Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Wagtail Country Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Lincolnshire > Grantham > Wagtail Country Park Reviews

Wagtail Country Park
Cliff Lane
Marston
Grantham
Lincolnshire   (Browse area)
NG32 2HU
Tel: 07814 481088  or  01400 251123
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 76
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 41 Reviews
                8/10 from 41 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  41 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Opal0313 28 reviews from this member

 First visit to this site. Warm welcome on arrival. Asked for two pitches close together as we were with friends. This wasn't a problem.

Showers toilet facilities were not enough for the amount of pitches. There were two blocks one smaller than the other. They was also not central so from some pitches it was quite a walk. We seemed to be in the middle of them so was good walk to either of them.

The larger one has 3 showers and 3 toilets same in each men's and women's. But only one gunnel in the third shower. You get the other 2 showers dirty water running into yours. No urinals in the men's toilets. The smaller block has individual suites 1 toilet each for men's and women's and 2 men's wet rooms and 2 women's wet rooms.

I was told on my arrival (which surprised me) that I could let my grey waste water run onto the grass. I did not understand why they let people do this as it is such a lovely picturesque site. There was quite a few doing this.

I did see a caravan near us that had no grey waste container under his waste pipe and it was just emptying the grey waste water on the gravel pitch, his waste master was just parked up not been used pushed under the back of his caravan. We did use our wastemaster. As all the pitches are electric hardstanding, I cannot see why there are no fully serviced pitches.

There is a bar on site, it's in a marquee and very expensive. No pumps just bottled beer and the weekend we were there there was curry night on Fri and pizza on Sat night. The curries and pizza was not expensive and very yummy.

Nearest pub 40mins walk. The site is remote but there seems plenty to do within a short car ride.

Would we return yes we would as it's only 75mins away as I said it's a lovely picturesque clean site with fishing lakes ducks geese wildlife etc and ideal for us to get away for a couple of nights.

Just be aware if coming up the A1 from the south you have to turn right from the central reservation it can be tricky to cross over the south bound lanes if busy best to carry on past for 5 miles to next junction and come back down the south bound carriageway. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Maddy Old 14 reviews from this member

 What a gem of a sight for a peaceful & relaxing stay.
Very friendly staff, nothing too much trouble for them.

Everywhere clean & tidy. Some lovely walks & cycle rides.

Will definitely be going again 


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Martin.eneale 35 reviews from this member

 Our first visit to this site, it's certainly gone on our list for cheeky weekends away. The site is about 5 minutes from the A1 and perfect for visiting Grantham, Newark and Lincoln.

There was a very warm welcome when we checked in, the shop sells very basic groceries and newspapers can be ordered in. This is a pretty site, many of the pitches have lake views.

All the pitches are hardstanding and are of a decent size, there are 2 toilet blocks, one of them is quite small. I'm an early riser and didn't have to queue, I suspect that others may not have been as lucky. Having said that, they were spotlessly clean and very warm.

TV reception is very good, WiFi is provided free of charge, reception got very patchy once the site started to get busy over the Easter weekend.

There is a book swap stored in an old fashioned red phone box 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Browny549 15 reviews from this member

 Another great visit to Wagtail Country Park. Asked for certain pitches as there was 2 caravans and the request was sorted.

Gorgeous views, perfect for fishing if you wish but if not great to look over the lakes. Good dog walking areas around the site. They have information in the shop for other local walks.

Close to A1 so ensure that you approach the site from the right direction. 


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sunny side 6 reviews from this member

 This site is in nice surroundings, well kept site with large fishing lake. Pitches are a good size but canít understand why not service pitches.

Friendly staff to greet you with small shop with very basic supplies could have a better shop that sells papers too with the site been in middle of nowhere.

Toilet block bad design ( not had a tourer them selfs) 3 showers no curtain so your clothes hanging on the back of door gets splashed with water no dry space on floor for getting dressed. Showers donít have a gunnel so if your in the 3rd shower all the dirty water runs into your cubicle lovely. Stupid push button that lasts a second trying to wash your hair is a nightmare.

Come on great site but shower block a big let down. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Caravan79 17 reviews from this member

 Our first visit and we loved it. We had a large pitch and we had a look around and we would be happy on any of the pitches it is so well laid out.

We were made to feel very welcome when we arrived and all through our stay.

We went to the Welby Arms in nearby Allington and the staff and food were excellent.

Good on site dog walking around the park. We will be returning soon. 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mrskeating 17 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a quick weekend break at Wagtail Country Park.

Sue on reception very helpful and friendly from booking to leaving, gave us some very useful information about places to visit locally etc.

The pitches are spacious and level, plenty of room. Nice views over the lake, peaceful and tranquil. We didn't hear any A1 traffic (its a fair way from this site)

Our Pitch was number 56 & close to one of the shower blocks, which were very clean and had everything you need. Just be careful if you have children or vulnerable adults with you, as the radiators and water in taps very, very, hot. (although there are warning notices on wall)

We took 2 dogs and they enjoyed the walks up the back of our pitch onto an open field, however there is a new pond being dug out there for future use, so this may not be suitable for dog walking when all finished.

There are loads of things to do in close proximity to the site, we visited Belton House which is National Trust.

We also visited the Big Shopping Centre called Downtown, which is essentially a big department store, lots of great bargains there!

We also enjoyed a beautiful meal at The Brownlow Arms, which was 10 minutes drive away.

We will definitely return, Hubby will bring fishing tackle next time.

Thanks xx 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Willgina 10 reviews from this member

 We booked this site several months ago as my husband likes fishing, and it would be an ideal short break. We paid a £15 deposit and the remainder on arrival a total of £85 for 3 nights.

It was a lake view but not a service pitch and not a large pitch. As other caravanners have mentioned we had to park the van in the centre and our car on the right side which was very tight because of the aquaroll and grey waste, as we walked around people with awnings up had not much space at all.

We couldn't see much of the lake due to the height of the plants surrounding it, there was a pergola near by with table and chairs but on a closer inspection they were rusty and lots of weeds on the flag area also a bench could have done with a coating of paint.

The site is quite big with lodges and they are also building another lake. Just an idea but what about a nice bar or cafe as no pubs are in walking distance which is a shame.

The place is very relaxing but didn't wow us. We caravan once a month and have visited lots of places with rivers or lakes where the fishing is included in the price. I am sure people will agree £28. 50 per night with nothing on site is quite expensive, we paid £25 per night for a large service pitch at the side of a lake and club house and lots of extras which we have booked again but if you don't try it you don't know. 


Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Baldrick2 19 reviews from this member

 We visited this site for a one night stopover on the way to the Norfolk Broads. Glad it was only one night. Being in a motorhome it was remote and approached it along single track farm roads. The setting around the lakes was pretty and looked well kept. The pitches were large hard-standing. We walked around the perimeter of the site on the path, which took all of 10 minutes, there were cans and bottles thrown down and old faded wildlife boards of birds and plants. This let the site down.

The worst thing were the showers. We used the new block, which consisted of 2 self contained showers/toilets each for men and ladies, which were warm with towel rail. BUT, you entered from outside straight in. The door had a window in, was frosted glass, but as the light came on automatically when entering, and the ladies was right by the path, anyone could see straight in with the shower being on the back wall facing. Don't think that has been thought through! Could hear the road noise from the site also.

This site is good if you fish, as it is all centred around fishing. The information sheet we were given was all about fishing and what you can and cannot do. No emergency phone numbers, local info etc. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Mac1937 1 review from this member

 My wife and I visited WCP on spec. Serendipity is how we'd describe our visit. Large spaces, quiet, wonderful setting (that lake and walks around the site!). The staff was helpful, (yes, it should be plural - collective noun) and John, the owner was a delight to talk to.

I must make a comment about the pitches. They are all large and hard standings (gravel). Good to park on, and all well appointed by facilities not too far.

We will return. Many thanks. 


Previous     41 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Wagtail Country Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Wagtail Country Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Wagtail Country Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Grantham      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lincolnshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, West Sussex 09/10 to 10/10
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Ardingly Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2992 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement