Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Wagtail Country Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Lincolnshire > Grantham > Wagtail Country Park Reviews

Wagtail Country Park
Cliff Lane
Marston
Grantham
Lincolnshire   (Browse area)
NG32 2HU
Tel: 07814 481088  or  01400 251123
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 76
Open: 04/07/2020 to 31/12/2020
           01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 40 Reviews
                8/10 from 40 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  40 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Maddy Old 11 reviews from this member

 What a gem of a sight for a peaceful & relaxing stay.
Very friendly staff, nothing too much trouble for them.

Everywhere clean & tidy. Some lovely walks & cycle rides.

Will definitely be going again 


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Martin.eneale 35 reviews from this member

 Our first visit to this site, it's certainly gone on our list for cheeky weekends away. The site is about 5 minutes from the A1 and perfect for visiting Grantham, Newark and Lincoln.

There was a very warm welcome when we checked in, the shop sells very basic groceries and newspapers can be ordered in. This is a pretty site, many of the pitches have lake views.

All the pitches are hardstanding and are of a decent size, there are 2 toilet blocks, one of them is quite small. I'm an early riser and didn't have to queue, I suspect that others may not have been as lucky. Having said that, they were spotlessly clean and very warm.

TV reception is very good, WiFi is provided free of charge, reception got very patchy once the site started to get busy over the Easter weekend.

There is a book swap stored in an old fashioned red phone box 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Browny549 10 reviews from this member

 Another great visit to Wagtail Country Park. Asked for certain pitches as there was 2 caravans and the request was sorted.

Gorgeous views, perfect for fishing if you wish but if not great to look over the lakes. Good dog walking areas around the site. They have information in the shop for other local walks.

Close to A1 so ensure that you approach the site from the right direction. 


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sunny side 5 reviews from this member

 This site is in nice surroundings, well kept site with large fishing lake. Pitches are a good size but canít understand why not service pitches.

Friendly staff to greet you with small shop with very basic supplies could have a better shop that sells papers too with the site been in middle of nowhere.

Toilet block bad design ( not had a tourer them selfs) 3 showers no curtain so your clothes hanging on the back of door gets splashed with water no dry space on floor for getting dressed. Showers donít have a gunnel so if your in the 3rd shower all the dirty water runs into your cubicle lovely. Stupid push button that lasts a second trying to wash your hair is a nightmare.

Come on great site but shower block a big let down. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Caravan79 17 reviews from this member

 Our first visit and we loved it. We had a large pitch and we had a look around and we would be happy on any of the pitches it is so well laid out.

We were made to feel very welcome when we arrived and all through our stay.

We went to the Welby Arms in nearby Allington and the staff and food were excellent.

Good on site dog walking around the park. We will be returning soon. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mrskeating 17 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a quick weekend break at Wagtail Country Park.

Sue on reception very helpful and friendly from booking to leaving, gave us some very useful information about places to visit locally etc.

The pitches are spacious and level, plenty of room. Nice views over the lake, peaceful and tranquil. We didn't hear any A1 traffic (its a fair way from this site)

Our Pitch was number 56 & close to one of the shower blocks, which were very clean and had everything you need. Just be careful if you have children or vulnerable adults with you, as the radiators and water in taps very, very, hot. (although there are warning notices on wall)

We took 2 dogs and they enjoyed the walks up the back of our pitch onto an open field, however there is a new pond being dug out there for future use, so this may not be suitable for dog walking when all finished.

There are loads of things to do in close proximity to the site, we visited Belton House which is National Trust.

We also visited the Big Shopping Centre called Downtown, which is essentially a big department store, lots of great bargains there!

We also enjoyed a beautiful meal at The Brownlow Arms, which was 10 minutes drive away.

We will definitely return, Hubby will bring fishing tackle next time.

Thanks xx 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Willgina 10 reviews from this member

 We booked this site several months ago as my husband likes fishing, and it would be an ideal short break. We paid a £15 deposit and the remainder on arrival a total of £85 for 3 nights.

It was a lake view but not a service pitch and not a large pitch. As other caravanners have mentioned we had to park the van in the centre and our car on the right side which was very tight because of the aquaroll and grey waste, as we walked around people with awnings up had not much space at all.

We couldn't see much of the lake due to the height of the plants surrounding it, there was a pergola near by with table and chairs but on a closer inspection they were rusty and lots of weeds on the flag area also a bench could have done with a coating of paint.

The site is quite big with lodges and they are also building another lake. Just an idea but what about a nice bar or cafe as no pubs are in walking distance which is a shame.

The place is very relaxing but didn't wow us. We caravan once a month and have visited lots of places with rivers or lakes where the fishing is included in the price. I am sure people will agree £28. 50 per night with nothing on site is quite expensive, we paid £25 per night for a large service pitch at the side of a lake and club house and lots of extras which we have booked again but if you don't try it you don't know. 


Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Baldrick2 19 reviews from this member

 We visited this site for a one night stopover on the way to the Norfolk Broads. Glad it was only one night. Being in a motorhome it was remote and approached it along single track farm roads. The setting around the lakes was pretty and looked well kept. The pitches were large hard-standing. We walked around the perimeter of the site on the path, which took all of 10 minutes, there were cans and bottles thrown down and old faded wildlife boards of birds and plants. This let the site down.

The worst thing were the showers. We used the new block, which consisted of 2 self contained showers/toilets each for men and ladies, which were warm with towel rail. BUT, you entered from outside straight in. The door had a window in, was frosted glass, but as the light came on automatically when entering, and the ladies was right by the path, anyone could see straight in with the shower being on the back wall facing. Don't think that has been thought through! Could hear the road noise from the site also.

This site is good if you fish, as it is all centred around fishing. The information sheet we were given was all about fishing and what you can and cannot do. No emergency phone numbers, local info etc. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Mac1937 1 review from this member

 My wife and I visited WCP on spec. Serendipity is how we'd describe our visit. Large spaces, quiet, wonderful setting (that lake and walks around the site!). The staff was helpful, (yes, it should be plural - collective noun) and John, the owner was a delight to talk to.

I must make a comment about the pitches. They are all large and hard standings (gravel). Good to park on, and all well appointed by facilities not too far.

We will return. Many thanks. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: NEJane 25 reviews from this member

 Stayed here five nights as my son was taking part in a Tough Mudder challenge, held at nearby Belvoir Castle. A lovely site and well maintained.

There are two toilet blocks, one near the entrance and the other, near the top of the field. We used the former. Downside: no benches to place toiletries on, in the shower cubicles. Only one washing machine and dryer (none in the second block).

For a site this size those machines will not suffice during the peak. No where to handwash smaller items - am I the only lady who handwashes on holiday?! The second block is better equipped by means of having self-contained cubicles with oodles of space for clothing and toiletries.

As a former carer I have to comment on the overall use of gravel on the site - the whole area is covered in the cream-coloured Windsor gravel! Beautiful to look at but a total nightmare for a manual wheelchair user/carer.

I noticed a lady manoeuvring herself around the grassy area, in the centre of the site, on a motorised scooter, didn't see how she coped on the gravel. Not all is negative though, there are good roads feeding from the site, ideal for cycling, and sufficient Rights of Way, if walking is your past-time.

The lady on reception was friendly, on our arrival. Five days later, we left a very quiet site, only a small percentage of pitches were occupied. By my own confession, I hadn't read the site leaflet thoroughly and didn't realise that we should have vacated our pitch at 11 am. We did our best to be on time, once I realised my error and managed to hand our barrier pass back in, only 20 minutes late. My son was welcomed by a quite cutting comment that we were late, when entering the office. Hmmm, I didn't think that was necessary when the site was so empty. Put your official hat back in the box lady, we were hardly causing a line-stopper! Still a lovely site though! 


Previous     40 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Wagtail Country Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Wagtail Country Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Wagtail Country Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Grantham      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lincolnshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1633 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement