Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Rue Hill Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Staffordshire > Alton Towers > Rue Hill Campsite Reviews

Rue Hill Campsite
Cauldon Lowe
Alton Towers
Staffordshire   (Browse area)
ST10 3EY
Tel: 07932472997
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 50
Open: 01/04/2021 to 09/11/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 38 Reviews
                9/10 from 38 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  38 in total, now showing 31 to 38                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sadie1970 1 review from this member

 I've just returned from a 2 night stay on this site, with my 3 children, we all loved it!

The kids especially enjoyed the campfire, they also enjoyed playing football as there are a pair of nets on the site. The site is so peaceful, it was wonderful.

The owners are very helpful too. The portaloo's are kept clean and the lack of a shower for 2 nights wasn't a problem.

The site is ideal for Alton Towers, which was our reason for going, it was a 5 minute drive.

We will be back soon and not to go to Alton Towers! 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Supersabw 3 reviews from this member

 We only spent one night at Rue Hill Campsite, but we were allowed to 'spread' into 2 days, being allowed to stay into early evening on the day of our departure.

It is indeed a well-priced basic 'natural' campsite, with 2 clean portaloos, mains water supply, and well organised waste facilities. We were allowed to pitch where we pleased (2 fields), and the owners were very patient and helpful whilst we made our decision.

They had brought the requested Generator ready for us to hook up to (both types of connections available), and gave a good simple demonstration on its use (10 which lasts as long as the fuel it contains; top ups are 7. 10 more than lasted through our stay).

We also ordered a fire-pit for 10, which includes kindling to start it, and chopped logs; this was a welcome addition to our barbecue as the weather was a bit cool and windy in the evening.

The owners visited morning and evening to ensure we were OK, and were most helpful about events and attractions in the area.

We spent one day at Alton Towers (Annual passes) and one day at Crich Tramway Village - a nostalgic and very pleasant day riding the trams, eating ice-creams and taking in the interesting kiosks about local crystals and rocks, and all sorts of memorabilia about trams, and a nice Woodland walk (25 miles / 45 minutes drive away).

The tickets can be used for as many return visits as you wish during the next 12 months.

Rue Hill Campsite hopes to have showers soon, though you can visit a nearby Leisure Centre to shower in the meantime.

A very friendly helpful well-priced natural campsite that suited us well, and we will visit again soon when we use both sets of Unlimited visit tickets to Alton Towers and the Crich Tramway Village (both tickets overall great value). 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sam68 1 review from this member

 Just returned from a great stay at Rue Hill.

The location was perfect, surrounded by countryside and easy accessible to lots of places. The owners were so helpful providing solid tables and fire pits which was much appreciated, the porta-loos are clean and the owners are in the process of gaining planning permission for a shower block.

Camping on this site allows you to 'camp' in the real sense of the word, open fires, lots of space for the kids to explore and play, no list of rules. Proper camping ! And best of all. On a clear night you can see lots of shooting stars. Magical ! 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sallylotsofkids 8 reviews from this member

 This is a very basic campsite, but absolutely does the job for a few nights away from home, and we had a lovely time.

The owners are friendly and welcoming, and were very happy for us to arrive early one day and leave late the next for just one night's fees.

There are two portaloos, which were always clean and well stocked, and at present perfectly adequate for the number of visitors. There was a tap, some bins, and lots and lots of space.

It is extremely close to Alton Towers (although not enough for noise to be a problem), but we used it as a base for cycling, being close to the Manifold, Tissington and Churnet Valley trails.

We often shy away from sites that are priced per person - as a family of 6 (with only one wage-earner) they can work out very expensive. But the owner's policy of not charging for under 10s helped, and we certainly considered it good enough value for money to visit again. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gazapc 2 reviews from this member

 We used this campsite for a weekend stay away for 6 of us. It is just a big field for tents and a another field for caravans/camper vans. Exactly what we wanted!

You just drive in and set up pretty much anywhere and the owners will soon drop by to meet you and pick up payment. It is cheap at 4 pppn with no charges for extra cars/tents etc.

We arrived and there was 2 other 'pitches' used so loads of space, we were able to set up ~70 yards from either of them and could have gone further. There is a mown path around the edge of the field to drive on while the rest of the grass is quite long. There are a few dips and mounds so unless you camped right in one of these I doubt the site will have water logging issues.

The campsite is new (last year I think) so there are only 2 portaloos and an area for recycling and mains water. The owners said there are showers for 1. 5 in a nearby (driving distance) leisure centre and they are applying for planning permission for a shower block.

There are a few pubs in the local area although we only visited the Cross Inn due to a bit of rain on the first night. We were assured we would see the owners in the Yew Tree Inn later that night!.

As mentioned above we are a group of 6 20/21 year olds so the main reason why we chose this site was because they had no issues (unlike many other campsites) over us staying obviously as long as were reasonable. We were also allowed to light a camp-fire which is obviously a huge benefit for that camping 'experience'.

Overall the kind of quiet, not busy and relaxed campsite we were looking for 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ali baba 2 reviews from this member

 Have returned for a second visit, to find generators were now available for electric hook up, and more screening planted. Ideally situated for Alton Towers, once again the owner could not have been more friendly or helpful.

Being a new site, Rue Hill is still something of a well kept secret, which adds to its charms, it is not overcrowded or noisy. There are tent pitches also available now.

I visit Alton Towers several times a year and now I have found this site I cannot imagine staying anywhere else. Nothing is too much trouble for the owner. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Carolb49 1 review from this member

 The campsite was basically just a large field with toilets and running water. It was however a lovely location (not far from Alton Towers) and very reasonably priced.

The owner was lovely and allowed us to have a camp fire and to barbecue. There are several pubs nearby for eating out and as we tried a few can say that the food was very enjoyable.

We had a great time and will definitely be returning. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ali baba 2 reviews from this member

 New site ideally placed for visiting Alton Towers (3 miles), If you are looking for a budget no frills site this is perfect. Friendly, easy going owners. Not a lot of site facilities at the moment, but they are just starting up and to be fair this is reflected in the price. No rules regarding same sex parties etc. They only ask you to be considerate of other users.Fair enough. Would use again. 


Previous     38 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 38     Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Rue Hill Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Rue Hill Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Rue Hill Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Alton Towers      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Staffordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5266 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement