Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Kelpie Tents And Tourers Certificated Site

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Manorbier > Kelpie Tents And Tourers Certificated Site Reviews

Kelpie Tents And Tourers Certificated Site
2 Norton Cottages
Manorbier
Pembrokeshire   (Browse area)
SA70 7SX
Tel: 01834 870189  or  07974 033085
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 15
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 49 Reviews
                9/10 from 49 Reviews

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents.

Reviews:  49 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is opening in line with government guidance and we are taking bookings for arrivals from 11/07/2020 onwards , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas and this may include toilet and shower facilities being closed. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Purplenel 17 reviews from this member

 This was the most basic site we have stayed at so far. We stayed for 6 nights just before Easter.

The welcome was warm and the portaloo facilities were kept very clean.

The site slopes quite a lot but we did manage to get our bedroom pod relatively level. If you could pitch at the bottom it is flatter.

The pub in Manorbier is no longer dog friendly. We didn't go back there after our first night.

The last two days we discovered the Swanlake Inn at Jameston, which is dog friendly. The bar where dogs are allowed is full of friendly locals - great atmosphere. Only a walk of 20 or so minutes.

The walk to the castle and beach is about 15-20 minutes. We enjoyed both of those. We also walked as far as tenby. The bus runs between Tenby and Pembroke via Manorbier and Jameston and we used that a few times much to the joy of the dogs. We ate in the Hope and Anchor in Tenby twice. It was dog friendly. We also went on the Island Cruise and saw seals and puffins.

We drove to Carew Castle one day - dog friendly and a nice pub over the road - The Carew Inn.

We had the site to ourselves for two nights of our stay - his and her loos! Better than at home!

No hot water on site so washing up is a case of boiling the kettle provided. I tended to boil theirs and ours. The showers were electric though, so they were hot!

We did like the site and had a good time. I'm not convinced it would be a first choice for a return visit though. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Emkat22 2 reviews from this member

 Our second stay at Kelpie and it was exactly how we remembered it.

***** site, ***** facilities (for porta loos and showers they are top notch), ***** hosts and ***** surrounding area.

If you are looking for a peaceful, relaxing holiday, with fantastic views and a nearby beach, then Kelpie is for you.

We really couldn't recommend it highly enough.

Once again Kieran and Amanda made us feel welcome and we didn't didn't want to go home! 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: DAVE0690 3 reviews from this member

 We've used this site several times in the last few months and we love it!

The site is very easy to get to and the welcome is always warm and friendly. They cannot do enough to accommodate you.

The site is beautifully kept and the grounds are constantly being maintained and although the site is being improved it's not losing any of its natural beauty. The kids loving playing around the wild garden in the middle of the field and observing the wildlife.

It is very clear that the owners take great pride in their site and work very hard to keep it pristine.

The facilities consist of portaloos (2 x toilets & 2 x showers) and although we were apprehensive at first, once we arrived and saw how immaculate they're kept, we felt a lot better, hence the reason we keep going back. Every time we go, for our entire stay, they are kept beautifully clean. In our experience we've found these the cleanest above any fixed units we've used! Even when the site is busy there's rarely a queue and if so, you only have to wait a few moments in the lovely seating area next to the units.

Each pitch has it's own water point, so no long walks for water and the elsan point is also kept very clean, with an alcohol gel dispenser to wash your hands after.

The woodland walks down to the beach from the site are perfect for the dogs and kids as it's off the road and brimming with wildlife. Due to the layout there's loads of room for the kids to play and run around.

The village is within walking distance either via the woodland walk or along the road, and consists of a shop, a dog friendly tea room and also a dog friendly pub! The pub offers a warm welcome and great food(and beer)! The shop within the village sells everything and has long opening hours.

The site offers disposal BBQ's & fire logs for sale & also fire pits for hire. They also sell locally sourced products all delivered to your pitch!

Overall, we love this site and look forward to returning very soon.

(after reading this back I still don't feel like the review has done the place justice!) 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: AmandaCurtis41 1 review from this member

 We have been coming here for a few years now under the previous owners and the new owners, we have taken our friends, family and pets along to this site with us. We adore the site, spacious pitches, each pitch electric hook up and water tap, the surroundings, near by places to visit either walking or with car, and we enjoy the pleasant and happy welcome we get every single time from Amanda and her family. We have camped in all weathers at this site and despite the elements we have never had a problem with any of them, its well sheltered whether your in a caravan or motor home or a tent as I am. The peace and tranquillity of this site is part of the attraction, its a lovely well kept site, the toilets always clean and fresh ( they are porto loos and at first when I first saw them seemed odd to me but don't let that put you off ), and the showers are great too. There is a chemical emptying point for toilets too, bin/ refuse recycling area also provided and there is an outdoor dish washing area with bowls and drainer provided at the large sink. On site are various benches to sit and enjoy the views. We don't really camp anywhere else, we find this site has everything we want, its a little gem of a site and we can't stay away from here. The Castle and the Beach are not too far away, and there are items we can purchase on site if we need them, there is a pub down the road ( I Have never used it but hear it is dog friendly and nice. ) and around the corner is a well stocked shop, at night this site is very dark and the stars are wonderful to gaze at and spot shooting stars. I cannot recommend this site enough, and really didn't want to leave a review because I didn't wish to disclose my little secret site, however I feel I have to be fair and let others enjoy this lovely site too. Keep up the great work Amanda and family, We always feel safe and welcome at this site, and we look forward to returning whenever we can whether for short breaks or longer ones. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: G0fus 4 reviews from this member

 Easy to find, nice welcome, pleasant owners/staff. Generous sized pitches, countryside views a little restricted as you are in a valley. 20 pitches, some on level ground, some on a slope. No reception, on arrival you press a buzzer on a post and staff member comes from bungalow alongside site. Two portaloo/festival style loos, and two festival style shower units with good electric showers but with little room to hang clothes except three hooks in the door and a shower curtain. Consider when all 20 pitches are full, with children and adults, are two toilets and two showers enough to cope? With great difficulty, we found, as it started to fill up. One thing that struck us was that there is absolutely no shelter anywhere on site, if its raining, and although a washing up sink (one sink) is provided, there is no shelter there either. Easy, short walk to catch a bus in one direction, even a train in the other direction, about 10-15 mins either way. Allow 20-25 mins for the walk to the beach, and if you are carrying a lot of beach stuff, use a trolley, it can be tiring. You will be told its only 10 mins away, that's true, if you are a marathon runner! Fabulous Beach Break café in Manorbier serving a large range of very tasty reasonably priced meals and breakfasts. Manorbier Castle is a MUST to see, and the beach is a peach! Good level pay & display parking just minutes from the beach, with toilets, at time of writing £5. 00 all day. Very well stocked Nisa / post office with great staff about 20 mins walk away. There is a pub but we felt the prices were high so didn't use it. We are both camp site wardens and one thing that annoyed us both was that when the grass is cut, its just left, not collected. This is okay when its dry, but when its been raining or there has been a heavy overnight dew, grass cuttings clings to your feet in clumps and its annoying to take that into tents/ motorhomes/ campers, etc. Owner stated that they have difficulty getting rid of collected grass, but its an issue I feel they should address. If I were to leave uncut grass on the caravan site where I currently work, complaints would come flooding in! Its an inconvenience, that's all. Our honest opinion is that for the price we were paying at peak rate, this site is actually a certified site trying to be a full campsite and the fee's are a little high compared to established camp sites that offer so much more. If there was a sea view it would perhaps be a realistic price to pay, but for the shortage of facilities, no view, and no shelter at all, I think they're asking a little too much. Pleasant stay, nice staff but we won't be returning. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Bobyar 2 reviews from this member

 Really nice quiet site, good toilets and shower. Owners friendly, and helpful. Nice walks for dogs, in the woods and on the cliffs. Nice little village, with every thing there. Would definitely go back there. Only disappointment, was that after reading the reviews about the Sunday lunches at the local pub, we went there after a walk on the cliffs, they were not serving Sunday lunch! Had to do with fish and chips instead. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Soniaoverfield1 1 review from this member

 Camped here for two nights recently you couldn't ask for a better site or welcome. The toilets and showers are in excellent working order and very clean, beach is in walking distance. Fresh bacon and eggs wether you like duck or chicken, Amanda couldn't give you a warmer welcome. Will be returning in the future time and time again. In easy reach to local pub, cafe and shop not forgetting the beach and castle, Tenby is a short drive. If you want quiet and peace this is the place to go. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Daffodil1941 45 reviews from this member

 Our first visit to this site narrow roads to get there but a good sized site, grass but with gravel strips for your wheels. Porta cabin toilets and showers one of each for each sex. Hubby used shower and was pleased with it. Quiet a walk for we crinklies passed some pretty gardens and cottages, but no footpaths, to the village with local pub with sunny beer garden and interesting bar, food was served looked good but we did not eat. A pretty little café /gift shop (lovely scrambled eggs on toast and coffee) and a nisa store with cash machine post box and everything you would need there is a bus stop. The great castle has a tea room and there is lovely beach for collecting shells, again a steep walk but worth it. I believe there is a coastal walk. You can buy local bacon and eggs from the site owner. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Thejimhuish 1 review from this member

 Having been past the site in January we booked in February for a stay in May. We were welcomed by Kieran, who had put us together with our friends staying in a tent on a really great spot.

Nothing was too much trouble during our stay, bacon was great and the use of the fire basket was great on an evening time.

The facilities were just what we needed with two young families, and the layout perfect with just the right number of pitches.

The site is well situated for the village and the beach being a short walk away.

Looking forward to coming back next year. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Thomsr01 13 reviews from this member

 So after some lovely previous stays at Kelpie, we took a trip back. What a welcome - Kieran remembered us and took great pains to show us the improvements to the homely site. Hard stands, cultivated edges to the camping field & the ever maturing nature reserve. It's fantastic to see this site maturing yet keeping true to its roots. The bacon was as scummy as ever, and there's no doubt that for the duration of your stay you are treated as one of the family. The weather was pretty awful so that meant Sunday was a pub day, The Castle Inn is fab! Sunday lunch was amazing (dog friendly). With all amenities close to the campsite I cannot recommend this place highly enough! Beware though - 3G is poor and the TV signal was non existent BUT don't let that put you off! 


Previous     49 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Kelpie Tents And Tourers Certificated Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Kelpie Tents And Tourers Certificated Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Kelpie Tents And Tourers Certificated Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Manorbier      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Pembrokeshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 28/06
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5349 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020