Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Stoke Prior Sports And Country Club

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Worcestershire > Bromsgrove > Stoke Prior Sports And Country Club Reviews

CLOSED: Stoke Prior Sports And Country Club
Weston Hall Road
Stoke Prior
Bromsgrove
Worcestershire   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 11 Reviews
                7/10 from 11 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  11 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: February 2017 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note we have been advised that this whilst the Sports and Country Club itself remains open, the campsite at this location has closed, and no longer offers camping, motorhome or caravanning pitches. If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks 


Date of Visit: December 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: NicciMac 58 reviews from this member

 We have just taken our van here for maybe the last camping trip of the year :(.

On arrival I popped into the club house and the young man took my money and then came out to unlock the gate and show us roughly where to go (pitches are not marked out, they are on grass with EHUs along one hedge). Price was 8 for the night including EHU, I'm guessing we got a discount due to being off-season.

Plenty of space for dogs/ kids to run about, as the campsite is in the same field as the football pitch, cricket strip etc. It looks like most of the caravans here are permanent fixtures - someone even has a cute little garden. The pitch was not very level so be sure to pack your chocks!

Facilities - all I found was what looks like the changing rooms for the football lads. Two toilets (filthy) and a couple of showers (didn't use these as was worried some of the lads would come in, there was a match on when we left Sunday morning!). It is not impossible that there were other facilities somewhere on site, I didn't explore very far. However, if that is the case then a sign or two wouldn't go amiss, I have no idea if I was in the 'ladies', or even if there is a 'ladies'! Anyway, for the price it was fine for just one night, also wouldn't be a problem to folk with their own WC and shower. I also found a couple of fresh water taps, Elsan point, and the bins. Would have been nice if the chap had told me where everything was though!

Location is excellent - only 20 mins from our home in Birmingham and close to the salt pools at Upton Warren, which I had designs on swimming in but didn't manage to. Will be back to rectify that! Also, we may well be enquiring about prices for living on site, as my husband quite fancies the idea! Just please give the loos a clean and put up a couple of signs to make things clear for campers. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Alfie147 4 reviews from this member

 Have stayed here a few times clubhouse excellent prices good staff were very friendly I suppose the only downside if you can call it that is that the showers were a little on the cold side.

There is a ply area 5mins walk away and a morrisons supermarket less than ten mins away there is also a nice local pub alongside the canal virtually next to the clubhouse friendly atmosphere they also do food although I cannot comment on that as I have not tried it but don't recall hearing any complaints I will return 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Xjanex12 4 reviews from this member

 I used to stay at this site regularly as it is a local place that hosts successful festivals and rallies. It has got much busier recently and it looked quite crowded last year. It is by the canal in a nice location. I have now found other local campsites that I prefer if you see my reviews so I have not stayed there for some time. It is ideal for parties who want to hire the function room and stay on the site for the night. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kokie 17 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from our first ever camping trip at this site, for Wizzafest 2013. Firstly the event is great, with good management and security. The downside was the facilities. The ladies toilets were very dirty all the time, trying to have a shower early on Saturday morning only 2 out of 3 were working and there was no hot water at all. Given they were hosting an event the standard was very poor indeed.

My ratings are for the event - which was excellent 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cmjn 6 reviews from this member

 Stayed at this site for the bank holiday. Was going to stay for 3 nights but after pulling up and getting some very funny looks we decided to stay 2 nights instead. The caravan's were very close to each other. It said that it was under new management and they had refurbished, but could not see much evidence of that. The toilet and showers were ok, but not the best. Not a lot for the children to do. There was not a lot going on in the club itself, thought there may have been some entertainment on being as it was a bank holiday. There was no food available although their website says otherwise. There is a pub just down the road that serves food and a macdonalds just off the motorway island. There is a morrissons 3 miles away. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Rachel123f 1 review from this member

 We recently stayed here for the Wizzafest 2012, and it was fantastic! The location was excellent, just off junction 5 of the m5.

The staff were very friendly and helpful and the entertainment provided was really great. As for the showers, I was told by management that they had just been fixed with a new boiler and pressure system (as I was a little dubious), and they worked perfectly fine, I was able to take a hot shower.

The food available was great, there was a bar menu offering a variety of meals, and both my partner and I opted for burger and chips, which tasted great and cost 5.

There was also a food kiosk open from 9am until 1am in the morning which offered hotdogs and burgers.

I would definitely recommend this venue and would make the trip when the club is hosting and event again. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sjs44 6 reviews from this member

 We have been to this site twice now as its quite local for us.

The site is a grassed field which does not have any pitches marked out but you can please yourself where you pitch, if you require electric your pitch will be close to the club house.

On both occasions we booked electric which is by means of many extension leads which are run from the fuse board. Not really ideal as we had quite a few 'power cuts'. On the second visit, electric was offered but there were not enough extension leads & the person who was meant to leave, didn't.

The male toilets & 2 showers are quite poor & do need updating to include heating. Both showers have very little pressure that you'll be lucky to get wet.

The price we paid is 9 per night & an extra 2 if electric is required (is it worth the gamble?)

I am led to believe the site is to have proper electric plug in points put in around the field which would improve the electric issues but the price per night is to rise to 17.

The club on site has entertainment & the bar prices are very reasonable. Bar food is available but the times vary.

If you require food the Boat & Railway pub is only a few minutes walk away & the staff are very friendly.

The site is only a 5 minute drive from the M5 motorway & is located between bromsgrove & droitwich.

If you can shower in your own van then it might be worth a visit.

We will not be returning to this site as we don't feel it is worth the money they charge. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Wirralot 10 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for one night as a planned stop over while travelling from the North West to Devon.

The site is an excellent location, only a mile off the M5.

The facilities, clubhouse is brilliant with some food available and bar with reasonably priced drinks available. There is regular entertainment provided.

Local pub located alongside the canal is just outside the entrance to the site.

The site washroom facilities allocate dot the campers were poor, but this is after all a sports club which caters for rallies and occasional campers.

The showers and toilet facilities appear to have had a bit of a make over with new shower units in all showers, however, these are gravity fed, not electric, so a cold shower was had by me. My Wife was the lucky one who got to have a warm shower as I had got the shower running first.

The club members administrate and maintain the site. They were great and very welcoming.

Would I recommend it? For a stop over yes, but if I was to be relying on the site shower facilities then I would either use my caravans own shower or look elsewhere.

Location I feel is the biggest strong point for this site.

Cost: 5 per night for a tent (no electric)

7 per night for a tourer caravan with no electric

9 per night for a tourer caravan with electric 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gary01 6 reviews from this member

 It took some deliberating as to rate this site - good weather can definitely influence a review and we had some decent weather.

We booked into the site for a number of reasons; central to travelling to South Wales and Liverpool over a 3 day period - approx 2 miles from the A5 nr Bromsgrove.

Looking at the Camp facilities key, it appeared to have all we were asking for but unfortunately all was not as it seemed.

I'll begin from the time of booking. I contacted the site by phone after visiting their website. The site manager was polite and very helpful and told me EHU was no problem (after I explained I had the appropriate equipment)

Upon Arrival I paid 21 as agreed for 3 nights - good value I thought.

I was then asked to seek out 'Tom' (who was doing ground maintenance) after which I directed to a very small patch of land amongst 5/6 caravans/tourers. Pitching was extremely difficult as the ground was a land-fill site and I must have ruined a dozen pegs - allsorts under there from rock to wood to tyres, you name it.

The showers are gravity fed and there was no hot water. I spoke with someone about it, but nothing was done - until the next day when I spoke with 'Brian' who was very helpful and managed to get me a trickle (seriously) of warmish water (it was a joint effort as I had to fiddle with the taps while he worked on the shower) the shower block very basic - 2 showers 2 toilets (with a sheet of 1/2 inch plywood for a door) and 1 sink & mirror

The site club does have entertainment and television however there was no entertainment during our stay - except for private wedding/birthday party.

We didn't try the food at the club so I'm unable to comment.

Walking around the campsite, up the canal is a lovely experience - very picturesque and we enjoyed an afternoon pint at the local pub situated on the canal's edge.

There is a children's playground nearby approx 200 yds from the site but is small - swings, slide, climbing frame.

If necessary, there is a Morrison's and Aldi within 5-10 mins drive. There are some shops within 10 minute walking in the local village, but prices can be a wee bit dearer, as with many local shops.

This site has great potential; unfortunately the camping side of the business seems to have been largely ignored/neglected in favour of the club.

Brian and Bev are two people that have been going there for years setting up events and festivals etc - and I suspect that without their interest and dedication to the site, there may not be a site at all. (they helped me sort a problem too)

Overall - Disappointing facilities and set-up - but what cracking potential - New owners are due to take over, I believe - let's hope they have the vision for development the campsite.  


Previous     11 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in Worcestershire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3693 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement