Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Gallows Hill Stables Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Co Durham > Barnard Castle > Gallows Hill Stables Campsite Reviews

CLOSED: Gallows Hill Stables Campsite
Boldron
Barnard Castle
Co Durham   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 34 Reviews
                9/10 from 34 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  34 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 The new owner of this campsite has advised it is currently closed, undergoing refurbishment. They hope to reopen in sometime in 2015.

If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Whatawaste 4 reviews from this member

 There has been a change of owner to this site and all the earlier reviews from previous years should be ignored, as should the photo's of the gypsy caravans.

We arrived at the site and the site was quite overgrown with the grass not being cut and loads of thistles and weeds, not a great start! We found somewhere to pitch and then explored the site. We found a burned mattress and a complete 3 piece suite as well as loads of other rubbish tucked away behind some bushes. Fly tippers perhaps but it should have been cleared!

The toilet/shower was clean and tidy though, but that's the best thing about this site apart from being able to have a fire!

Check it out on google maps and you will see that it is very close to the A66, we were camped about 100m from the busy road and although traffic noise was not too bad, it was always present even during the night.

All in all not brilliant, we won't be going again as there are other sites in the vicinity that are better kept and also allow fire! 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ddave489 7 reviews from this member

 Great campsite, the owner couldn't do enough! spent 3 nights here and had to beg for him to take our money in the end because he was just so laid back! Even though you're not that far from the main road you feel like you're in the middle of nowhere, perfect for a little getaway.

The fact you can also have a fire is always a massive bonus to in my eyes. 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Andrewwil 1 review from this member

 ****highly recommend******

As a surprise for my girlfriend on our 2nd anniversary I booked one nights stay in the bowtop gypsy caravan at gallows hill stables, decked out with champagne, cake and gifts it was extremely romantic, cosy and quirky, we both absolutely fell in love with the whole set up. The owner is a true gent and a lovely fella who is obviously passionate about customer satisfaction. If you want a fantastic break with minimum preparation and location of outstanding natural beauty definitely give this site a visit. I could not suggest a single thing to improve the site, simply brilliant, many thanks once again, see you in the future, Andrew. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Keefus10 1 review from this member

 Me and my daughter have just got back from a fantastic two days camping at Gallows Hill Stables and I felt I had to put a review on here as soon as possible.

We thoroughly enjoyed our time here, the owner is one of the nicest people you could meet and really goes out of his way to make you feel as comfortable as possible. The facilities are basic but always immaculate. The one shower (which we never had to queue for) is free and always hot. The best thing about this campsite is the fire pits that you can hire for just 2 quid and a bag of wood will cost you another 2 quid. It's great fun for the kids and is one of the main things that make this site feel like a proper camping experience.

Barnard Castle is only a 3 mile walk across the fields (watch the cows! ) or a short journey by car, and has everything you need. I can't compliment this site and especially John enough for making such fantastic memories for my daughter and I.

We will definitely be back! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fionar2028 1 review from this member

 Absolutely beautiful site, quiet tidy and with stunning views. Barnard Castle is lovely and the Bowes Museum is well worth a visit. Richmond is a lovely little market town too. We have just returned from a fabulous 5 day stay and would definitely return. The owner was amazing and could not have been more helpful or friendly. We loved the fire pits in the evening, made a wonderful camping experience even more special. Our children loved Barbara the goat, and the owner was kind enough to take them to see his horses. All in all the best camping trip we have ever had.

N. B If you want to camp here RING and speak to him (not so good with checking emails!) 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gerrawayman 1 review from this member

 Owner was really friendly, couldn't do enough to help us, was helpful imparting his knowledge of the area, town and village and it's environs. However there was not really much in way of child friendly facilities or mark would have been 9 out of 10. Only 1 shower but as it wasn't very busy that didn't really matter much. This was a simple cost effective couple of days away in the country on a clean site. No serviced pitches but Barnard Castle isn't that far away if you need to buy fresh produce and John said we could use their fridge if we needed to. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Adam n emma 1 review from this member

 Many thanks to the owner and family for a brilliant and welcoming stay. Very clean tidy site. Good amenities, with amazingly friendly site owner. Very reasonable price, worth every penny. The kids loved Barbara the goat and the Romany caravans. And the option of the fire pit and wood makes it even more special. Also has good views and really close to Richmond and middleton in teesdale. Very good if you like to jump off the falls. Makes me smile knowing I'll be back soon. Thanks again. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Alyf69 1 review from this member

 10/10 Beautiful countryside very short drive from Barnard Castle. Fabulous for dogs and also for children. Site is clean and well looked after by owner John who is one of the nicest friendliest people ever, which reflected in the relaxed feel all around camp. Will certainly be camping there again very soon. Might even try the Romany caravans which look fab.

Thanks for a great weekend Gallows Hill 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: La24 1 review from this member

 Just got back from Gallows Hill stables after a fantastic 3 day stay, all 18 of us. The site owner, was fantastic and extremely welcoming, even coming to meet and direct us when we were lost in a nearby village.

The surrounding area has a lot to offer with the nearby village being only a short walk away and Barnard Castle a five minute drive, at which there is regularly markets held, we visited on the first Saturday of the month on which was the local farmers market; there was a lot of excellent home made produce for sale at reasonable rates.

The site itself is lovely, and highly recommended by myself and the company I stayed there with. The facilities are immaculately cleaned and well maintained. 


Previous     34 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in Co Durham

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...







Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2332 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to 160 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to 865

Get an email reminder on 1st December