Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Chester Lakes Camping And Caravanning

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Cheshire > Site Reviews

Chester Lakes Camping And Caravanning
Church Road
Dodleston
Chester
Cheshire   (Browse area)
CH4 9NG
Tel: 07860 133133  or  01244661745
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 200
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 43 Reviews
                7/10 from 43 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  43 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cestrian3 3 reviews from this member

This was a great campsite with a choice of pitch locations. We chose the lakeside pitch but there was a large field or a woodland pitch if you wanted. Facilities are good with the added bonus of having a cafe on site (good fry up).

There is a small children play area which the kids love. Facilities were good. We only stayed here one night as it was close to home and we were camping with friends who had never been with their kids before.

Very hand for Chester

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Smithc 1 review from this member

We came here to test out our new tent and wanted somewhere for a long weekend - and Chester Lakes suited our needs perfectly. We thought it was a beautiful site and so picturesque round the fishing lakes. We camped on the large field and had EHU, the field filled up really quickly on the Saturday but we still had loads of room around our tent. It is good that there no designated pitches (unless you want EHU).

The only down side to the site are the facilities. There is a charge of £1 for 6 minutes in the showers - but we couldn't regulate the water temperature, it was either freezing cold or scalding hot, luckily we were only staying for a short time - but we couldn't have coped if staying for any longer. Also no hot water available for washing pots so we started boiling a kettle to do this - but if you don't have EHU then this isn't an option. This is the why I cannot leave a rating of 10.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: NeafNeaf 3 reviews from this member

Stayed here on a lovely warm weekend for two nights. All the staff here are really friendly. We pitched on the large field, not around the lake, it was very spacious and flat. Some noise from the motorway and noise/music in the evening from the marquee function tent, but we didn't mind this. The site could do with a few more toilets and pot-wash units. Small shop and a café on site which seems to do well. Chester Zoo and Chester within close proximity, Chester gets very busy when the Races are on though. Noisy neighbours pitched next to us on the second night and lit a fire in the grass which isn't allowed, but everyone else was respectful campers. Car boot sale on the site on a Sunday morning. All in all, a great site.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Shivaldo 1 review from this member

Just returned from a weekend at this site with my partner and 11 year old son. The staff here are very friendly and are eager to do all they can to help. The venue itself is lovely and popular with all sorts of people. Loads of space and no pressure in choosing where you want to pitch. The bar in the evening is lively. On the first night it was very family friendly but the second night it was a bit like a city centre pub, full of gangs of lads. The one main thing that lets this place down (and it seems to be a long running issue according to previous reviews) is the state of the toilets and showers. We live 10 miles away and decided to go home and use our own facilities! We stayed at a site a couple of weeks ago near Abergavenny which was far more modest than Chester but had washroom/toilet/shower facilities far in advance and for free. Chester lakes needs to sort this asap if they truly want to be taken seriously.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Victoriaw 1 review from this member

If you like carp fishing, a beer tent, loud music, take away food on site and you're not bothered about clean facilities on a campsite this is a site for you.

We spent 2 nights as a family group and came away disappointed. We felt there weren't enough toilets, showers, drinking water taps or pot washing areas for the size of the site. The toilets and shower for the large field come the evening were disgusting and all ran out of toilet paper. This is because they are also the toilets for the beer tent (2 toilets for men and 2 toilets for women and one shared shower!).

The staff were v helpful on checking-in, and maybe we timed it wrong as we understand there were a few stag do's and a birthday party booked in when we were there, but the beer tent, music and take away food we understand to be a regular thing for residents and non residents.

On the plus side - loads of hook ups and extension leads so you can choose where to camp rather than being dictated to by marked pitches - there's plenty of fishing - a v large flat camping field which really did have plenty of room, (though you can pitch next to the lakes to fish and park your car near by).

Should also add that there is a busy road and a railway line next to the large field, though the noise from either didn't really bother us.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jas and Mevli 1 review from this member

Upon arriving to the site, we were welcomed by the owner and his friendly, reassuring smile.

We were allowed to explore the site and pick a location that suited us best.

It was my wife's first time camping and I was really worried about how she would cope with it all. However the site was well set up with toilet and shower facilities and were good for our needs.

Fishing was our focus point, and the fact that we could pitch up next to a lake was fantastic.

There was a very nice and relaxed atmosphere at the site with no dogs being allowed.

In the evening there is a marquee with food, drink and music to enjoy.

All in all, we had a great bank holiday weekend and will definitely be returning in the near future!

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Fermec 8 reviews from this member

LIKES

Fantastic site we live in Manchester so only 40 mile away, as soon as I drove into the site and seeing the lakes I liked it.

Dave greeted us with a smile and immediatly made us feel welcome and was very helpful, we were on a tent pitch by the middle lake and had a marvaless veiw, the pitches were large and we were told we could pitch anywhere, we had an all day breakfast from the cafe on site and for 2 with a large mug of coffee it came to just under £10 great value great breakfast you don't need anything else all day after that.

Chester city center is very close and is amazing to walk round but beware carpark prices are very high nothing under £4.

There were a lot of people fishing on the site and catching good size fish.

All in all a great site don't know how I have missed this before we booked for 6 nights but stayed an extra 2 nights as we liked it so much.

DISLIKES

I think the toilets could have been better, we could not get hotwater for washing the pots, but we just boiled our own, toilets could be a bit of a walk to especially if it is the middle of the night, another toilet block in the middle of the site would help tremendously other than that a great site and will visit again many times.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Applescruff 1 review from this member

We arrived at 7pm for a two night stay to find reception closed (odd) but sought advice from other campers on where to pitch.

Whilst the site does have a nice relaxed atmosphere, it's facilities leave a lot to be desired: Terrible showers, no hot water for washing up, no hot water in toilets, no soap or hand-dryers in toilets either. Ok other blocks may be better, but the one near us wasn't !

It should also be noted that the site is close to a busy motorway, which we found very noisy at night whilst trying to sleep - especially on the first night.

Has the potential to be a 7/8 out of ten site, if facilities sorted out.

It's fine for a one or two night stay, but that's all. Don't think we will be using it again.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Chops43 2 reviews from this member

Whilst this is a well laid out campsite for fishing and in a good location for Chester, that is about all it offers.

We, as a family, made our own entertainment but the state of the facilities were extremely poor. There was no hot water for washing up, the toilets were not cleaned during our 3day stay and were disgusting - this could not even be blamed on poor weather as it was 24+ and no rain the entire stay! I was heaving while brushing my teeth and the showers were no better despite being at a charge of £1.

We would not return to this site in the future - it only had 1 plus for us and that was the good (but expensive) fishing facilities which my husband and boys enjoyed.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Campnfish 2 reviews from this member

Recently spent a break here enjoying the fishing in the peaceful surroundings. There was a laidback atmosphere about the place which was welcoming.

Easy enough to find although the road in is being resurfaced and could cause confusion with the diversion signs, if you are going here over the next few weeks or so ignore the no left turn sign and tell the workmen where you are going, the entrance is only about 40 yards up the road.

The lads in the reception area were on hand to sort us out with a cable for the electric hook up and give the directions we needed when we arrived and the boss, Dave, came to see us after we had found a spot to camp, made sure all was ok and if we had any problems or needed assistance etc.

The site itself is pretty big, I was impressed with the number of pegs available for anyone wanting to fish, with 3 main lakes within easy walking distance of the main car park, cafe and reception/tackle shop.

They offered plenty of space for anyone wishing to camp by the lakeside whilst fishing.

Footpaths surround these lakes and easy access to the pegs is guaranteed, some also have a specially constructed jetty area for anyone requiring a wheelchair which will offer a stable platform to fish from. I fished on Pulford lake and caught a number of small fish a few skimmer bream between 1/4 lb and 3/4 lb in weight and a couple of nice mirror carp about 7 or 8 lb.

A road surrounds this area which is used by vehicles staying on the site. Up at the top end, past the cafe, is the specimen lake, which I didn't fish, but it seems all the bigger fish are in here and from my experience on the other lakes would be well worth fishing in future. At the bottom end, away from the cafe, just over the site road is another lake, Wood lake, this is stated as an easier water to fish, full of smaller fish, although I caught a lot of roach and perch, some of them were weighing 1/2 to 1 lb in weight, and the bream seemed to get more difficult to catch as the day went on. It was a great little spot to fish.

Another camping area was just past this lake which was very sheltered and a great spot to pitch your tent if the weather is not too hot, which it was during my visit and it got far too hot without a bit of a breeze around.

There is a shower and toilet block here and parking area, 2 barbecue huts and another field for camping in away from the lakes. The toilets had male and female, were basic but very adequate and cleaned regularly and stocked with toilet roll. The shower was clean and operated by coin meter. Further round the site road is another big camping field which had some teepees in it and plenty of room for groups etc away from the lakes.

Then you are back at the cafe area, so everything is all close by and accessible by the paths/road. There are plenty of rubbish bins situated at numerous points along the paths and in parking areas so you can get rid of your rubbish easily.

I would advise to take insect repellent or bite cream, the cure is more necessary than the prevention.

Previous     43 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cheshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


38 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019