Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Chester Lakes Camping And Caravanning

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Cheshire > Site Reviews

Chester Lakes Camping And Caravanning
Church Road
Dodleston
Chester
Cheshire   (Browse area)
CH4 9NG
Tel: 07860 133133  or  01244661745
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 200
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 43 Reviews
                7/10 from 43 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  43 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lauralou1 2 reviews from this member

We have just had a one night stay at Chester Lakes and it was fantastic. The setting is beautiful and perfect for a quiet relaxing weekend break. It is definitely more the kind of place you go to if you want to fish and not a great deal to do on site if you don't.

We often camp in a big group and would probably not come here but as a family it was great. I went with my husband and 2 children. My husband and son spent the day fishing right outside our tent.

There are lots of private little pitches in the woods. We stayed by the children's play area which was really handy. Its also nearby to chester so plenty of day trips.

Dave the owner, and his wife were very helpful and accommodating. The cafe is handy and there is little shop. The downside of this site are the toilets. They were clean but there was no soap or driers. This is a real pain when you are camping! Also there is no hot water for washing dishes. I just boiled my kettle and washed up at the tent.

There was a lot of noise on the Sat night by some other campers. Dave spoke to them the next day. He did say that if people want to go and make noise he can accommodate groups of people in other areas of the site. So if you think you may be rowdy, it may be worth speaking to him first! We got the impression that it is usually a very quiet, peaceful site. Fire pits are for hire but you need to take your own wood or you can get some from the garage up the road.

Overall we would definitely return as we had such a relaxed time here.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Fredahehe 1 review from this member

Just back from a 3 day trip & really enjoyed our stay, Dave the warden said pick a pitch so we pitched between two lakes as hubby likes his fishing which was excellent - lost count of how many he caught, fishing is included in the price for campers which worked out at £25 a night for pitch, ehu & fishing (no time limit on the fishing either).

The site is big and a work in progress, big double showers with plenty of hot water, toilets WITH toilet paper, great cafe serving good food, small shop and at the back of the main fields is a block of 3 elsan points.

This site is excellent for a peaceful camp, and for visiting chester, wales and other nearby places, definitely going again soon.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Angelfire 3 reviews from this member

Had an overnight stay at Chester Lakes last Saturday as we attended the Chester Rocks event. From arrival the owners could not do enough for us - we were offered our own little island on which to camp, after requesting a setting away from other campers in case any noise we made bothered anyone. We pitched two 3/4 man tents each with 2 people at a cost of £30.00 in total - no additional per person charge (I'm not sure where the previous reviewers got this from).

We asked about the use of a fire pit and was given one - the owner, Dave, even went out to buy wood/kindling/fire lighters for us.

The island itself was spacious, with an EHU and enough space for 2/3 average size tents. Toilets / showers were nearby and were fine.

I read a review further down that stated the site doesn't seem to know whether it is a fishing site or a campsite - truth is, it can be whatever you want it to be! There were fishermen around, but also campers / families.

As far as facilities go, there was a kids playground, clean toilets / showers and a cafe on site. We would definitely recommend the all day breakfast - all ingredients were fresh and cooked to perfection!

All in all it is a cracking campsite, close to Chester, the zoo, Cheshire Oaks etc. Dave makes people feel really welcome and looked after. Well worth a visit, you won't be disappointed!

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Koi2009 1 review from this member

First time visit to Chester lakes for a long weekend absolutely brilliant. We had a great time, the fishing was great. The whole site was very relaxing. The staff were very good and helpful. The toilet and shower block are average but are enough.

Chester town 3 mile down road. Overall a very good site definitely be going back soon I hope. Would definitely recommend for relaxation or good fishing or shopping at Chester if you like that sort of thing. On site tackle shop for your fishing needs. There's also a local convenience store about a mile down the road which isnt too bad.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Woods2Field 2 reviews from this member

I stayed at the campsite for two nights over the Jubilee weekend with three other families. We tend to go camping as a group every year and we all agreed that the camp site at Chester Lakes was the most disappointing we’ve been to so far, which is a shame as it has so much potential.

The site is well situated with close links to main roads, shops and to Chester etc. The site itself is fairly pretty and the lakes were an added bonus. Although I’m not into fishing myself, it appeared to be very popular with campers and also locals. It was also very popular with ducks and there was no avoiding the duck poo when setting up the tents.

Unfortunately, the Cons outweighed the Pro’s for this site. Although we had booked sites with EHU, it was only after we had arrived and paid that we were informed of the Rules, which prohibit the use of electric heaters (The Rules were set out on two pages of A4, which were handed out after you check in. They also state that anyone caught breaching the rules would be kicked off the site).

Furthermore, the EHU for tent sites was so precarious, we were limited to only having two appliances plugged in at any one time for fear of tripping the electric. Even though we were careful the electric went off about 7 times over the space of two days.

The most frustrating aspect of this, was that a couple of the families had young kids with them (ages 4 to 14) and they had wanted EHU for using heaters in the evenings. One of the youngsters was so cold on the first night that she cried all night. If the use of EHU was going to be so limited, they should have explained that at the time of booking.

The toilets were dirty and looked like they could do with a clean. Admittedly it was raining all weekend but that didn’t excuse the dirty sinks, toilet bowls etc. They were also frequently out of toilet roll and it wasn’t great that it was left to the campers to have to report this to reception! There was no soap or hand towels/dryers either. There were also quite a few queues for the showers in the morning.

Although the site provided sinks for cleaning dishes, the area was not sheltered and so you had to wash dishes in the pouring rain. Furthermore, the taps didn’t work so cold water was provided through a hosepipe – which is the same pipe used for filling water containers! This was particularly disturbing to my friends who work in hospitals and were worried about the presence of pseudomonas bacteria. I have to admit that I gave up trying to wash the dishes using the sinks provided and used a bucket in the ladies bathroom as there was at least lukewarm water available and I was out of the rain.

A couple of our friends has luggable loos but there were no facilities provided for disposing of the contents or for cleaning them in the mornings.

The pitches were located in a haphazard fashion and cars had to left at designated parking areas. This meant that I had to ask other campers and fishermen to move their equipment out of the way, so that I could get my car to the pitch when packing up.

The final straw for the site was their pricing policy. They charge a fee for the tent which is based on the size of the tent plus an additional fee for the number of occupants plus. This meant that our friends in an 8 person tent with 4 occupants (two adults and two kids) paid £65 for the two nights. On top of this, if you wish to use the showers you had to pay £1 for 8 minutes. I wouldn’t have minded paying their prices if the EHU was up to standard and allowed the use of all reasonable electrical appliances and if the facilities were more hygienic.

I know that the site is new and the owners are working on issues. However, I for one will not be coming back.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lizzy2012 2 reviews from this member

Fine if you are going fishing, but don't touch this if you just want a nice site for a break.

Visited this site for the first time and it will certainly be the last. The area at the back of the site that is set out for caravans, has one toilet come shower room. If this area had been filled then the minimum amount of people expected to use this one toilet would be ten, maximum capacity could be as many as thirty. At the very least there should be separate toilets and showers for male/female. The toilet did not provide anything to wash or dry your hands with. The risk of illness spreading with this is unthinkable. On top of this it had no toilet paper on arrival and we had to be asked for it to be cleaned before we could use it. This was only done the once on request, we were there for four days and I cleaned the toilet and wash hand basin with my own cleaners before I used them. You should not have to do this on any site! They then have the bare faced audacity to ask you for £1. 00 to use these inadequate shower facilities. When using the showers there was insufficient drainage and the water lay in puddles on the floor for the duration of our stay. If a mop or brush had been supplied then you could have at least mopped the water towards the hole in the floor or out the door. Wear flip flops or something on your feet, as the poor hygiene standards and lack of cleaning you could be picking up verrucas or anything from the floor. The design of this shower and toilet facility was all wrong. The charge for the pitches certainly does not reflect in the standards. I am deeply surprised that the caravan club certified this site, as it is easily the most expensive and ill equipped site we have ever visited.

If this had not been paid in advance on line, I would have turned around and left the site. This site charges £25 a night, a complete rip off! I booked this site for the tranquil settings as described on the website, not interested in the fishing facilities. On the plus side Dave the site manager could not have been any more helpful or obliging when we complained.

It would not take a great deal of money to bring the site up to an acceptable standard. They need to build an acceptable shower block and toilet facility for both men and women, provide hand washing and drying materials, a mop and bucket needs to be left in the shower, and give it a good clean on a daily basis! And abolish or reduce the charge for using the showers.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Vikiash 2 reviews from this member

Absolutely loved our long weekend here, as a family that go camping as often as we can so its nice to find somewhere that's close to home for quick last minutes get aways too.

We are a family of 4 with a son of 7 and a daughter of 2 going on 12 to be honest but we also took my niece who's 9, they all loved the site, from holding the fish being caught to having the freedom of going to the little sweet shop and play area. As Chester town centre is only an easy 5 min drive up the road I felt it would be rude not to go shopping for a few hours to so we left the boys to fish.

The camping was really great we got good pitch right by a lake so you could keep an eye on everything and you have everything you need, nice spacious family showers and toilets, a washing up facility which was lacking in hot water but didn't really matter to us as we do ours at the tent anyways.

All in all a good campsite with excellent people and a lovely set up which you know will get better each time you return, cant wait go back in a few weeks.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: LEO02 16 reviews from this member

A site of extremes this, the good extreme is the fishing, and the bad extreme the toilet facilities.

Chester Lakes is a fishery first and a camping ground second. Set in glorious Cheshire countryside, (within a mile of the Welsh Border), this man made fishery is a work in progress.

Seven lakes to choose from, all extremely well stocked. Specimen anglers are catered for as well as beginners. If you don't catch 5 fish per hour here, you aren't doing it right! It is that good.

Dave the manager is a gem too. He's genuinely friendly and such a hardworker.

The on site cafe opens early and serves smashing food, in a very clean building. ( the ladies who served us were a bit grumpy for 2 days running though ).

The toilets are housed in shipping containers, and are clad in softwood to enhance their appeal. They were not cleaned for 3 days, had no loo roll for 3 days, and had no hot water either. They are relatively new but neglected, and it spoilt the whole experience.

Prices are competitive and the cost of fishing for one person is included in the nightly camping tariff.

The kids play area is very small and limited.

We fished half days then went out and about in Chester.

Ten pin bowling, cinema and the fab Northgate leisure centre for swimming, are all within a 15 minute drive.

Those toilets really let this place down and its so easy to put right too.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ashandalex 7 reviews from this member

Lovely site with main fishing lakes and smaller ones to the side, the site also has a dedicated camping club but this is away from the lakes.

Plus points:

The lake areas are very busy with fisher men and families but this didn't appear a problem with most of the pitches EHU. The owner just said pitch were you want.

The whole site is quite big but very clean.

The manager came round each day emptying bins and asking individuals if they had any rubbish they wanted moving.

Although some sites say this is a fishing site I would disagree as so long as your children are suitably supervised then it is a very child friendly place.

The Site is very quiet at night.

There is an on site cafe and fishing shop.

The area around the site is lovely with the park and ride for Chester only a 5 minute drive away. If you prefer cycling then the area is lovely with lovely country lanes to explore.

Minus points are:

The main down side was the lack of hot water to wash up with and non existent loo rolls in all the toilets for the whole of our stay. We had to remember to take our own each time and although you don't think this is much it can become a bit of a nuisance. The hot water is a problem especially if like us you had eaten spaghetti bolognese, trying to wash greasy pots in the cold water was not great so we ended up washing up at our tent with boiled water from our kettle.

The site isn't the cheapest around we paid £45 for 2 nights as our tent is a small 5 man and you are charged for the amount of people your tent can take.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Vicky1969 2 reviews from this member

Spent 5 nights at this site booked it for hubbys birthday simply because he loves fishing. I would say that this is definitely a fishing venue with touring facilities so I was a bit unsure if I had done the right thing in booking it but I wasn't disappointed.

Pitches for tourers are all hard standing which was good because we had a lot of rain while we were there. Toilets and showers were fine and the owners couldn't do enough for us. They were very friedly and helpful and the on site cafe was great and very reasonable.

My hubby loved the fishing and was spoilt for choice as there was a number of ponds to choose from and he caught every time he fished.

We caught the bus into Chester and and was very impressed.

Wales was only a short drive away and I got to see places ive never seen before.

I wouldn't hesitate to book this site again.

Previous     43 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cheshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1323 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019