Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Kelpie Tents And Tourers Certificated Site

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Manorbier > Kelpie Tents And Tourers Certificated Site Reviews

Kelpie Tents And Tourers Certificated Site
2 Norton Cottages
Manorbier
Pembrokeshire   (Browse area)
SA70 7SX
Tel: 01834 870189  or  07974 033085
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 15
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 49 Reviews
                9/10 from 49 Reviews

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents.

Reviews:  49 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is opening in line with government guidance and we are taking bookings for arrivals from 11/07/2020 onwards , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas and this may include toilet and shower facilities being closed. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Evos 1 review from this member

 My husband and I have just returned after a weeks stay at kelpie. What a fantastic site. The pitches are large with own water and waste water drain. The field is kept immaculate. The facilities although being of the portable cabin type are kept very clean. We used our own facilities most of the time but I did use the shower once and it was absolutely fine. Lovely hot water. Amanda and Kerian who run the site do a fantastic job and nothing is too much trouble. We were able to purchase freshly eggs from their chickens and the bacon we purchased was the best we have ever tasted. The village is only about 15 minutes walk away with a village store that sells everything. The cafe and the pub were also well worth a visit. Our dog really enjoyed the daily walks to the beach via a woodland path which took approximately 20 minutes. The surrounding countryside is breath taking and we will definitely return. 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Gazjones07 1 review from this member

 A lovely friendly family run site, the new owners are doing a great job.

Ideally located to the small village of Manorbier with a village pub, which does lovely meals. The village has a shop, and a cafe, not forgetting the castle. The beach is only a 10/15minute walk away and is Ideal for long walks with the dog too. Tenby is only a 10 minute car journey away.

The campsite is grassed and kept very neat and tidy. Toilets and showers were kept very clean. The new owners are doing a great job and were very friendly and helpful. This campsite is a little gem. See you next year :) 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Thomsr01 13 reviews from this member

 What a wonderful site. Essentially you are in a field with some portacabins for toilets and shower BUT there seems to be a restriction on the number of visitor that can be on site, split between motorhome/caravan and tents and with so much space on offer this means it is idyllic!

We were greeted very efficiently, given great advice as to how to access the local amenities and sold what I consider to be the best bacon in the world!

It is ideally placed for Manorbier, nothing was more than a 15 min walk away. The local pub was very hospitable, and prices were good. They welcomed my dog on this occasion. The beach was accessed via a lovely woodland walk and Manorbier Train Station was close by.

I would definitely stay here again. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Warrose 1 review from this member

 We have just spent a week here with the grandchildren and were welcomed by the owner who was very helpful and made a point of saying hello every morning. The owner is a great young lad and is the manager who prides himself on cleanliness. The site was quiet and set in the lovely village of Manobier. The pitches were spacious and the facilities were kept immaculate, cleaned several times a day. Although they are porta loos and shower I can honestly say they were very clean, tidy with proper towels provided and spacious. Best showers I have come across in a site. We visited the castle and the beach was a short walk through the woods. Village has a shop and lovely tearoom and pub. We were given a list of local eateries and the 'whats on guide to Pembrokeshire' which was great and we made good use of it and were out all day at various attractions. Local produce available on a next day order system too. Lots of people had the pit fires available and at night gives a great camp atmosphere. Electric pitches have water next to them and are well marked out. Kelpie has recently been taken over by Amanda & Kieran and plan to update facilities. Lots of local beaches and things to do in the area. Definitely a little gem and as 1st child free was good value - no extra charges for dogs or awnings 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Guy Applebee 1 review from this member

 We have just enjoyed a fantastic 10 days at Kelpie. The site is quiet, small, friendly, clean and well maintained. Although the site is sloping in parts there are plenty of flat areas to pitch and a large area to play. The owners are extremely welcoming, attentive and helpful. Nice touches include the ability to hire a fire pit and buy logs to enjoy that traditional camp fire feel as well as being able to order fresh local bacon and home grown new potatoes, daily.

The site is within easy walking distance to the pretty village of Manorbier, with its excellent coffee shop, pub and castle as well as the beach which is great for surfing and is within easy driving distance to Freshwater West and East beaches. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Emkat22 2 reviews from this member

 We had an excellent 8 night stay at the beginning of August 2014.

Thank you very much to the owners for making us feel very welcome and offering expert local knowledge of the area/things to do.

The facilities although basic, are kept to a high standard of cleanliness, being inspected regularly throughout each day. The electric and water points are plentiful. The site itself is extremely well kept, pride is obviously taken in it's maintenance.

We liked that there was plenty of open space for children to play safely.

The only constructive criticism I would have to add, is that the washing up facilities could be improved and perhaps adding an extra one at the other side of the site and another shower cubicle and toilet.

The fire pit hire was very reasonable and the sale of fresh local bacon and potatoes was a lovely touch.

The surrounding area is exquisite, only a short walk to the dog friendly beach and Castle, through lovely woodland and a short drive to the village and amenities. The village itself is idyllic and the locals are very friendly and helpful. Manorbier is ideally located near to Tenby for it's beach and gift shopping and Pembrooke Dock for the large Supermarket and close by there are activity centres etc.

I thoroughly recommend this site and the owners, we will definitely be returning. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Finullah 1 review from this member

 A great big Thank you goes out to Amanda and Kieran, we have had a wonderful time at Kelpie. The site is clean, well looked after and set in amongst a beautiful landscape. Bacon, brought to your tent in the morning by Kieran, adds to the charm of the place. I cannot fault this site or the manner in which we were treated. My two boys aged 12 and 10 were allowed to play football near the tent up to 9pm a healthy way to simmer down before bed-time. Barbecues and fires, off the ground of course, are allowed so that if you take a trip into Tenby; which is only 10 mins away by car, although there is a bus service, you can buy from the local butcher in the market. I recommend the Welsh Dragon sausages and the Chinese ribs. After a luxurious, if a little dangerous, cliff walk with stunning views the beach welcomes you back, whatever the tide. Kieran and Amanda couldn't be more friendly - on hand when you need them yet far enough away to give you some privacy. The short walk to the beach through woodland refreshes your mind, body and soul - the sounds of the birds, crickets, frogs and other wildlife keep you entertained while a 12th century Dovecote that you can explore adds a little history to the experience. A visit to the castle is a must, we were treated to a falconry display as well so we timed our visit just perfectly. Manorbier is lovely, quiet and accessible, The Castle Inn serve home cooked food at reasonable prices we plummeted for the basket meals on our night of arrival and popped back in for some Ale and a sit in the beer garden another time. To be honest we didn't want to stray too far and weren't in the mood for lots of driving, if you want a quiet family setting with a little space to relax in then head for Kelpie just a little off the beaten track. A new enterprise for Kieran and one he obviously wants to make a real go of, there is a lovely feel to the place - the little area set aside for a nature garden and surrounding flower pots and benches really set the site apart. We loved our stay and will definitely go back. ! 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sevans42 1 review from this member

 Wonderful site. I'm very particular about space when camping. This site has space in abundance due to a restriction on numbers - plenty of space around the tent and in front, which is rare for a site in such a stunning place and provides the kids with a large area to play. The toilets and showers are very clean and more than adequate. If there's anyone out there who finds that they have an issue having to wait a bit for an available shower. They're missing the point of what this campsite is about. Relaxed, pleasant, friendly and importantly, unrushed. The owners/staff are a real pleasure to deal with and nothing is too much trouble. Friendly, helpful, interesting, but not intrusive. You can buy top quality bacon on the site and freshly laid eggs (which I did every day for the 2 weeks we stayed). The area is stunning and the walk to Manobier beach first thing in the morning is a must. What more can I say, other than the whole family had a fabulous 2 weeks at Kelpie and we will definitely return (. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: K West 1 review from this member

 We stayed at Kelpie during the May half term. It was pleasing that the site was not over run or crowded and retained a friendly, family atmosphere. The new owners could not have been more helpful and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble and their local knowledge was extensive and provided us with a few excellent trips that we would not have considered. The facilities are due to be upgraded in the next year or so and the plans sound exciting but in the meantime what was there was more than adequate for us both and our 2 very small children. In general the new family who have acquired this site have great plans to enhance and improve what is an already wonderful little place to visit. We hope to return many times over while our children grow up and we will enjoy watching them fulfill their dreams of having a wonderful, family oriented place to stay. The nature reserve in the middle of the site is an inspired idea, and one that I hope will be nurtured and allowed to grow organically with the business. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Fi hadyn 2 reviews from this member

 A great little site. All grass pitches, you need chocks as some pitches slope. Pitches have own water supply and grey waste points. Electric hook didn't trip the whole time we were there (7 days), which is a first. The toilets/shower are basic porta loos but don't be put off as they are clean and regularly inspected by the owners/manager. The kitchen area isn't under cover and has no hot water so you need a kettle. The site has recently been taken over by new owners and has a new site manager. The site manager is a very helpful and knowledgeable and helped us setup the van on the chocks. He also takes orders for bacon, eggs from his own chickens/ducks and also makes fresh bread to order. He also checks every day that everything is ok, but at the same time isn't intrusive. He also supplies BBQ's and fire pits for you to use, which is nice if your in a tent (nothing nicer than sitting round a fire at sunset) The sites location is excellent!. You don't really need your car. The dog friendly beach is literally a 10min walk away, with toilets and ice-cream van, there isn't a life guard on duty but there's lots for little ones to do. Lots of local surf clubs use the beach and the site manager has lots of leaflets if you need info. There's also a local shop that just has everything you would need in it, a local dog friendly pub that serves reasonably price food and drink and is worth a visit. The castle is also worth a look and also sells food and drinks. There's also a dog friendly café that sells cooked meals, drink and snacks also in the village. The site is well positioned to explore the surrounding area's of Tenby and so on. The site manager and his folks have plans to update the facilities at the site in the future. Some reviews have expressed that the site is expensive given the current facilities, but the location on it's own is worth the price. The site suitable for couples and families. 


Previous     49 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Kelpie Tents And Tourers Certificated Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Kelpie Tents And Tourers Certificated Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Kelpie Tents And Tourers Certificated Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Manorbier      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Pembrokeshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 28/06
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5596 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020