Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisements

Reviews of Bulls Head

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > East Sussex > Herstmonceux > Bulls Head Reviews

Bulls Head
Boreham Street
Herstmonceux
East Sussex   (Browse area)
BN27 4SG
Tel: 01323 831981
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 15
Open: 01/04 To 31/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 11 Reviews
                8/10 from 11 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  11 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilet facilities will be open. Some communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Janeth69766mob 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely peaceful site will return next year,

Showers and toilets were porta looks but even so they were new, cleaned regular, and very good,

Lovely pub for food and drinks within the site,

Would of like it even more if there was electric hook ups but doesn’t put us off going again 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Pixie Willow 1 review from this member

 First of all the landlord of the pub is so lovely, I would have really liked to give a higher rating, and had we not gone on the Bank holiday weekend, the same would probably apply. Firstly the good parts. As I previously stated the landlord/site owner was lovely, as was the staff in the pub.

The facilities looked nice and clean although we don't use site facilities as we have our own. The field was pleasant with a very short walk to the pub which was great as my husband is disabled. Now the bad points. We went on a bank holiday weekend and it ended up feeling like we were on a very noisy housing estate, there was no guidance for pitches which made for a mad free for all.

People pitching anywhere and everywhere with no regard for the 6mtr rule in case of fire, in fact we had another Motorhome park approx 6 feet away from us, so also no privacy at all. A tent pitched up right in front of the toilets so people had to walk through their camp to get to the toilet and shower stepping over the miriad of strewn toys, bonfire and guy ropes.

We have to fill our unit up with water by driving up to the tap and using a hose for the onboard tank, and again someone pitched up their tent right in front of the tap so we ran out of water and no way to refill other than getting them to move their tent or making many trips across the field with our watering can, our hose extends to 20 feet but still not long enough to go around a tent.

The chemical disposal point was poor as there seemed to be no hose to clean and rinse things nicely, as the drinking tap was near I had to wonder if it had ever been used for this purpose as there were no signs to say don't, ugh.

The road through the village is very noisy even across the field. Lastly, for no electric hook up I felt it was a little pricey. All in all it felt like everyone was just let through the barrier and thrown towards the field and then left to their own devices.

The burgers In the pub were lovely but the Sunday roast was disappointing, but the pudding was nice. I would have to think very hard before going again, but then just for a very short break,

I would also definitely go mid week when things may be a little quieter. 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Candidandy 1 review from this member

 Basic field on a moderate slope with a view- of the rest of the field. And hedges, and celestial bodies. However, with a campfire as night closes in (early September stay) and at £15 per tent, that did us nicely. Best to park as far distant from the pub/road if noise is likely to disrupt your sleep. Did not mind it in the slightest after campfire wine myself!

Toilet block of 2 toilets more than adequately clean, and evidently tended to regularly. Hand wipes (kitchen towel) to go in bin/box, which is fair enough, as the block seems to be 'off grid'. No shower. Seemed to attract people in transit- in other words late to arrive and early to leave. Pub is very nice, with a burgeoning reputation for good fodder. A number of our fellow field dwellers booked the restaurant, which is necessary on a Saturday.

Very flexible about arrival and more importantly, departure. I was told that 2-3 in the afternoon would be fine- not that we wanted or needed this.

Not within short walk of anything of much interest, other than the pub. A271 is busy for the sticks. Herstmonceux observatory quite close, but not a great walk down a lane/ d-road with no pavement. Drive, or cycle, don't walk it.

Pub does not sell logs, but a farm shop just a mile's drive away does. Shop en-route, pre-book food, and aim to buy logs in regular shop hours and all will be well.

Super nice pub personnel and landlord, friendly locals, and generally a nice vibe. Cheap if you are more than one to a tent too, we paid £15 per tent.

We did not take children, but others were there and blended in perfectly well, so have reflected this in my review marks.

One final thing, we could not see advice or request to take rubbish with us, and I therefore selected one of the standard wheelie bins, as the beneficiary of our ahem green glass bottles, and uneaten cowboy's breakfast. Did not want to take with me, would have felt more comfortable knowing the right thing to do.

Will go back even though I live within 13 miles. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Tompat 1 review from this member

 This is first site we have visited for a couple of years. Fab little campsite. Only site that could accommodate us at very last minute notice so we didn't expect much, but we were actually really very pleasantly surprised.

Great location, clean toilets and right next to a pub too! We were only going to stay one night but ended up staying two. Pub landlord very accommodating as well (was fully booked but managed to squeeze us in all the same).

Fires allowed, respectful and friendly fellow campers, nice owner, clean toilets, beautiful countryside, pub on doorstep.

Respect!

Well recommended. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Robbie Robster 3 reviews from this member

 I visited this campsite with a friend and a dog. The booking was easy and the communication was friendly.

My friend and I had a three man tent. The lady in the pub who took our fee was very helpful and friendly. The pub serves local beer, which we sampled. Although we didn't eat at the pub from the looks of everyone's plates it looked really good. The prices were very reasonable.

The field is very large mostly flat. There are two toilets. Initially there were only three tents (including ours)so the toilets were able to cope with the small amount of people. The toilets on both days were checked regularly. They were very clean and had ample amount of toilet rolls and cleaning materials. There is a drinking water tap near the toilets.

Friday night the noise level was extremely low from the pub, other tents and the road.

On our return to the site on Saturday late afternoon the bottom end of the site was full of about 8 large family tents and over 11 cars. The families were not rude or unpleasant however my friend and I felt rather intimidated so we moved our tent to the other end of the field. By the size of the group there was no way they were going to be quiet.

The toilets couldn't manage the increase in use.

The fee is £15 per tent which is good value, even more so if you have lots of people in your tent!

The site has really good public transport links and is near lots of footpaths. I would stay again, as long as there were no big groups booked in. 

Advertisements

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Whiskywhiskymac 11 reviews from this member

 I stayed at this site with a friend and her dog for a Friday and Saturday night whilst we were walking the Weald Way. Initial impressions were really positive, we received a really friendly response from the owners when we booked and a warm welcome on arrival.

The site is basic but delightful; a flat field and sufficiently far enough from the road to be undisturbed by the traffic on the A271. The pub is what I would call a proper English inn serving well kept beer with friendly staff, the food looked good too. There is a bus stop by the entrance so it is possible to use public transport, an added bonus.

The first night was peaceful and enjoyable, all was pretty much perfect; however we arrived back from walking on the Saturday to a disappointing scene. Our small two man tent was overwhelmed by a large number of family sized tents. The owners of the campsite may want to reconsider their pricing regime. The ‘encampment’ next to us had at least six large 6 to 8 person tents – each virtually full to capacity (a bargain for the campers because the charge is only £15. 00 per tent with no additional payment per person).

So here we were with around 36 people and 11 cars right alongside. The party were, to be fair, just enjoying themselves but they were really noisy and their proximity was quite intrusive so we decided to up-sticks and move our tent down to the other end of the field. And thank goodness we did because the group were still larking about at 2am and their noise would have definitely disturbed us if we hadn’t relocated. This brings to mind another observation – there are no noise curfews.

Another point there are only two toilets on the site. These coped well on Friday night, and were kept meticulously clean, however this is simply not sufficient for a group of the size described above and made for long queues and shortage of toilet rolls, pretty unpleasant.

So I would advise checking that there are no large groups on the site before booking.

Positives – flat site, good value (although this will encourage large groups), friendly pub serving good food and drink nearby, public transports links

Negatives – only two toilets (fine if there are no large groups staying on the site, but can cause issues) 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: RussS 3 reviews from this member

 If you want to wash your hair 15 times a day, this is not the site for you. If you enjoy relaxing camping in the country around an open fire, then its a really good site. The Bulls Head Inn is a lovely old pub with very welcoming staff and the beer & food was very good.

The field is enclosed with trees and well hidden from the road( which can be a bit noisy at times. ) There are 15 pitches, but it could hold 50, so there is plenty of room for you to set out. There is loads of space for kids to run around in safety.

The site has only 2 loo's which was sufficient. A shower unit would have been nice, as it was a bit of a pain having to ' wash down' daily, but it wasn't really a pain. I did hear that the pub did have a shower cubicle a couple of years ago, but due to bad weather the bookings were down and so they didn't replace it. Several people did comment on this, so it might be returned in the future. The loo's were clean and supplied with paper & soap and there was hot water etc.

We found two other pubs within a mile, and a small local shop. Lidl was 5 miles away, and a Tesco 8 miles, ( both towards Hastings. )

Pevensey was a good beach to go to for swimming, and is about a 20 minute drive away, and has easy parking.

We went to the Hestmonseaux Medieval Festival, held in August, and walked there easily from the site so we could have a beer or two. There are field paths if you get your maps sorted out.

All in all we would consider going back again in the future. It was relaxing to watch the stars come out at night in front of an open fire, and nice and quiet. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mmick 5 reviews from this member

 The site is lovely and secluded and very spacious.

A little pricey if you are travelling on your own as campsite fees are on a per pitch basis of £15 per tent per night.

Toilets were very clean. There are no showers available.

I found the food in the pub to be excellent (as was the beer).

The site location is excellent for travelling around Sussex and the south coast.

I would definitely visit again. 


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Flossydrop 6 reviews from this member

 Booking of the campsite was very easy and the owner was polite and welcoming on the phone.

We arrived at the site at 7pm as we had advised after a lovely day in Old Hastings. We were the only campers so had the choice of the entire field. Views from the field are lovely. The field is rather sloping so if they are ever very busy it could be the last to arrive get the worst pitch. Many campfires had been lit previously which is lovely and the dog could roam free as we were the only people staying

We had booked a table for dinner and this is where our issue lies. The pub is beautiful and very nicely decorated. The food was more than acceptable. However we stayed for around 2 hours with our 2 boys age 10 & 11 and played family games such as hang man at our table. My son touched the string of a helium balloon and was immediately asked very sternly not to touch it.

I thought it was very odd considering they had placed us on the table next to it but chose to ignore it. One of the boys got up from the table (the one and only time) and the owner straight away told him to return to the table and he could not have children running around the bar - he wasn't.

We do not allow bad behaviour and been having quality family time not ignoring our children. We had 2 glasses of wine each and were not drunk. I have never felt so unwelcome at a facility regardless of campsite or not. I would like to add the pub was empty except one other older couple so our child getting up didn't disrupt service or any other customers.

Facilities (2 toilets with a sink) were dirty, I think they were last cleaned at the end of last season so I am unsure what you are paying £20 a night for really.

So if you want a campsite that is expensive and a pub owner that is intolerant of well behaved children then this is the place for you.

I think if you don't intend on going into the pub then it would be fine as it is well located and in a lovey setting. However, we won't be returning ! 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: WarrenR 1 review from this member

 A really lovely site. The village (hamlet really) sits on a quiet road and the camping field is set-back another field away so no traffic noise at all. The site is surrounded by fields so no bulldings of spoiled views.

The site is located in an ideal spot geographically, being close to Battle (of Hastings), Bodiam Castle, Hastings seaside and lots of other national trust spots.

The camping field is nicely spread out and we had campfires on both nights, which are quite common on the site and the kids loved them. There is a plentiful supply of wood from the surrounding hedges.

There is no shower block but the two stand-alone toilets are very clean and roomy, with large mirrors and hot and cold running water.

The best bit for grown-ups is the country pub (landlord of the site) which sits by the road and a couple of hundred yards from the tent. It serves great food and beer, and the service was really friendly.

We will be back soon. 


Previous     11 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Bulls Head child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Bulls Head?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Bulls Head dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Herstmonceux      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in East Sussex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4877 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisements


Advertisements