Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Rue Hill Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Staffordshire > Alton Towers > Rue Hill Campsite Reviews

Rue Hill Campsite
Cauldon Lowe
Alton Towers
Staffordshire   (Browse area)
ST10 3EY
Tel: 07932472997
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 50
Open: 01/04/2021 to 09/11/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 38 Reviews
                9/10 from 38 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  38 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Team Monkey 19 reviews from this member

 This campsite is a real feel good place! It is great for groups of campers. I like the fact it’s divided into family areas and adult only sections too.

It was very windy while we camped even though we’ve been experiencing some fantastic weather it felt like it was perhaps a particularly windy spot. Other than that it’s in a great location.

Lorraine the owner is passionate and has done a great job with the place.

The bell tents and cabins are a bit pricey but great to have for family/friends who prefer to “glamp”.

We never managed to get a warm shower while we were there so once the new block is up and running that will be a real asset to the place. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Paul stanyer 12 reviews from this member

 This review is for a Tuesday to Friday stay, school term time in early June, the site was quiet, but I understand it gets busy at weekends and term time. The site does accept large groups so the experience described here could be different at busy times.

We had pre booked and arrived an hour before our e. T. A. , we phoned Lorraine and she told us where to camp and said she would be there in 15-20 mins,

The site is fairly large and pretty much flat, as the place was quiet we baggised a spot near the trees 50 yards from the shower\toilets.

We set up camp and headed for the showers as we had been camping at a place with no showers for two days, alas they were stone cold!

We retreated to the tent and cracked open a beer whilst we waited for Lorraine to arrive. Now I know you are thinking Lorraine said 15 to 20 mins and we have pitched camp, gone for a shower and she is still not there?, Well check out our review for the outwell Arizona l it takes about 5 mins to put up.

Anyway she arrived as promised, and checked us in, gave us a fantastic home made map of the local attractions, towns pubs etc.

We mentioned the cold showers. 'Oh that's not right she said, let's have a look'

This site is in the middle of nowhere, there is no electricity, even for the showers, its all solar, she took us in to the 'engine room' and a quick press of the reset button we could heard the gentle hum of the solar/battery heaters kick in, 45 mins later the Heath Robinson contraption provided us both with great hot showers! (Younger campers Google images for Heath Robinson for an idea of the engine room)

On site there are a few picnic/BBQ benches, football nets, volly ball nets etc.

Apart from the initial hicup the showers were fantastic, the toilets clean with plenty of toilet paper.

There are no shops or pubs within easy walking distance, the nearest is about 30 mins walk on a busy road with no footpath.

Bigger towns ashborne and leek are only 15mins drive, but a small shop is about 8 mins drive.

Fire pits are available to hire, and there seems to be a communal fire place near the toilet block. I think Lorraine sells the logs gets

All in all a site we will be going back to, highly recommended 


Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Neil camper piper 21 reviews from this member

 I've just got back from a fantastic weekend at Rue Hill campsite.

The site was fairly easy to find, its on the way to Alton towers and also near a wildlife centre.

Other notes of interest in the area is a cracking pub.

Right, the site itself. The site consists of two gentle slopping fields separated by sparsely spaced trees. There is a toilet block which looked new which ran off solar power. It was cleaned and stocked every morning we were there.

The owner, Lorraine is fantastic, She greeted us when we arrived and was in the process of bringing us a few picnic tables for our group to use. She was very informative about the area and made us feel very welcome.

The site is great for large groups. She actively encourages them. Fire pits are on site for hire and she also provides wood and kindling at a cheap price. Football nets are dotted about also. She provided big oil drums for bottles, cans and litter. She helped us repair our canopies after a random harsh change in the weather also.

We were in a group of 14 and all had a great time. I'd definitely go back again in a group but probably not if it was just me and my girlfriend. We were a stag do and I probably wouldn't enjoy being around other large groups like ours as just a couple. Sites like this that allow large groups are a rare thing. I will be certainly recommend this site to other groups in the future.

Its a back to basics campsite where you are left alone to do your own thing. I didn't spot any electric hook ups and wasn't brave enough to try the shower. (It was a bloody cold weekend) The site has no shop, but shops are not that far away. A great site for groups of families visiting Alton towers or the other local attractions.

Its cheap to stay, just 5 pound a night each! A £50 deposit was all that was asked of us. This made our stag do a cheap weekend for all of us.

I wish her all the best and hope to return in the future 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Marktoots 1 review from this member

 We have just returned from our first stay at Rue Hill and I will say now that it will not be our last. I would thoroughly recommend this site to anyone who is looking for value for money camping in close proximity to Alton Towers and the Peak District National Park.

The layout of the site is well thought through with adults, groups, and families all separated. The facilities are well maintained and the owners are very friendly and attentive ensuring that you have all the information you need about the local area and are well stocked with logs and kindling (for a small charge) for the hireable fire pits.

Thank you Rue Hill. We are looking forward to coming back. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: CathieP77 1 review from this member

 Another lovely visit to Rue Hill our favourite friendly local campsite. Beautiful location in the peaceful Staffordshire Moorlands right on the doorstep of Derbyshire and the Peak District. The historic town of Ashbourne is just a short drive away with a great selection of cafes and pubs.

For us one of the sites biggest selling points is it's back to basics eco ethos. This is reflected in the solar powered shower/toilet block, recycling facilities and absence of over imposing flood lighting often found at campsites.

Another great feature are the fire pits which can be hired for £10 a night (including wood) perfect for camping adventures, don't forget your marshmallows! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Stuc100 2 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely site located in a very rural location. The site is mainly aimed at campers but accommodates caravans as well. There is no electric hook-up, but don't let this stop you. Keep in mind this site is only £5 pppn.

The outlook is amazing and this is one of the most unique pitches we have ever had the privileged of staying at. The ground does slope a little, but this is somewhat of a feature for this area. A level pitch is easy enough to find.

Camp-fires are available to hire, which are a nice addition to any outdoors holiday. The owner is always on hand with helpfully advice and knowledge of the local area.

Now for the down side, the ablution facilities are a little lacking. There are toilet facilities which were adequate and these were always clean. There is a shower in each of the male/female toilet blocks. Both of these are in need of improvement. This has been recognised by the owner and a new build is under way.

The site is ideal for access to Alton Towers, 5 minute drive. A pub is in easy walking distance, however this is accessed via a road which has no footpath for a fair distance. A small shop is a short drive away, supermarkets are somewhat further.

Pros:

Lovely remote site with an idyllic outlook.

Good access to Alton Towers.

Cons:

Poor Shower facilities.

Would we return: definitely! 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rachelmilla 1 review from this member

 Brilliant campsite would highly recommend, excellent value for money.

A group of 10 adults and 9 children stayed here in may this year, and we loved it so much we are going back next week. Owner is the most friendliest lovely lady, she gave us loads of advice on the surrounding area, she was so happy to help in any way she could, she made sure we were all comfortable and happy.

The Fire pits where great for sitting round in the evening. Toilets where always clean and really well looked after, shower was lovely and hot. Lovely clean site that is well looked after. :) :) :)

Try It. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: LewisFamily4 2 reviews from this member

 Very basic site, the tent pitches are not sheltered unless your in a group. The grass is cut for the camper vans and caravans but not the tent pitches. Trestle tables were dotted around the site. This site has no EHU. The toilets and showers are clean, although after heavy rain they flooded and they were definitely not heated. After three days we were still unable to get hot water from the washing up facilities. On arrival we were given a bucket for ours dog waste which we thought very good. There was some football goals for the kids but unfortunately we did not have the weather. You are able to hire a fire pit from the owners for £10. To sum up if you want comfort and luxury this site is not for you. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hannahlg25 1 review from this member

 Really happy with this campsite, only stayed for one night to go to Alton Towers for two days, only a few minutes drive away. Very basic but just what you need and at a brilliant price. The toilets were clean and well stocked up with toilet roll. Went to the toilets early in the morning and the owner was in there cleaning the toilets and mopping the floor. Plenty of hand wash and hot water! The owner was very welcoming. Will definitely recommend to friends and be coming here again for a nice little break away for a few nights. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lorna13 2 reviews from this member

 Brilliant basic little campsite, it took 4 minutes to drive to alton towers. Great value for money at £10 for a family of 5, will definitely use again. The owner was very friendly and greeted us with a welcome map and a local newspaper. I like to get my baby to sleep by walking him in the pushchair and I did not feel the roads were safe to walk down as there were no pavements and the traffic from alton towers was coming through at a speed- although this died down in the evening and the owners could do nothing about this. Again for the money - a bargain. 


Previous     38 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Rue Hill Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Rue Hill Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Rue Hill Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Alton Towers      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Staffordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome & Campervan Show, Peterborough 11/06 to 13/06
Browse new and used motorhomes for sale from a huge range of local and national dealers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4166 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement