Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Wagtail Country Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Lincolnshire > Grantham > Wagtail Country Park Reviews

Wagtail Country Park
Cliff Lane
Marston
Grantham
Lincolnshire   (Browse area)
NG32 2HU
Tel: 07814 481088  or  01400 251123
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 76
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 40 Reviews
                8/10 from 40 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  40 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Daryllchaplin 2 reviews from this member

 Toilet Cleanliness rating 7

Grounds tidiness rating 8

Pitch rating 8

Suitability for children rating 4

Peaceful rating 8

Overall nice site, a little remote and would suit a couple or family who like fishing.

Good pitch sizes with hard and grass pitches.

Down sides are non-adjustable temperature setting on showers, lights out in showers making some cubicles really too dark and each cubicle would benefit with some extra hanging points. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: The Duckies 41 reviews from this member

 A warm welcome on arriving . Yes there is narrow road to site but as long as you follow the rules as have to be off site by a certain time and not arrive before a time then not an issue unless somebody doesn't follow these rules. The site was spotless. We had booked a serviced pitch so had a fishing peg. The pitch was massive and level with gravel then grass at either side and front. Plenty of space between pitches. The grass was well kept. The view out of the window as we faced the lake was fantastic. The dog walk on site is excellent a flat large piece of grass for the dog to run around on or a excellent elevated walk with lovely views over the site and countryside and they have even placed seating for you to sit and look out at these fantastic sites. Even on the site itself between my pitch and next doors and around the site are cast iron seating and in 1 section a cast iron table and cars under a timber frame which is close to the lake. So a lot of attention to detail has been taken into account. At the entrance to the site is a smaller lake with pitches which looked well kept and tidy too. John the owner was very friendly stopped by a few times whilst we were outside and hubby fishing. There a a couple of timber framed homes and 1 for sale and a plot for another for sale. There is 2 statue deer's on 1 of the 2 islands in the middle of the large lake and plenty of trees. The fishing was excellent as hubby caught plenty over the week and various sizes of fish (Common and mirror carp, roach, bream, barbel). The toilet block was very clean and plenty of hot water at all times of day the only downside I can complain is the showers. The cubicles are a decent size but the shower head is fixed and doesn't really hit you much with the water sprays more past you and the push button doesn't last long at all. There is a slight noise from railway and A1 and depends on which way the wind is blowing but not obtrusive at all. There are plenty of supermarkets in Grantham. Belton House is well worth a visit and a shopping trip to Nottingham which isn't to far away either. This site is well worth a visit. We will return to this site again.  


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Red Mick 28 reviews from this member

 Chose this site from this website's search facility. Quiet site, just a murmur from the A1 and a local railway line, not disturbing at all. Lots of wildlife, geese, ducks etc. The site is level and mostly hardcore standing, but with some grass pitches. Lots of units on site, some of them must be seasonal. Toilets are up to CC club's usual standards, the showers, although clean were rubbish, even the warden agreed. A horizontal blast at about six feet into your face on a ten second button, doesn't get you wet enough to get a proper shower! Nothing much to do within walking distance, short drive to pub in next village. Worth a drive to Belton Hall, just a few minutes away. Lovely place for an explore, take a picnic. The access is via about a mile and a half of single track lane, although tarmac, it's rather potholed, so take care. If you meet another vehicle, you hope it can avoid you. There are some passing places. Also, if approaching from the South, you'll have to cross over the A1 to access the lane.

Yes, I'd go again, just for a relaxing break. 


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sparkleandstar 7 reviews from this member

 Just back from a 2 night stay here. We were extremely impressed. Whoever maintains the grounds is doing a fantastic job. There wasn't a speck of litter to be seen & the grass was bowling green flat.

The lady warden was so pleasant to deal with both on the phone and in person. Didn't grumble in the least when we had to change days. We were even able to get a lakeside grass pitch when we arrived.

Toilet block was spotlessly clean and heated with ample hot water.

The 2 small islands in the lake were lovely to look out on, especially at night with the deer statues illuminated. Nice also to see the ducks and geese flying in and out. Only thing we didn't like was the strobe fairy lights on one of the trees.

Having an area for walking our 2 dogs was great and the view on to the site from the raised area on the dog walk was beautiful.

It was excellent value for money especially compared to what some sites charge for considerably less.

We certainly hope to return here for a longer stay in the future. 


Date of Visit: February 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Yeehaa 4 reviews from this member

 This is a very nice peaceful site. Good large pitches with a view over the lake. The showers were very clean and plenty of hot water. Also, which I thought was very nice, there were fresh flowers in the ladies showerblock, which is something you don't see very often, if at all come to think of it. It looks as though the owner is working hard at improving it all the time. There is a dog walk around the park and also there is a track just down the road where you can walk them as well. A real handy place for a stopover but it is also worth staying a few extra days. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: February 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Yanidi 2 reviews from this member

 Have just returned from a one night stay at this lovely campsite, unfortunately we couldn't stay longer because of commitments. Very quiet and peaceful, the perfect place to get away from it all. There are two lakes with dog walks round the edge and a nice touch of seats dotted around to enjoy the view. The facilities are warm and spotless and fresh flowers in the Ladies. Plenty of books available to read in old telephone box. The warden was very helpful and friendly and made us feel really welcome. Will definitely return, for longer next time. 


Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Swiftman554 3 reviews from this member

 We were a bit dubious after reading some of the reviews about this site but what we found was idyllic. Yes it's a bit of nightmare getting across the Southbound A1 and the lane leading up to the site is a little rutted and tight but if people obey the rules and leave and enter on time then the lane then it's really not a problem and over the years I have had more difficult access roads.

What you are met with once you arrive is a spotlessly clean site with large hard standing pitches and a very warm and welcoming greeting. The owner was often around the site and was always pleasant.

The site is split into two sections, one smaller one as you enter (which is where we were pitched) with all pitches overlooking the smaller carp lake and the second part of the site overlooking a large lake with a mixture of tourers and log cabins.

Most pitches are hard standing, all looked very flat and level with plenty of room between yours and the next pitch, everywhere you look is well kept and a credit to whoever looks after it. Don't forget your Rock Pegs, the ground is hard.

The only thing I can say that is negative, if anything, is that the toilet block serving the pitches we were on were to say the least in need of modernising. In fact the gents was just a garden shed, lol! However it was quaint and brought a whole new meaning to me saying to my wife 'I am off to the shed', but to give the site credit they were always warm and spotlessly clean.

Some people complained about having to empty their waste water on to the flower beds but I couldn't see any problem with it. You can't please everyone.

Good site for peace and quiet, a fabulous dog walk, good area for cycling. The nearest supermarket is only about 3 miles away and there is a little shop in Marston, selling eggs, bread, milk and a few other bits, at the back of the Thorold Arms but opening times are a little hit and miss.

Would recommend the food at the Thorold Arms (Sunday lunch) and The Welby Arms in Allington, both good value and good quality.

Will return again, love this site and is well worth a visit. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: TDoe 4 reviews from this member

 The site is very tidy with really good size touring pitches and little hedges that adds a little bit of privacy is needed.

Ideally located for a visit to the wonderful city of Lincoln. Grantham town centre is only a short drive away.

Nice clean toilet block.

The dog walk area is a nice touch for all dog owners if they don't want to walk direct from the site.

Peaceful site with excellent facilities for those campers who like to fish. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Wilbar 7 reviews from this member

 This was our second trip to this lovely tranquil site.

The warden is always there with a warm friendly greeting. Still cannot get my head around being asked to put our waste water over the plants, as there is a water shortage. We live near Manchester and our lawns are like bogs.

Large gravel pitches, steel pegs a necessity. There are some grass pitches closer to the lake. The grounds are immaculate, nice dog walk. There are benches around the site to relax on and enjoy the views.

Showers spotless. The only negative is there is no disabled cubicle, they have added a seat since our last visit but no handles. We were promised this was on their todo list.

Granthan town is about ten minutes drive, only visited it to nip into Asda. If you like shopping, Downtown and Boundary Mill are on five minutes away. We visited Lincoln cathedral and castle. We were in need of a well earned rest so call in to Romans Place Drury Lane, its just in the court yard area next to the castle. They do a 2 course lunch for 4. 95 and reasonably priced drinks, definitely well worth a visit.

The site is remote if you want to leave the car. The nearest village Marsham is only about a mile and half away but the area does not have any footpaths. We braved the country lanes to walk into the village, using the bridal paths where available. Called in to The Thorold Arms for refreshments, they do meals but did not eat there so cannot comment. There is also a small shop at the back of the pub, nearest one to the site.

I love this site, so peaceful, I forgot to mention the fishing but that is just an extra bonus 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Rosie2007 10 reviews from this member

 We were new to caravanning and this was the first site we visited. We loved it on our first visit, so much so that we decided to store our van here. Regrets, big time.

Toilet/shower block are really clean. But we don't use them very much.

We have been to this site many times in 2012 and have decided that we won't be going back.

Noise from Motocross? all day during the weekends.

Grumpy site manager, moaning about people all the time, seems nobody is good enough to be on HER caravan site.

Site charges, 5 each for my kids to visit overnight even if they do not use the facilities.

Storage, twice we were over run with mice, they laughed at us.

Smell from drains. I had to stay in the van a whole day because the smell was making me ill. This happened more than once.

Even when we booked a pitch (we were not allowed to bring our van out of storage, they had to do it)our van was put on the wrong pitch and were confronted by an angry man saying we had taken his pitch.

They advertise wildlife, we didn't see any. Its just a building site, planing permission to expand not just the caravan park but the lodges too.

Overall, overpriced for what it is. 


Previous     40 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Wagtail Country Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Wagtail Country Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Wagtail Country Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Grantham      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lincolnshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6069 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement