Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Wagtail Country Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Lincolnshire > Grantham > Wagtail Country Park Reviews

Wagtail Country Park
Cliff Lane
Marston
Grantham
Lincolnshire   (Browse area)
NG32 2HU
Tel: 07814 481088  or  01400 251123
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 76
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 40 Reviews
                8/10 from 40 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  40 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Yorkshiremorts 5 reviews from this member

 A very warm and friendly welcome awaited us on our arrival. The site was small and nicely laid out with flowerbeds between most pitches giving a sense of privacy.

The amenities were excellent. The site had an adults only area which is great for those not wanting children running around.

The fishing was good with a good selection of fish over two lakes one smaller and one larger one.

We stayed over the jubilee weekend and entertainment was provided however the weather let us down which spoilt it a little. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Audi Boy 2 reviews from this member

 Not much more to say other than excellent. Was only going to stay 3 days but stayed 5.

Fishing is superb here. Lots of big fish. Not much for kids but we stayed on the adults only part anyway.

Toilet block spotless. Pub within walking distance. Very friendly staff and met some lovely people. Lots of wildlife to enjoy and a very tranquil peaceful place.

The lady warden keeps a selection of baits you can buy at very reasonable prices.

Love this place. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Shirley + Steve 10 reviews from this member

 Lovely well laid out site with a brand new toilet block, 3 loos, 3 showers (push button), some caravans look to be seasonal. There are a couple of huge log cabin type homes at the other side of the lake. As you drive in the site there are two parts, what seems like the old part with maybe 12 pitches and an old toilet block, the the new part with about 26 pitches.

The Stag inn at Barkston? 5 mins drive away does a lovely meal, the pub in Martson only does food after 7pm, too late for me.

Very helpful people on site, brilliant for people who like fishing. A good stop off on way south or north, but a bit hairy getting off from south of the A1 and back onto the A1, very fast road. 


Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: MrWhippet 8 reviews from this member

 Clean facilities (toilets and showers) and the grounds are well maintained.

If you have dogs/enjoy walking then there is a walk to Marston the nearest village and various routes from there of different distances. The dog walk on site is small. I was expecting the grounds to be much bigger given it is called a 'country park'.

We stayed for two nights. It was very quiet but not an awful lot to do in the area (Downtown shopping centre and Belton House seem to be the main attractions). I'm not sure if the site would be suitable for families.

Good for: relaxing around your van, first timers. 


Date of Visit: January 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mrs numnuts 15 reviews from this member

 We have just got back from Wagtail after staying there for New Year

The site is on really good hardstanding and the pitches are huge we had room for the caravan, awning and two cars.

Each pitch is separated by little hedges where you empty your waste water.

The toilet blocks are immaculate but there was unfortunately always an unpleasant drain smell which my friend says is a common problem in the Grantham area.

Whilst we were there the showers were often not working but a quick word to the warden or Ged and they would be up and running again.

There is a large laundry/pot wash room with a huge washing machine and tumble drier in both reasonably priced.

Most pitches are around the main lake which is stocked with fish if you like that sort of thing.

There is a dog walk just off the site.

Grantham is within 5 miles and Downtown and Boundary Mill are about 5 minutes away

The site is well thought out and immaculately clean

There is a book exchange and you can hire scooters or cycles at a reasonable rate.

The wind/gales that struck on the night of the 2nd Jan really whipped round the site as its quite open on one side but we survived without damage

We would go back again but wouldn't recommend this site for children 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ransomannelizabeth@ 6 reviews from this member

 We had a very good weekend. Lovely lake. Very friendly warden who I had a laugh with as soon as we arrived. Plenty of space on pitch. Lovely view from our caravan. Brand new shower block and laundry room with pot wash.

Will book again, loved all of our weekend. Easy to find off A1. Dog walk and nature trail. Shopping centre 5 minutes down the road

Has a garden centre superstore plenty of parking. A trip into Grantham worth a drive about 5 miles loads of shops you can spend the day.

There is a small village 5 minutes away with a pub. Also a garage just before the park so you can fill up your tank before you get back on the A1. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Steveraine 8 reviews from this member

 We stopped off at Wagtail Country Park, on our way futher down south. The site is in a brilliant location, only 3-4 mins from the A1.

Lovely site, which you can tell the owners have put a lot of effort and thought into how the site is designed. Most of the pitches over look the lake, however as we were only staying one night we just reversed onto the pitch and didn't bother to turn the van around.

The toilet block was brand new and immaculate.

There is a dog walk, which was a nice wander before we left the site the next morning.

Not sure about any of the surrounding area, as the only place we went was back to the A1 :-).

If this site was slightly closer to us, we would definitely user it for a weekend away, and will use it if we need s stop off close to the A1. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Boldaman 12 reviews from this member

 Stayed at this site overnight on our way to Skegness and was pleasantly surprised.

Initial impressions was very secure and very clean and tidy, very welcoming warden with gas available on site and excellent brand new toilet and shower facilities(3 and 3).

A lovely quiet site with a beautiful fishing lake slap bang in the middle of it.

It is a little out the way so nothing within walking distance, closest shop was a texaco garage on the A1.

No discount given for C&CC members, but a very good site all in all. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Pateley 3 reviews from this member

 Wagtail country park is a new site, still being added to. We first went over in January this year had a guided tour by the owner who is so genuine with great ideas for the site. The warden was so bubbly and friendly. We stayed in April this year liked it that much left our caravan in storage there. A lovely gravelled site with generous pitches with 16 amp electric hook ups. New shower and toilet block just completed. Lovely walks in surrounding area. If you like fishing this is the site for you. We will be spending many weekends at wagtail when not touring. A well run site which will get even better as time goes on 


Date of Visit: January 2011 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please do not confuse with Wagtail Fishery, which is the site next door. Wagtail Country Park is a different business, and separate caravan site. 


Previous     40 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40     Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Wagtail Country Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Wagtail Country Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Wagtail Country Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Grantham      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lincolnshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1314 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement