Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Peterborough Lodge Certificated Location

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Wiltshire > Chippenham > Peterborough Lodge Certificated Location > Reviews

CLOSED: Peterborough Lodge Certificated Location
Dauntsey Lock
Chippenham
Wiltshire   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 39 Reviews
                9/10 from 39 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  39 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: December 2018 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note we have been advised that this site has closed, and no longer offers camping, motorhome or caravanning pitches. If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: SimonRover 1 review from this member

 Great little CL with 5 hardstanding pitches and loads of lawns, flowerbeds, meadow which makes it feel very open & uncrowded. Large field to exercise the dog in, top quality, clean, shower and toilet & all the other requirements one might need, electric hook up, waste water, tap, recycling & rubbish. Excellent value at 14/night.

One of the more permanent residents - Pete in the big Motorhome was in charge on our arrival and was very helpful. Also gave us sound advice regarding a failing battery & was a genuine good chap! Owner Liz very pleasant and welcoming too.

Top quality CL only slight drawback road noise from a busy B road but I'm told you soon get used to it. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Geoffdor 4 reviews from this member

 We have just returned home after spending a lovely week at Peterborough Lodge.

We were made very welcome by Liz the owner. The campsite is kept in immaculate condition with well cut grass and borders of shrubs and flowers. The toilet and shower were spotless and very modern and and stocked with everything that you could need.

For those of us with dogs there is a pleasant walk up the field with a great view from the top.

Although there is a bit of noise from the road nearby it did not trouble us at all.

We have to say this the best CL we have stayed at. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Axchal 10 reviews from this member

 Another very pleasant week's stay at this superb CL/CS de luxe where there is an exceptionally high standard in amenities and maintenance. Visit every year and always get a very warm welcome from Liz, Lee and family not to mention, for dog lovers, Barnaby. Ideal centre for touring a very interesting part of the country and. No, I'm not saying any more in case it gets continually fully booked. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Henryfox 12 reviews from this member

 This site is one of those hidden gems you don't really want to leave a review for because you just want to keep it all to yourself. I know that's terrible but we had a fantastic time from the moment we arrived.

We were told what the security number was for the gate the day before our arrival, as I was the passenger I jumped out and entered the number and once the gates were open we just drove straight in without any problems no issues with blocking the road as previously reported.

The site is immaculate as is the toilet and shower. The site also provides the best DVDs library I have ever seen on site, a real treat if you ever decided to have a lazy day. There is so much to do here that it would be really hard to do nothing. We took the owners advice and walked up the hill to the village pub, well worth the walk, the food was great and very reasonably priced.

We found some fantastic dog walks only a short drive away and also visited the Abbey and Avebury Stones. The only negative and this is me being a little picky is that there is a little bit of road noise. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bailey 462 1 review from this member

 We stayed on this site for two nights after having our caravan serviced at a dealers a few miles away down the M4.

This site is a little gem !

The lady who runs the site is extremely friendly and helpful but not intrusive. From the moment we arrived until we left, we felt almost like we were staying on a friends site.

The site is easy to reach from the M4, the grounds are kept well manicured and the facilities are spotless. To be honest this has to be among one of the best five van sites we have ever stayed on.

There are some nice walks from the site. These can be found on a map in the information room adjacent to the shower room where you can also find details and recommendations on local pubs and tourist attractions etc.

My only minor criticism would be to say the gates are a bit close to road particularly when entering with a caravan for the first time. We did block the road for a couple of minutes whilst trying to enter the code. The automatic gate system is brilliant but the would be better located a few metres further down the drive.

However the gate operation is easy to operate and the owners take the time to contact visitors by e-mail explaining the entry system and gate code along with everything else you need to know about the site.

This was our first visit to this delightful little site but hopefully wont be our last.

Give it a try, you wont be disappointed. 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Cazzado 1 review from this member

 What a great little site! Really friendly owners and everything you need for a quiet, relaxing stay. Clean, tidy and a lovely location. Gorgeous hot shower which was very welcome after our long journey. No urgency to leave and lovely eggs to take with us on our journey.

Family games available for those wet/cold nights or visit one of the many local pubs for a nice meal. Ideal for those with dogs as a nice large paddock for free running (be sure to pick up the poo) 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Beba 1 review from this member

 Really enjoyed our overnight stay. The owner was so friendly and nothing was too much trouble, making our first touring caravan experience very rewarding.

The pitches are well spaced with great facilities, including TV aerial point. We were even provided with the necessary co-axial cable!

We were delighted to find the entire site was very well fenced, allowing our 4 dogs, the freedom to run off lead.

We would imagine that most people would approach the site from the M4, therefore the electric gates would not present a problem, but we came from the direction of Calne. We feel it would be useful if the electric gates were set into the site more, as we couldn't pull the caravan off road. Consequently, our van was blocking the road, as we turned in. Our van blocked the road for several minutes whilst we entered the code and waited for the gates to open.

We will definitely return to this site and we thoroughly recommend it to others.

Thank you for a lovely stay :-) 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Go-olly-go 1 review from this member

 Found this site by chance and what a find!

Ideally placed just off the M4 with easy access back on, stayed for 1 night whilst on the way back from Wales, will definitely stay again if timings/destinations suit.

1 toilet and shower, but only 5 pitches- although looked more like 7 to me. The facilities were spotless and the owners really friendly and helpful.

A large fenced field for the dog to run around and some rope swings for the kids.

Entrance to the site is via electric gates and unless you have the code no way in! The owners were out when I stayed and managed by chance to get in when other campers where entering.

Not sure why a key is required to access toilet facilities as no random people could get on the site to use them?

Keep up the good work- an excellent little site and wonderful views to boot! 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Milkie 1 review from this member

 Stayed for 1 night on way to Devon great little camp site hard standing, electric, TV point, toilet and shower very clean would have stopped on return journey but circumstances changed had to get home quick. Owner very friendly plenty of space for children to play and dogs very easy to access from junction 17 M4 would definitely use again 


Previous     39 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in Wiltshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2679 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement