Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Chester Lakes Camping And Caravanning

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Cheshire > Site Reviews

Chester Lakes Camping And Caravanning
Church Road
Dodleston
Chester
Cheshire   (Browse area)
CH4 9NG
Tel: 07860 133133  or  01244661745
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 200
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 43 Reviews
                7/10 from 43 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  43 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Trixerbell 4 reviews from this member

I think if I'm honest the site isn't sure if its a campsite or a fishery primarily and the confusion affects the experience for the camper.

The site is clean and yes the owners are friendly, however there was no loo roll in either mens or womens loos for the duration of our stay, no hot water for washing dishes just a cold hose pipe outside.

It's plain to see that they are doing the site up - the basic shower cubical (1 for 8minutes x 2 showers in the family room ) is fine.

A full english in the cafe 4. 50 with a tea/coffee was great. At night the sounds are of planes, trains and automobiles oh and ducks, the ducks can be forgiven.

Nice small wooden framed play house for the kids but constant fear of them going to close to the lakes.

I think if you want a basic budget experience then this is it. Would I go back - only for the fishing.

Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: The librarian 1 review from this member

I'd like to say how helpful and kind Dave and Jude were to us during our recent visit to Chester Lakes. The site is beautiful: well laid out, spacious and the facilities, once completed, will be very good. The cafe is an added bonus: value for money and busy. The site is a haven for fishermen of all abilities. I can imagine that children would have a marvellous time here with plenty of birds to watch and space in which to play. The site is very close to Chester and the surrounding countryside is ideal for cycling and walking. We will visit again.

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Missymel 1 review from this member

My partner and me needed somewhere to go camping at very last minute and accidentally come across Chester Lakes, we stayed on site for about 3 weeks in total and the hospitality was fantastic,

The owners helped us out in every way possible.

The site was nowhere near to the standard it is now but even so it was peaceful, great for all day/night fishing and amenities were there for what we needed them for.

We have been back many times and each time something new has appeared, they are doing a great job on expanding and will be going back there for many more years to come.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Marshy111 1 review from this member

We stayed here for three nights over the bank holiday at short notice and will be going back soon.

The owners are very nice and helpful, they couldn't done enough for you. We needed electric to clean the babys bottles and they said just pop into the shop and they would be happy to do this and even charge the mobiles. They were both very nice to the kids giving them sweets in the sweet shop. I feel that the owners make this site as pleasant as it was.

Toilets were cleaned daily and the fishing is great. All in all a very nice site with big plans, just a shame we didn't find this site earlier in the season.

Will be going back for the fishing. Kids also loved the park, also I very nice breakfast in the cafe.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lavendlin 4 reviews from this member

I stayed at Chester lakes with my Family for three days and had a great time. Paul the maintenance manager is a friendly helpful fella and Dave the fisherys manager is very friendly and also helpful and will help you with all your needs, he keeps the place clean and tidy and bins emptied regular.

The site has toilets and shower blocks which are cleaned every day. The toilets have had loo roll in every day for the three days we were here, but do recommend you bring a towel to dry your hands.

Dave also runs a fishing tackle shop with most things and you can even rent fishing gear or pay for fishing lessons for the beginners. You can fish the seven lakes in peace and is even fun at night the lakes are full of fish and some very large ones too, someone caught one yesterday and I thought it was moby dick it was that big but my husband informed me I would only find moby in the sea funny ha ha, even if it rains fishing is fun.

There is also a small sweet shop and little play area for the kids and plenty of green area for them to play on too. Chester lakes also has a fantastic cafe run by Emma and Andy who are also very friendly and helpful and they do the famous great breakfast with loads on it for the larger appetite or you could get the smaller one for the smaller appetite, if you don't fancy a breakfast there is plenty on the menu to choose from, and they sell cold and hot drinks and also the prices are very reasonable, you can get a latte coffee to die for too. They also sell Ice cream, slush pupppy and a selection of cakes and goodies and a few things which you can buy to entertain the kids on a wet night too.

The motorway is very close by which if you fancy exploring will take you to Wales or Liverpool if you fancy, or just a 10 minute drive will take you into The famous Roman city of Chester or if you want to take the children to Chester Zoo which is also a fun day out, if you fancy a flutter on the racecourse it is only 2 miles away. Cheshire oaks shopping village is about 8 miles away in Ellsmere Port. The park and ride is only five minutes away if you don't fancy driving. The little village of Doddleston is down the road with a small shop and post office, so if you haven't a fishing permit so you can fish the great lakes you can go and get a day fishing permit.

The nearest petrol station is a five minute drive away which is opposite the park and ride service. Westminster park have a Chinese take away and fish shop and the Lache also have the same and open at night and both are five minutes drive from there if you fancy something for supper time.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Vinsuelulil 2 reviews from this member

We have just returned from this campsite where we spent Friday and Saturday night. We camped on the rally field as there were 10 adults and 6 kids camping in 6 tents.

We had booked with EHU and unfortunately another camper had already pitched up almost over it. There is only one hook up post on the field but the manager came to our rescue with a 30 metre extension cable and we were able to camp away from the other group.

It was great to have lots of space to pitch and to play our games and run around. The field was massive!

We chose this site because of the cafe and the fishing. The cafe suited us as we were a large group, the all day breakfast was great but you couldn't change items, it was set, still great value for money.

We also text a week beforehand and asked about a group meal for the Saturday night and were told they would hold a curry night. We bought our tickets on Friday for the discounted price of 5. 50 adults and 4. 00 for kids. The curry night consisted of chicken jalfrezi, beef madras and vegetable passanda which were all delicious. They were served with rice, poppadom and naan bread and condiments. They kept a large room at the back for us so we could sit together and we could take our own alcohol in.

We played music and had campfires in the field which was brilliant. The kids loved the playground and the sweet shop. The fellas loved the fishing of which there is a lot! There are about 4 or 5 ponds to fish and was ideal as the learners caught lots of tiddlers.

The only problem we had with the site is that it seems to be geared towards the short stay fisherman with the amount of ponds and the cafe on site but the toilets were absolutely appalling.

They were not cleaned during our whole stay, there was 1 roll of toilet paper in the morning which obviously did not last and was not replaced. There is a portacabin toilet block and main disabled toilets which were also a wet room with the shower in. It absolutely put us off as we had said beforehand that if the site was good we were going to book again for bank holiday. Unfortunately we haven't.

Also I thought it was quite expensive as we ended up paying 45 for 4 of us in a 6 berth tent with 2 night electric. Fishing passes were charged on top of this, we paid for 10 hours -adult and child which cost 10.

Overall a brilliant place for a big group but the toilets situation made us gag.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Chestercarl 1 review from this member

Their website is confusing but having spent some time on the site I have found it excellent value, a choice of camping by fishing lakes or on a large field provides excellent choice for camping,

It is a beautiful quiet location. The on site cafe is good all other facilities are rudimentary but sufficient at present.

Dave and the staff are very helpful and friendly.

The fishing is excellent as I said earlier excellent value for money, my son and I have really enjoyed our stay and will be coming again.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Atomicbella 1 review from this member

We stayed at this site early july, the site was in an excellent location close to chester, and lots of attractions. The site is peaceful and you camp right next to the lakes where you can see fish jumping throughout the day.

There is a cafe/ sweet shop on site which is reasonably priced. There is also a small playground suitable for younger kids.

The only thing that let this site down was its lack of facilities, its an ideal site for a 1 night stay but there is only 1 shower/ disabled toilet combined which at the time had a broken lock making showering alone impossible and there is 1 ladies/ 2 men portable loo block,

the toilets have no mirrors and they did not provide toilet roll. For 20 per night I would have at least expected toilet roll.

Lucky it was quiet when we were there, otherwise I think the lack of facilities would have been more frustrating.

But overall we still had a good camping trip.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Saffron et al 8 reviews from this member

Stayed here for one night on the way back from Wales.

This is a site to watch in the future because they have some ambitious plans. The setting is already very beautiful and can only get more so.

All the staff are very friendly and helpful - actually given the manager's mobile number and told we could ring day or night.

The facilities are quite basic, but very clean. It would be helpful to have an additional toilet block because we noticed some of the people fishing found the distance to the facilities too far and took other measures!

The cafe on site was great. Had breakfast sat outside in the sunshine watching a father & son catch an eel.

The bus to Chester stops outside the site entrance.

Only pity is that they don't allow dogs

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dcas 1 review from this member

A group of roughly 15 young adults camped here at the beginning of July.

The place was lovely and we were even given our own space so not to disturb other people too much.

June and Dave who run the site were very welcoming, helpful and just generally lovely!

We were lucky enough to have gorgeous weather while we were there too!

We all had an amazing breakfast in the morning from the cafe that served a variety of delicious sounding food!

The toilets were also close to the pitch and clean.

Easy to get to, close to Chester Centre.

Would definitely go back!

Previous     43 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cheshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1444 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019