Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Kelpie Certificated Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Site Reviews

Kelpie Certificated Site
2 Norton Cottages
Manorbier
Tenby
Pembrokeshire   (Browse area)
SA70 7SX
Tel: 01834870189  or  07974033085
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 15
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 45 Reviews
                9/10 from 45 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 1 mile 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents. This is a club member only site - you can usually join on site

Reviews:  45 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Nessie Thomas 1 review from this member

I don't want to write this review as I want to keep this place a secret, but that is unfair. We spent 2 weeks at Kelpie this August and I can honestly say in the 10 years that we have been holidaying in Pembrokeshire that this is the best campsite that we've stayed. It may have Portaloo toilets and showers, but they are spotless and cleaned regularly. Kieron who runs the place always has a smile and nothing is to much trouble. He listens to his campers and if there is anything he can do to make your stay more enjoyable, he does it, a wonderful friendly man. The pitch that we had for our caravan was fantastic. It; along with the other caravan pitches; had been dug out, has stone put down, had plastic griding put down, which was refilled with soil and re seeded. You would not know it was there and when we had rain the pitches drained straight away. The site is family friendly, the pitches are well spaced. The caravans pitch sideways with awnings facing into the field, so you can always see your kids playing in the field. In the evenings we sat around fire pits chatting with our neighbours. The fire pits and heat logs were supplied by Kelpie. We will always go here in future, we loved it, some may find it basic, but for us it was perfect.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Mandy C 5 reviews from this member

This site is probably the best I have stayed on. Location is perfect - easy walks to beach and pretty village. Castle is magnificent! I was initially put off by the thought of portable toilets and showers but soon discovered there was absolutely no need to worry! They are immaculate, fresh and regularly cleaned. Handwash and fresh towels also provided! Better facilities than I have experienced on many sites during my years of camping! Owners are really lovely - helpful, friendly and relaxed. The site is very professionally run and grounds are superb. Fresh duck eggs and bacon are available from Keiran - and he will also provide a fire pit, logs and disposable bbqs for a nominal fee. This is the first site I have ever rebooked before leaving! Had 2 visits here so far and this coming weekend going again with friends - this time with 3 tents! Absolutely first class site - a delightful haven which reminds me of Enid Blighton's Famous Five type holidays. This one is now my 'go to' escape!

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: LOUISE1851 3 reviews from this member

We visited the site in early August and was greeted immediately by Kieron and shown to the pitch.

What a brilliant campsite!

Kieron and Amanda were so friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble.

The pitch was situated at the bottom of the field, it was a level pitch with our own water and waste. Brilliant!

It's a huge field which is never over-filled so masses of room for kids to play.

Access was good, even with our 26' tourer.

A lovely 10 minute walk to Manorbier either by the road or path from the campsite.

Firepits are available from Kieron with just a small charge for logs. We had amazing evenings with new friends and children toasting marshmellows!

The toilets and showers are absolutely spotless and cleaned at least 3 times a day.

Grass is cut regularly and cuttings are collected.

All in all I couldn't find a single fault with this campsite, without doubt the best we've been to.

We shall definitely be returning.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Julien 11 reviews from this member

I loved this site. Yes it is on a slope (some pitches are better than others) and yes the toilet and shower facilities are of a portable nature. They are however cleaned on at least a daily basis, and even when the site was busy you didn't have to wait long to use them. The shower was hot and perfectly adequate (I would recommend walking to it in flip-flops/crocs though, which can either be worn in the shower, or left outside as there is no room to keep regular footwear dry inside the cubicle).

The pub is an 8 minute walk and the shop a 10 minute one (I do have long legs though so you may need to allow a little longer). It is only a few mins more to the beach or the castle.

The pitches are large and plenty of space is left in the field for children to run around in. Camp fires are allowed but you must not use regular logs. The correct ones can be purchased from the site.

We were booked in for 7 nights on an ehu pitch but liked the site so much we asked to stay on for a further 3 nights. We were unable to have an ehu but stayed on without electric anyway.

The only thing I would say is some might consider 25. 00 a night (with ehu) a little steep for the limited facilities, but in my view sometimes the ambience of a place comes above the amount of toilets it has. On this basis the price was definitely worth it - we fully intend to return, possibly even as soon as next year.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Ckeech 1 review from this member

Just spent the night here. Lovely site, was a little concerned about the showers and toilet but they where spotlessly clean. The shower was lovely and hot.

The site had lots of walks via the wood to the beach or castle, great for the our dog.

The village has everything you need from, cafe, pub restaurant and a shop. Will definitely return for longer.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Domage75 1 review from this member

Great site, close to beach, pub and village - including castle. Beautiful walks, great for the dog and kids. Very friendly hosts, who helped our party of four vans settle in. Gorgeous views from the top of the site and quiet area. It was lovely to have a fire in the evenings.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Purplenel 14 reviews from this member

This was the most basic site we have stayed at so far. We stayed for 6 nights just before Easter.

The welcome was warm and the portaloo facilities were kept very clean.

The site slopes quite a lot but we did manage to get our bedroom pod relatively level. If you could pitch at the bottom it is flatter.

The pub in Manorbier is no longer dog friendly. We didn't go back there after our first night.

The last two days we discovered the Swanlake Inn at Jameston, which is dog friendly. The bar where dogs are allowed is full of friendly locals - great atmosphere. Only a walk of 20 or so minutes.

The walk to the castle and beach is about 15-20 minutes. We enjoyed both of those. We also walked as far as tenby. The bus runs between Tenby and Pembroke via Manorbier and Jameston and we used that a few times much to the joy of the dogs. We ate in the Hope and Anchor in Tenby twice. It was dog friendly. We also went on the Island Cruise and saw seals and puffins.

We drove to Carew Castle one day - dog friendly and a nice pub over the road - The Carew Inn.

We had the site to ourselves for two nights of our stay - his and her loos! Better than at home!

No hot water on site so washing up is a case of boiling the kettle provided. I tended to boil theirs and ours. The showers were electric though, so they were hot!

We did like the site and had a good time. I'm not convinced it would be a first choice for a return visit though.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Emkat22 2 reviews from this member

Our second stay at Kelpie and it was exactly how we remembered it.

***** site, ***** facilities (for porta loos and showers they are top notch), ***** hosts and ***** surrounding area.

If you are looking for a peaceful, relaxing holiday, with fantastic views and a nearby beach, then Kelpie is for you.

We really couldn't recommend it highly enough.

Once again Kieran and Amanda made us feel welcome and we didn't didn't want to go home!

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: DAVE0690 3 reviews from this member

We've used this site several times in the last few months and we love it!

The site is very easy to get to and the welcome is always warm and friendly. They cannot do enough to accommodate you.

The site is beautifully kept and the grounds are constantly being maintained and although the site is being improved it's not losing any of its natural beauty. The kids loving playing around the wild garden in the middle of the field and observing the wildlife.

It is very clear that the owners take great pride in their site and work very hard to keep it pristine.

The facilities consist of portaloos (2 x toilets & 2 x showers) and although we were apprehensive at first, once we arrived and saw how immaculate they're kept, we felt a lot better, hence the reason we keep going back. Every time we go, for our entire stay, they are kept beautifully clean. In our experience we've found these the cleanest above any fixed units we've used! Even when the site is busy there's rarely a queue and if so, you only have to wait a few moments in the lovely seating area next to the units.

Each pitch has it's own water point, so no long walks for water and the elsan point is also kept very clean, with an alcohol gel dispenser to wash your hands after.

The woodland walks down to the beach from the site are perfect for the dogs and kids as it's off the road and brimming with wildlife. Due to the layout there's loads of room for the kids to play and run around.

The village is within walking distance either via the woodland walk or along the road, and consists of a shop, a dog friendly tea room and also a dog friendly pub! The pub offers a warm welcome and great food(and beer)! The shop within the village sells everything and has long opening hours.

The site offers disposal BBQ's & fire logs for sale & also fire pits for hire. They also sell locally sourced products all delivered to your pitch!

Overall, we love this site and look forward to returning very soon.

(after reading this back I still don't feel like the review has done the place justice!)

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: AmandaCurtis41 1 review from this member

We have been coming here for a few years now under the previous owners and the new owners, we have taken our friends, family and pets along to this site with us. We adore the site, spacious pitches, each pitch electric hook up and water tap, the surroundings, near by places to visit either walking or with car, and we enjoy the pleasant and happy welcome we get every single time from Amanda and her family. We have camped in all weathers at this site and despite the elements we have never had a problem with any of them, its well sheltered whether your in a caravan or motor home or a tent as I am. The peace and tranquillity of this site is part of the attraction, its a lovely well kept site, the toilets always clean and fresh ( they are porto loos and at first when I first saw them seemed odd to me but don't let that put you off ), and the showers are great too. There is a chemical emptying point for toilets too, bin/ refuse recycling area also provided and there is an outdoor dish washing area with bowls and drainer provided at the large sink. On site are various benches to sit and enjoy the views. We don't really camp anywhere else, we find this site has everything we want, its a little gem of a site and we can't stay away from here. The Castle and the Beach are not too far away, and there are items we can purchase on site if we need them, there is a pub down the road ( I Have never used it but hear it is dog friendly and nice. ) and around the corner is a well stocked shop, at night this site is very dark and the stars are wonderful to gaze at and spot shooting stars. I cannot recommend this site enough, and really didn't want to leave a review because I didn't wish to disclose my little secret site, however I feel I have to be fair and let others enjoy this lovely site too. Keep up the great work Amanda and family, We always feel safe and welcome at this site, and we look forward to returning whenever we can whether for short breaks or longer ones.

Previous     45 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Pembrokeshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


306 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019