Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Chester Lakes Camping And Caravanning

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Cheshire > Chester > Chester Lakes Camping And Caravanning Reviews

Chester Lakes Camping And Caravanning
Church Road
Dodleston
Chester
Cheshire   (Browse area)
CH4 9NG
Tel: 07860 133133  or  01244661745
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 200
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 43 Reviews
                7/10 from 43 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  43 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: David collier 1 review from this member

We visited Chester lakes on recommendation and must say this is a lovely site for camping in tents especially if your into fishing. The site offers beautiful secluded tent pitches in the lovely woodland areas and offers a larger meadow field for camping adjacent to a plush restaurant.

However on arrival our pitch was located in a squarish field near the rangers lodge which over looked the excavation works for a new lake Which offered only 4 hook up points, which seemed quite randomly positioned for touring caravans. The shower block ok is a shower come toilet block but wasn't cleaned on a regular basis, after 2 days the shower floor became a mud bath, unfortunately the waste traps for toilet and waste water were open and offering piles of human excrement the size of mole hills along with over filled dust bins waiting to be emptied.

At a cost of £30 per night I personally think it was to high for the standards we received.

I'm not saying the site isn't worth a visit but just needs a bit more finesse in certain areas. Great for camping in tents and brilliant for fishing, hopefully next time we visit standards have changed.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: ChrisjohnGG 2 reviews from this member

The website markets this as a luxury CL site @ £30 per night, booking can only be done via the website.

Thankfully we only booked for two nights, as what we found was a derelict fenced of field with patches of hard standing, remote hook-ups (I had to use 2 cables) the ablutions consisted of one room containing toilet wash basin and shower all together and shared with a field of campers, they were constantly filthy. Fortunately there was a newer block some 250 meters away which were acceptable. There were three other caravans/Motorhomes touring from Europe and all agreed that this was the worst caravan site they had experienced. The focus is definitely on camping and fishing with the CL a sadly neglected afterthought.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Clara m 6 reviews from this member

We booked chester lakes for a last min family camping trip. From looking at the website we were really looking forward to going, it sold it as a luxury, family site in peaceful surroundings, somewhere you can get away from the hussle and bustle of every day life. How misleading is this description on their website, we were very disappointed and couldn't wait to leave the site for some peace !

On arrival we were told to find a pitch with electric in the meadow, you arent allocated a specific place ive never known this at a campsite before. Once we were at the meadow the field was already full of tents and there was only one hook up left boxed inbetween two tiny little tents not ideal when you have an 8 man tent which youve paid extra money for space for or very private or relaxing.

Secondly we heard a really loud noise that was constant and you could not escape. We soon realised the site is right next to a busy A road and this was the constant flow of traffic we could hear, it was a constant drone which there was no escape from. On the website there is no mention of it being next to this road or the constant noise from it. If this was a hotel they would have to mention it and to state and describe on their website you can escape the hussle and bussle there and relax is a total joke ! This road traffic noise continued all day and all night and we struggled to sleep because of it as did our three kids.

The toilet and shower facilities left little to be desired they were dirty, broken toilet seats, no toilet roll and there would be no way I would have had a shower there, thank god we only went for two nights a wash at the sinks had to do.

There was a no noise after 11pm rule which was not adhered too by the surrounding campers. One tent to the side of us were playing music and singing away and shouting till well after 1pm on our first night. Also on the sat night they had a singer on in the bar who you could hear all over the site she was on till after 11pm and there was no way the kids could have got to sleep with how loud she was, this on top of the road noise and drunk neighbours made our first night hell.

I am disgusted that this is sold as a luxury site [ we paid £35 a night which is expensive for camping even with hook up] for families and a place to escape and a tranquil setting. In no way is this true, this site is absolutely mis - selling themselves online and I would avoid this site at all costs its the worst site we have ever stayed at and we are seasoned campers - be warned !

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: AdrianMoore 6 reviews from this member

Very basic but suited our needs fine as a one night stopover from Liverpool ferry before heading further south - I would recommend it for that alone. The staff member who looked after us was friendly and helpful, we arrived out of hours but it wasn't a problem. We had emailed in advance to enquire if that would be ok but these were unanswered.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Angevo 2 reviews from this member

We've visited Chester Lakes again as we stayed last year and the children loved it. The venue is very picturesque. Unfortunately, this visit was not as enjoyable. It appears that there is some construction work underway. There is a long walk to toilets and showers. Electric hook up by the lake is limited to concrete towers, which on the plus point allows you to set up where you want within reach of these, but is also quite restrictive as there are not many of them. There was a lot of rubbish around the site, much of which was from the cafe takeaway. This was cleared during the day but was soon replaced. Not sure if this was simply due to messy fellow campers not clearing up after themselves. There are strictly no dogs allowed and when we've camped here before it's been worth leaving our two dogs elsewhere to enjoy a couple of nights here. This time though, I spotted at least two other dogs on the campsite. Either allow them all or don't allow any. I'm afraid after this visit I wont be returning to Chester Lakes. It's simply not worth leaving the dogs for when there are so many other fabulous campsites to visit.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Doneil 18 reviews from this member

We are repeat visitors to the site, as we love the location, and the lakes, but the last couple of visits have left us disappointed, gone has the old cosy and friendly atmosphere of the old bar and marquee at the top of the site, only to be left with a building site and temporary bar seating area. The area for caravans which I've always been told is at the bottom of the site really does need a tidy up and new showers put in, and free of charge too, we are paying enough to stay. Its not the cheapest of sites when you add it all up, pitch fees, fishing, showers. Yet you see caravans up in the Meadow???

This has the potential to be a great site but come on guys get your fingers out and tidy the place up.

Oh and one more gripe, one way system and 10mph????? no one including the staff stick to it. I cant see us returning until I hear of improvements

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dfer 9 reviews from this member

The site is very picturesque and is an excellent spot for fishing. The cafe is excellent serving great food at very reasonable prices. However there are downsides. The toilet and shower facilities are awful. Hardly any of the toilets have toilet paper in them and they could all do with a good clean. The only decent ones are in a key coded toilet and shower block which are nearly always locked and hardly anyone knows the code! 'However if you used the sink the water was so powerful you got drenched! As for the showers! Oh my word. Again the only decent ones are in the locked shower block. Thank goodness someone was coming out so we could get in! The other showers were double ones in one room! How ridiculous! Are we expected to shower with strangers? AND we are expected to pay extra for the privilege! At the far end of the site there is only one ladies toilet but two men's. I don't think the owners have done their research. Also we couldn't find any drinking water taps anywhere. The reception was hardly ever open so we couldn't ask them. What a shame. This could be a great site but the toilet and shower facilities really let it down. Sorry I don't think we'll be coming back.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Angela Patnett 2 reviews from this member

Stayed here for a weekend recently. Had a lovely pitch with one of the lakes as our front garden. Beautiful and picturesque. Had our evening meal in the café, which was very tasty and the staff lovely. Very relaxing weekend with plenty of fishing available if desired. However the facilities let this site down. There was only one ladies toilet in the woodlands area which wasn't very clean and ran out of paper. The showers in this block had a broken lock so couldn't be locked. There is a new block by the bar/café, but they were locked every time we went to them. My brother-in-law enjoyed the fishing, but I think the charge for this was quite dear considering we had paid to camp.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Goodereinnit 1 review from this member

Nice site, large Meadow area, facilities quite good, but over priced - adding 'Chester' to anything seems to justify hiking the price. BE AWARE - the directions on their website are wrong - the A483 has had major junction changes and the roundabout has been removed, you just turn right at the first set of traffic lights off the A55. Some satnavs haven't been updated either.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jennyingall 2 reviews from this member

We camped here for one night on our way to Knowsley safari park. Although it was out of season, the cafe was open & we were able to get a nice cup of coffee etc. Cooked breakfast was available & smelt lovely although we didn't have time to sample it. The staff were very pleasant & helpful.

It was a very pretty site, with nice walks round the lakes. Where we camped, we had the whole meadow to ourselves & were visited by a friendly flock of ducks from the lake who were very sweet & didn't bother us at all, just added to the experience. The showers were very good value for only a pound, clean, nice & hot & lasted ages. We did make the mistake of pitching our tent next to the trees for shelter, only realising later that the road was the other side of them. However it wasn't too noisy & we had to be up early anyway, but perhaps pitch the other side if you think it would disturb you, there was heaps of room. It was nice & quiet at this time of year & very reasonable at only £15 for a 4 person tent for the night. It was also convenient for Chester & surrounding area & attractions :-)

Previous     43 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cheshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over £205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4511 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019