Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Rue Hill Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Staffordshire > Alton Towers > Rue Hill Campsite Reviews

Rue Hill Campsite
Cauldon Lowe
Alton Towers
Staffordshire   (Browse area)
ST10 3EY
Tel: 07932472997
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 50
Open: 01/04/2021 to 09/11/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 38 Reviews
                9/10 from 38 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  38 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Camping-paynes 4 reviews from this member

 After reading the reviews on UKCampsite.co.uk, we called the site owner to see if there was availability for that night. We unfortunately got quite a steely reception as the owner thought she was done booking everyone in for the day. This didn't I admit, set us off to a good start. When the owner came to book us in and had yet again another few digs at us for making her have to return to the site to book us on, she was informative of the local area and the price 5 per adult, was actually great.

The site was slightly more uneven than others we have visited and the grass could do with a cut, however there was lots of space and the owner was happy with us pitching around the perimeter. There was two sets of small goal posts that could be fun and as I've already mentioned, a large field that you could make good use of if you have kids.

The location is perfect for alton towers, it's literally a couple of minutes drive around the corner. About a 20 minute walk down hill on country roads which mostly don't have a pavement takes you to the first local pub, the Cross (can't comment on as didn't go) a further 5/10 mins and your at the second, The Yew Tree which on the night we stayed, had a fantastic music festival on. Just like a mini T in the Park.

The facilities were basic, one shower for males and one for females which we didn't use as were quite dirty the morning 8:15am. Clean toilets, however this deteriorated at a quicker rate than at most sites, although they were well stocked with toilet paper and hand wash.

We enjoy camping but I'll be honest, we like nice camping with mod cons. Here are some things that maybe not everyone will find useful but the odd few people might. The girls toilets didn't have a proper mirror, just little butterfly stick-on mirrors dotted about the wall, so it was difficult to do your hair/makeup. There were absolutely no sockets available for hair dryers/chargers. I didn't have a phone signal (I'm with o2) and definitely no 3G. Wi Fi isn't available either. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Greenscot 1 review from this member

 This is the second time I have stayed at this campsite. On this trip we stayed for 4 nights.

The campsite has everything you require and the facilities are kept clean and fully stocked (I. E toilet roll, hand soap etc).

This year an additional shower/toilet block has been added - last year we were promised another shower, glad promises at kept. Also additional seating areas were provided.

On arrival you are provided with a map of the local area and directions to attractions. Also we were provide with a local newspaper and leaflets. I found this a nice touch.

The only issue we have with the campsite would be the showers being fed from a solar heating system. Occasionally if your not fast, your left having a cool shower as I discovered one perky morning. This is especially the case if the campsite is busy, which this week it was. Hopefully in the future this will be changed but it certainly didn't dampen my week.

The price is extremely reasonable at 5 pound per person per night. We had a great time despite a noisy neighbour who appeared at night and disappeared in the morning. Unfortunately there is nothing that can be done regarding customers ignorance however their quick departure was welcomed by more than just my group. I look forward to returning next year and seeing what else has changed within the campsite. Anyone in the area should give Rue Hill a try 5*

Thanks again Rue Hill 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ronquilo 1 review from this member

 Stayed at this site last weekend, it really is a lovely place!

The owner greeted us soon after our arrival and gave us a very detailed map of the local area, even adding walks and other interesting features when these were requested.

For the price it really is a great site. We also got a fire pit and logs delivered on the 1st night for an additional 10 which was plenty to last the night, we got some more on the other nights and 5 worth was enough to last a night which is pretty good value.

The site is located about 10mins drive away from Alton towers and compared to prices on some of the other campsites nearby was fantastic value!

The wide open spaces in the middle of the field were really nice and provided lots of room to play games in.

It must be remembered that as this site is quite close to Alton towers a lot of groups of young people stay there playing relatively loud music, but this stopped before 12 which was fine with us and only happened on one night.

My only complaint is that as the toilet block was solar powered unless you got in there very early or mid afternoon after the water was heated again, there really wasn't much chance of having a fire or doing the washing up! And when people left the light on at night (there is a sign asking people not to) and the power ran out going to the toilet required some careful torch maneuvering!

But overall this didn't detract from the experience and I have certainly had worse facilities. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dootsydoo 1 review from this member

 I absolutely loved this basic campsite run by Lorraine who was very welcoming, friendly & helpful.

Pro's

*Fantastic location for Alton Towers - a 7 minute car journey away

*Fire Pit & logs

*Very spacious - Perimeter camping on a large field meant lots of room. A welcome change from sites where they pack you in

*Picnic tables for use next to your pitch

*cheap

Cons

- Hit & miss hot water - stayed for 3 nights & found there was never any hot water for a shower - although others in the group did manage a scalding hot shower early evening.

In all, I would return but probably for no longer than 2 nights due to the shower situation. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Winkertonk 7 reviews from this member

 Visited for one night (Saturday) in July.

Called the owner on arrival as requested when booking over the phone a few day's prior to arrival, and they came to collect payment as we were pitching.

We received a nice friendly welcome.

While paying, I also booked a firepit which gets delivered around 7:30pm with a fill of fuel.

Toilets are in a pair of shipping containers, with a pair of loo's, three sinks, and one shower in both the Ladies and the Gents. Bearing in mind that the site was quite busy on a summer Saturday night, the toilets were always clean and fresh smelling with plenty of hand soap & loo paper. Very impressive compared to much more expensive sites I've used in the past! Plenty of hot water too.

Bin store adjacent to the loo's, with recycling facilities.

Water point & 'elsan' disposal located where the bin's are, this is the only water point on the site.

Football & Cricket being played in the centre of the main area, with tent's pitched around the edge making the site seem spacious & friendly.

Slightly lumpy site, but we managed to pitch on a flat bit, so with some care a good night's sleep can be had! My tent is tiny, so this helped.

Located very close to Alton Towers, with plenty of local pubs in the area. Rue Hill is only a few hundred yard off the A52, so easy to find yet it still feels secluded and rural.

We were provided with a very useful map by Lorraine on arrival, which detailed all the important local attractions, pubs, and shops etc - most welcome!

Lot's of tent pitches, plus 5 spaces for caravans near the entrance. No electric hookups on site. Owners house only a few hundred yards away across the main road.

Slight noise from a nearby quarry, but it didn't bother us - the sound of sheep & cow's in the next field was a nice morning soundtrack!

All in all a good experience, and I shall certainly be booking here again.

It makes a refreshing change to stay on a simple basic camp site that represents good value, while still providing decent quality failities. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jayne0704 2 reviews from this member

 We booked Rue hill as there was 14 in our party. Under 10 was free added bonus with a family group. Total cost for 3 nights inc hire of fire pit and wood 160. 00 excellent value for money. Plenty of spaces to pitch around a field. Recent stone circles for sitting around fire pit was a brilliant idea. Recycling bins made clean up very easy, emptied every day by owners, who were lovely and helpful. Toilets basic but clean and tidy, solar powered which appealed to the eco friendly in me. Local shops 3 miles away, surrounded by local pubs and beautiful countryside. Alton towers less than 4 miles away bonus !

My only suggestion would be to put a mop or squeezy contraction for the bathroom floor that got soaked during a wet day and night. Was trying to sweep water out to avoid slipping. Shower was hot. Overall would go back again and again. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sazone 1 review from this member

 Very lovely camp site and very lovely and relaxed owner

Just what we were looking for a relaxing evening after a day in Alton towers.

Loo`s and shower block very clean and site very clean

They is no need to take chairs and tables because the site have pic nic bench's which you are aloud to move to your tent very helpful because could not get my table and chairs in my car so desided we would sit on ground all night

Will stay with this site again if we were to visit up that way again

Thank you 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Doonie180 1 review from this member

 Just had 2 nights at Rue Hill and had a brill time. The site was very clean and the owners were around at least every hour tidying up and checking if you need anything! The toilets were clean and the shower was more than hot enough. There are 4 football nets which can be moved about, me and my 8 year old lad were in our elements. There is a local pub just half a mile away that has a children's play area and bouncy castle. There is a chippy and shop 2.8 mile away and the nearest garage is 6 mile away. All in all it was a pleasant stay and we will be back again shortly. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Happyhappycamper 1 review from this member

 Just got back from a 2 night stay at Rue Hill, to say we had a fab time would be an understatement!

The site is basic but it has what you need, we were talking to the site owners and they have some fab plans for the site. (we will be back next year to see them!)

We were a group of 4 people, aged 18-23, many sites around the area do not allow groups of people aged under 25 so this was a big plus for us

Its an ideal camp site for young people, who want to get away with their friends as some sites wont allow groups, just keep the noise down and respect the other people camping

The owner and her husband were a great help, giving us a map of the local area, starring all the places we may want to go to, including the village shop - cheap and has everything you need!, pubs for a good meal and cheap drinks and alton towers which was the reason for our visit.

You can also hire a fire pit for 10, we got one of these which was a really good idea, first time I've toasted marshmallows over a camp fire!

The toilets were clean and kept on top of, never once was there no toilet roll or hand towels.

The shower was lovely and clean and in a nice sized cubicle with plenty of room to get dried and changed.

The site is in an ideal location if you are looking to go to alton towers, only about 3 miles from the theme park, there are many places for walkers to venture to and plenty of pubs serving food around as well

This site is only 4 pp/pn - Bargain!

10/10 for hospitality on this site! you are made welcome from pulling up to driving off.

We will be back next year, if not sooner! 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hayley Sean 1 review from this member

 We stayed on the site for 3 nights and had a great time! As it was threw the week the site was quiet but we loved it as there was never queues for the loos or the single shower that is there. The owners of the site are very friendly and gave us all the information we needed about the local area. They were not put off by our ages of 21 and 22 like some camp sites we had called. We hired the fire pit for our stay which for us made it 'proper camping' as it isnt very oftern you can have camp fires. Alton towers was a 5 minute drive along the road which was great.

4 per person a night. Was the best camping we have done! 


Previous     38 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Rue Hill Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Rue Hill Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Rue Hill Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Alton Towers      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Staffordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5902 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement