Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Freshwinds Camping Holidays

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > East Sussex > Pett > Freshwinds Camping Holidays > Reviews

Freshwinds Camping Holidays
Watermill Lane Pett
Pett
East Sussex   (Browse area)
TN35 4HX
Tel: 07517 488576   or  07734 282494
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 15 tent pitches
Open: 01/05/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 27 Reviews
                9/10 from 27 Reviews

Photos (22)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  27 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2023 Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Tbejisid 1 review from this member

 Very peaceful and relaxing camp site set in a beautiful working farm location.

Lots to do for children, including small play area with slide, hay barn and tractor toys, animal trail, reading hut, dress up yurt and indoor toy area.

No need to leave the campsite for a few days! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2022 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Coastwalker 54 reviews from this member

 As previously stated, this is a wild site with long grass.

The toilet and showers are very basic. The owner is pleasant.

The access is rough and narrow.

Very peaceful site with good clientele, everyone respecting the others.

Hastings is a typical tired seaside town, Winchelsea and Rye being far more pleasant. 


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Lollydeakins 2 reviews from this member

 Really lovely wild campsite. Lovely big pitches with fire pits and logs available to buy, very peaceful and secluded. The farm is lovely to walk around too. The small vegetable and flower garden is absolutely beautiful.

It has a kitchen area and showers which are really powerful. No electricity at all but did find out there is a freezer campers can use a short (5/6min) walk away at the farm itself.

Compost toilets only which did smell quite bad in the heat of the day, first thing in the morning wasn't too bad, there is a flush toilet up by the farm though.

Getting to the campsite is down a very small lane with not many passing places which was daunting and put us off driving out to visit places but its the price you pay for a secluded quiet site. No on site reception and you have call mobile numbers to check in

Kitchen, showers and toilets could all do with a clean really as they are thick with cobwebs but didn't bother me that much.

There's a couple of camping fields and woodland pitches, we originally booked one of those but they were very boggy and full of mosquitos and another one was tricky to reach up an over grown path so we set up in he corner of the field instead as luckily they weren't fully booked.

There's also shepherd huts and yurts to rent that looked really nice.

All in all a really lovely place but remember it is wild camping so no creature comforts (apart from powerful hot showers) bit on the pricey side but very beautiful. We had a really lovely break here and the owners are really lovely and helpful.

Lots of beaches nearby and lovely pubs. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Maz210 1 review from this member

 We've just got back from a weekend at Freshwinds and loved it! It's a very secluded site which is just what we look for in a campsite.

The camping field is quite long grass so I would make sure you put in wellies otherwise you end up with lots of wet footwear if there's rain or dew. The field is big so you're not camping on top of other people, which is another major positive for us.

The showers are free and are very hot, and the covered kitchen area with table is handy to sit at if there's rain.

From previous reviews I was expecting to want to camp as far from the compost toilets as possible but actually you couldn't even smell them if you walked past. They definitely smelt when you went in them but providing you breathe through your mouth and don't look down it's really not that bad. My six-year-old was very impressed with them and couldn't wait to tell his school friends about them when we got back!

If you're looking for somewhere to eat, the Three Oaks Pub is only about 10 minutes drive away - amazing food and huge portions. It's worth visiting just for the atmosphere and collectibles they've got displayed there.

All in all, a great site and we'll definitely visit again. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: DeborahTurner 24 reviews from this member

 A 'wild camping' style site. We spent 3 nights at Freshwinds and enjoyed it.

The site is very relaxed, they only have 15 pitches on a spacious field with some sites in a woodland glade (although it is adjacent to a path through the site, these are not deep woodland pitches). A fire pit is supplied for each pitch and you can pitch where you like.

The field is level, well drained and with trees round the perimeter on all sides. Rough grass, not mown lawned pitches, of course

For a 'wild' site the facilities were fine, especially the two hot showers (although only one was working when we were there). Compost toilets are up steep wooden steps so parents with small children may want to supervise. As compost toilet go they were fine, though they did look in need of some refurbishment as the straw walls were slipping down.

There is one washing up sink with hot and cold running water, and this is in a big roofed area so that you have somewhere to sit and wait if it is raining (it was!)

A very rural, peaceful site, and people respected that. You are asked to leave your car in the car park corner of the field once you have unpacked to cut down cars in the field. People did not always respect that, maybe because it was raining and they had small children.

We didn't venture to the facilities at the farm, but heard from people that did that the facilities were fine and you can see animals and a lovely garden. It is quite a distance, so you wouldn't generally use the toilets at the farm.

The sacks of firewood for sale were huge, and you can also buy eggs and other produce from the farm, but there is no shop, as such.

Lots to do and see in the surrounding area, for the outdoor minded, Hastings, Rye, Pett Levels, and some lovely woodland with a car park down the road towards Pett, but the strength of this site is as a rural isolated location, so no shops / pubs etc on the doorstep. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Silverseaford 6 reviews from this member

 Very rural site. Bit scary on arrival, as it is on a working farm and there is no reception and you have to call the farmer/his wife to get the directions to the camping field. However, once this contact had been made, we had a lovely time. Lovely area for walking and the farm garden is lovely.

1 composing toilets

2 only one sink (for washing your hands and washing up) though plenty of antibacterial gel supplied.

3 mowed field, so lots of 'loose' grass about

4 Very friendly owners, if you need to contact them, via mobile only

5 Two drinking water taps - one is used for washing up and washing hands, other in the field 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Mergertroid 1 review from this member

 We stayed at Freshwinds for our weekend wedding reception. We arranged in advance to book and pay for all pitches in the main field and we hired both Yurts and the Shepherds hut too so we had the whole campsite just for us and our friends. The owners were fantastic, really friendly but left us to ourselves but even lent us their little farm vehicle so we could get around the site easily from our secluded yurt! We stayed in the Woodland Yurt which was perfect as it was hidden away from the rest of the site. Lovely location in the woods surrounded by bluebells. Nice bit of decking to sit out in the sun and somewhere to light a fire. We didn't get a chance to use the second yurt with the lovely bed in it as it was really cold so opted to stay in the main yurt with the wood burner. Friends that stayed in the Owl Yurt and Shepherds Hut all loved them, thought they were really nice and I know one set of friends have been back to stay again since. The eco loos were fine and the kitchen in the main field was really handy. The showers hadn't been built then so I can't comment on them. We'd love to go back and make proper use of the Woodland Yurt as we spent a lot of our time in the main field with our friends. Would have to be a special occasion though as a little pricey but really nice for a peaceful, secluded get away.

I suppose some people might think it basic with the composting loos and no electricity but there is water and I didn't have any problem with the facilities at all.

The main field is fairly big and they limit bookings so it doesn't get crowded, I would imagine that you would feel like you had plenty of space if you didn't know your neighbours. Another nice touch is that they let you have fires at night provided you use their fire pits and you can buy wood for a reasonable price on site.

I'd definitely recommend it and will happily go back.

Oh and if you have a chance, go and visit the lovely little garden by the Owl Yurt and the pigs in the barn. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Aukema 1 review from this member

 We hadden 3 nachten geboekt op deze camping die overigens slecht te vinden is, zowel via bebording langs de weg als een adres op het navigatie-systeem. De camping zelf heeft 2 eco-toiletten die met warm weer veel geur verspreiden, hetgeen wij niet prettig vonden. Electriciteit heeft de camping niet, wel ruime plekken om te staan. Het predikaat camping verdient het niet: het is een stuk grasland, waar plekken in weggemaaid zijn. Er staat 1 verregende tipi op het terrein. Er zijn 2 douches die goed warm water geven, maar geen verlichting hebben en de matglazen raampjes geven nauwelijks iets van buitenlicht door in de doucheruimte. Bovendien worden de ruimtes niet schoongemaakt: de afvoer zat dan ook flink verstopt toen wij kwamen en hebben dit zelf moeten verhelpen. Er zit flink wat schimmel op de houten wanden van de douches. Wel heeft de camping een overdekte ruimte met een aanrecht en een picknicktafel. Een beheerder of eigenaar hebben we niet gezien in die drie dagen dat we er waren. Wij vonden de kwaliteit/entourage en de prijs per nacht ( 20 pond) niet in verhouding staan.

----------------------
We had booked 3 nights at this camp which incidentally is hard to find, both through signage along the way as an address to the navigation system. The camp itself has two eco-toilets again spread much fragrance with warm, which we did not like. Electricity not, the camp have ample places to stand. The predicate camping does not deserve it is a piece of grassland, where places are mown down. There is 1 waterlogged teepee on site. There are two showers that give good hot water, but no relief, and the frosted glass windows give hardly any outside light in the shower. Furthermore, the rooms are not cleaned, the drain was clogged over quite well when we arrived and had to fix it yourself. There is a lot of mold on the wooden walls of the showers. However, the site has a covered area with a sink and a picnic. One manager we have not seen in those three days we were there. We found the quality / entourage and the price per night (20 pounds) are not proportionate. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Ranterdean 1 review from this member

 Just back from three nights staying in the owl yurt with my partner and our two young children and we are already planning a return.

This place really is a hidden gem. The yurt itself is beautiful and, with the wood burner going, very snug and cosy. It is tucked away in the corner of a small farm with horses, sheep etc Our kids sprang out of bed each morning to go and see the rabbits or the newts in the small garden pond.

The countryside around is stunning and we had some lovely walks in the local woods. A bit muddy, so we were glad we brought the wellies.

There is a compost toilet which none of us had a problem with, but there is also the option of a short walk to a flushing toilet and a beautifully hot shower if necessary.

The local shingle beech at Pett level is very tranquil and, when the tide goes out, you can catch crabs in the rock pools and you may even see a bit of sand if you're lucky.

Overall we had a really high quality family break that was also very good value for money. I can hardly recommend it enough. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mr & Mrs Mungo 7 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a fabulous Bank Holiday weekend at Freshwinds. We were camping in a tent in the bottom field. Each pitch has loads of space, as numbers of tents are limited. The field was level and the best surface I've ever hammered a tent peg into. There is a covered communal area with washing up facilities, some benches and two showers. The showers were big enough and lovely and warm, but the pressure did drop if someone used the other shower (or was it someone using the washing up sink?). However, we found them hardly ever busy. There are two compost toilets in the camping field slightly away from the showers etc. These might not be to everyone's liking, but were the best compost system I have yet come across, being well raised above the waste, so away from any odours etc. Apparently there are other facilities at the farm, but we did not use these as it was a fair way from the bottom field. Driving to and from the field was easy enough, but cars are expected to be left in a designated area away from the tents, which makes it a safer place for the kids and calmer for everyone else. Pett is lovely with two pubs, as is Icklesham (with two more pubs), both being a 15-20 minute walk in opposite directions from the campsite. We caught a bus from Icklesham to Hastings one day, and the same to Rye on another. This is a lovely part of the world and I would not hesitate to recommend Freshwinds to anyone who wants to get away from it all for a while. There is plenty to do in the area, but we could easily have spent our entire time happily on the campsite. 


Previous     27 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Freshwinds Camping Holidays child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Freshwinds Camping Holidays?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Freshwinds Camping Holidays dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Pett      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in East Sussex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2142 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement