Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Wagtail Country Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Lincolnshire > Site Reviews

Wagtail Country Park
Cliff Lane
Marston
Grantham
Lincolnshire   (Browse area)
NG32 2HU
Tel: 07814 481088  or  01400 251123
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 76
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 38 Reviews
                8/10 from 38 Reviews

Photos (19)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  38 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Browny549 6 reviews from this member

Another great visit to Wagtail Country Park. Asked for certain pitches as there was 2 caravans and the request was sorted. Gorgeous views, perfect for fishing if you wish but if not great to look over the lakes. Good dog walking areas around the site. They have information in the shop for other local walks. Close to A1 so ensure that you approach the site from the right direction.

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sunny side 4 reviews from this member

This site is in nice surroundings, well kept site with large fishing lake. Pitches are a good size but canít understand why not service pitches. Friendly staff to greet you with small shop with very basic supplies could have a better shop that sells papers too with the site been in middle of nowhere. Toilet block bad design ( not had a tourer them selfs) 3 showers no curtain so your clothes hanging on the back of door gets splashed with water no dry space on floor for getting dressed. Showers donít have a gunnel so if your in the 3rd shower all the dirty water runs into your cubicle lovely. Stupid push button that lasts a second trying to wash your hair is a nightmare. Come on great site but shower block a big let down.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Caravan79 17 reviews from this member

Our first visit and we loved it. We had a large pitch and we had a look around and we would be happy on any of the pitches it is so well laid out. We were made to feel very welcome when we arrived and all through our stay. We went to the Welby Arms in nearby Allington and the staff and food were excellent. Good on site dog walking around the park. We will be returning soon.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mrskeating 17 reviews from this member

Just returned from a quick weekend break at Wagtail Country Park.

Sue on reception very helpful and friendly from booking to leaving, gave us some very useful information about places to visit locally etc.

The pitches are spacious and level, plenty of room. Nice views over the lake, peaceful and tranquil. We didn't hear any A1 traffic (its a fair way from this site)

Our Pitch was number 56 & close to one of the shower blocks, which were very clean and had everything you need. Just be careful if you have children or vulnerable adults with you, as the radiators and water in taps very, very, hot. (although there are warning notices on wall)

We took 2 dogs and they enjoyed the walks up the back of our pitch onto an open field, however there is a new pond being dug out there for future use, so this may not be suitable for dog walking when all finished.

There are loads of things to do in close proximity to the site, we visited Belton House which is National Trust.

We also visited the Big Shopping Centre called Downtown, which is essentially a big department store, lots of great bargains there!

We also enjoyed a beautiful meal at The Brownlow Arms, which was 10 minutes drive away.

We will definitely return, Hubby will bring fishing tackle next time.

Thanks xx

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Willgina 9 reviews from this member

We booked this site several months ago as my husband likes fishing, and it would be an ideal short break. We paid a £15 deposit and the remainder on arrival a total of £85 for 3 nights. It was a lake view but not a service pitch and not a large pitch. As other caravanners have mentioned we had to park the van in the centre and our car on the right side which was very tight because of the aquaroll and grey waste, as we walked around people with awnings up had not much space at all. We couldn't see much of the lake due to the height of the plants surrounding it, there was a pergola near by with table and chairs but on a closer inspection they were rusty and lots of weeds on the flag area also a bench could have done with a coating of paint. The site is quite big with lodges and they are also building another lake. Just an idea but what about a nice bar or cafe as no pubs are in walking distance which is a shame. The place is very relaxing but didn't wow us. We caravan once a month and have visited lots of places with rivers or lakes where the fishing is included in the price. I am sure people will agree £28. 50 per night with nothing on site is quite expensive, we paid £25 per night for a large service pitch at the side of a lake and club house and lots of extras which we have booked again but if you don't try it you don't know.

Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Baldrick2 19 reviews from this member

We visited this site for a one night stopover on the way to the Norfolk Broads. Glad it was only one night. Being in a motorhome it was remote and approached it along single track farm roads. The setting around the lakes was pretty and looked well kept. The pitches were large hard-standing. We walked around the perimeter of the site on the path, which took all of 10 minutes, there were cans and bottles thrown down and old faded wildlife boards of birds and plants. This let the site down.

The worst thing were the showers. We used the new block, which consisted of 2 self contained showers/toilets each for men and ladies, which were warm with towel rail. BUT, you entered from outside straight in. The door had a window in, was frosted glass, but as the light came on automatically when entering, and the ladies was right by the path, anyone could see straight in with the shower being on the back wall facing. Don't think that has been thought through! Could hear the road noise from the site also.

This site is good if you fish, as it is all centred around fishing. The information sheet we were given was all about fishing and what you can and cannot do. No emergency phone numbers, local info etc.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mac1937 1 review from this member

My wife and I visited WCP on spec. Serendipity is how we'd describe our visit. Large spaces, quiet, wonderful setting (that lake and walks around the site!). The staff was helpful, (yes, it should be plural - collective noun) and John, the owner was a delight to talk to.

I must make a comment about the pitches. They are all large and hard standings (gravel). Good to park on, and all well appointed by facilities not too far.

We will return. Many thanks.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: NEJane 24 reviews from this member

Stayed here five nights as my son was taking part in a Tough Mudder challenge, held at nearby Belvoir Castle. A lovely site and well maintained.

There are two toilet blocks, one near the entrance and the other, near the top of the field. We used the former. Downside: no benches to place toiletries on, in the shower cubicles. Only one washing machine and dryer (none in the second block). For a site this size those machines will not suffice during the peak. No where to handwash smaller items - am I the only lady who handwashes on holiday?! The second block is better equipped by means of having self-contained cubicles with oodles of space for clothing and toiletries.

As a former carer I have to comment on the overall use of gravel on the site - the whole area is covered in the cream-coloured Windsor gravel! Beautiful to look at but a total nightmare for a manual wheelchair user/carer. I noticed a lady manoeuvring herself around the grassy area, in the centre of the site, on a motorised scooter, didn't see how she coped on the gravel. Not all is negative though, there are good roads feeding from the site, ideal for cycling, and sufficient Rights of Way, if walking is your past-time.

The lady on reception was friendly, on our arrival. Five days later, we left a very quiet site, only a small percentage of pitches were occupied. By my own confession, I hadn't read the site leaflet thoroughly and didn't realise that we should have vacated our pitch at 11 am. We did our best to be on time, once I realised my error and managed to hand our barrier pass back in, only 20 minutes late. My son was welcomed by a quite cutting comment that we were late, when entering the office. Hmmm, I didn't think that was necessary when the site was so empty. Put your official hat back in the box lady, we were hardly causing a line-stopper! Still a lovely site though!

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Gazal59 10 reviews from this member

This is a really nice caravan park, the pitches are all large and level with plenty of space for caravan, awning and car. It is about a 5 min drive from the A1, and to be honest we have stayed on numerous occasions and you can hardly hear the noise coming from the A1.

The grounds and pitches are very well kept and the toilets and showers are always clean and tidy, and you're never too far from a standpipe, waste water or elsan point. There are two fishing lakes, one of them being in the adult only area. I'm not a fisherman myself but I have seen plenty of fish being caught.

The staff and wardens who work there are polite and helpful and are always happy to advise. There is a really nice dog walk with views across lovely open countryside. Grantham is a short drive away and there are a few nice villages close by.

I would recommend Wagtail country park, it never fails to disappoint us.

Date of Visit: February 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: DJMC 17 reviews from this member

Had a lovely peaceful weekend at this site.

Friendly welcome from the warden, the site is lovely and tidy, well looked after, and the toilet facilities were immaculate.

We had a lakeside pitch which was a great size.

Some noise from the A1 but it wasn't too noticeable.

A great site, and we will certainly return.

Previous     38 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lincolnshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over £885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth £119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2896 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019