find the most sheltered spot to pitch our tent. It helped that we were the first to arrive and had the pick of the fields.

Yes the site is basic, 2 toilets, shower, chemical toilet cleaning facilities and drinking water tap but this is what we look for in a campsite anyway. One toilet was in an outbuilding, the other, along with the shower, in 2 sheds on concrete bases. All very clean and well stocked.

We'd only travelled from Derby so we know, and love, the area around Crich, Matlock etc. Lovely hilly scenery.

Couldn't have asked for more, beautiful views, quiet site, well maybe fresh eggs but the local fox has taken the chickens! That would have been an amazing bonus but seriously, we couldn't have asked for better.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lincolnshireboy 2 reviews from this member

Very friendly site owner, very helpful and gave us a choice of quieter pitches as we were stopping for the week. Quite a few people appeared to be regulars, who make use of the large pitches and lax rules.

Facilities were quite literally a toilet and shower in two separate sheds, no great interior design but clean and functional. The water and chemical waste disposal points were centrally located in the smaller, main field.

Plenty of things to see and do locally in the area including Crich tramway museum, Cromford Mills, and matlock bath and town.

If your towing a caravan into this site research your route before setting off as there are some steep and narrow approach roads.

Overall a good functional site for the price of £15 per pitch per night, I would definitely visit again.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Zetor4321 1 review from this member

Booked in at last minute.

Lady was very helpful on the phone when we arrived her son was there and gave us an option of setting up anywhere in the smaller field we had a caravan and 2 small tents with electric hook up for £20-00 a night.

That was for 8 of us.

We had the site pretty much to our self with the exception of 1 small tent only saw chap twice a day (morning and night) and a touring caravan arrived on the last day.

All facilities are basic and usable plenty of room to play with kids on site, great area for walking and the views even with a pram (not push chair) we managed a walk through a wooded forest with the pram forging the way through first, kids loved it.

We used it more like a base for days out to the tramway museum (excellent attraction)Matlock(a good day out)and Gulliver's kingdom (just for the kiddies wink wink).

Site would benefit from a washing up sink and some local walks/attractions information.

But we would definitely stay again.

Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Davewardz 6 reviews from this member

Booked in advance for the half term/last river pageant weekend.

Facilities were very basic, adapted garden sheds formed the toilet (singular) and shower. The redeeming aspect of the shed was the constant ventilation.

Chemical emptying point was dismal, very very basic, adjacent to drinking water tap. Not children friendly. (Bordering on dangerous)

Surrounding area is very scenic, affording loads of sight seeing and walking. Well placed in terms of things to do.

This review relates to campsite. Not Derbyshire.

The site generally was looking tired, dead schrubs in planters. Hazardous holes in boggy ground. It had all the signs of a tough summer.

At £15.00 per night/24 hour. It seems rather expensive considering that it was every person for themselves when choosing their site. Some call it slightly sloping. But when the van needs lifting 8/9' to attempt to level it equates to a 10%+ incline.

All in all very unimpressed. CCC CS should have realised.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: AnneMS 3 reviews from this member

Booked for this site very last minute as couldn't get in anywhere else. Having read reviews was a bit apprehensive but needn't have been.

The owner greeted us on arrival and offered us a choice of pitch with electric. Ours was nice and level contrary to some of the other reviews.

If you come to this site, don't expect frills but all the amenities were more than adequate and kept spotless.

Sitting outside the tent watching the trams travel up and down the hillside was brilliant.

The owner didn't bother you once pitched but was always available if needed. We will definitely be coming back for the peace and tranquillity.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dot P 597 reviews from this member

Near by to the Tram Museum - a steep uphill walk and the road doesn't have paths so a little daunting.

The site is basic - toilet was in a shed but well cleaned. Also a shower in a shed but didn't use. Lady met us on arrival and pointed out where to pitch - no info on site or area given.

CL area very slopping and quite small - some vans with a couple of cars so felt crowded. The camping field below was quite spacious and has ehu in 1 corner.

Both the field and CL had long grass and lots of previous cuttings which got in everywhere.

Only problem we had was a tent trying to pitch within 6 ft of us despite large field - instead they pitched in CL area no more than 3 ft from next tent. Could do with either marking out pitches or making sure people pitch sensible distances.

It's a basic camp site and probably good for kids as plenty of space to run around in fields. At £15 we found expensive for what you get.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Deco333 5 reviews from this member

Had a couple of nights here, rang at short notice but were accommodated well even though it was getting late when we arrived. We pitched in the lower field and had it all to ourselves.

The views are beautiful around the campsite with great walks to undertake. We walked into Crich as it was sunny on our first full day and found a fairly good mini market to get supplies.

There is a nice pub just a short walk form the campsite and more in Crich but perhaps the road is a little dark at night without pavements on some stretches so maybe taking the car in an eve is wiser if going for a drink or meal!

Enjoyed our stay, grass needed a trim in places but only due to the owners having problems with their mower on the day we got there but they had done a decent job with what machinery they had to hand!

As stated in another review the shower and toilet are in separate sheds. Rustic, but we were camping so this was fine!Just one 'tiny' gripe. There was nowhere to wash pots, ok if in a caravan but if camping it made things a bit difficult having to boil up water each time. Got round it by just taking the bowl and getting hot water from the shower(free to use)to go back to the tent to wash up.

Overall a great place and at £15 inc EHU we loved our stay here!

Previous     19 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

All Sites in Derbyshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5226 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019