Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Rue Hill Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Staffordshire > Alton Towers > Rue Hill Campsite Reviews

Rue Hill Campsite
Cauldon Lowe
Alton Towers
Staffordshire   (Browse area)
ST10 3EY
Tel: 07932472997
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 50
Open: 01/04/2021 to 09/11/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 38 Reviews
                9/10 from 38 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  38 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Baileys80 4 reviews from this member

 Nice quiet site, basic non heated but adequate facilities, close to Alton Towers, friendly owners, lots of space (even in the school holidays) would benefit from kids play area.

Soft ground making tent pitching easier! no proper washing up facilities or suitable drinking water apart from tap labelled chemical waste or taps in toilet area?

Owners arrived first thing to clean toilets. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rjds1984 1 review from this member

 Arrived at site and called owner as advised unfortunately she was shopping ( but we all need to shop) but she advised us where to set up and came to see us a hour later with map of area.

Advised where only drinking water tap was wasn't too happy it was labelled up as ' chemical disposal rinsing tap'.

The main shower/toilet block are maintained very often and are always clean just when it rained it flooded. On the first night the portaloos smelt horrible worst I had ever been in but the surfaces was clean. Luckily the next morning the portable loo company came to empty them after that they was pleasant for rest of the stay.

The land is mainly flat and plenty of room for children to play football next to tent so you can keep a eye on them.

At night there was quarry sounds coming from behind the site which on a night was audible most around 1am sounding like boulders been dumped by a jcb or similar engine noises.

Site was kept clean but no site had no shop only 1 shower it was ok but very basic field 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Barnimup 1 review from this member

 Really pleasant stay at the Rue Hill campsite. Owners very friendly and delivered a new table & bench set for us to use. Very quiet place with lots of space in the middle of the field for children to play. Generally all respectful campers whilst we were there.

Facilities are minimal in that there is a shower, small washbasins and two toilets in a Portable cabin and two Portable loos. However, the site was so quiet that the facilities weren't overstretched. The shower plumbing though could do with being looked at as it leaked at times.

We were fortunate to have great weather and so might be looking through rose-tinted specs but we loved the site. The best bit - 4 per person per night. Bargain. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Daniel2land 1 review from this member

 I just stayed at this site with my 8 year old. Her first camping trip and she loved it. The site is child friendly. Green friendly and possibly one of the cheapest in the uk. I think this will change.

It has plenty of hot water and clean shower toilet area. Which I noticed cleaned more than a few times throughout the day.

The owners are friendly and approachable with lots of local knowledge. We even found a sculptor who makes fairies and lives in the woods with the help of lorraine at the site.

We will definitely be going back again.  


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jtfrench305 5 reviews from this member

 Fantastic site. Just back from a weekend with my 5 yr old daughter and 6 yr nephew. They loved the site as much as we did. Back to basic camping with 2 toilets, 3 sinks and a shower in the block and 2 additional portable loo's.

Recycling bins, fresh water tap, bbq bin and lots and lots and lots of open space. We arrived after 9pm on friday night following an issue with the Satnav (our fault not the site) however Lorraine was more than welcoming and allowed us to pitch up before coming back to go through the camp info.

We got a log pit which included logs, kindling and a couple of newspapers to last 2 evenings (we were experiencing - high winds and heavy rain so a bit of warmth was very appreciated) and it kept us more than warm enough.

The fields are arranged into a group field and a family field however we did not experience any problems with noise. We pitched a 8 x 4 8 berth tent with plenty of room between us and the next groups.

Brilliant - will definitely return for our next trip to Alton Towers. Bargain at 8 a night for our family - cheaper than staying at home! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Suebarlow 2 reviews from this member

 Basic, traditional campsite, very convenient to Alton Towers. Basic facilities on site but cost of the pitch reflects this.

We hired a fire pit which comes with kindling and logs which was great. Cost 10 to hire and kept the kids entertained. Site comprises two fields with line of trees down the middle.

Toilets and shower were in the middle of the tree line.

Nice chippie in the centre of Ashborne No electric hook up and some of the other campers were using generators which were running up until 12 pm which did mean that it was difficult to sleep until they were turned off. I did mention this to the owner who agreed they should have been turned off earlier but unfortunately we had the same problem the second night.

Toilet and shower block are unisex which I am not keen on having two younger children but again price probably reflects this. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Klemm412 2 reviews from this member

 Nice quiet site very close to Alton Towers, about 5 minutes drive away. Ideal if your going there. The owner lives just up the road and visits the site regularly and can be contacted if there is any problems. There is only 2 toilets and 1 shower which I think could be a problem when the site is busier. It is very reasonably priced at 4 per person and under 10's are free. When we got there we pitched up and then the owner came to see us with a self drawn map of the mediate area and recommended where to eat. The Crown had a very reasonable menu and lovely food. There is also a chip shop, butchers and londis shop a short drive away. She also had a magazine to hand out of other attractions to visit in the area. Very helpful! 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tymauk 5 reviews from this member

 Have just returned from a 3 night stay over the Jubilee Bank Holiday. Lorraine was a diamond! Extremely helpful, told us where everything was and where to visit. Couldn't ask for better.

Site was basic but nice, in great location. Consisted of a couple of porta loo's and small shower/toilet block, which were kept very clean.

My only drawback was having to use a generator for mains electric, which I have been told since is not a good idea if they are unregulated. I have come home with a broken/burnt out electric heater because of this, and the fact that 5 worth of fuel (which isn't a lot nowadays) didn't last very long at all, so be prepared to spend another 20 or more on a 3 or 4 night stay (depending on how much you use) and don't power too many things at once (ie kettle, heating, hairdryer) as the Generators cannot handle it and may cause some problems!

Overall I would recommend this site and if going back would definitely stay again. I think in a year or so this will be a site you'll have to book early for, especially if they get electric hook-ups.

Again thanks to Lorraine for all of her help. Hope to see you again soon.

Oh one last thing, would recommend to everyone to visit the Dove Dale walk. Absolutely stunning! 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Erik-dee 1 review from this member

 So impressed were we on our first visit with the helpful and friendly nature of 'Rue Hill's' Lorraine that we asked if we could hold our wedding reception at the site.

Not only did she agree to let us put up yurts, build a huge bonfire and take over half of the field but she and her family went the extra mile to ensure that we had a fantastic day that we'll remember forever.

The site has recently been treated to a new toilet and shower block and is ideally located for a number of local visitor attractions.

If you're looking for an inexpensive and friendly place to stay in the Staffs / Derbyshire area then look no further.

Chances are, we'll be there too! 


Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: D Tuck 1 review from this member

 Its a family run site. I found the owner to be very approachable, friendly and very supportive. We were made very welcome; the campsite is very basic at the moment which is reflected in the price. There is a loo and running water. Back to basic true traditional camping LOVED IT. Their allow fires on the site via a fire pit, just added a real rustic, warm and welcoming feeling

Camping spot suitable for activities such as picnicking (picnic tables on site) hiking and much, much more. Not too far to visit some of the many picturesque villages and Towns. Plenty of pubs for food, kids are more than welcome.

Rue Hill campsite is just two years old, so lots of things still going on. I have been told by the owner that more loos and a shower block will hopefully be on in the next few weeks. The owner is very welcoming of suggestions and ideas. We did have an issue with a small group of young people camping, very loud late at night no respect for other campers. However the owner took this on board listened to the complaints and dealt with them immediately, she was very apologetic and somewhat upset that it had happened in the first place. I have been camping now for over 30 years and this sort of behaviour happens from time to time, what makes the difference is the way the owners deal with it. I am MORE than happy with the way it was dealt and compensated a free nights camping and a fire pit, unexpected but very pleased.

10 out of 10. Will see you again in a few weeks. And thank you for a great visit. 


Previous     38 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Rue Hill Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Rue Hill Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Rue Hill Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Alton Towers      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Staffordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5762 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement