Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Moss Hagg Farm Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Selby > Moss Hagg Farm Campsite Reviews

Moss Hagg Farm Campsite
Selby Common
Selby
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO8 3RE
Tel: 07515 389328  or  01757 703279
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 5 Caravans, 15 tents
Open: Easter To End September

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 38 Reviews
                8/10 from 38 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (3)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents.

Reviews:  38 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Patsun 1 review from this member

Having seen some of the negative reviews on here, we were apprehensive to say the least. We are a retired couple with a small dog who had booked for two nights by telephone and had not paid in advance. However, our fears were soon dispelled. We were met by the owner who showed us to our pitch, and she couldn't have been more pleasant or helpful. We enjoyed our stay so much that we have booked another stay at the end of August.

I can only assume that some people are very hard to please. Yes, the facilities are basic but exactly what you would expect of a rural farm setting. However, they are nipping clean and extremely adequate.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Topazmike 1 review from this member

This is the best site I have found near Selby. Owners are great and site is so peaceful and relaxing. Having a ball. It's very close to Selby center which is great. Would recommend to anyone. You pay for electric but it lasts a long time and added to the site fees makes it a good cheap stay. People on the site were very nice and the owners are great. Would highly recommend this quiet site to anyone.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Chulady 2 reviews from this member

Booked and paid for a week’s holiday for March, but couldn't make the week due to work commitments. I called the owner and was told not a problem and rebooked in for June. Now I did the normal research but after I booked and seen the reviews that was put on a lot of websites (what are complete rubbish). The owners of the site are absolutely fantastic. I was greeted at the farm gate, booked straight in and shown to where I was to park up. The owner knew I was bringing three small dogs (no problem at all ) and placed me in the ideal spot. The showers and toilet block was spot on (and loads of toilet rolls). Showers take 20p or pound coins, if you put a pound in its more than 5 mins which is ample time. As I was in a caravan I hooked up to the electric, for a full week I only put five pound on. I loved this site its so close to Selby town centre and I proper kick back and relaxed. The owners fell over themselves to help set the caravan up and to make sure everything was to everyone’s liking. The grass had just been cut before I got there and was then cut again while I was there. I cannot find or say anything wrong about this site and it gets 10/10 from me. I will be back with all my Scooter friends on the 4th Aug. One thing I forgot - fresh chicken eggs omg they were good. Thank you Ian and Sarah loved it Julie and the chu's xxxxx

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lucylogic 1 review from this member

Once again have spent a lovely 4 weeks at this site. Will be going back in July for another 2 weeks. Can't praise this site enough. The perfect getaway. This site has the usual amenities: Toilets; Showers; Pot washing area was unfortunately vandalised just before we got there so was unavailable (owners say it is in hand); Electric was £5 per card. How much you used was up to you (only available to caravanners); Elsen disposal; Fire pits & wood are available for a small sum. Definitely value for money. Dogs are welcome provided they are kept on a long leash on your pitch and when walking you pick up after them. Fair enough I would say. Owners are really friendly always happy to help if they can. I think this will be our go to site for a long time to come. Oh before I forget. Selby itself is only 2 miles away, great shopping as well as seeing the Abbey.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: The Welborns 1 review from this member

Only booked for 2 nights but was tempted to stay longer. Lovely owners, really accommodating and welcoming. Clean toilet block with hot and powerful showers. All facilities needed. Child and dog friendly. In the middle of the countryside but only a couple of minutes drive to local town. Will be staying here again.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Sgee123 1 review from this member

The owners Ian and Sarah were really helpful and both offered us a lift to and from the local pub which is around 3 miles away.

The facilities were clean, rather basic but ideal for a short stay. The campsite was peaceful, the other campers were chatty and welcoming too.

We look forward to returning soon.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jdashmore333 14 reviews from this member

A friend and I used this site last month while backpacking, we chose the site as we had used it before and knew we could rely on a fire for cooking.

We arrived at around 6pm, greeted by the owner who proceeded to empty my wallet!

2x 1 man tent £13. 50 each.

Fire pit and 2 bags of wood £15.

£42 spent!

The facilities are very basic with only cold water though there were 2 toilets in the mens but they were in a very poor state, not very clean at all given the prices.

The bins were in urgent need of emptying, a couple said they had seen rats the night before when using the bin.

The grass was overgrown, so long it just never dried out causing problems with midges.

I had my £2 worth of shower and it lasted 2-3 mins, I questioned the owner who said he had reduced the length of time the credit lasts rather than increasing the price.

Total spent in shower £6

we were charged £5 to use metered electricity to charge our phones but only used 67p worth of the credit.

It was cold once the sun went down so we had to buy another £10 worth of logs.

Add to this the boy racers screeching up and down the road along the site in the early hour of the morning, toilets and showers without lighting, full of cobwebs and spiders.

Dogs allowed to roam loose and mess wherever they want in the long grass.

Certainly not very good value for money

Management response: Just to correct some misinformation which has been submitted in the July Review:-

1) The toilets have hot running water.

2) The grass is kept short, we have no control over dew and rain

3) The showers are £1 and this lasts for 2 minutes.

4) We do not allow electric usage with tents, so would certainly not have supplied an electric card to charge a phone.

5) The bin is enclosed, so rodents are not a problem.

6) We have no control over road users.

Poor reviews without any basis are unacceptable.

Regards

Ian & Sarah

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pepp-on-a-bicycle 1 review from this member

A great one night stop on my ride from Bradford to Bridlington then a week later on my return journey from Bridlington to Bradford. (two nights in all). A welcoming host. Basic facilities - Toilet block with showers and water tap on the camping field. The only hassle for me was there are no shops around, so I had to hop back onto the bike and nip into Selby for a few supplies. I'll popping back to the site again and this time make it my base for a few days so that I can ride to York and Goole and explore the area.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dot P 597 reviews from this member

First impressions were good – we rang and were told plenty of space and £12. 50 a night. Arrived a few hours later and were warmly greeted by the owner, we were then told that we also need to pay for an electric card - £5 for 2 nights, we enquired as to a refund if we didn't use the card in full but were told no and we should just use more electric.

The camping field is large with plenty of space. Grass was long and didn't appear to have been cut for some time. Electric hookups at the side and also in a cluster round some trees in the middle. We went to insert our electric card and noticed the meter was already £3. 95 in the red – so our card would have gone to £1. 05 immediately, there was another meter which we used but just a note to check the credit / debit on the meters. We used a total of 85p in electric in 3 days /2 nights, for us then not a good deal at £2. 50 per night and no refunds on electric cards.

Toilet / showers are in two metal container type buildings which looked ok, The showers were £1 but we didn't use so cant comment. The bins in the blocks were not emptied in the 3 days we stayed, there was no soap or toilet paper in loos.

For those who like a more rural feel in terms of lots of space and less manicured campsite it will appeal, it is really handy for York and Selby but nothing in the immediate area in terms of walks etc. As the lanes were quite busy with traffic. This one wasn't for us so we wouldn't use again.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Agr0bird 1 review from this member

I stayed with my two dogs in a caravan, the owners are very friendly, good communication before I arrived, site is in a lovely location in a field. Toilets are clean, however tent campers be aware! You will need to bring your hand soap and toilet paper! It is not provided. Also it says dish washing facilities but it does not have a hot water tap either in the toilets or the in the dish washing area, you can have a shower at £2 a session. I used my caravan so cannot comment on that! I hope to use the site next year as its very friendly and convenient for my needs!

Previous     38 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4135 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019