Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Folly Hall Farm Certified Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Whitby > Folly Hall Farm Certified Site Reviews

Folly Hall Farm Certified Site
Tranmire
Whitby
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO21 2BW
Tel: 07774 415395
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Pitches: 15
Open: 01/03/2021 to 19/10/2021
           01/04/2022 to 20/10/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 77 Reviews
                9/10 from 77 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents. This is a club member only site - you can usually join on site

Reviews:  77 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Geoff downs 1 review from this member

 What a lovely time we had staying at Folly Hall farm. The campsite was well kept and the pitches were well marked and spacious. There was lots of space for all to enjoy themselves. Terry the owner met us and showed us around the site he gave us details of what was available in the surrounding area and asked us to contact him if we needed any other information. We rang him one morning for directions and he couldn't have been more helpful. The facilities are clean and the shower was hot. If like us you want to get away from all the hassels life brings this is the place to go we had a fabulous 4 days We also had with us our small Westie dog and this was an ideal place for her also. We would recommend this site for a lovely place to stay. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Diversion 3 reviews from this member

 This was our second visit to Folly Hall Farm as we enjoyed our holiday there so much last year. When we arrived the site was fairly quiet, but quickly filled up. With plenty of space between units it did not feel at all crowded and the children on site were able to run around freely as cars are parked in an adjacent field. Terry, as always made us feel very welcome and provided us with the usual local information and a list of nearby attractions including local agricultural shows plus some eggs from his own chickens. Nothing is too much trouble and he kept the showers and toilets lovely and clean, well stocked with soap and loo roll and the grass well mown so it is more like a lawn than a field. Plenty of people had dogs which were kept under control and walked on the lane so it appears that those in the past who have had issues simply fail to keep to the land owners rules. Such a lovely place to visit and camp, especially when the sun is shining. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: The Dalys 6 reviews from this member

 A real gem of a campsite - lovely camping fields, fantastic quiet location on the North York moors, and a really friendly welcome from the owner, Terry. He helped us choose a pitch which suited us, and gave us recommendations for places to visit during our 3-day stay.

The facilities are basic, no hairdryers or hand dryers, but clean and tidy and included the best shower I've had on a campsite for a while.

Chickens roam around which keeps the children amused, there are cows in adjacent fields and great views across the moors. A real rural feel and a campsite I would definitely recommend. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Beth-and-James 1 review from this member

 The location of this site couldn't be more perfect; stunning views across the moors, big skies; gorgeous sunsets and with just occasional background noise from the road it's got to be one of the quietest sites we've ever found.

As some previous comments have mentioned, the grass fields are superb for camping - exceptionally flat and so well maintained as to put most people's lawns to shame. Finding a site with a beautifully flat field for camping on is something that will make my weekend every time - the joy I feel at not ending up in a tangled pile at the corner of the tent is unbelievable!

The facilities on the site are based in portacabins that are sheltered from the worst of the weather inside a barn. There are two blocks each for male and female, each one having loos, a sink and a shower cubicle (all free, no stupid coin showers here). When the site is quieter only one block is opened, but this was more than enough when we stayed - queuing wasn't something that happened here! Showers were lovely, loads of hot water and really clean and tidy. Two pot wash sinks, one outside and one well sheltered in the barn which was handy when it rained!

Free roaming chickens are an entertaining addition to the site. They are often to be found wandering around between the tents whilst making their rather hopeful clucking noises. It's amazing how they know exactly when people are cooking. Just keep an eye on your wooden spoons, they appear to be quite partial to these - I had to retrieve ours on more than one occasion after it disappeared across the field in the beak of a triumphant chicken!

Terry the site owner is a real character with quite a dry sense of humour - an absolutely fantastic chap though. He really looked after us; information pack on arrival, lending us windbreaks (and hammering them in for us!), finding us a raised barbecue to make our lives easier when cooking, giving us eggs from his chickens for breakfast and generally just being around making sure everything was running smoothly. In so many ways Terry makes this site, it would be a nice enough place without him but he completes the picture so well that I would hate to return and find him gone!

We had a lovely stay here despite the weather and would definitely return. There is everything here you could need - and if you don't have it then Terry can probably find it for you, he's that sort of chap. Book in here, you'll have a lovely stay in a superb spot - just remember to bring your sense of humour with you when you pack ! 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Andyand Emma 2 reviews from this member

 Third time staying here and it is still the lovely quiet friendly site we remembered.

The owner is a lovely friendly humourous guy with lots of local knowledge for places to see and where to eat. You always get a warm welcome and a magazine with information on whats on locally.

The grass is mown to perfection on the flat pitches and the toilet block is clean and well stocked with soap and toilet roll. Electric showers are free and there is always hot water. There is a pot washing sink. The site has free roaming chickens which are entertaining and sheep in a separate field.

Cars are parked in a separate field once you pitch which is great as it cuts down noise and you don't get headlights shining through the tent at night.

It is approx 6 miles to whitby on an A road so doesn't take long to drive there and the Blackn Bull pub in Ugthorpe serves lovely food.

Will stay here again and recommend to friends. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ar2000d 2 reviews from this member

 In the last 10 years of camping I don't think I have stayed on a more well thought out and run site; little things like not having cars on the site once pitching is one make the world of difference.

From the warm welcome, and the feeling that nothing was too much trouble the owner could not have been more helpful.

Perfect location with easy access to many of the beautiful parts of the east coast, immaculate and lovingly maintained field, and a group of hens for added entertainment.

Externally the toilet block did not look too great, but clean with good electric showers 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Snoopysmum 27 reviews from this member

 This is a small site in quite a nice setting, it has very basic facilities - 2 containers inside a tatty barn with toilets and showers.

The grass is like a lawn, but was full of chicken poo so difficult if you have young children who may fall over.

The owner was rather intimidating. I don't like being told to' be quiet while I'm speaking' or my husband who was told ' look at me when I'm talking to you'! Siting the motorhome on the grass had to be controlled by the owner even though we are actually capable of doing it ourselves! We were told that 'motorhomes are the bane of the North Yorkshire moors' and he will only have one on the site!

All this for 18 a night which is pretty expensive for such basic facilities. We regularly stay on CL sites and don't want much as we have everything on the motorhome but this site is one we will not come back to.

If you are in this area I wholeheartedly recommend the Black Bull at Ugthorpe for a meal, you will not come out hungry! They even offered us a lift back to the site as it was dark! 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: P J Field 1 review from this member

 We arrived on site with our caravan, large awning, 2xBed extensions, 2 cars, ours and a couple of friends. We were immediately met by our host, and there was some good-humoured banter that set the pattern for the two weeks we were there. There was a brief sheet outlining site rules, and, to be honest, these are the sort of rules that we believe every self-respecting campsite should have. For instance, once installed, cars were asked to use a car park (close by) in order to protect the campsite grass - consequently, this grass was in superb condition, and proved a delight to camp on.

When our host saw the size of our awning (3. 5m), he altered his planning so that the people due to camp next to us were given more space elsewhere. Very thoughtful.

Our host also supplied us with a list of nearby hostelries, attractions and general sites of interest, which we found extremely useful.

I cannot recommend this site and Terry, its owner, too highly. For instance, when we ran out of gas, instead of having to travel into the Whitby crush (Bank Holiday), he advised us of a nearer supplier. Lots of little things like this endeared Terry and Folly Hall Farm to us.

Remember, this is advertised as a farm - some farm sites we have camped on in the past have had cows leaving messages on the ground - a few chickens that were occasionally free to roam were delightful, and any mess they made was negligible - we were even offered their eggs, which has never happened before. My wife and I, together with our two friends, all thoroughly enjoyed our sojourn at this spectacularly beautiful area, made virtually perfect by the efforts made by our host to help our stay be enjoyable.

Sadly, I have read some negative reviews of this site, and was quite shocked. But, I then realised that the people making these slurs on a fantastic site must have been the sort of camper that let their dogs run loose, frightening children, making messes that were not picked up, stopping the chickens from entertaining us.

During our visit, two little girls were camping with their parents, and they were lovely. They had a large expanse of good grass to play on, and it was great to see them with this freedom, yet in a safe area. Until a couple of vans parked up, and let their dogs roam. In spite of the polite notice in the 'rules' not to. This frightened the girls into stopping their play, and both them and us could no longer play with nor feed the chickens. This is obviously why such requests are necessary. Campsites should primarily be places to enjoy, play in, and relax. With dogs roaming freely, apart from the mess that thoughtless owners failed to pick up, so many enjoyable activities are hampered, if not stopped altogether.

One final point - although the site was not at capacity whilst we were there, there were two toilets and showers for males, similar for females. They were always impeccably clean every morning and evening - if they became soiled in between cleaning sessions, who is to blame?

I hope sensible, thoughtful and considerate people take note of this review, as these are the sort that deserve a wonderful campsite like Folly Hall Farm, and a caring thoughtful host.

We will certainly be returning, and, after over 40 years of caravanning, we have learned to recognise a 'good' site. And this is not just a good site, it is one of the best we have ever visited. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Durham travellers 5 reviews from this member

 Lovely 3 days. This is a quiet site well placed to visit hertiage coast line or slightly inland to north york moors. Site always kept clean and tidy. It is basic but plenty of hot water for showers and washing up ect. Terry friendly Gent. We love it here. Didn't use electrics but other campers did and had no problems. Haven't placed review for child friendly as had no children but those on site seemed to love it. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cooperkat 4 reviews from this member

 Stayed at this site for 4 nights with my husband and two dogs. We arrived midweek, the site was lovely and quiet(only three other units on the site). Terry, the site owner had rang in the morning to inform us that he would be off site until early evening, to let us know what pitches we could choose from and that his free range chickens where out and about so to keep an eye on the dogs. Terry came to great us as soon as he arrived back, he gave us a handy magazine with local attractions in, advices us on good places to eat and nice walks to take the dogs, and a list of site rules. He runs this site alone and does it great so don't let the rules put you off, they are just common sense really, he insisted we keep our dogs on short leads and away from his chickens, which of course we did.

The site is lovely and flat and the grass is the best I've ever seen on a campsite, its more like a lawn than a camping field. The pitches are of a generous size, some units were really large 8/10 man tents. Terry asked that we didn't park our car next to our tent once we had pitched up, there is a small parking field just behind the site, so bar the wire fence the car was right beside the tent anyway, this explains the beautiful grass, and it made more room for children to play safely. The toilets and showers are in the barn on the site, there are two units each for men and women(although when the site was quiet only one was open) we never had to wait for either the toilet or the shower and both units where spotlessly clean and stocked with plenty of soap and toilet roll. The showers are free and ran on electric so there was plenty of hot water. As other reviews state it is quiet dark in the barn at night but that's due to Terry being energy conscious and not an oversight on lighting. There is a fridge freezer in the barn(didn't use so can't comment further) and pot washing facilities.

We can highly recommend the Black bull at Ugthorpe for a nice meal and drink. All home cooked food(Chips were fab! and try the game pie!), grate variety/choice and fantastic potion sizes. We ate there twice in four days. The owners were really friendly and welcoming.

We walked for miles during our stay. Scaling Dam has a lovely circular walk through the nature reserve. If you visit Goathland a visit to Mallyan Spout waterfall is a must, its a trek down a fair few steps but well worth it, Beautiful.

We enjoyed the peace and quiet of the site and stunning location. It was only a short drive into Whitby and we found this an ideal base for the places we wanted to visit.

We would stay again at this site and would definitely recommend. 


Previous     77 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Folly Hall Farm Certified Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Folly Hall Farm Certified Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Folly Hall Farm Certified Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Whitby      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 13/01 to 16/01
Largest selection of caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes in the North of England ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2798 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement