Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Bath Marina And Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Bath > Bath Marina And Caravan Park Reviews

Bath Marina And Caravan Park
Brassmill Lane
Bath
Somerset   (Browse area)
BA1 3JT
Tel: 01225 424301
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 88
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 135 Reviews
                8/10 from 135 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  135 in total, now showing 101 to 110                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Katie P 1 review from this member

 Site excellent with good bus services to Bath and Bristol, 3 minutes walk away. Quiet level site with trees. Childrens playground and large grass area next to site. On river with towpath and cycleways.

Not good for motorhomes as all water points on lefthand side of one-way road system (British motorhomes normally have water filler on right-hand side), meaning you had to turn round and go against the traffic to get next to the tap. Also no grey water dump station, all that was available were small raised collecting points, adjacent to water taps. Fine for caravan cassetts but not suitable for motorhomes.

Quite an expensive site, would use it again, but only for a couple of days.

Didn't use toilet block as we are self-contained.

Would have used local pub. But closed for refit.

Didn't use local shops, but they were about 8 minutes walk away. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Caravanchaos 2 reviews from this member

 Having read previous reviews, we were looking forward to our stay at Bath Marina Caravan Park. However, whilst we found the site adequate, we felt we would have been disappointed with the service and facilities had the site not been in the fabulous location of Bath.

For a start, the nightly charge for our caravan plus awning for a family of four was a whopping 32.95, which we thought was very expensive. Previous reviewers have commented about the hard standings, and the double width of these concrete bases caused us problems erecting our awning. We ended up pushing our caravan to the back of the hardstanding with the towbar in the bushes just so that we could put the door side next to the grass and therefore erect our awning.

Whilst this was ok as we didn't always have neighbours, our unit was very close to some of the adjoining pitches, certainly within the recommended 6 metres suggested by caravanning organisations. The shop was also poorly stocked, selling only a very small selection of basic food items.

The only milk available was longlife . Also, if you are a light sleeper, you may find the traffic noise disturbing as the site is located between the main A4 Bath to Bristol road and another main road into Bath (the location of the Newbridge Park and Ride), adjoins the River Avon, and has the railway within earshot too.

On a more positive note, the electric hook up and tv connection posts were excellent, though you do need a digital tv to be able to watch television. And there were lots of water, waste water and rubbish disposal points all over the site.

Despite all our moans and groans, we still had a great holiday as there are so many fabulous places to visit in and around Bath, and we did enjoy cycling out of the site back gate along the towpaths of the River Avon and Kennett + Avon Canal to Bathampton (Nice pub called the George in Bathampton which made a good resting place for a meal and a drink before turning around to cycle home.)

If we do visit this area of the country again though, we'd probably try to find another site. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Happycampus 11 reviews from this member

 We stayed for two nights (Friday and Saturday) at a quiet time when the weather was unusually sunny for April. The lady at the site office was friendly and we set up on the concrete pitch which proved to be quite hard on the knees of a two year old.

Loos and shower blocks were fine as were other facilities. There was a good council playground next to the site for the little one.

We shopped in the Morrisons on the other side of town. For our trip to town on Saturday we used the nearby 'park and ride' at 2.50 per adult to avoid parking in Bath.

The Boathouse pub, subject of a few previous reviews, was closed for its reported long overdue refurbishment. It was a 12 minute walk down the towpath to the Dolphin Pub which did good simple food. There was a pleasant walled garden beside the towpath with a small childs play area. Bit shocked at the price of a pint of Stella at 3.80.

All in all a good weekend with a visit to a beautiful town. 


Date of Visit: March 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Kaza65 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for one night so we could visit bath, Although there were plenty of signs for the camp site it was still a little hard to find, One arrival we found a very pleasant well organised site. The toilets we clean and warm, with a key code system to access them. The park and ride was just outside the site, you could walk across the park or round the road or from the tow path and under the bridge (probably better as don't have to cross the road). The buses run every 15 mins into bath 3 return. OAP free with passes. Thought considering it was out of season the site was a bit expensive 25. For Motorhome and 3 adults. Would have liked to have stayed another night so could go into Bath again as half a day isn't long enough. 


Date of Visit: December 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Josiewales 17 reviews from this member

 Had a two night stay here in dec, it was very cold (canal frozen) but bright. It was just before the snows. Site is well laid out and the showers were clean and hot, also nice friendly reception.

Site appeared busy but on close inspection seemed to be full of stored motorhomes

Location couldn't be better, across the road from the park n ride, you wouldn't want to take a car into bath anyway.

Tried the boathouse pub but found it tatty and depressing and in dire need of refurb.

Across the road is the biggest public (and new) kids playground that I have ever seen

The site was ok considering the weather and time of year but we had the impression that in the summer months it is a truly great site And we will be trying it then 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: November 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Brooke140 1 review from this member

 We chose Bath Marina site for its proximity to Bath, but found much more than the city to enjoy.

The site is situated on the towpath which leads directly into Bath,and also,close to the main Bus route. It was great for us not to have to use the car,and as the buses are so frequent, and the drivers helpful and informative, we didn't feel stranded at all.

Our pitch was very good indeed. Hardstanding with our own electricity bollard and t.V. Point. Water was close by,and also rubbish bins.

The shower block we used was clean and properly heated.The water was plentiful with proper on/off knob for the shower.The washing up area adequate,again plenty os hot water and light.

The whole site was well laid out,although it was nearly full [in November] it did not feel crowded.

The staff were polite and very helpful. It was a treat to have fresh croissants to pick up from reception every morning.

The local shops in Chelsea Rd are worth visiting.There is the bakery, DVD rental shop, Deli and a Pizza and coffee shop.

We will be returning often throughout the winter. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Ragdoll22 3 reviews from this member

 Good site thought 24.45 per night a little over the top, very nice girl on reception when we arrived felt sorry for her because she had a rather cross chap she had to deal with in front of people waiting to book in, he was going mad about the poor showers but I have to say we never had a problem with them, it was a case of the earlier you got to them the hotter the water, but we where fine.

But I have to say the shower blocks and washing up area are in need of updating. The pitches all seemed quite level ours was spot on they were all well kept. We didn`t use the park and ride but people that did said it was very good. We walked or cycled along the river side which was just outside the gate couldn't of been handier.

We met some of the friendliest people ever on that site giving us lots of advice on motorhoming which was very welcome.

Didn't use local eateries so cant comment on them, excellent shops in bath plenty of choice. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Fiftysomething 18 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for two nights as our daughter was Graduating in Bristol and staying in Bath, so could taxi us around. No problems finding it, but did come in (and go out) 'the long way round', up to the Bristol Ring Road and then in from the west rather than trying to get through Bath, as their directions suggest.

Lots to recommend it: a friendly welcome at Reception which is also a small shop, all concrete pitches which will be particularly useful in the winter (I hope to come back for the Bath Christmas market), clean facilities, about 2 miles from the centre of Bath.

And Bath, as other reviewers have said, is sublime. It has to be visited (again and again) to be fully appreciated. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Carol Jean 38 reviews from this member

 Just spent 2 nights here. Firstly we found it a bit difficult to find at first - we drove through a housing estate and kept thinking we were going wrong! Excellent site - very clean and good showers. Bit more expensive than we are used to but what's a few pounds when a site is so well maintained?

The cycle path is just alongside the site so that was great. It didn't take very long to cycle into Bath - I think about 20 minutes or so. First we went to the Boathouse - lovely location with a grassy lawn and by the river but a bit of a rundown pub.

A little playground though so nice for kids and dogs! At night we walked to the Dolphin and again we sat outside for a while (no grass or playground here). We went inside later and had a nice meal -good value. We found the staff extremely pleasant and friendly -something that my partner and I take note of when we go to pubs / restaurants/shops etc. The landlady talked to us lots -and Lorcan the barman was very nice and friendly.

Its a long time since I've been to Bath but I think it must be the most beautiful city in England. We visited the Roman Baths and then went on the open topped buses. We had lunch at a little Mexican restaurant near the oldest house in Bath -the Sally Lunn house. But I always thought Sally Lunns had currants in and icing on-the ones in the window looked quite unappetizing! 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Welsh Mel 9 reviews from this member

 We had a wonderful visit at this site, just a short walk to the park and ride, so no problems parking in the city centre. Buses were regular about 3 return and we spent most of the time in Bath.

At the site, the Staff were helpful and lovely long walks around the site with plenty of birds. The site was quiet, no noise and grounds were well kept, amenities were good. We will be returning this year. 


Previous     135 Reviews in total, now showing 101 to 110      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Bath Marina And Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Bath Marina And Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Bath Marina And Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bath      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 13/01 to 16/01
Largest selection of caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes in the North of England ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3590 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement