Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Oakmere Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Selby > Oakmere Caravan Park Reviews

Oakmere Caravan Park
Hill Farm
Skipwith
Selby
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO8 5SN
Tel: 01757 288910
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 50
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 11 Reviews
                9/10 from 11 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  11 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: The Bushes 1 review from this member

 Pleasant & well maintained site. Friendly owners. Popular with people fishing so expected peace & quiet.

Unfortunately 3 caravans staying together were very rowdy during the day and late into the night. On the Saturday night they were still very (very!) loud at gone midnight till another resident asked them to be quiet. We did speak to the owner, and Sunday night was much better but we could have done without the disturbance affecting what would otherwise have been a very relaxing bank holiday weekend catching up with family.

The rowdy group would perhaps have been better suited to a large holiday park with a clubhouse, leaving this otherwise peaceful site to those who want quiet relaxation.

We did, however, enjoy our stay and would not be put off going back because of this. 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Conron 2 reviews from this member

 Just had 2 nights here

Great site

Made welcome on arrival

Plenty of room between pitches

Grass well kept

Fishing good

Pub in village does great food

We will be back in the very near future 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: VWGAL 1 review from this member

 Myself and husband visited this site last weekend as we were viewing a property in the area.

It was perfectly located for where we needed to go.

Tony and Megan ( owners ) were very helpful, Megan told me where to walk our dogs ( we had our 3 dogs with us ), where facilities were etc and offered me one of the pitches available.

There are electric gates into the site which is reassuring, although it's such a lovely place.

I arrived before my husband as he was still at work, but there was no issue bringing his car as I was in a campervan and not a touring caravan with a car already.

The site is small, but it's very well kept and pretty.

Most people there seem to store their caravans year round and have pretty gardens and flowers and lovely awnings lit up at night.

It's very quiet, no ball games allowed so there were no children screaming around the site. If you want that kind of site, this wouldn't be the right place. It's tranquil and peaceful. There are fishing lakes and I noticed most campers enjoyed this.

The walks for dogs are super.

We ate a Saturday evening meal at The Drovers Arms pub in Skipwith which was beautiful and dog friendly.

The weather was good to us which made it all the better, although there are swarms of mosquitos in the evening, so take some jungle spray or citronella candles.

I found the showers and toilets to be clean and was glad to see they have large showers with chairs provided for disabled or maybe older guests as I have back problems.

There is a chemical waste point and washing up point and recycling bins.

I couldn't fault the site, which is a good thing as we will be in Skipwith much more now and can't wait to stay again.

Our temporary neighbours on site were warm and friendly and it was a lovely getaway, apart from the odd mossie bite, but that's no big deal 😆

Would very much recommend.

Thank you again. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: ANGEDAWS 23 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a brilliant weekend away at this fantastic site. It is tucked away behind a working farm and the tree lined camping field is quiet and peaceful. You feel like you are a million miles from anywhere, even though you are not far from York or Selby where there are plenty of shops and facilities. The manager was friendly and helpful and there are showers, toilets, potwash area, a laundry room and small shop. All were kept clean and tidy while we were there.

Most of the people on site were fishing which is not surprising considering the quality of the three fishing lakes. My husband and son had a great time, we talked to a neighbour who had caught 80+ fish in the day and there were some sizeable carp, bream, rudd and roach. The fishing lakes are within an easy walk from the camping field and there are dog walks from the site.

This site is small (although the pitches are well spaced out). They do not allow ball games and there is nowhere for children to play so its more suited to older kids and teenagers.

Finally, if you use SatNav - ours wrongly tried to take us down a farm track. Hill Farm is clearly signed and you cant miss it, don't try and turn off too early. 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mrmotorx 89 reviews from this member

 Having just stayed at his site, we wanted a quick local get away, we thought we had found a little gem of a site. 1st impressions are good, if not great. The site is clean and well presented, toilets are clean and showers are very good. There is a small shop on site that sells a few basics but 5 min drive up the a19 there is a petrol station/supermarket ( a small one ). However Selby town is close by and has more than enough shops for an afternoons shopping plus there is a morrisons AND a Tesco ( almost opposite one another ).

If you want a quiet relaxed stay with basic but clean amenities with a very reasonable price then Oakmere will be more than adequate. Please be aware this is a cash only site plus £10 deposit for a security pass.

On a personal note we will not be returning to this site !

The reason for this is as follows, my 10 year old son and his 2 cousins were treated with out doubt in the most unprofessional and disgusting way by the one of the staff, that I was compelled to intervene and shout back across the site at an hysterical woman shouting at the top of her voice for the children to stop playing football, the children's ages are 10, 9 and 7.

The way that this matter was dealt with can only be described as disgraceful and extremely unprofessional. It was pointed out that this was the school holidays and we did book for a child friendly site, ours was told off for riding push bikes and playing football. There are no signs up to say no ball games and riding of bikes etc, my son found this very confusing ?

Nice site shame about some of the staff. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Judas_hill 38 reviews from this member

 Stayed on this site so we could get into York. The site is quite and is great if you like fishing which is what most people staying on site were doing. The toilet and showers where clean and tidy.

There is a washing machine which costs £1 per load, but it may be a good idea if there was a tumble dryer as well. The phone signal is non-existent. We used the park and ride to get into York from the outlet village. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Almagettum 1 review from this member

 Best Kept Secret in England

Don’t really think I should be giving a review on this place ! Really think I should be keeping “stumm” about it to keep it a secret, but the wife say’s I have got to so here goes.

I like to use review sites and do also review on them so this is my honest take on Oakmere, putting my 'Reviewers' head on.

We have been going there for a few years now and look on the place as our haven away from the hum drum of work and usual surroundings and aspects of home.

Tony & Megan run the place with great help from their daughters, all of them really nice people and attentive to keeping the place spick and span.

Skipwith Village

In my view nothing there much except a few houses and a lovely church along with a village pond complete with ducks, oh yes and a ( just 27th July) re-furbished country inn ( Drovers Arms ) doing really, really nice food. Takes 10mins to walk there via farm lane and footpath from caravan site.

Near by Car

Selby market town 10mins \ 6ml

Outlet Designer Centre 15mins \ 6ml

York Centre 20mins \ 10ml

Or you can stop a bus outside the site entrance, ( nice bus drivers round there ).

As for Oakmere Caravan Park @ Skipwith

If you like caravanning.

If you like impersonal style caravan parks.

If you like your neighbours in close proximity

If your not to picky on the shower block facilities.

If you like flood lighting.

If you like a good clubhouse.

If you like rock group style entertainment in the evening.

If you like late night revellers.

If you like everything else that goes with this kind of “vanning”.

Then that is great because you won’t want to go to Oakmere.

Now let’s try again

If you like caravanning.

If you like a family owned and run caravan site, with people who actually go out of their way to help you with any problems you may have from gas to washing up liquid to freshly laid free range eggs.

If you like a well maintained (several times a day ) shower block facilities ( plus washing machine \ pot washing facility ).

If you like a pitch with loads of space.

If you like beautifully maintained paddock in tranquil surroundings.

If you like the peace and quiet of being in the countryside.

If you like miles of countryside walks.

If you like to just relax and chill out with a bottle of wine or lemonade and watch the geese fly over in the evening.

Then this is the place for you.

Added to this is that the place also has 3 fishing lakes, I don’t fish myself as it may coincide with a stroll to the pub, but I know plenty who regularly do and they say it is great round the lakes, with the ethos of “pegs” being the same as the caravan park i. E. Plenty of space and that the lakes themselves are well stocked.

Oakmere is just a really nice chill out place to be at, but remember to “keep it to yourself”. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: LJB70 17 reviews from this member

 What a gem of a site.

But as another review states keep it under your hat!

Hoping to get another trip in soon. This site is on our doorstep but even being so close to home its peaceful & relaxing and we could be miles away.

Great fishing ( according to my hubby) great cycling on Skipwith common, perfect for families, and a refurbished pub in the village serving delicious meals.

There are some seasonal vans, but we found them to be very friendly.

Will hopefully be back soon 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Soleprovider 3 reviews from this member

 We have had a lovely weekend; thank you, great site, owners nice and friendly, only downfall we got sick of cleaning the seasonal peoples dog dirt up from outside the awning and back of the caravan, we were going to say something but thought it might create an atmosphere,

They should know better, it was awful at least two caravans let there dogs out early, no lead and all over the place.

We will return and will report them next time, shame it was spolit by this.

The toilet blocks are very clean and modern,

The fishing was good. The old sign needs sorting before it falls on someone, The site is quiet with a friendly atmosphere, hook ups and water close by. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Nemo 3 reviews from this member

 Brill caravan site. Toilets and showers are clean, laundry, freezer usage,

There is a swipe card controlled gate which is a £10 deposit returned usually by the owner coming round on your last day if not its a visit to the house.

The site is on grass but it is a well drained and well keept so even in the worst weather its easy to drive away. Electric points near the vans.

There are some seasonal pitches and the residents are happy to help. The owners are friendly and happy to help but are not intrusive like some. The pub round the corner does good meals and fine ale.

Fishing on the old lake is fantastic and if you want 30 to 80lb of silvers and crucians no problem there are small carp to about 6lb (which when on the go like the clappers) there's a few a lot bigger but harder to catch,

The gold fish pond at the back does not get fished much because of the bad access round the lake but some lovely carp and brown goldfish,

The carp lake is a fantastic lake for beginners and experienced alike but pegs are getting cramped and fewer because of the bank erosion and the far bank unfishable and neglected. The owner did say this would be repaired end of last season but no sign yet of this happening soon.

Bait is up to you but all work keep it simply and you will catch. No feeder fishing allowed and the owner will ask you to leave if you use them.

Just spent the weekend and it was fantastic.  


Previous     11 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Oakmere Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Oakmere Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Oakmere Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Selby      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4690 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement