Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Woodland View Certificated Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > South Yorkshire > Penistone > Woodland View Certificated Site Reviews

Woodland View Certificated Site
322 Barnsley Road
Hoylandswaine
Penistone
South Yorkshire   (Browse area)
S36 7HA
Tel: 01226 761906
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 5 vans plus tents
Open: 01 Apr - 31 Oct

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 11 Reviews
                9/10 from 11 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents. This is a club member only site - you can usually join on site

Reviews:  11 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Fiona W 180 reviews from this member

Had a few days here for family reasons. Lovely owners. Surprisingly pleasant distant rural views. The one toilet is in a spotlessly clean shed by the owner’s pretty garden, housing a small charity shop that has raises £300+ pa for a local children’s hospital charity. Excellent recycling, far better than the C&CC site we’d come from, which had none. There’s a good dog walk down to the woods.

Two minor niggles - The road is not in sight but we were woken early by the road noise. And the chickens that wandered onto the site drove our dog demented. £14 for hardstand & EHU.
via mobile

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: David Turner2 52 reviews from this member

Really good CS between Penistone and Barnsley offering most facilities except showers. Nice gardens and pitches managed by David/Gloria - Buses to both Penistone and Barnsley hourly and stops at site entrance. Two pubs in village both serving food and Real Ale all within 10 minute walk.

Good value for money at £12 a night with electricity.

We will return

Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Preissner 2 reviews from this member

When I rang to book this site, the owner gave detailed instructions about how to get to there and we had no problem locating it. On arrival at lunchtime, our pitch was marked with our name and we were met by the owner who showed us where the electric, water, toilet, grey water disposal and chemical disposal points were, all of which were literally a stone's throw from our pitch.

In the centre of the site was a grass area for children to play and the caravans were spaced out around the edge.

It was a very clean and tidy site. We only stayed on the Friday night of half term due to other commitments, but we were able to also have a full day on Saturday as the owner didn't mind what time we left.

The site is up a track off of the A628 so there is some traffic noise but at the time we were there it was reasonably quiet and is surrounded by fields in every other direction.

The small site was perfect for our family's requirements as we wanted to explore the local area. At £12 per night, this was a very good site and we will definitely consider booking again.

Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mutleys 1 review from this member

Just had a lovely weekend at this site. Was greeted by David the owner, lovely chap & made sure we were sited ok. Hardstanding pitch with EHU was great with it being poor weather.

Only 1 toilet for both sexes (clean). No showers but we used our own anyway.

Had a meal at Lord Nelson pub across road. Pricey for amount you get but was nice. Will definitely go again to this site. Off a main road so bit noisy in a morning but didn't bother us.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Loscoesmith 1 review from this member

Brilliant little site, with extremely kind & considerate owners!

Having seen us stood waiting for a taxi / bus the site owner sent her husband to fetch us and take us into town! Much appreciated and very thoughtful!

Site itself is very small and quiet with clean facilities. We were on the rally field and had the most amazing views and the company for breakfast were the highland cows.

Cannot wait to visit again - if only to say THANK YOU again and for a trip to the Lord Nelson

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mrmotorx 89 reviews from this member

We have just returned from stay here for a long weekend, however this was the 3rd site I tried at 4. 30pm on the friday night ( previous 2 where fully booked ). This should of been my first booking call. What a great little gem of a site this truly turned out to be, full marks from us across the board.

We are used to full signing all dancing £40 per night sites ! This isn't one of them, this is an immaculately kept small site that has no showers, one toilet and electric and can honestly say it has been one of the most memorable weekends we have had in a long time. £12 per night for 2 x adults and 2 x child can't go wrong at all. Tesco's is ten mins up the road at penistone, there are a couple of walks around the site and a pub just across the road.

There is a little noise from the road but its not too bad, no showers but if you have one in your outfit nows the time to use it ( I have used ours a few times but this was the first time my wife used ours and said its better than some on site ones lol)

Great site keep up all the hard work the site benefits from it, see you soon we had such a great time we'll be back very soon it was that good.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Gingerwinstydog 8 reviews from this member

We loved this campsite. Pitches are hardstanding and big. There was a bus sized motorhome parked next to us! and it had plenty of room. There is a toilet, which was extremely clean, with plenty of good quality loo roll supplied!

There was also a rally on in the adjacent field whilst we were there but the toilet was never busy. The toilet room also has loads of local information, leaflets etc and includes various items for sale, the proceeds of which go to charity.

As others have mentioned there is some road noise but once inside the van we didn't notice this and it certainly didn't keep us awake and it didn't spoil our enjoyment when we sat outside.

For me the perfect site is 1 that has a pub I can walk to and somewhere to walk my dogs directly from the site. This place certainly ticks both these boxes. The nearest pub (the Lord Nelson) is literally just across the road and it served decent food at a reasonable price.

Just a short walk further into the village is the Rose and Crown. We didn't try this because they didn't serve food on sunday nights (the Lord Nelson did) but the menu looked more adventurous than the Lord Nelson.

Accessed directly from the site, without going near any roads, is a fabulous walk, where I could let my dogs run free and it included a beautiful wood full of bluebells.

The cost per night for a campervan was £10 for 2 adults, 2 children, electricity included, no charge for awnings or dogs (maximum 2 dogs), which I thought was great value and I would certainly return here.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Venerable Bede 10 reviews from this member

We ended up at this site because others in the area with more facilities were booked up over the Bank Holiday. We had read the reviews so were aware of possible road noise.

It is an attractive and well kept site and the proprietor is extremely nice. We enjoyed the views, the geese and the hens and although we were busy with family and didn't get to the nearby pub, it looked inviting.

There is a good Co-op store open long hours, at a nearby garage. After a short walk uphill along the road there is a footpath leading off left into attractive old fields -great for dogwalking.

The A628 is however a very busy road and if, like me, you don't do noise, it is intrusive. If that wouldn't bother you we would recommend.

Date of Visit: November 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Stemet 10 reviews from this member

Site is beside the busy A628, and is not well signed. Coming from Silkstone, it's after the second hill with dual lanes uphill, just after the lanes end. There is an island in the road with a street light just past the entrance on the left. If you miss the entrance continue for 3/4 mile to the roundabout.

Our pitch was marked with our name, and the owner came to meet us and explain the facilities. All pitches were on hard standing, with excellent views.

There is a WC and washroom, cold water only, but always very clean. It also serves as the information point with leaflets and bus timetables, and items are for sale in support of hospital charities. Waste disposal area also has several bins for re-cycling.

There are no tourist points (but a pub just across the road!)in the immediate area, but inumerable are available for a short car ride, including the 'Last of the Sommer Wine' Holmfirth. The owner came to see us off to ensure everything had been OK.

Apart from some noise from the main road which may affect some, this site is ideal as a touring point, clean and highly recommended at only £9 per night inclusive.

Date of Visit: October 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ian/babs 1 review from this member

A lovely campsite, with a clean toilet and easy access to all services. David and Gloria made us very welcome and there was further useful tourist information available. As the previous reviewer stated, the site has a moderate slope, but David does have a supply of levelling blocks readily available.

The 'shop' has bits and pieces for sale, with all donations going to a local charity. This includes some caravan accessories.

Care should be taken on entering/leaving campsite as the traffic tends to be 'motoring' up the hill.

Previous     11 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in South Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3544 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019